The Clubs of Your Youth

9 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

Im sure i saw an episode of hitman and her, at flicks nite spot in brechin?..brechin city still had an advert for it on their advert boards..in 1994😂😂😂

Yeah, it was Brechin, getting auld🤣 We went up on a coach, but their was a crowd on it who were mental. All they way through, they were chanting YLT. On the way back, they were even worse. They put the back window out and damaged all the seats. Whole coach was escorted to a police station, where we were questioned and held for ages.

• Replies 128

• luckyBatistuta

• Governor Tarkin

• Marvin

• Салатные палочки

16 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Yeah, it was Brechin, getting auld🤣 We went up on a coach, but their was a crowd on it who were mental. All they way through, they were chanting YLT. On the way back, they were even worse. They put the back window out and damaged all the seats. Whole coach was escorted to a police station, where we were questioned and held for ages.

I was just a lad when i saw it on tv, long before i was pullin kenny dalgleish faces in clubs myself, remember pete Waterman and Michaela Strachan gettin to train with brechin, and peter goin arse over tit in a pair of white plimsoles on the muddy pitch😂

That must have been a nightmare had a good night out, then soberin up with the dibble givin it chapter and verse😂🇱🇻

On 25/07/2020 at 00:55, FWJ said:

Oh, you kids!

Sneaky Pete’s then La Sorbonne, next door.

Honourable mention for Jackie O’s (Kirkcaldy) and Oil Can Harry’s (Falkirk) and, of course, McTavish’s (Fort William)

Oil can harrys, was doakesys dance hall before it was oil cans, eventually became the manaqui😖Falkirks premier niteclub, spent many a lost weekend in there😂

4 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

I was just a lad when i saw it on tv, long before i was pullin kenny dalgleish faces in clubs myself, remember pete Waterman and Michaela Strachan gettin to train with brechin, and peter goin arse over tit in a pair of white plimsoles on the muddy pitch😂

That must have been a nightmare had a good night out, then soberin up with the dibble givin it chapter and verse😂🇱🇻

Not getting off with Michaela was a slight disappointment, but still a great little night out all in😁

1 minute ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Not getting off with Michaela was a slight disappointment, but still a great little night out all in😁

She was braw, certainly helped shape and mould my young mind😂🇱🇻

18 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

Century 2000, The Biz(now Club Tropicana), The Red Hot, Walkers, not very imaginative😁.     Had many good nights though, alot with the football guys I played with back in the early 90s at the time.

I also remember a wee club down Queensferry Street Lane I went to around 96 as a teammate knew the guy that owned it. Can’t remember it’s name though? Music was cracking. Mainly house music. 

Out of them, I preferred The Biz or The Red Hot.  The Biz in particular. It was just off the back of the rave scene and the place was heaving as more and more people had to head for the clubs.  The music was varied but decent, keeping away from cheese.  

The Red Hot was handy for an end of night kebab from Topkapi before the long walk home to the Calders. Taxis just kept blanking you because they wanted back into the town centre for a bigger fare😁

That’s not why they were blanking you😉

9 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

She was braw, certainly helped shape and mould my young mind😂🇱🇻

6637FC96-8522-4368-9837-87259CEB94E9.gif

12 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

That’s not why they were blanking you😉

😁.  I immediately knew what response I’d get after reading that back but couldn’t be arsed editing 😂

2 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

😁.  I immediately knew what response I’d get after reading that back but couldn’t be arsed editing 😂

🤣🤣🤣 don’t worry bud, if I see you, I’ll pick you up👍👌😁

Anyone from the borders may know The Sporty (at least I think that what it was called) in Kelso (went just before the Millenium with an ex around 22 years ago). It was just a shitey school sports hall with a small hifi and a makeshift bar. It was terrible :rofl: 

Edited by Marvin

Some mentions of places in here I’d completely forgot about...memories of being utterly melted :lol:
The Carbolic Frolic was one I went to for a year or two in shandwick place in what is now the lap dancing place, is it Fantasy Palace? One of my first times in there was my 21st, copped a love dove 10 mins before going in and my mate said I just fell like a tree onto my face on the dance floor. 2 mins after that was having the time of the life🕺🏼Spend ages lying on the big double bed talking bolloks to any poor lassie that happened to be there. 
Was at The Studios a lot but forget the name of the night atm. Latterly was Bongos and Babes. 
Loads of the places mentioned in here, jeez I’d forgotten how much I used to go clubbing...
Pure was good but **** me it was loud, I reckon your ears were permanently damaged after one night in there. Couldn’t hear, see or talk to anyone :lol: 

Good thread👍🏼

Did any of you miscreants make it to Translucent at the Venue?

Ran on the Friday night after Pure closed?

1998-2000 maybe just into 2001?

The Venue, Mercado, Wilkie House, The Honeycomb/Cabaret Voltaire, Liquid Room, Berlin Bierhaus, Sub Club, The Arches. Good times.

I miss a night on the Heath Ledgers in a sweaty club. Too old for that carry on now though.

51 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

The Venue, Mercado, Wilkie House, The Honeycomb/Cabaret Voltaire, Liquid Room, Berlin Bierhaus, Sub Club, The Arches. Good times.

