Buying a Bike

I'm thinking of buying a bike, mostly because the wee one has just started learning and I want to go out with her while she learns and obviously once the shackles are off.

As always, Kickback is the place to go for advice. I'm sure there are a few keen cyclists on here.

I don't want to really spend a huge amount, budget of £250-300.

Any recommendations? I'm thinking at that budget I'll have to sacrifice in places but what are some of the features I shouldn't scrimp on (yeah yeah the bike having wheels).

I'd probably be looking more at a mountain bike, or hybrid possibly.

Edited by hmfc_liam06

I'd go for a 2nd hand bike on that budget - you could get something really substantial.

I looked at Decathlon - their own brand bikes have good reviews and I did try to buy a couple last year but the problem is they are delivered by Royal Mail and I don't have time to tell you how catastrophically bad that turned out to be (causing me to cancel). 

Whatever brand you buy - unless you've done a lot of cycling - by a padded saddle. 

28 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

I'd go for a 2nd hand bike on that budget - you could get something really substantial.

I looked at Decathlon - their own brand bikes have good reviews and I did try to buy a couple last year but the problem is they are delivered by Royal Mail and I don't have time to tell you how catastrophically bad that turned out to be (causing me to cancel). 

Whatever brand you buy - unless you've done a lot of cycling - by a padded saddle. 

I was looking at them last night and the reviews do look quite good.

@Carl Fredrickson I'd considered second hand, would likely get more bike for my money.

I don't need anything substantial but at the same time don't want to buy cheap rubbish. Likely won't be on it a massive amount. Any brands I should look out for?

1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I'm thinking of buying a bike, mostly because the wee one has just started learning and I want to go out with her while she learns and obviously once the shackles are off.

As always, Kickback is the place to go for advice. I'm sure there are a few keen cyclists on here.

Any recommendations? I'm thinking at that budget I'll have to sacrifice in places but what are some of the features I shouldn't scrimp on (yeah yeah the bike having wheels).

The Leslie Bike Shop would be convenient for you to have a peek and get some professional input. 

Just now, Samuel Camazzola said:

The Leslie Bike Shop would be convenient for you to have a peek and get some professional input. 

Are they still going? Might take a wee trip over, only 10 minutes away.

Just now, hmfc_liam06 said:

Are they still going? Might take a wee trip over, only 10 minutes away.

Yeah, just by the Fife Council HQ/depot. 

They were in the press not too long ago due to it being the victim of a lot stock being stolen. 

1 minute ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Yeah, just by the Fife Council HQ/depot. 

They were in the press not too long ago due to it being the victim of a lot stock being stolen. 

Nightmare! Covid has a lot to answer for...

you might find it hard getting a bike just now as lots of places are low/out of stock due to lots of people wanting bikes during lockdown

2 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Nightmare! Covid has a lot to answer for...

Seems to be an occurance with groups from Liverpool the culprits. I know someone within the police who says Scouse gangs have been targeting care homes to get cash from safes and places like ski centres who hold high value stock. 

8 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

you might find it hard getting a bike just now as lots of places are low/out of stock due to lots of people wanting bikes during lockdown

Yeah I'd thought of that too.

I'd also considered holding off another month or 2 and all those lockdown bikes go on Gumtree :lol:

I'm about to get my son a mountain bike for his Christmas, too early obviously but he'll get the rest of the summer and better weather in the Autumn on it, he'd like a Treck X Caliber 8, does anyone have experience of these?

Sorry for asking a question OP but I was going to start a post earlier and didn't think it needs two threads so close.

1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I was looking at them last night and the reviews do look quite good.

@Carl Fredrickson I'd considered second hand, would likely get more bike for my money.

I don't need anything substantial but at the same time don't want to buy cheap rubbish. Likely won't be on it a massive amount. Any brands I should look out for?

If you can get your hands on a 2nd hand Carerra at the right price I'd take it (check their reviews). I missed out on one and regretted it ever since. Depending on age you might get a decent one for around £300 but it really is a sellers market out there. 

I got a Halfords Apollo Gradient "mountain bike" for just over £200 (25 gears) - suspension is good & got disk brakes . But I don't go mountain biking  , I just like a bit of comfort on  a flat track. Having said that , my lad does 20-25 miles on it pretty much every day to get fit and it seems pretty reliable. 

26 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I'm about to get my son a mountain bike for his Christmas, too early obviously but he'll get the rest of the summer and better weather in the Autumn on it, he'd like a Treck X Caliber 8, does anyone have experience of these?

Sorry for asking a question OP but I was going to start a post earlier and didn't think it needs two threads so close.

I’ve just had a look at it and it’s a decent bike. If he’s in anyway serious it’s got what’s needed like hydraulic brakes and a 1X drivetrain as that is the way drivetrains are going. Trek are a decent company, if they were a car company they’d be like a Ford or VW in that you won’t get them making anything bad and occasionally they make a cracker. I could recommend other things but if he has his heart set on that one anything else would probably be a disappointment. 

