Made in Scotland

Swanny17

Just for fun, what are your favourite Scottish suggestions for the following categories:

- Best Movie

- Best band

- Best singer 

- Best song

- Best actor/actress

Mines are:

- Best Movie: The Wicker Man

- Best band: Primal Scream (did consider AC/DC 😉

- Best singer:  Annie Lennox

- Best song: Dignity

- Best actor/actress: Sean Connery

Have fun 👍😀

- Best Movie Gregory’s Girl

- Best band The Silencers

- Best singer Amy Macdonald

- Best song Into the Valley

- Best actor/actress Morven Christie 

19 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

Just for fun, what are your favourite Scottish suggestions for the following categories:

- Best Movie

- Best band

- Best singer 

- Best song

- Best actor/actress

Mines are:

- Best Movie: The Wicker Man

- Best band: Primal Scream (did consider AC/DC 😉

- Best singer:  Annie Lennox

- Best song: Dignity

- Best actor/actress: Sean Connery

Have fun 👍😀

Sunshine on Leith

Proclaimers

Finlay Quaye

I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles) 

Dougray Scott (latest performance was epic) 

Am I doing this right? 

Best Film: Restless Natives 

Best Band: Big Country 

Best Singer: Dick Gaughan 

Best Song: In a Big Country 

Best Actor: Gary Lewis 

Best Movie - Shallow Grave

Best band - Idlewild

Bestsinger - Pass

Best song - Primal Scream - Damaged

Best actor/actress - John Hannah

Good topic - well done to the OP 👍    So much good stuff to choose from

Best Film: Local Hero 

Best Band: Deacon Blue 

Best Singer: Gerry Rafferty & Susan Boyle

Best Song: Caledonia (Frankie Miller version of Dougie McLean song)

Best Actor: Richard Wilson

Best film - train spotting. 
best band - simple minds. 
best singer - Annie Lennox. 
best song -  why does it always rain on me

best actor - Robert Carlyle

Best film - Outlander (tv series)
best band - Biffy or Carnivores
best singer - Lauren Mayberry (chvrches)
best song -  57 biffy clyro

best actor - the boys from still game

2 hours ago, The White Cockade said:

- Best Movie Gregory’s Girl

- Best band The Silencers

- Best singer Amy Macdonald

- Best song Into the Valley

- Best actor/actress Morven Christie 

Into the valley is a great shout

8 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

Into the valley is a great shout

It is indeed, I was going ti say "Tha Saints are Coming" in my list.

best movie:  small faces

best band: the exploited

best singer: shirley manson

best song: marching through gorgie by baker`s dozen

best actor: james mcavoy

Orphans 

Ballboy

Elizabeth Fraser 

Cellar of Dreams, The Silencers

Peter Mullen

Edited by Weakened Offender

Highlander

The Jesus and Mary Chain

*Undecided*

Lochnagar (Corries version) 

Ken Stott or Robbie Coltrane.. 

- Best Movie: Gregory's Girl

- Best band - Del Amitri

- Best singer  - Horse McDonald

- Best song - Move Away Jimmy Blue, Del Amitri

- Best actor/actress - Robert Carlyle

Infinity wars

The Sensational Alex Harvey Band or Nazareth

Martin Pellow/Annie Lennox

Iron Sky

So many From the likes of Alaistar Sim, Gordon Jackson, David Mcallum and Sean Connery to James Cosmos, Brian Cox, Robert Carlisle, James Mcavoy and now Richard Madden. 

Not the best, but I'll go with David Tennant.  Can I steal Hugh Laurie? He could play for Scotland at football 😁

7 hours ago, Weakened Offender said:

Orphans 

Ballboy

Elizabeth Fraser 

Cellar of Dreams, The Silencers

Peter Mullen

Orphans is a great film. 

adambraejambo

Film...The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie or Highlander lol

Band...Simple Minds 

Singer...Shirley Manson (as loved GBM Mckenzie )

Song...RIp it up (Orange Juice) 

Actor...Brian Cox for living   or Deborah Kerr for all time. 

- Best Movie  Trainspotting

- Best band   Average White Band

- Best singer  Annie Lennox

- Best song  Work to Do

- Best actor/actress  Peter Mullan

Edited by Ray Gin

Trainspotting 

Simple minds 

Mark knopfler( born in Glasgow. If not then Gerry rafferty) 

Fisherman’s blues 

Brian cox 

17 minutes ago, Furious Styles said:

Fisherman’s blues 

Great call, I'd forgot all about The Waterboys.

That sinking feeling/ Just another Saturday.

SAHB

Frankie Miller

Night and Day....Gerry Rafferty

Brian Cox.

Special mention to the AWB.

5 minutes ago, micole said:

That sinking feeling/ Just another Saturday.

SAHB

Frankie Miller

Night and Day....Gerry Rafferty

Brian Cox.

Special mention to the AWB.

Two great choices.  I was going to put Caledonia as the best song but would have had to specify the Frankie Miller version.  What a voice.  He was also a great actor as seen in Just a Boy's Game.  

2 hours ago, Weakened Offender said:

Funny as **** eh? 😁

So many great scenes and lines.  

Gary Lewis is brilliant as the oldest brother "she ain't heavy, she's ma mother" :laugh:

1 minute ago, Salad Fingers said:

Two great choices.  I was going to put Caledonia as the best song but would have had to specify the Frankie Miller version.  What a voice.  He was also a great actor as seen in Just a Boy's Game.  

