***Official Bundesliga thread 2020/21***

Locky

Schalke haven’t actually been that bad. Some of the Dortmund finishing has been ridiculously good. Don’t think 3-0 is a fair reflection of the game.

• Replies 156

• Locky

• Wee Mikey

• leginten

34 minutes ago, leginten said:

Schalke haven’t actually been that bad. Some of the Dortmund finishing has been ridiculously good. Don’t think 3-0 is a fair reflection of the game.

Make that 0-4 now. Deary me. It never augurs well when a 'keeper gets substituted, but I don't think any of the goals were the result of that. Ist one, the defender gets robbed, which was poor; but the other goals? Well, I'm hoping oor Robbie takes a look to see how to play through a defense. That volley for #2 was something else, and after #3 where they passed their way through the defense I was waiting for #4, and it duly came with some more deft passing & players running into the box!

Talk about 'propping up the table'? That points tally is scary, but the goal difference is a nightmare.

Edited by Wee Mikey

45 minutes ago, leginten said:

Believe it or not, this has been all too familiar a case this season. Schalke do honestly play pretty well most weeks, but a lack of real firepower, and some bad individual choices has put them in this situation. Tonight was just another case of the same old story. Never a game that Schalke should have lost 4-0.

8 minutes ago, Locky said:

Believe it or not, this has been all too familiar a case this season. Schalke do honestly play pretty well most weeks, but a lack of real firepower, and some bad individual choices has put them in this situation. Tonight was just another case of the same old story. Never a game that Schalke should have lost 4-0.

Sounds reminiscent of Düsseldorf last season. Of the games I saw they were the better team in most of them but couldn’t manage to get more than a draw most games. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

Sounds reminiscent of Düsseldorf last season. Of the games I saw they were the better team in most of them but couldn’t manage to get more than a draw most games. 

Yeah I think I recall watching them quite a bit towards the end of the season. Genuinely thought Rosler might keep them up.

Got a wee soft spot for Dusseldorf. First foreign city I went to and been back a few times since. Cracking city. First time I was there, I went for a nosey in the club shop in town and picked up a maroon and white Fortuna scarf.

On 20/02/2021 at 19:51, Locky said:

If you can 'stand it', have a wee look at the highlights. Methinks Hearts could learn a lesson or two from Dortmund. I'm pretty well resigned that, in the words of a stalwart chap from Gelsenkirchen, "We're going down." I say, "have faith", and "Glückauf", but, in the words of Private Frazer', "We're doomed". 🤭

20210224_162514.jpg

Edited by Wee Mikey

1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

If you can 'stand it', have a wee look at the highlights. Methinks Hearts could learn a lesson or two from Dortmund. I'm pretty well resigned that, in the words of a stalwart chap from Gelsenkirchen, "We're going down." I say, "have faith", and "Glückauf", but, in the words of Private Frazer', "We're doomed". 🤭

20210224_162514.jpg

Dortmund were sickeningly effective on Saturday. If you need a confidence boost, play Schalke. I think even Hearts would stick a couple past Schalke just now. :lol: 

2 hours ago, Locky said:

Dortmund were sickeningly effective on Saturday. If you need a confidence boost, play Schalke. I think even Hearts would stick a couple past Schalke just now. :lol: 

Nah, it would be another hat-trick for Matthew Hoppe. 19 years old!

Nineteen! NI... Ni... Ni...Nineteen!

If you're good enough, you're old enough!

I'm heartily sick of Hearts players over the age of 16 being referred to as 'kids'.

Oh, and here's the 'Ni...Ni...Ni...Nineteen ref for anyone who didn't 'get it'. 👍

Edited by Wee Mikey

Christian Gross becomes the third, yes THIRD, manager to be sacked by Schalke this season. In February. What an absolute joke.

For those in other threads saying they feel so detached from Hearts, imagine trying to support Schalke too. Football is really killing me atm.

1 hour ago, Locky said:

Christian Gross becomes the third, yes THIRD, manager to be sacked by Schalke this season. In February. What an absolute joke.

For those in other threads saying they feel so detached from Hearts, imagine trying to support Schalke too. Football is really killing me atm.

No need for me to imagine, for sure; I DO (support both Hearts and Schalke) and it is absolute torture! I cannae see a way out for Schalke this season. I'm just a tad concerned about their mounting debts. At least Hearts are gonna go up again, but the 3rd biggest club in the Bundesliga better get their act together pronto. Otherwise, they may very well do a 'Leeds United' and struggle in the wilderness for years.

12 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

No need for me to imagine, for sure; I DO (support both Hearts and Schalke) and it is absolute torture! I cannae see a way out for Schalke this season. I'm just a tad concerned about their mounting debts. At least Hearts are gonna go up again, but the 3rd biggest club in the Bundesliga better get their act together pronto. Otherwise, they may very well do a 'Leeds United' and struggle in the wilderness for years.