I'm in the process of deciding which one I'd like to buy.

Research so far on hardtails says, 

£400- £500 - Calibre Two Cubed, Calibre Rake, Norco Storm 4, Pinnacle Kapur 1, Trek Marlin 5

£500 - £600 - Pinnacle Kapur 2, Vitus Nucleus 27vr, Voodoo Bantu, Trek Marlin 6

£600 - £700 - Trek Marlin 7, Voodoo Hoodoo, Voodoo Bizango, Specialized Rockhopper Comp

£700 plus - Whyte 605, Specialized Rockhopper Elite, Voodoo Bizango Carbon

I basically want, Agressive geometry, 1x10 Shimano Deore, Hydraulic Disc Brakes, Rockshock Judy Air sprung Forks, Tubeless Ready tires, Internally Routered for a Dropper Post

It's feckin hard research this btw. 

2 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

If it’s just for tootling around with your kid a hybrid will do the job nicely and will be nicer on roads than a mountain bike as the tyres won’t be as aggressive and the upright riding position will be comfier, also a bit fast if needed. It would still be fine for gravel tracks and paths. If I ever ride my mountain bike on the road it always feels a bit slow and unsuitable. 

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I’ve just had a look at it and it’s a decent bike. If he’s in anyway serious it’s got what’s needed like hydraulic brakes and a 1X drivetrain as that is the way drivetrains are going. Trek are a decent company, if they were a car company they’d be like a Ford or VW in that you won’t get them making anything bad and occasionally they make a cracker. I could recommend other things but if he has his heart set on that one anything else would probably be a disappointment. 

Cheers👍

He's really keen to do more on a bike, there's some good trails and quarries around here and some of his mates go regularly, he has a Mafia Bike Kush 2 BMX that he loves too.

I don't mind spending the money on a Treck is it's good quality.

But if you think there's other bikes in the same category I'd appreciate your suggestions. 

2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Cheers👍

He's really keen to do more on a bike, there's some good trails and quarries around here and some of his mates go regularly, he has a Mafia Bike Kush 2 BMX that he loves too.

I don't mind spending the money on a Treck is it's good quality.

But if you think there's other bikes in the same category I'd appreciate your suggestions. 

Going with a hard tail is the right choice, a pretty good rule of thumb is that anything full suspension under £1200 isn’t worth thinking about. Another bonus of the Trek is that Alpine bikes in Stockbridge are a dealer so if they have one in stock he can get hands on with it to make sure he likes it. 

2 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

You’d hate my saddle choices then...

979C9E27-BC12-4F8E-8D9D-1DCC80E0407D.jpeg

13 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Going with a hard tail is the right choice, a pretty good rule of thumb is that anything full suspension under £1200 isn’t worth thinking about. Another bonus of the Trek is that Alpine bikes in Stockbridge are a dealer so if they have one in stock he can get hands on with it to make sure he likes it. 

Many thanks, I think we'll go with the Treck then👍

18 minutes ago, Tazio said:

You’d hate my saddle choices then...

979C9E27-BC12-4F8E-8D9D-1DCC80E0407D.jpeg

That's nothing! I've got a Brooks 😬

One person told me that it takes 1,000 miles before you break in a Brooks. Another guy told me that you don't break in a Brooks, it breaks YOU in.

Just now, I P Knightley said:

That's nothing! I've got a Brooks 😬

One person told me that it takes 1,000 miles before you break in a Brooks. Another guy told me that you don't break in a Brooks, it breaks YOU in.

I had a Brooks years ago, one of their more lightweight Swallow ones, eventually got it nice and comfy and it got stolen. Couldn’t face breaking in another after that. The one in the photo is carbon fibre with a leather top, very comfy as the carbon has a certain amount of give built into it and weighs not very much. 

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

If it’s just for tootling around with your kid a hybrid will do the job nicely and will be nicer on roads than a mountain bike as the tyres won’t be as aggressive and the upright riding position will be comfier, also a bit fast if needed. It would still be fine for gravel tracks and paths. If I ever ride my mountain bike on the road it always feels a bit slow and unsuitable. 

Cheers for the advice Tazio. The most I'm likely ever going to do is some trails around lochs, woods etc so nothing too taxing, hybrid sounds the way forward.

Edited by hmfc_liam06

50 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Cheers for the advice Tazio. The most I'm likely ever going to do is some trails around lochs, woods etc so nothing too taxing, hybrid sounds the way forward.

I think there is a bike specialist on Leslie High Street too. Never been and not a biker so couldn't tell you what their stock is like. 

