Steak

Psychedelicropcircle

No much of a thread starter, but my love of a good steak had me wondering where thay fellow jambo purchased his/hers?

not a restaurant question just where you buy to cook your own!

If I have the time and cash George Bowers butchers in Stockbridge. If I don’t I find that Morrison’s on Ferry Road has a good butchers section, generally a good ribeye. 

21 minutes ago, Tazio said:

If I have the time and cash George Bowers butchers in Stockbridge. If I don’t I find that Morrison’s on Ferry Road has a good butchers section, generally a good ribeye. 

best butchers in Edinburgh. 

18 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Morrison's at Swanston has a good butchers section for steaks too.

Best I've had were inch thick sirloins from Robert Pringle in Hawick.

Puddledub farm just outside kirkcaldy. We get meat boxes so you get like chicken,diced lamb etc it's all great quality, I love the pies I would say their steak pie edges bains at stenhouse. I think they deliver to Edinburgh.

2 minutes ago, Owlvisiting said:

Got a couple of beautiful sirloins the other day from Forsyths in Peebles.

Is it Forsyth’s that do amazing steak pies? My mum’s neighbour visits family in Peebles and brought my mum a steak pie one time and it was possibly the best I have ever had. 

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

My mate is a chef and says ribeye is the best of the lot. Forget fillet or sirloin, a good ribeye is da doggies doodahs!

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

1 hour ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Morrison's at Swanston has a good butchers section for steaks too.

Best I've had were inch thick sirloins from Robert Pringle in Hawick.

Regarding the Morrison's comments, I assume the only variables would be down to the size of store which could impact the amount of choice? I'd assume with these stores being based within the same region, the supply chain would be the same? 

Tesco butchers at Corstorphine are excellent.

However the wife is a fantastic cook so that obviously helps.

Medium rare fillet steak.

2 hours ago, Psychedelicropcircle said:

No much of a thread starter, but my love of a good steak had me wondering where thay fellow jambo purchased his/hers?

not a restaurant question just where you buy to cook your own!

Morrisons or tescos, sometimes scotmid, sirloin being the choice cut.

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

Love a ribeye................

Chuck 2 spoons of brown sugar in a wee bag with teaspoon of smoked paprika and half teaspoon of salt.........bung in sliced ribeye and sliced onions, tie bag up and bung in the fridge......overnight if you can.....massage the bag every now and then......fry the lot up (no oil needed) and bung it in a sliced crusty baguette..........perfect......if it sticks a bit in the pan bung in a wee bit of water.  You won’t taste the sugar as this will caramelise......it’s my weakness ❤️

It’s unusual for a steak discussion to get so far without someone getting all huffy defending their love of well done steak and claiming anyone who says it’s bad is a snob. 
Medium rare for me. 

The estate I live on has bought a herd of Luing Cattle, they live outside all year and aren't fed but allowed to forage for themselves, I cant wait to get a half carcass butchered for myself, I've tasted a steak from a Luing beast before and it was utterly fantastic. How the cattle are kept and fed is the key to good meat.

*edit*

Medium rare to rare for me, no sauces.

Edited by Dawnrazor

3 hours ago, Herbert said:

Puddledub farm just outside kirkcaldy. We get meat boxes so you get like chicken,diced lamb etc it's all great quality, I love the pies I would say their steak pie edges bains at stenhouse. I think they deliver to Edinburgh.

Are the steaks from there buffalo or beef? They specialise in water-buffalo, from what I remember. Never tried water-buffalo, but definitely fancy it.

Only buy butcher's steaks very occasionally, or if we're away somewhere and they and the butchers look really good. For me, the key to getting a really good steak is to:

a) If buying in the UK, make sure it's Scotch Beef.

b) Make sure there's a decent amount of marbling throughout the meat (avoiding any without marbling).

c) Make sure it's been aged for a couple of weeks at least (avoiding any bright red ones).

Ribeye for preference, though perfectly happy with a sirloin, cooked medium rare. I've recently started marinating them for an hour or two in olive-oil and lemon-juice, with rosemary and thyme, and salt and pepper. Make sure and allow it to rest in a warm place for the same amount of time as it's cooked.

One of the best steaks I've ever tasted was a sirloin from a breed of cattle which are allowed to roam and graze freely in the Aragón region of the Spanish Pyrenees: absolutely amazing.

Just now, Auld Reekin' said:

Are the steaks from there buffalo or beef? They specialise in water-buffalo, from what I remember. Never tried water-buffalo, but definitely fancy it.

Only buy butcher's steaks very occasionally, or if we're away somewhere and they and the butchers look really good. For me, the key to getting a really good steak is to:

a) If buying in the UK, make sure it's Scotch Beef.

b) Make sure there's a decent amount of marbling throughout the meat (avoiding any without marbling).

c) Make sure it's been aged for a couple of weeks at least (avoiding any bright red ones).

Ribeye for preference, though perfectly happy with a sirloin, cooked medium rare. I've recently started marinating them for an hour or two in olive-oil and lemon-juice, with rosemary and thyme, and salt and pepper. Make sure and allow it to rest in a warm place for the same amount of time as it's cooked.

One of the best steaks I've ever tasted was a sirloin from a breed of cattle which are allowed to roam and graze freely in the Aragón region of the Spanish Pyrenees: absolutely amazing.

Its beef. I think they are using the buffalo for cheese.

Psychedelicropcircle
1 hour ago, Tazio said:

It’s unusual for a steak discussion to get so far without someone getting all huffy defending their love of well done steak and claiming anyone who says it’s bad is a snob. 
Medium rare for me. 

Philistine!

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Anyone who eats a well done steak should be forced to eat Spam for a year. 

I will add that many years ago a work colleague asked for ketchup for his fillet steak and I wanted to punch his lights out.

Feckin cretin.

I know a geezer who drinks whiskey with coke.....needs shot tbh

3 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Whiskey with coke is ok if its JD .

Whisky with coke...certainly not 🙂

kingsknowe_jambo

Reading Terminal Market in Center City Philly, steaks are so big they almost take up a whole pan each! I like to cook on Cast Iron and finish off with a few minutes in the oven.

DEC66D78-55F5-4003-A0C8-BAFBDC4FE125.jpeg

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Anyone who eats a well done steak should be forced to eat Spam for a year. 

I will add that many years ago a work colleague asked for ketchup for his fillet steak and I wanted to punch his lights out.

Feckin cretin.

Well done or with ketchup! I can sense the boy was either a Hibs or Celtic supporter. 

Fillet as opposed to rib-eye is a texture thing.  No doubt a rib-eye is tastier but good fillet cuts and eats like butter.

Blue is the only way to eat fillet of course....

7 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Fillet as opposed to rib-eye is a texture thing.  No doubt a rib-eye is tastier but good fillet cuts and eats like butter.

Blue is the only way to eat fillet of course....

Could not eat it blue. Struggle with rare. 

medium rare or medium for me. I can’t understand how anyone could enjoy a steak well done. A fine cut of beef ruined. They would be as well getting the cheapest steak possible such as frying steak and leave the good cuts to folk that actually appreciate it. 

Edited by AlimOzturk

2 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Single malt with diet pepsi and ice. Cannae beat it!

28 minutes ago, JimKongUno said:

If I had a spare £500 I'd go for the Japanese Wagyu. Failing that a sirloin from bowers in Stockbridge does the trick

The restaurant at the top of the W hotel that’s being built in the St James centre might fit the bill.

https://www.businesstraveller.com/business-travel/2020/09/13/rooftop-sushisamba-restaurant-planned-for-w-edinburgh/

You’ll get a bit of change from your monkey too

F1E9D324-862F-44DC-873A-61091468CBD9.png

Rump, medium rare.

:greggy:

Fillet has no flavour due to being too lean. Good raw as either tartare or carpaccio or in a wellington, not really for steak cooking.

T-bone ends up with an overdone fillet bit.

Sirloin is alright but trying to get the rim of fat to render/crisp up is a pain and the chewy sinew under it is minging. Sometimes trim the fat and sinew off and render the fat first then cook the sirloin in it.

Rib eye is very good. Marbling is great. But due to all that marbling it can be difficult to render the fat down and keep it rare.

Rump has my personal best balance of flavour, texture and marbling.

8 minutes ago, Cade said:

Rump, medium rare.

:greggy:

Fillet has no flavour due to being too lean. Good raw as either tartare or carpaccio or in a wellington, not really for steak cooking.

T-bone ends up with an overdone fillet bit.

Sirloin is alright but trying to get the rim of fat to render/crisp up is a pain and the chewy sinew under it is minging. Sometimes trim the fat and sinew off and render the fat first then cook the sirloin in it.

Rib eye is very good. Marbling is great. But due to all that marbling it can be difficult to render the fat down and keep it rare.

Rump has my personal best balance of flavour, texture and marbling.

You need to get a rib eye into a super hot dry pan to get the fat doing it’s thing. I don’t mind rump steak but it isn’t as consistent in quality etc as ribeye, decent budget choice though. Sirloin can have a great taste but tricky to cook spot on, a bit too much and it’s gone. 

4 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Feckin cretin.

What a classless fool.

13 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

Been getting meat deliveries from Campbells lately (https://www.campbellsmeat.com). Used to deal with them a lot in a past life as a chef. 

Always seems to be good quality and they've quite often got good deals on. Their sirloins are particularly tasty. 

First used them when lockdown started.

Great service, good quailty products,fantastic bacon.

Stuck with them after  lockdown lifted.

1 hour ago, JimKongUno said:

If I had a spare £500 I'd go for the Japanese Wagyu. Failing that a sirloin from bowers in Stockbridge does the trick

I had a Kobe steak in Manchester (work was paying) and the term "cut like a knife through butter" was spot on, it was beautiful.

Psychedelicropcircle
3 hours ago, kingsknowe_jambo said:

Reading Terminal Market in Center City Philly, steaks are so big they almost take up a whole pan each! I like to cook on Cast Iron and finish off with a few minutes in the oven.

When you next at tynie  🤤 

Psychedelicropcircle

Apparently we’re getting a new restaurant in the st James buildings called sushi samba were you can get some jap ribeye for a cool £337. 😕

21 minutes ago, Psychedelicropcircle said:

Apparently we’re getting a new restaurant in the st James buildings called sushi samba were you can get some jap ribeye for a cool £337. 😕

Aye, I read about that somewhere. I'm trying to remember where.

Remembered.  It was 10 posts before yours. 😁

18 hours ago, kingsknowe_jambo said:

Is USDA beef not full of growth hormones and all that? I'm an 'A' cup already but if i lived in the US i dread to think what would happen to my moobs