• dannymack

• Maroon Sailor

• PortyBeach

2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

I was highly embarrassed at this...

I just loved the fact that, regardless of the top , we were on national news . Even the worst Hibs top would never have made the news.

FTH.

Also never been embarrassed of our colors.  

A Shoreditch Heart
6 minutes ago, Alex said:

At least one of these has been posted already, but these are some slides my Dad took in the 50s/60s/70s.

Hearts 1 Celtic 2 Scottish League Cup Tynecastle 8 August 1970 2.jpg

Hearts 1 Celtic 2 Scottish League Cup Tynecastle 8 August 1970 3.jpg

Hearts 1 Celtic 2 Scottish League Cup Tynecastle 8 August 1970.jpg

Hearts 2 V Motherwell 1 Tynecastle  Sept 60.jpg

Hearts 3 Celtic 2 League Cup Tynecastle Aug 1962.jpg

Hearts 4 Airdrie 3 Tynecastle Sept 195x.jpg

Hearts V East Fife Tynecastle Sept 1955.jpg

Rangers 0 Hearts3 Ibrox October 1973.jpg

Scottish League Cup Hearts 1 Celtic 2 Tynecastle 8 August 1970.jpg

Scottish League Cup Hearts 4 Rangers 2 Tynecastle 14 Aug 1965.jpg

2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

That top 🤢

The absolute worst effort for a Hearts top I have ever seen. Its a laughing stock of a thing. Eye bleedingly bad!

In my opinion. Of course there will be someone along in a minute who will be creaming over it no doubt!

Here sir 😂

I love that strip and wear it often out and about 👍

21 hours ago, farin said:

7F4D7322-87A5-43BF-B8D7-AED7401653A0.thumb.jpeg.c50bd2be7d673078639345d10129cdb1.jpeg

Players Xmas party 1988. 😄

Malcolm Murray in front of Alan McLaren and Sandy Stewart between Malcolm and Galloway.

Alan Redpath? beside Henry and Mark Gavin? beside Kenny Black and other side of Kenny is Gary Mackay.

Fozzy’s brother and sister either side of him....

1 hour ago, Alex said:

At least one of these has been posted already, but these are some slides my Dad took in the 50s/60s/70s.

What a great set of pictures. 

WoolfordsHearts
6 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

I can't identify all the players, please put me out my misery.

McLaren, Levein, ?, McPherson, Roger, Kirkwood?, Husref

Murray?, Tosh?, Galloway, Henry, Holmes?, Mark Cairns, Kenny Black

Robbo, Crabbe, Sandison, Kidd, ?, Foster, some random bird.

The lad between Zico and Foster was from Livingston. 

Should,but can't remember his name.🤦🏻‍♂️

3 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

I just loved the fact that, regardless of the top , we were on national news . Even the worst Hibs top would never have made the news.

FTH.

Also never been embarrassed of our colors.  

Well I hear what youre saying but pink & yellow hoops are not really “our colours”. 

3 hours ago, Hook said:

Malcolm Murray in front of Alan McLaren and Sandy Stewart between Malcolm and Galloway.

Alan Redpath? beside Henry and Mark Gavin? beside Kenny Black and other side of Kenny is Gary Mackay.

Fozzy’s brother and sister either side of him....

Mark Cairns beside Kenny Black. 

1 hour ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

The lad between Zico and Foster was from Livingston. 

Should,but can't remember his name.🤦🏻‍♂️

Is it not Mark Gavin?

WoolfordsHearts
3 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

Is it not Mark Gavin?

Positive he was from Deans in Livingston,a few years older than me.

I used to see him in his suporting days on the train heading through.

I've been on London Hearts website trying to find his name,starting to annoy me now🤨

18 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Well I hear what youre saying but pink & yellow hoops are not really “our colours”. 

I expect you know the reason for these colours .......... but in case you don't, it reflects the racing colours of Lord Rosebery (long-time honorary president of Hearts) and previously used by Hearts in the Bobby Walker era.