9 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Check out Decathlon mate...

https://www.decathlon.co.uk/C-10829-bikes/N-372559-age-category~adult?opeco=Menu_Cycling_Mens-Bikes&type=menu_redirection

Excellent entry level bikes I got one there during the lockdown. 

9 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

If you are in Edinburgh I would contact these guys https://thebikestation.org.uk/edinburgh/?fbclid=IwAR2MWiAgK8HZ2IjP8ntetPFhfYJ_pXysqLv37YG2D238O9ue7IwxJ6uHz0I 

Second hand bikes that are serviced and come with a guarantee. You will get more/better for your money than buying new. 

I got a secondhand bike from them and it served me well for a few years. It cost around £80 so I didn't feel too worried it might be stolen if left in town for a while as it was clearly an old bike, unlike my more expensive road bike which I worried about even with a good lock attached. 

Their bike servicing is much cheaper than most bike shops but you might have to wait longer as they are busy most of the time.

10 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Padded shorts and a saddle to match your arse is the perfect combo :D

3 minutes ago, Dunks said:

I'm doing 90 mins - 2 hrs a day on my cycle machine at home while I binge on Netflix. 

I bought a pair of super cheap cycle shorts from LiDL and the wife came home early one day & thought I'd had a prolapse. XL but really comfy 🙄 :embarassed:

13 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I think there is a bike specialist on Leslie High Street too. Never been and not a biker so couldn't tell you what their stock is like. 

To be fair, I'd imagine if you lived in Leslie, you'd spend a lot of time thinking about ways to get out... 

When I used to moutain bike I was always fascinated by the people doing work on their expensive bikes in the car park at Peebles. We used to prep our bikes before going but they'd be there servicing theirs. I doubt they ever rode the bloody things! Haha

17 hours ago, Cruyff said:

I'm in the process of deciding which one I'd like to buy.

Research so far on hardtails says, 

£400- £500 - Calibre Two Cubed, Calibre Rake, Norco Storm 4, Pinnacle Kapur 1, Trek Marlin 5

£500 - £600 - Pinnacle Kapur 2, Vitus Nucleus 27vr, Voodoo Bantu, Trek Marlin 6

£600 - £700 - Trek Marlin 7, Voodoo Hoodoo, Voodoo Bizango, Specialized Rockhopper Comp

£700 plus - Whyte 605, Specialized Rockhopper Elite, Voodoo Bizango Carbon

I basically want, Agressive geometry, 1x10 Shimano Deore, Hydraulic Disc Brakes, Rockshock Judy Air sprung Forks, Tubeless Ready tires, Internally Routered for a Dropper Post

It's feckin hard research this btw. 

A bit more pricey but ticks all your boxes: 1 X Gears, Disc Brakes, Dropper post already fitted, Good Geometry, tubeless ready etc.

https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/fathom-2

Just now, Spellczech said:

When I used to moutain bike I was always fascinated by the people doing work on their expensive bikes in the car park at Peebles. We used to prep our bikes before going but they'd be there servicing theirs. I doubt they ever rode the bloody things! Haha

Pet hate of mine.

I take mine off the rack, put my helmet on and go.

Folk with tools, pumps etc out and the bike in bits! Just why?

"Look at me, I can use an allen key"!!! Fuds!

ACE Bikes in Musselburgh (next to the Brunton Hall) look after my bike. I have bought 2 bikes from them and the lads in there really look after you.

Usually have a good selection in stock and are always willing to listen to an "offer". Worth popping in for a look and a chat.

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

Good way to get some spare parts - a wee ride round the car parks at the end of the day. Everything from gloves to shoes to backpacks and even the odd wheel :rofl:

10 hours ago, Dunks said:

During the lockdown I bought a bike and went on a my first cycle for a good few years. The distance wasn’t a problem but the cycle home swapping cheeks every 500 yards for about 8 miles wasn’t nice. 
My erse was in absolute tatters. 
Meant to say my next purchase was a padded saddle :lol: 

Edited by jack D and coke

40 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

During the lockdown I bought a bike and went on a my first cycle for a good few years. The distance wasn’t a problem but the cycle home swapping cheeks every 500 yards for about 8 miles wasn’t nice. 

😂😂 The swapping cheeks for miles brings back many painful memories for me! 

I remember a mates BMX as a kid that had a saddle without padding, but I must say I've not seen one for years. SDG Bel Air is my saddle of choice still.

I just decided on the spur of the moment to get one. Will use it sparingly on local cycle paths.

£150 from Halfords and they build it for free and you get lifetime checks on it.

1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

Aye, you need to break your arse into riding a bike :D

Remember it is not just your arse that padded shorts protect:biggrin: and remember not to jump onto the saddle too vigorously when you forgot to put said item on under your everyday summer shorts. I know from painful experience 😢but I have counted them and they are still there :whistling:

On 04/08/2020 at 13:48, hmfc_liam06 said:

Halfords, big choice.