• Angel eyes

• dannymack

• Maroon Sailor

• PortyBeach

On 01/03/2021 at 11:38, scott herbertson said:

64 years ago. Here is a programme for an exhibition match played between the British Army and the French Army back in the days of National Service 

Jimmy Armfield + 3 Busby Babes (including Duncan Edwards)  + one Hearts man who had made a significant contribution to the club's history the previous Saturday

Who was the Hearts man

What had he done the Saturday before?

IMG_6101.jpg

Crawford with his cup winning goals

20 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

What was that large white building?

Fantastic footage of Tynecastle Parks open terracing with that large building in the background. 

No longer active

I found this photo in my Dad's stuff, which to me looks like its taken at Roseburn. Anyone any ideas who is in the photo?

6202ADF3-9F09-4DB5-9E4C-78EEE5312CD6.jpeg.e75599fecfa8787f2a5d25957f0abf99.jpeg

Edited by George Cowie

On 03/03/2021 at 06:30, dannymack said:

20201216_163701.jpg

Even that style of strip looks better in maroon

sauchiejambo
On 05/10/2020 at 20:22, Morgan said:

D660EF49-2E59-485A-BB36-72DD4706F154.jpeg

Proper training, none of this mamby pamby sports science nonsense 🙄 

55 minutes ago, Mars plastic said:

Is that Doddie?

Yes

Obviously prior to the undersoil heating going in.

1 hour ago, sauchiejambo said:

Proper training, none of this mamby pamby sports science nonsense 🙄 

And not a fax machine or mobile phone in sight.

How did they ever survive?  🤷🏿‍♂️

On 07/04/2021 at 16:22, Angel eyes said:

F36-AE360-96-B9-4979-9500-293-A8075-F903

Not sure if that's the one hearts won 3-1 or midweek league cup tie few days earlier ?1983 August or so ?

19 minutes ago, Hectormasson said:

Not sure if that's the one hearts won 3-1 or midweek league cup tie few days earlier ?1983 August or so ?

The league game   jimmy bone didnt play in the cup tie. Think his brother died

1 hour ago, Sherbet said:

The league game   jimmy bone didnt play in the cup tie. Think his brother died

Neither did Robbo.  Could be wrong, but I thought they were both recovering from knocks and Doddie picked Pettigrew & O'Connor  for the LC midweek game to give them a few days more to get ready. Wise decision.  ☺️

Edited by Lone Striker

2 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Neither did Robbo.  Could be wrong, but I thought they were both recovering from knocks and Doddie picked Pettigrew & O'Connor  for the LC midweek game to give them a few days more to get ready. Wise decision.  ☺️

Very true   lost 3 nil then won 3-1

11 minutes ago, Sherbet said:

Very true   lost 3 nil then won 3-1

Far better days back then,tynecastle wasn't a place for the easily  offended or weak hearted back.then, the 12th man, great atmosphere at the games against  hibs weegies and sheep,

On 07/04/2021 at 16:24, Mars plastic said:

Is that Doddie?

That's prior to a scottish cup tie v Partick  

On 07/04/2021 at 16:22, Angel eyes said:

F36-AE360-96-B9-4979-9500-293-A8075-F903

A week after the famous Hearts 3 Hibs 2.

Hearts 2-0 at half time, 3-0 shortly after and Rangers' consolation goal was an afterthought.

Dundee United 5 Hibs 0 over the tannoy, then finding out later from a Hibby schoolmate that the reserve game at ER had finished Hibs 3 Dundee United 6.

Good day.

Great times.

:HeartsManspotrun:

Edited by martoon

11 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

"The Sting". Doddie left out Robbo, Bone and Kidd . Rangers won the league cup game easily and Davie Cooper was superb with the media also going well over the top about it - I remember a comment in the R*cord "How many will the mighty Rangers score on Saturday?"

Davie Cooper disappeared into Zico's back pocket and Robbo/Jimmy roughed up their defence. As mentioned, we were three up before they got a late consolation. Zico only ever had one bad game against Cooper and he must have been ill that day. Cooper actually had more bookings fouling Kidd than Walter got fouling him - quite miraculous from Scottish referees!

On 07/10/2020 at 03:19, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

Jimmy Bone scores the 3rd in a 3-2 win over Hibs in September 1983.  An 18 year Robbo also scored the first of his 27 goals against Hibs in this game.

bone.jpg

My first derby. Didn't we also beat Sevco in the league cup the same week?

On 11/02/2021 at 22:39, Hook said:

Tynie HS old gym hall - Big Jo Munro, old headmaster, towering over Gary. Some well kent faces from Gorgie/Dalry in the background - one or two not bad players themselves in the crowd.

Looks like big Joe's, got a lovely pair of ruccanor trainers on in that pic,,a sporting staple of the 80s😆😆

On 09/04/2021 at 10:02, JTJ said:

"The Sting". Doddie left out Robbo, Bone and Kidd . Rangers won the league cup game easily and Davie Cooper was superb with the media also going well over the top about it - I remember a comment in the R*cord "How many will the mighty Rangers score on Saturday?"