IMO, it's a helluva lot better than the black strip from last year.   Black, indeed !!   Awful. 

Montgomery Brewster
4 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Looks like he was at East end park and Ibrox in 

Edited by Montgomery Brewster

Montgomery Brewster
4 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Looks like he was at East end park and Ibrox in those slides.

Where do you see east end park ? 

9 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

I expect you know the reason for these colours .......... but in case you don't, it reflects the racing colours of Lord Rosebery (long-time honorary president of Hearts) and previously used by Hearts in the Bobby Walker era.

IMO, it's a helluva lot better than the black strip from last year.   Black, indeed !!   Awful. 

Aye I know but it doesnt make it any less repugnant. Agree with you on the black strip as well. Cant stand it when we try too hard. Maroon home strip, white away one. Done! And get the “third strip” Tae ‘F’. 

23 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

6 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Aye I know but it doesnt make it any less repugnant. Agree with you on the black strip as well. Cant stand it when we try too hard. Maroon home strip, white away one. Done! And get the “third strip” Tae ‘F’

Hey - we're in agreement there, sir 👍🙂      The 3rd strip thing just seems like blatant commercialism - all the big clubs seem to do it now.  Probably even worse in England - Man City seem to wear loads of different coloured strips.  It's at the stage nowadays that fans  have to look at the sponsor name on the front to identify  their own team !!  😲

On 06/10/2020 at 22:15, Lone Striker said:

Fabulous - a real collectors item, with autographs too !!    👍   I hadn't realised that Johnny Harvey's time at the club started that far back -  I was in the same class as his daughter Elaine at primary school,

I used to work with a guy called John Harvey back in the early 80's who I believe might have been Elaine's brother. I wasn't a huge supporter back then but I remember his dad was coach/manager at some point.

Edited by graygo

5 hours ago, Alex said:

I’ve copied these, hope you don’t mind?

Absolutely brilliant.  :clap: 

5 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Looks like he was at East end park and Ibrox in those slides.

Ibrox yes, East End Park no.

17 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I’ve copied these, hope you don’t mind?

Absolutely brilliant.  :clap: 

You're welcome, there's no point in them being hidden away.

Cheers for all the comments.

Just now, Alex said:

Ibrox yes, East End Park no.

You're welcome, there's no point in them being hidden away.

Cheers for all the comments.

Many thanks, Alex.

12 hours ago, luckydug said:

Photo 1 with Jock Stein in the foreground. 

I believe this to be a Scottish Cup tie in 1966.

The game was 'supposed' to be all ticket with a capacity of 46000. 

Just after the kick off with thousands still outside the exit gates at the Gorgie Road entrances were forced open and fans rushed the gates. This resulted in the pitch invasion you see in the photo as the game had to be stopped for safety reasons. The fans down at the front many children had to be allowed on to the pitch to escape the crushing. 

If the fences that were later installed at the wall had been in force then there would surely have been a 'Hillsboro' type disaster. 

Once the game restarted the referee with the usual sense of fair play ensured Celtic received the benefit of two dodgy decisions and escaped with a 3-3 draw and won the replay. 

There was an interesting article in the falkirk herald a few weeks ago, about falkirks largest attendance against celtic, basically they turned up en masse after initially refusing tickets, as they felt falkirk weren't offering enough tickets in the 1st place, as the game drew closer the tims have turned up in their thousands and try and squeeze past celtic fans who had actually bought tickets..the police then decided to open the gates and let 2 at a time through, obviously they charged through the gate, and the fans who had tickets went through and threw their tickets down to fans outside(sounds familiar)..anyway resulted in crash barriers bent out of shape the perimeter wall broken, and fans taken away on stretchers, the official attendance was 21 odd thousand, but closer to 25/26 thousand...celtic fans are dicks basically 🇱🇻🇱🇻

On 09/10/2020 at 13:58, j1964m said:

image.jpeg.643f1d748d1b45a6c421f300a2c036fe.jpeg

My first derby, a wee team neighbour took me to try to convert me to the dark side. Blew up in his face. 😁

On 06/10/2020 at 21:53, Jambo-Fox said:

I might have one in the loft - decluttering over next few weeks, if I find it I’ll post on here!