Yup. Scary times ahead Mikey. Although somewhat buoyed by the thought of Felix Baumgart being in charge next season.

28 minutes ago, Locky said:

Yup. Scary times ahead Mikey. Although somewhat buoyed by the thought of Felix Baumgart being in charge next season.

Meanwhile, breaking all the wrong records.

A'body oot! 😄 

https://talksport.com/football/841826/schalke-bundesliga-first-team-leadership-sacked-shkodran-mustafi-sead-kolasinac-player-revolt/

Huge game for Schalke kicking off on BT just now, at home to Mainz. 4th manager of the season Dimitrios Grammozis is in charge for the first time. Only job before this was with Darmstadt so very much a Bundesliga 2 appointment.

However, a win tonight puts Schalke only 6 points from safety, with Bielefeld, Augsburg, Hertha and Koln all still to play. I'm trying not to get carried away too much, but a Schalke win, and honestly, it's not impossible. It would be up there with one of the greatest escapes of all time if they can do it, but there's a lot of football to be played. Win tonight, and who knows?

4 hours ago, Locky said:

Huge game for Schalke kicking off on BT just now, at home to Mainz. 4th manager of the season Dimitrios Grammozis is in charge for the first time. Only job before this was with Darmstadt so very much a Bundesliga 2 appointment.

However, a win tonight puts Schalke only 6 points from safety, with Bielefeld, Augsburg, Hertha and Koln all still to play. I'm trying not to get carried away too much, but a Schalke win, and honestly, it's not impossible. It would be up there with one of the greatest escapes of all time if they can do it, but there's a lot of football to be played. Win tonight, and who knows?

The draw suited Mainz more. 

Was at a match at the Schalke stadium at the WC in 2006. Great place for football. 

Just now, Cruyff said:

King Robert with a hattrick 

What a feckin player! 

4-2 Bayern

2 GOALS IN AROUND 1 MINUTE !!

Bayern may have the odd weakness but with a top class striker they are always a danger

Just now, CJGJ said:

2 GOALS IN AROUND 1 MINUTE !!

Bayern may have the odd weakness but with a top class striker they are always a danger

They always know they can always win the game. Rangers are like that at the moment . Liverpool had that in the previous season. Mark of a winning side. 

Lewendowski now has 31 goals in 23 league games and 37 in 33 total games. Hopefully he gets his Ballon d'or this year. 

Great documentary just starting on BT re Union Berlin and last season (their first) in the top flight..We are Union

I loved seeing both grounds in Berlin when last there

Edited by CJGJ

On 05/03/2021 at 19:31, Locky said:

Whole of Germany is laughing about Schalke! Great win for Hertha

2 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Great documentary just starting on BT re Union Berlin and last season (their first) in the top flight..We are Union

I loved seeing both grounds in Berlin when last there

It is interesting, been on at least once before, they have a great history and are over achieving this season based on their resources.

• 4 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

No Super League then. 

Got ourselves relegated so we could join it and now it looks like it's not happening. What a shit show.

26 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

No Super League then. 

Bayern maybe happy to be pushed a little bit. Last 2 seasons a bit. 

Watching Hamburg implode towards the end of every season is good entertainment. Having been incredibly lucky to escape relegation from the top league for a number of years, they are now stuck fast in Bundesliga 2 and look to be about to blow their promotion chances once again. Tonight they’re trailing 2-0 to basement dwellers Sandhausen.

5 minutes ago, leginten said:

Watching Hamburg implode towards the end of every season is good entertainment. Having been incredibly lucky to escape relegation from the top league for a number of years, they are now stuck fast in Bundesliga 2 and look to be about to blow their promotion chances once again. Tonight they’re trailing 2-0 to basement dwellers Sandhausen.

Can't recommend watching the Konferenz enough, especially on the last day of the Bundesliga season👍

The pic is from when Hamburg finally went down. A wee bit different to the pish-stained bed sheet protests we get in Scotland.

download.jpeg-18.jpg

33 minutes ago, Longbaws said:

Can't recommend watching the Konferenz enough, especially on the last day of the Bundesliga season👍

The pic is from when Hamburg finally went down. A wee bit different to the pish-stained bed sheet protests we get in Scotland.

download.jpeg-18.jpg

Did you see Schalke the other night? Our ultras waited for the team coming back, only to start kicking them off the bus and chase them into their hotel. The police done nothing. 🙈

51 minutes ago, Locky said:

Did you see Schalke the other night? Our ultras waited for the team coming back, only to start kicking them off the bus and chase them into their hotel. The police done nothing. 🙈

I have now👍

Fan owned teams eh, cannae beat it!

2 hours ago, Locky said:

Just in case you missed this round-up:-

https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2021/apr/22/tears-flow-and-tempers-boil-over-as-sorry-schalke-bow-out-of-bundesliga

Watching Morton v Hearts was bad enough, but Schalke made it a double-whammy and they really do 'Take the Biscuit' for making my life unbearable. At least Hearts are going up!!!