Davie Cooper disappeared into Zico's back pocket and Robbo/Jimmy roughed up their defence. As mentioned, we were three up before they got a late consolation. Zico only ever had one bad game against Cooper and he must have been ill that day. Cooper actually had more bookings fouling Kidd than Walter got fouling him - quite miraculous from Scottish referees!

Doddie rested players to have his best team out for the league game.

I remember my blue nose brother-in-law saying it was a disgrace on the day of the LC game.  He was very quiet after the league game.

Absolutely the right decision and he would probably have been slaughtered on here before the LC game.

2 hours ago, EH11_2NL said:

My first derby. Didn't we also beat Sevco in the league cup the same week?

no but we beat deidco in the league the following Saturday 

iwasthere1954
On 01/03/2021 at 10:54, smiler said:

😕

That hurt Shomato. 

😭

Compared to me Thomaso is a boy. Know him well although I don't think he knows my user name.

On 06/10/2020 at 18:26, Tommy Brown said:

Correct John.

A night our age group and above will never forget.

4th goal by the Buzzbomb.

Spine tingling. The scenes on the terraces....wow.:wub:

Some off my phone , apologies if any are non Hearts or doublers. If there is hopefully the mods can remove them. 

643AA331-5F89-421D-8BA1-8DDFAC8A29BF.jpeg

88617F6C-3673-4757-8C96-B0DF979C61BA.jpeg

C23F067E-B22D-4B6C-BBEB-9764087EA3EF.jpeg

6E0E1D16-A76D-4281-83A0-FFF10D6A4CAB.jpeg

56F84241-57EF-4D0F-B7B0-ADCE620B1003.jpeg

08426661-8FBF-4DF0-9BCE-A0BA52CBEB23.jpeg

3203F83A-6B8D-4FBF-A3FB-31F5FB134008.jpeg

0E25F64B-EE2E-4411-9F9F-B6290D598527.jpeg

280A79B9-CA03-437E-ACA2-93C9B21F008C.jpeg

B1DCC071-3FCC-4D4A-B609-D83467EB14DB.jpeg

87A1DA17-10F2-4924-9FF0-1941C583547E.jpeg

1B0B71B7-6865-4E22-8C9C-AAD1B54B2178.jpeg

260C1B18-8E1A-42A9-A95E-AD79225E4DBF.jpeg

DFD057C2-DE1A-49E8-AF2E-08C165A25C6F.jpeg

352ADD5B-7DD8-46A0-A4FE-BF5030E2BC38.jpeg

BBA164E5-61CD-4521-8124-17A14C30BD45.jpeg

6C8F2B0C-C4EB-4D63-9844-EA9E856C82CA.jpeg

859FA6B4-95D6-466A-A088-CE58E68ABBCF.jpeg

868EE484-F7E3-4B1D-9A71-6D434723F155.jpeg

2EFFD0A7-BABB-4253-BB3C-D8341229B3CB.jpeg

AABDC4D2-6EB0-40DB-8D4F-E6B829CFE813.jpeg

6AB7345D-82AF-469C-8882-172E2A85F031.jpeg

22AD9845-E8AB-48FA-8B03-4171B4871182.jpeg

3F343E01-E4FD-4545-92B0-65F69D484D71.jpeg

4F4A1A4C-EB6A-4923-97B6-889DA04F796C.jpeg

08C8A2C7-C958-4A36-87A4-D92CED21209B.jpeg

321C9909-FB1A-487B-9B51-BEC5614B4CD8.jpeg

BAA8DAD8-B6AC-45B6-8AB6-1C5CDC4E8A83.jpeg

CCEF7BFD-61CA-43B0-84AF-6D20E05FB72E.jpeg

0308CFE3-AFB4-4808-8DF6-DA92E9690738.jpeg

4F876C1C-521A-4737-92C9-9BD7257807FE.jpeg

60EAF7BE-F833-4D9E-9B41-D61CFE2540A2.jpeg

1D237354-6E8B-4D9A-8C7E-CBB12A78D655.jpeg

73839848-41BA-48BC-ACFA-23D4F87A61CB.jpeg

5EACCBFB-8330-4307-9872-6C49C2FF440E.jpeg

Edited by sadj

6 hours ago, sadj said:

Some off my phone , apologies if any are non Hearts or doublers. If there is hopefully the mods can remove them. 

643AA331-5F89-421D-8BA1-8DDFAC8A29BF.jpeg

88617F6C-3673-4757-8C96-B0DF979C61BA.jpeg

C23F067E-B22D-4B6C-BBEB-9764087EA3EF.jpeg

6E0E1D16-A76D-4281-83A0-FFF10D6A4CAB.jpeg

56F84241-57EF-4D0F-B7B0-ADCE620B1003.jpeg

3203F83A-6B8D-4FBF-A3FB-31F5FB134008.jpeg

0E25F64B-EE2E-4411-9F9F-B6290D598527.jpeg

280A79B9-CA03-437E-ACA2-93C9B21F008C.jpeg

B1DCC071-3FCC-4D4A-B609-D83467EB14DB.jpeg

87A1DA17-10F2-4924-9FF0-1941C583547E.jpeg

1B0B71B7-6865-4E22-8C9C-AAD1B54B2178.jpeg

260C1B18-8E1A-42A9-A95E-AD79225E4DBF.jpeg

DFD057C2-DE1A-49E8-AF2E-08C165A25C6F.jpeg

352ADD5B-7DD8-46A0-A4FE-BF5030E2BC38.jpeg

BBA164E5-61CD-4521-8124-17A14C30BD45.jpeg

6C8F2B0C-C4EB-4D63-9844-EA9E856C82CA.jpeg

859FA6B4-95D6-466A-A088-CE58E68ABBCF.jpeg

868EE484-F7E3-4B1D-9A71-6D434723F155.jpeg

2EFFD0A7-BABB-4253-BB3C-D8341229B3CB.jpeg

AABDC4D2-6EB0-40DB-8D4F-E6B829CFE813.jpeg

6AB7345D-82AF-469C-8882-172E2A85F031.jpeg

22AD9845-E8AB-48FA-8B03-4171B4871182.jpeg

3F343E01-E4FD-4545-92B0-65F69D484D71.jpeg

4F4A1A4C-EB6A-4923-97B6-889DA04F796C.jpeg

08C8A2C7-C958-4A36-87A4-D92CED21209B.jpeg

321C9909-FB1A-487B-9B51-BEC5614B4CD8.jpeg

BAA8DAD8-B6AC-45B6-8AB6-1C5CDC4E8A83.jpeg

CCEF7BFD-61CA-43B0-84AF-6D20E05FB72E.jpeg

0308CFE3-AFB4-4808-8DF6-DA92E9690738.jpeg

4F876C1C-521A-4737-92C9-9BD7257807FE.jpeg

60EAF7BE-F833-4D9E-9B41-D61CFE2540A2.jpeg

1D237354-6E8B-4D9A-8C7E-CBB12A78D655.jpeg

73839848-41BA-48BC-ACFA-23D4F87A61CB.jpeg

5EACCBFB-8330-4307-9872-6C49C2FF440E.jpeg

I could be wrong but have you cloned my phone ???? 

1 minute ago, 3fingersreid said:

I could be wrong but have you cloned my phone ???? 

Lol im going to say no simply as i have no pics of footie boots in the freezer

6 hours ago, sadj said:

This one brings back so many memories - terracing, the halftime scoreboard, Clubcall, obscured views, old floodlight pylons, the flats, permanently scuffed up six-yard box... just need Craig Levein bodying a striker or Robbo flicking in a goal for that picture to be complete.

2 hours ago, sadj said:

Lol im going to say no simply as i have no pics of footie boots in the freezer

😂😂😂

Easter Road 1979 - the days of short back and sides long gone

20210506_100047.jpg.0700fdb38cab7baa34d717364ef5d675.jpg

11 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Easter Road 1979 - the days of short back and sides long gone

20210506_100047.jpg.0700fdb38cab7baa34d717364ef5d675.jpg

The Cup tie?

A hairy afternoon by all accounts. 

🤪

53 minutes ago, martoon said:

The Cup tie?

A hairy afternoon by all accounts. 

🤪

I was pretty near that scuffle - also remembered for the guy a couple of steps up who decided it was a good idea to go for a pish where he stood 

1 minute ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I was pretty near that scuffle - also remembered for the guy a couple of steps up who decided it was a good idea to go for a pish where he stood 

I wasn't there myself, MS. Only 10/11 years old and not allowed to attend derbies then.

My dad was, though, and told me about it. 

Just now, martoon said:

I wasn't there myself, MS. Only 10/11 years old and not allowed to attend derbies then.

My dad was, though, and told me about it. 

I was 11 and I think it was my first derby at Easter Road

Just now, Maroon Sailor said:

I was 11 and I think it was my first derby at Easter Road

I was on the Dunbar end just over two years later for my first derby. EoSS game. Wild night that was. Loved it.

muldoon74
On 03/03/2021 at 06:30, dannymack said:

Part of The North British Distillery

711c9c9c32dec852a33b2642dce90926.jpg

20201216_163829.jpg

20201216_163701.jpg

20201216_163647.jpg

Hearts new signings 1957-58, Kelly, McIntosh, Clark, Cunning.jpg

Hibernian 1.1.1959 (Div 1) 1-3 (H) Alex Young scores Hearts'.jpg

FB_IMG_1486681096470.jpg

IMG_20181204_211510.jpg

FB_IMG_1510586160428.jpg

Not enough jumping straight up and down in training these days imo.. 

9 minutes ago, muldoon74 said:

Not enough jumping straight up and down in training these days imo.. 

It obviously never did Alex Young and Willie Bauld any harm, you could not beat the auld doon tae yer left doon tae yer right then up for the baw heider run roond the pitch training 

Edited by The Maroon Pound

muldoon74
1 hour ago, The Maroon Pound said:

It obviously never did Alex Young and Willie Bauld any harm, you could not beat the auld doon tae yer left doon tae yer right then up for the baw heider run roond the pitch training 

I was actually being quite serious and fully agree it didn't do them any harm.. Most players these days not fit to lace The Kings boots!