I miss a night on the Heath Ledgers in a sweaty club. Too old for that carry on now though.

I dip my toe back in every so often, Ray, minus the Gary Abletts obviously. I can't justify it to myself now that I am responsible for other wee humans. The music is still great though, and I still get that tickly tummy sensation despite the lack of buffalo bills. 

4 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I dip my toe back in every so often, Ray, minus the Gary Abletts obviously. I can't justify it to myself now that I am responsible for other wee humans. The music is still great though, and I still get that tickly tummy sensation despite the lack of buffalo bills. 

Last time I went was a few years ago, no bairns for me so I was still on the Bill Leckies. Felt ****ing ancient though. :( Either there's a higher ratio of 18 year olds in clubs these days or I just noticed them more because I'm an old git. 

Just now, Ray Gin said:

Last time I went was a few years ago, no bairns for me so I was still on the Bill Leckies. Felt ****ing ancient though. :( Either there's a higher ratio of 18 year olds in clubs these days or I just noticed them more because I'm an old git. 

Aye it's because you're an old git. 😁

After a rake of tequila and a couple of teeth rattling bass lines I generally don't give a **** anymore tbh.

I do recall a team of older bevvied growlers at the bar back in the Paradox/Solution days and on the balcony at the Music Box too, so there is historical precedent.

21 hours ago, Marvin said:

Anyone from the borders may know The Sporty (at least I think that what it was called) in Kelso (went just before the Millenium with an ex around 22 years ago). It was just a shitey school sports hall with a small hifi and a makeshift bar. It was terrible :rofl: 

Its still a shitey school sports hall with a makeshift bar.:smile:

Carl Weathers
4 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

Were you a cyber kid? :lol: 

I wasn't at all and didn't even like the tunes. I was more into the Global Underground type stuff. Just went for a good night out with pals. 

This thread bringing back some very hazy memories!

The Venue on a couple of occasions before it closed

Mercado nightspot of choice for about a year when i'd just turned 18 as a couple of guys I played football with were involved in one of the nights

The Honeycomb/Cabaret Voltaire - usually when I couldn't get in somewhere else

Liquid Room mostly after gigs

Cav on more occasions than I'd like

Studio 24 for 5-6 years before it closed

The Old Mission at victoria street before it was espionage

The park in dalkeith

Dj'd at Opium and Banshee labyrinth

Both subways

Oh and i'm also familiar with the Grafton

Managed to get kicked out of Sneaky Petes (if that was even possible) back in 1988 or there abouts. Is it even still there? 

4 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Some mentions of places in here I’d completely forgot about...memories of being utterly melted :lol:
The Carbolic Frolic was one I went to for a year or two in shandwick place in what is now the lap dancing place, is it Fantasy Palace? One of my first times in there was my 21st, copped a love dove 10 mins before going in and my mate said I just fell like a tree onto my face on the dance floor. 2 mins after that was having the time of the life🕺🏼Spend ages lying on the big double bed talking bolloks to any poor lassie that happened to be there. 
Was at The Studios a lot but forget the name of the night atm. Latterly was Bongos and Babes. 
Loads of the places mentioned in here, jeez I’d forgotten how much I used to go clubbing...
Pure was good but **** me it was loud, I reckon your ears were permanently damaged after one night in there. Couldn’t hear, see or talk to anyone :lol: 

Good thread👍🏼

The Carbolic Frolic🤷‍♂️

On 27/07/2020 at 00:20, graygo said:

I must have been a bit of a party animal in olden times.

Jackie O and Bentley's in Kirkcaldy was a bus full of us.

Buster Browns.

Flanagan's/Bobby McGees.

The Pub (Rose Street)

Annabelle's.

Cinderellas.

Piper's.

Cardinal Follies (Glasgow)

Misty's.

Manhattan.

Bubbles.

Cat's Pyjamas.

Sinatra's.

Telecom's Club.

Hi-Spots (Dalkeith)

Plenty others but that'll do for now.

Nae trips to Ayr? 

One for the connoisseurs. 

The infamous Hotel Gassed All Weekendo (sometimes written as one word).  From the late eighties Edinburgh’s most debauched club night, resulting in the tabloids having an unhealthy obsession with it. I think it became quite  “normal” by its early standards eventually but I’d stopped attending by then. 

I remember starting a night at Lord Tom's on Lothian Road then on to red hot, network or amphitheatre before it changed to century 2000. Charlstons basement club on George Street was ok if anyone remembers there? 

I used to travel to Room at the top (met the wife there she's from Craigmillar!) Rosies in Falkirk and the Fubar. The Ballroom was crap in Dunfermline though. 

1 hour ago, beardbeer said:

I remember starting a night at Lord Tom's on Lothian Road then on to red hot, network or amphitheatre before it changed to century 2000. Charlstons basement club on George Street was ok if anyone remembers there? 

I used to travel to Room at the top (met the wife there she's from Craigmillar!) Rosies in Falkirk and the Fubar. The Ballroom was crap in Dunfermline though. 

Lord Tom’s, or the Libyan Embassy as it was known back in the day due to the amount of rich Middle Eastern students that “drank” there.