Oh forgot about  Just a boys game " Cafferty yer teas oot"....brilliant.

6 minutes ago, micole said:

Oh forgot about  Just a boys game " Cafferty yer teas oot"....brilliant.

"Come ahead McQuillan"

Some great lines in that one.  

"Heh, that's ma burd"

"Serves ye right"

- Best Movie  That Sinking Feeling (or From Scotland with Love if we are allowed documentary film)

- Best band     Marmalade

- Best singer    James Grant

- Best song      Earlies (Trash Can Sinatras)

- Best actor/actress   Peter Mullan

Roxy Hearts
2 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

- Best Movie  That Sinking Feeling (or From Scotland with Love if we are allowed documentary film)

- Best band     Marmalade

- Best singer    James Grant

- Best song      Earlies (Trash Can Sinatras)

- Best actor/actress   Peter Mullan

Saw Love and Money a few years ago at the Queens Hall. JG was a little grumpy! Great singer though, love Jocelyn Square. 

- Best Movie - Dear Frankie or Breaking the Waves (not sure how Scottish the latter really is)

- Best band - Frightened Rabbit

- Best singer - Lauren Mayberry (CHVRCHES) or Brian Molko (Placebo)

- Best song - Caledonia 

- Best actor/actress - Ewan McGregor/Kelly MacDonald

- Best movie: Gregory’s Girl pips Restless Natives for me due to the casting - Chic Murray’s cameo was genius.

- Best band: Big Country.

- Best singer: Billy Mackenzie (The Associates).

- Best song: Rip It Up (Orange Juice) or Heart of Midlothian by Andy Stewart ;-).

- Best actor: All of the above, but a shout for the late Ian Richardson (former pupil of Balgreen Primary and Tynecastle HS).

12 hours ago, EH11_2NL said:

- Best Movie: Gregory's Girl

- Best band - Del Amitri

- Best singer  - Horse McDonald

- Best song - Move Away Jimmy Blue, Del Amitri

- Best actor/actress - Robert Carlyle

Correct!

And your choice of song was one of my three "greatest of all time" when asked to put them together for a lads' night about 10 years ago. Really tough to choose a best Justin Currie/Dels song though. Might go for the whole Waking Hours album. Of Change Everything. Why do I have to choose???

Best Film: Red Road just pipped The Flying Scotsman

Best Band: Big Country

Best Singer: Kris Drever

Best Song: Long Strange Golden Road (from the Waterboys Modern Blues album)

Best Actor: Alan Cumming. No. Lots of actors I really like but will go for James Mcavoy. 

- Best Movie: Shallow Grave

- Best band - Nazareth

- Best singer  - Annie Lennox

- Best song - Baker Street - Gerry Rafferty

- Best actor/actress - James McAvoy

best film- shallow grave

best band - ac/dc- though if not counted then The Amighty

best singer- annie lennox

best song- insanity by oceanic

best actor- john leslie

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

...though if not counted then The Amighty

😎👍

Cairneyhill Jambo

- Best Movie  Filth

- Best band  Dire Straits

- Best singer  Annie Lennox

- Best song  Fishermans Blues - The Waterboys

- Best actor/actress  James McAvoy/Deborah Kerr

Edited by Cairneyhill Jambo

On 26/07/2020 at 20:42, Samuel Camazzola said:

Sunshine on Leith

Proclaimers

Finlay Quaye

I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles) 

Dougray Scott (latest performance was epic) 

Am I doing this right? 

:laugh: I have just seen this topic and thought I'd do the same, but you beat me to it,

Just now, Marvin said:

:laugh: I have just seen this topic and thought I'd do the same, but you beat me to it,

😁 Apart from Fish and Grant Stott (panto actor), how many more chumps in those industries support them? 

I'm having a real struggle with most categories.

Best band is obviously Del Amitri but we haven't half punched above our weight in that category.

Best singer is probably Annie Lennox but it's a real tough category. I've considered Paolo Nutini but probably more for his songwriting than singing.

At the other end of the scale, finding a "best film" is like finding Sports Personality of the Year in the year that Zara Philips won it. A small field and none of them troubling my top 20 films ever.

Best song is something by Del Amitri (Move away JB or Here and Now or It Might as Well be You) or something by Nutini (Iron Sky, maybe). I love being decisive!

Best Actor? Peter Capaldi.

27 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

I'm having a real struggle with most categories.

Best band is obviously Del Amitri but we haven't half punched above our weight in that category.

Best singer is probably Annie Lennox but it's a real tough category. I've considered Paolo Nutini but probably more for his songwriting than singing.

At the other end of the scale, finding a "best film" is like finding Sports Personality of the Year in the year that Zara Philips won it. A small field and none of them troubling my top 20 films ever.

Best song is something by Del Amitri (Move away JB or Here and Now or It Might as Well be You) or something by Nutini (Iron Sky, maybe). I love being decisive!

Best Actor? Peter Capaldi.

I did my work experience in HMV in Argyle Street. On our first day it was the signing for the 1998 World Cup song by Del Amitri. I was the one that stapled the wee posters to the boards to sit behind them at the table. They did the song and another couple, the signing then left through the backdoor downstairs. Justin Currie patted me on the back on the way out and said "see ye later" to me and my mate. I'm not a Del Amitri fan but that was pretty cool.