I might, just might take a wee trip to the Veltin's Arena next season and hope to see a win. Schalke's goal difference of minus 58 (and it could get worse) is unfathomable for a team who, through my royal-blue tinted specs, have not played all THAT bad.

Oor Robbie, as a promotion specialist, should get his CV in quick! (I jest) 😄

9 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Just in case you missed this round-up:-

https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2021/apr/22/tears-flow-and-tempers-boil-over-as-sorry-schalke-bow-out-of-bundesliga

Watching Morton v Hearts was bad enough, but Schalke made it a double-whammy and they really do 'Take the Biscuit' for making my life unbearable. At least Hearts are going up!!!

I might, just might take a wee trip to the Veltin's Arena next season and hope to see a win. Schalke's goal difference of minus 58 (and it could get worse) is unfathomable for a team who, through my royal-blue tinted specs, have not played all THAT bad.

Oor Robbie, as a promotion specialist, should get his CV in quick! (I jest) 😄

Just as one team goes down, another comes up! Strangely looking forward to next season in the zweite liga. But knowing how we've been run this past few years, I'm fearing for what the future brings. I hope it's like Hearts and an instant bounce back, but there's every chance we could become another HSV, or worse yet, Kaiserslautern.

Hopefully we can get back to Gelsenkirchen soon. 🍻

1 hour ago, Locky said:

Just as one team goes down, another comes up! Strangely looking forward to next season in the zweite liga. But knowing how we've been run this past few years, I'm fearing for what the future brings. I hope it's like Hearts and an instant bounce back, but there's every chance we could become another HSV, or worse yet, Kaiserslautern.

Hopefully we can get back to Gelsenkirchen soon. 🍻

Didn’t realise Asamoah was the ceo at Schalke. Saw him play a couple of times early in his career at Hannover. Great player. 

9 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Didn’t realise Asamoah was the ceo at Schalke. Saw him play a couple of times early in his career at Hannover. Great player. 

Schalke have always treated him well. He was still playing for the reserves in the lower leagues until 2015 and has been heavily involved in the first team set up since, albeit not in a role which has negatively impacted the team if that makes sense.

The camera showed him straight after the final whistle on Tuesday and he was welling up. Was tough to keep it together seeing that. Gave quite the emotional interview after too. The guy really is just one of the fans.

Big win for Cologne tonight in Augsburg. Relegation race is fair shaping up and Hertha have got a lot of work to do. Note the games in hand, but they've been playing stinking for a long time now.

Hertha, Schalke and Hamburg in the 2nd league next season? That would be something.

image.png

On 18/09/2020 at 19:10, Locky said:

Remember back in May when everyone got into the Bundesliga because it was all we had? Well I'm keeping that ball rolling and shamelessly starting my own thread to keep all you fine *******s clued up and interested in Fussball. 

Just under half an hour til the new season starts with my Schalke up against it tonight at European champions Bayern, in seek of their own 9IAR. Not confident at all about Schalke's season. Wagner has stayed on for another season to the dismay of many supporters, and a difficult summer of financial difficulty (sound familiar?) has led to some key players leaving. A bit of a shake up in the higher management structure though has saw a few new faces come in the door, although what they will bring to the table is a mystery. One of which is Vedad Ibisevic, a good striker who's been around in the Buli for years now, but is 36.

Of course for many, the hope is that Bayern are dethroned. Dortmund and Leipzig are of course the 2 who everyone would expect to run them, but RB have lost Werner and yet to really replace him, while Dortmund are still a pretty young squad, and not even the most optimistic Borussia fans seem convinced that Favre is the man to make Dortmund realise their ambitions.

Bielefeld and Stuttgart are back in the top flight at the expense of Dusseldorf and Paderborn, while eyes will be on Werder who narrowly avoided relegation via the play-offs last season.

So get the Bratwurst under the grill, get the Erdinger in the fridge, strap on your Lederhosen, and enjoy the campaign ahead. Pröst!

:byebye:Schalke

2 hours ago, Lfhearts said:

Everyone apart from Schalke fans pissing themselves at their plight, in the main hated by other German club fans.

Yup. The German JT's!

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

Hannover 96 terminate their coach’s contract after a dismal season in Bundesliga 2. 

Return of Stendel? I've seen Baumgart from Paderborn heavily linked too.

3 minutes ago, Locky said:

Return of Stendel? I've seen Baumgart from Paderborn heavily linked too.

Not sure about Stendel but time will tell. 

• 3 weeks later...

Borussia Dortmund winners of this years DFB Pokal. Now level with Schalke on wins. :P 

Feel a bit sorry on Terzic being overlooked for the job permanently. Think Dortmund will get top 4 on top of this, which is pretty remarkable considering where they were when he took over as caretaker.