• Perth to Paisley

• Sooks

Heartsofgold
1 hour ago, briever said:

And Sellick get 30% of that too.

Not according to both Savage and McKinley.  They were fully compensated for him when he left and so are due nothing.  Unlike other fees (such as Queens Park receiving ongoing fees for Andy Robertson) this was a SELL ON fee, not a development fee we agreed with Celtic.  If it had been a development fee then , yes, they would be due a proportion of any future fees he accumulates (until he is over 23 I think).

Edited by Heartsofgold

The Goalscoring Knee

Tomorrow's Times

Brentford lead the race to sign Aaron Hickey for around £13 million.

The 19-year-old has impressed playing on both flanks and as a wing back for Bologna this season and in recent weeks he has been linked with Napoli, Newcastle United and Arsenal — who say that reports of them striking a deal are not true.

Hickey won his first Scotland caps against Poland and Austria in March. He has always had the desire to go and play in England. He has started 34 league games for Bologna, scoring five goals, after being limited to ten starts in the same competition in his first season for the Italian club. Hickey joined Bologna over Bayern Munich and Celtic when he left Heart of Midlothian for £1.5 million in September 2020 in a deal that included an unstated sell-on clause.

On 15/05/2022 at 10:45, SMJ_1874 said:

No I have information. I’ve shared it privately with one of the mods. I just choose when to post. I can also tell you that Halkett is going for an operation straight after the final and we almost have a 6ft 4 centre back over the line too 😉

Tag this mod please so they can tell us if they believe you

Think he's headed to the very top, I've really enjoyed watching him in the games I've managed to catch. His progression is quite remarkable and having knocked back a bigger club to sign for Bologna, he backed himself to play regularly and he has. His next move, while hopefully netting us as much as possible, is important in the respect of playing games and his choice may again not be the biggest club in for him but I've no doubt he'll have those big teams knocking again in the future.

9 hours ago, The Goalscoring Knee said:

Tomorrow's Times

The 19-year-old has impressed playing on both flanks and as a wing back for Bologna this season and in recent weeks he has been linked with Napoli, Newcastle United and Arsenal — who say that reports of them striking a deal are not true.

Hickey won his first Scotland caps against Poland and Austria in March. He has always had the desire to go and play in England. He has started 34 league games for Bologna, scoring five goals, after being limited to ten starts in the same competition in his first season for the Italian club. Hickey joined Bologna over Bayern Munich and Celtic when he left Heart of Midlothian for £1.5 million in September 2020 in a deal that included an unstated sell-on clause.

Hopefully this is just his agent trying to force the other 3 into making offers, Brentford and £13m...nah.

10 minutes ago, Tiger said:

Hopefully this is just his agent trying to force the other 3 into making offers, Brentford and £13m...nah.

You would think Bologna would look to hold out for much more, Hickey isn't trying to move and he is a highly regarded young player. They also sold Tomiyasu last summer for more to Arsenal.

4 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

You would think Bologna would look to hold out for much more, Hickey isn't trying to move and he is a highly regarded young player. They also sold Tomiyasu last summer for more to Arsenal.

He won't be earning much compared to the rest of their squad so there'll be a limit to what they can get without a new deal.

They only paid 1.5m, selling him for 13m would be amazing business already

9 hours ago, Chong said:

Think he's headed to the very top, I've really enjoyed watching him in the games I've managed to catch. His progression is quite remarkable and having knocked back a bigger club to sign for Bologna, he backed himself to play regularly and he has. His next move, while hopefully netting us as much as possible, is important in the respect of playing games and his choice may again not be the biggest club in for him but I've no doubt he'll have those big teams knocking again in the future.

Just spotted your avatar after this popped up in my FB feed, apparently I printed it 6 years ago today.

FB_IMG_1652773671979.thumb.jpg.c52055d82b524dd8e8567ac7d3aa90fe.jpg

Great minds...

9 hours ago, The Goalscoring Knee said:

Tomorrow's Times

Tripe I reckon.

22 hours ago, Heartsofgold said:

Not according to both Savage and McKinley.  They were fully compensated for him when he left and so are due nothing.  Unlike other fees (such as Queens Park receiving ongoing fees for Andy Robertson) this was a SELL ON fee, not a development fee we agreed with Celtic.  If it had been a development fee then , yes, they would be due a proportion of any future fees he accumulates (until he is over 23 I think).

Celtic WILL get a small payout if Hickey transfers from one country to another. It’s called a solidarity payment. They would get a half share of 1.3% of the total transfer fee. It doesn’t come off our sell on fee and we’d get the other half of that 1.3% 

roughly £250k split 2 ways if he goes for £18m unless Celtic somehow waived their right to it when he moved to us in which case we’d get all of it IN ADDITION  to our sell on fee

Edited by JimmyCant

Heartsofgold
1 minute ago, JimmyCant said:

Celtic WILL get a small payout if Hickey transfers from one country to another. It’s called a solidarity payment. They would get a half share of 1.3% of the total transfer fee. It doesn’t come off our sell on fee and we’d get the other half of that 1.3% 

roughly £250k split 2 ways if he goes for £18m

But, as you said, not paid from our proportion of the fee.

Heartsofgold
Just now, JimmyCant said:

correct

Then as far as I'm concerned they can lick my salty left one for any more money from us if/when he's transferred.

It’s quite clear from all sources at Hearts that they would not be due anything from our sell on fee

1 minute ago, Heartsofgold said:

Then as far as I'm concerned they can lick my salty left one for any more money from us if/when he's transferred.

Heartsofgold
3 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

It’s quite clear from all sources at Hearts that they would not be due anything from our sell on fee

Which is exactly how I have read it.  Hearts are no longer liable for any further fees for him to Celtic.

2 minutes ago, Heartsofgold said:

Which is exactly how I have read it.  Hearts are no longer liable for any further fees for him to Celtic.

We could I suppose send them a shoebox with a really big shite in it.  One that touches both ends of the box.  "here's what we're due you" type thing.

1 minute ago, TheBigO said:

We could I suppose send them a shoebox with a really big shite in it.  One that touches both ends of the box.  "here's what we're due you" type thing.

Include glitter and a wee bow and I'm sold

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

I think it's pretty clear from reports in Italy, that Bologna's minimum price is £18 million. 

The laddie would need rocks in his head to go to Brentford anyway. No happening

Just now, JimmyCant said:

Looking at recent second season syndrone (Sheffield United, Leeds) Brentford are strong candidates for relegation next season. 

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Include glitter and a wee bow and I'm sold

At our own cost?  No chance.  Even the box will be fished oot the recycling

1 minute ago, TheBigO said:

At our own cost?  No chance.  Even the box will be fished oot the recycling

I could probably rustle up some pish to decorate it

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I could probably rustle up some pish to decorate it

Deal.  A big shite and some rustled pish.  "here's your cut"

Naisys Tackle
24 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

West London isn't the worst place to be playing your football, developing and progressing under a very good coach.  Better than kicking about the bench/out on loan from Arsenal. 

Naisys Tackle
24 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Looking at recent second season syndrone (Sheffield United, Leeds) Brentford are strong candidates for relegation next season. 

I would say they are much stronger than all three clubs that have or will be promoted, maybe Nottingham Forest could build though.  

Saying that, I wouldn't like Hickey to join a club right away in the English top flight that could be pumped every week.  It's extremely interesting what his next move will be tbh.  Hopefully he stays where he is for the next year or so and becomes a real star for the club. 

15 minutes ago, Robbies Tackle said:

West London isn't the worst place to be playing your football, developing and progressing under a very good coach.  Better than kicking about the bench/out on loan from Arsenal. 

He doesn’t need to be anywhere else’s for development. He’s been playing Serie A football as a first pick and recently a Scottish international. He’s good enough to get into that Arsenal team IMO. He is better now than Tierney was when he moved there IMO

Naisys Tackle
1 minute ago, JimmyCant said:

He doesn’t need to be anywhere else’s for development. He’s been playing Serie A football as a first pick and recently a Scottish international. He’s good enough to get into that Arsenal team IMO. He is better now than Tierney was when he moved there IMO

Hickey isn't as good as Tierney is now though and I couldn't see him starting much for an Arsenal side looking to progress next season.  His time will come though and he's in a very good place to develop. 

44 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Unless they buy good players and strengthen, which they are trying to do! 

1 minute ago, Robbies Tackle said:

Hickey isn't as good as Tierney is now though and I couldn't see him starting much for an Arsenal side looking to progress next season.  His time will come though and he's in a very good place to develop. 

Rumour is Tierney is off to Spain though, which is why they fancy Hickey I assume ?

Armageddon
2 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Rumour is Tierney is off to Spain though, which is why they fancy Hickey I assume ?

FFS am I the only one not going to Seville?

30 minutes ago, Robbies Tackle said:

I would say they are much stronger than all three clubs that have or will be promoted, maybe Nottingham Forest could build though.  

Saying that, I wouldn't like Hickey to join a club right away in the English top flight that could be pumped every week.  It's extremely interesting what his next move will be tbh.  Hopefully he stays where he is for the next year or so and becomes a real star for the club. 

Really hope he doesn't stay another year, his value will drop( as his contract situation favours him more) and there is a real danger of a cut price fee or running his contract down. 

He has a history of that. 

Hope he goes now as the club are in a good position to demand a fee and his stock is high. 

Hope he goes for the biggest fee possible, don't care which club it is. 

45 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

FFS am I the only one not going to Seville?

Quite a few who thought they were going aren’t going now. Chucked off planes all over the shop. Presumably they are landing first 😂

Armageddon
6 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Quite a few who thought they were going aren’t going now. Chucked off planes all over the shop. Presumably they are landing first 😂

I just wondered, if Tierney is going to Spain, plus Halliday, then that near enough leaves just me :)

5 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

I just wondered, if Tierney is going to Spain, plus Halliday, then that near enough leaves just me :)

Have I missed something ? Is Halliday in Seville ?

9 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

Don't worry, Armageddon, some of us don't hear that Whooshing sound. :)

2 hours ago, Robbies Tackle said:

They need four fullbacks because their first choices are injury prone. Hickey can play left and right back so makes him a great guy for the bench initially. Tierney could well end up playing left centre-back similar to his Scotland role. 

2 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Can’t see it.  He is a future captain at Emirates.  Real Madrid are breaking the bank to buy Mbappe in any case so unlikely to have the £50m required for Tierney. 

6 hours ago, Robbies Tackle said:

Arsenal a good place to develop? May have misunderstood but Arsenal have a poor record in the last decade or so in developing promising young players. In fact they have generally gone downhill since the American takeover. Look very unlikely now to qualify for CL yet again. Arteta may not last much longer. Not a happy club after last two results.

On 15/05/2022 at 21:59, Batistuta87 said:

For those asking about the sell-on fee, Joel Sked (Jambo journalist) and Laurie Dunsire from Hearts TV were on This Is My Story podcast discussing it. Sked said "is it 15, 20 %?" And Dunsure said "15". Not an impeccable source but about as close to the club as any of us on here will get. I doubt we'll publicly reveal what was agreed because clubs/players/agents will then know how much money we have and try to squeeze extra out of us. We'll find out when accounts are published I'd think. 

Savage said it would be a six figure fee probably not thinking he would go for quite as much as reported now. I think at the time Bologna were looking for £8M from Roma which would have given us £800-900k from 10-15%. 

Thanks for that, I think that all makes sense and kind of tracks -  Heres hoping he goes this summer and we've got a bit more cash into the club coffers!!

16 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Arsenal a good place to develop? May have misunderstood but Arsenal have a poor record in the last decade or so in developing promising young players. In fact they have generally gone downhill since the American takeover. Look very unlikely now to qualify for CL yet again. Arteta may not last much longer. Not a happy club after last two results.

When are clubs going to realise that Yanks have completely different attitudes towards sporting clubs - it's always money first.  Which is of in contrast to their homegrown sports where they understand you need to develop squads and even have that socialist draft too.

Quite frankly they are cancer in real fitba.

Stendelnator
25 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

For Arteta to get that squad so close to Champions League is almost miraculous. Look at the team they played last night. Half those players wouldn’t be out of place at a Norwich or Burnley. 

Batistuta87
32 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Would tend to disagree with that. Arsenal are alright at playing young guys... 

Fabregas, Walcott, Wilshere, Maitland-Niles, Smith-Rowe, Saka, Iwobi, Bellerin, Sczezny, Nketiah are all Arsenal Academy graduates within the last 10y or so. That's just off the top of my head. Even Tierney to an extent considering he was only 21/22 when they signed him. 

8 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Fabregas, Walcott, Wilshere, Maitland-Niles, Smith-Rowe, Saka, Iwobi, Bellerin, Sczezny, Nketiah are all Arsenal Academy graduates within the last 10y or so. That's just off the top of my head. Even Tierney to an extent considering he was only 21/22 when they signed him. 

Yup, the argument I have seen from some Arsenal fans is the problem for the club has been the experienced players and the culture they had in the changing room and on the pitch. It was the young players who looked to make a difference. Its also not a surprise that after Arsenal have shifted a lot of those older players they are looking a better team (still a work in progress but heading the right way.) Arteta has had to really change years of poor mentality at the club, was never going to be done over night.

Batistuta87
12 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

Yup, the argument I have seen from some Arsenal fans is the problem for the club has been the experienced players and the culture they had in the changing room and on the pitch. It was the young players who looked to make a difference. Its also not a surprise that after Arsenal have shifted a lot of those older players they are looking a better team (still a work in progress but heading the right way.) Arteta has had to really change years of poor mentality at the club, was never going to be done over night.

Yup 👍🏻

33 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Fair enough. Walcott and Wilshire never fulfilled their potential IMO. Maybe due to the issue others have identified. The impact in the dressing room, in training and on the pitch of overpaid egos who were not good team players. For whatever reason Arsenal have underperformed for a decade.

• davemclaren changed the title to **** Official Premiership Hickey Thread ( merged ) ****