Just found one of my favourite shirts ...

22A8A034-8208-409F-B94C-4C5E0E427448.jpeg

15 hours ago, Fort Vallance said:

This one is framed on the wall of Augusto's Sports Bar in Albufeira.

It sure is. 👍

FB_IMG_1602561422302.jpg

18 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

I was highly embarrassed at this...

I thought it was brilliant, very historical and vibrant, daring and out of the ordinary.

The historical side of those colours is very interesting. 

17 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

That top 🤢

The absolute worst effort for a Hearts top I have ever seen. Its a laughing stock of a thing. Eye bleedingly bad!

In my opinion. Of course there will be someone along in a minute who will be creaming over it no doubt!

Me 😁 

FB_IMG_1599455169275.jpg

I’m loving the nets , would we be allowed them today ? I remember the authorities told us not to cut the Hearts badge into the grass for some reason so they’d probably moan about bi-coloured netting .

A certain Sharpie walking past ?...

93F057D4-18F3-4CC8-8E4A-72963BB00A52.jpeg

Edited by 3fingersreid

On 08/10/2020 at 18:05, been here before said:

Talking of Edinburgh select teams...

20190220_080714.jpg.a50527d9665c3cc840d17fb9dcd79c4d.jpg

Willie Bauld playing for the Edinburgh select at Easter Road.

16 minutes ago, john1951 said:

Willie Bauld playing for the Edinburgh select at Easter Road.

Do you know if they wore Hearts strips when the game was played at Tynecastle in that era  ? 
Ive only seen one select game , at Tynecastle , I’m sure Darren Jackson who was at meadowbank at the time was selected to make the numbers even and “We” used the Edinburgh colours of black and white. 

Not sure I could accept Robbo, Rudi, Busby etc wearing their strip to be honest 🤮🤮🤮🤮

4 minutes ago, Alex said:

Ha ha, I never thought of that!

Your pictures are fantastic , thanks for posting 👍🏻👍🏻

17 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Do you know if they wore Hearts strips when the game was played at Tynecastle in that era  ? 
Ive only seen one select game , at Tynecastle , I’m sure Darren Jackson who was at meadowbank at the time was selected to make the numbers even and “We” used the Edinburgh colours of black and white. 

Not sure I could accept Robbo, Rudi, Busby etc wearing their strip to be honest 🤮🤮🤮🤮

Hearts strip at Tynecastle, hib's strip at easter road. i think there were usually six home players in the select team.

On 10/10/2020 at 20:35, Mikey1874 said:

20201010_203434.jpg

10 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Does Gowser own a time machine  ? 

Nah, He'd never get those ears inside one.

32 minutes ago, john1951 said:

Hearts strip at Tynecastle, hib's strip at easter road. i think there were usually six home players in the select team.

👍🏻👍🏻

18 hours ago, Alex said:

These are fantastic. Thanks for posting.

On ‎11‎/‎10‎/‎2020 at 17:40, maroonblood said:

06A9D09D-1DEF-48F8-A314-58FFDC3B22BE.jpeg

8C86CE23-3C12-4A5F-BA05-A7F16C18468E.jpeg

0B80F4E7-FFB8-4004-877F-AD693C6E9FAF.jpeg

154ABE4F-D53E-43B9-85A4-D5024F9E1687.jpeg

Top picture front left 1960's equivalent of our young team :whistling:

3 hours ago, dannymack said:

Me 😁 

FB_IMG_1599455169275.jpg

I get the historical content but sometimes old isn't always better. Its howling :lol: