You’ve only got a tenner..

Morgan

.. and quite fancy getting just a bit pished.

What would you buy?  

Not in a pub, obviously.

What would you buy in a supermarket or an off-licence that would get you there?

There is a good reason behind this thread, btw.  

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

Jif.

Or two/three bottles of cheap red plonk.

Would rather have the Jif, though.

You answered that in a jiffy.

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

What would you buy?  

Not in a pub, obviously.

everclear__49658.1384375693.jpg?c=2

190 proof, you say? :kirklol:

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

Have to go with the 2 bottles of red answer. 

Me too.

It’s ‘character building’.

🍷

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

It doesn't take much to get me pissed. A bottle of ruby port would do the trick.

As per usual, red plays the classy card!

:wink: 

Just now, Morgan said:

As per usual, red plays the classy card!

:wink: 

I wouldn't call a cheap bottle of Tesco port classy, but cheers Morgan. :toasting:

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

I wouldn't call a cheap bottle of Tesco port classy, but cheers Morgan. :toasting:

My pleasure, Sir.

Tesco has it's moments.

Half litre of Vodka if I am allowed to use coke that is already in the house, won't get me completely pished but get me close enough.

Not really a big wine drinker but if I was allowed to buy rennies as well it would do the job.

Interesting experiment to be had here, I am on 2 weeks leave from Friday, so might try it out.

Just now, Carl Fredrickson said:

2 bottles of this would see me pished twice

image.png.e6c08ee0d1128e110c3caf7bd0e61d6d.png

What an excellent choice, Carl.  👍

Rioja, or it’s wee brother, Tempranillo, are quite wonderful. 

The older brother being the first pick of course.  🍷

3 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Half litre of Vodka if I am allowed to use coke that is already in the house, won't get me completely pished but get me close enough.

Not really a big wine drinker but if I was allowed to buy rennies as well it would do the job.

Interesting experiment to be had here, I am on 2 weeks leave from Friday, so might try it out.

Remember though, Frenchie, exceed 10 notes and you’ve broken the rules.

😎

Just now, Morgan said:

What an excellent choice, Carl.  👍

Rioja, or it’s wee brother, Tempranillo, are quite wonderful. 

The older brother being the first pick of course.  🍷

Only got into red wine in the last couple of years and Rioja suits my tastes very well. Asda do a nice £8 bottle that I buy from time to time. 

When will you let us know the good reason for the thread (not that you need a good reason to get pished)

Just now, Carl Fredrickson said:

Only got into red wine in the last couple of years and Rioja suits my tastes very well. Asda do a nice £8 bottle that I buy from time to time. 

When will you let us know the good reason for the thread (not that you need a good reason to get pished)

‘Good reason’ will be posted tomorrow.

Assuming, that is, that I have the faintest clue what I was talking about.  🤞

Just now, Morgan said:

:greggy:

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

has Janet turned up and eaten so much that you are now broke?

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Remember though, Frenchie, exceed 10 notes and you’ve broken the rules.

😎

Consulted Mrs F (not on the testing it out part, more the cost/concept) and she scoffed at the idea of me being pished after 1/2 litre vodka and where I will get it and mixers for £10.

Minimum alcohol pricing makes this quite difficult now. 

Probably 50p on a 2 litre bottle of own brand pop and £9.50 on spirits if it is purely to get pished. Otherwise 2 bottles of £4.99 wine chosen via the vivino app (anything 3.7/5 or above is a winner in my view) would be my preferred choice. Good thread.

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

has Janet turned up and eaten so much that you are now broke?

:sad: 

Sadly, very sadly, she can’t get here at the moment.

Not that she can’t get a flight, purely because she is simply too heavy for an EasyJet booking.

5 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Minimum alcohol pricing makes this quite difficult now. 

Not in Italy it doesn’t.

Asda doing 12 330ml bottles Warsteiner (Wobbly for those, who are EX-BAOR) for a tenner. If I don't eat all day 12 bottles will probly give a wee dunt at least. 

Maybe 3 big bottles of Leffe Blonde £3 each) & wee can of some type of low, brand cocktail from the sugary alcohol section... 

8 minutes ago, muldoon74 said:

Asda doing 12 330ml bottles Warsteiner (Wobbly for those, who are EX-BAOR) for a tenner. If I don't eat all day 12 bottles will probly give a wee dunt at least. 

Maybe 3 big bottles of Leffe Blonde £3 each) & wee can of some type of low, brand cocktail from the sugary alcohol section... 

Big respect for the out the box thinking - empty stomach could see 3 bottles of Leffe (lovely stuff) and a sugary cocktail (might be lovely, never tried one) do the job and still allow being tucked up in bed by ten at the latest.

Just remembered sometimes you can get the Leffe for £2.50 on offer.

Edited by CostaJambo
Frugality

36 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said:

Drink my own pish and save the tenner. 

If I drink Bulls-eyes pish for a tenner then Ill put it yoward my tenner and spends my 20 on some Courvoisier.

Or Aldis do a more than passable cognac (Chevalier) st 15.49 a 70cl bottle.

So a drink o pish, a free tenner, a bottle of semi decent cognac and £4.51 change.

Had worse nights.

22 minutes ago, CostaJambo said:

Big respect for the out the box thinking - empty stomach could see 3 bottles of Leffe (lovely stuff) and a sugary cocktail (might be lovely, never tried one) do the job and still allow being tucked up in bed by ten at the latest.

Just remembered sometimes you can get the Leffe for £2.50 on offer.

Sugary cocktail was to take it to a tenner as you can get them for a pound.. 👍

If Leffe on speciality be four of them. Or 2 and a bottle of 14% red if available at a fiver. 

Loving this game now! 

Doesnt take much to get me out my face and embarrassing everyone so three bottles of this could do the job

I got a crate when I was in Orkney a few years ago and it knocked me for six (didnt drink the whole crate at once)

image.png

image.png

Edited by Carl Fredrickson

1 hour ago, Boof said:

The 'empty stomach' approach seems to be not without merit.

Went to boarding school so in 4th year when we were allowed into town on a Saturday me and my mate would not eat dinner on a Friday, breakfast or lunch Saturday and then into Stirling Saturday afternoon. 

£5 got a half return and 2 litres of cider.

Stumble back to school and hide till su day.. 😂😂 

Great days... 👍

Edit: as 4th years it was understood you done your underage drinking apprenticeship on the park benches and hidey holes around Stirling. 

Pubs were graduated to in 5th/6th year. 

Edited by muldoon74

I still have an unopened bottle of Pusser's rum given to me for my last birthday. No need to spend a tenner. 

Tight fisted git that I am.

Nip to asda and get 6 x 500ml bottles of their 4.2% Bavaria Premium Beer and a bottle of Three mills Reserve Red wine, grand total of £9.97

Depends on what “just a bit pished” means.  If it’s ‘take the edge off and feel nicely relaxed’ a single bottle of red would do the trick for me - so I’d spend my tenner on a semi-decent bottle.
(Clearly I’m light-weight - or out of practice -though)

When I was in Krakow at New Year I got half a litre of local vodka, coke, a six pack of local beer and a two day hangover for under a tenner.

The best full bodied red I can get for my tenner. That'd probably be a cab sauv or a malbec. I'm not getting anything French for that cash.

19 hours ago, Morgan said:

What would you buy?  

Not in a pub, obviously.

Bott;e of buckie :sick:and a can of Special Brew :boak:

In reality all I need is a couple of tins of Red Stripe, one can Dan here. :laugh: