We could be in a group with Dundee Utd, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers 

That’s a lot of walking. 

Scotland play 

11th & 14th  Oct

15th & 18th Nov

What happens with Naismith & Gordon? 

Restructure.. Problem solved.

Edited by Boozyuzi

There will be some cricket scores in the group stage this year. Premiership teams 2 months into the season against lower league teams who haven't played in 7 months.

heartmussel
1 hour ago, Homme said:

No coincidence this was released today. 

So many coincidences recently.

So much for struggling to fit all the fixtures in like that lying toad Blair had us try and believe.

Should have been straight knock out this season. Can't be arsed with a group.

Why on earth are they holding this meaningless trophy with a condensed league season and very few if any spare weekends for cancellations. 

1 hour ago, Boozyuzi said:

Scotland play 

11th & 14th  Oct

15th & 18th Nov

What happens with Naismith & Gordon? 

Restructure.. Problem solved.

EEN have reported these problems. By the looks of it, it's just a case of 'tough titty' if you've players on international duty.

Sure I read a while back that clubs could opt out of the League Cup this year. No idea if anyone has. With that in mind, I as mentioned, would've scrapped the groups this season and just went with a straight knockout.

26 minutes ago, Super_Hans said:

So much for struggling to fit all the fixtures in like that lying toad Blair had us try and believe.

Should have been straight knock out this season. Can't be arsed with a group.

Bring back the Skol Cup.

Worked well for a few years.  Why anyone thought the old 1970s style groups was a good idea, god only knows.

And certainly, for this year anyway, having groups in a crowded calendar is just daft.

9 minutes ago, Locky said:

EEN have reported these problems. By the looks of it, it's just a case of 'tough titty' if you've players on international duty.

Sure I read a while back that clubs could opt out of the League Cup this year. No idea if anyone has. With that in mind, I as mentioned, would've scrapped the groups this season and just went with a straight knockout.

Its still the case that if you have 3 players on international duty you can request a postponement.

Just now, Mikey1874 said:

Its still the case that if you have 3 players on international duty you can request a postponement.

Knowing our luck, it'll only be Gordon and Naismith away.

4 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Oh yes please.

Keep the Irish guys at Tynie just for this so we can kick Blair's precious little calendar into bits.

4 minutes ago, Locky said:

Knowing our luck, it'll only be Gordon and Naismith away.

Maybe Hickey or another youngster too at lower age groups too. All count.

36 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Why on earth are they holding this meaningless trophy with a condensed league season and very few if any spare weekends for cancellations. 

Because it is sponsored and there would be penalties if the competition does not take place

39 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

If the squad remains you potentially have Gordon, (Doyle) Smith, Naismith, Boyle & Washington away on international duty for all or some of those dates. We would really be struggling then. 

Scotland & N.I games 4th Sept

Scotland & N.I games 7th Sept

Betfred game 6th Oct

Scotland & N.I games 8th Oct

Betfred game Sat 10th Oct

Scotland & N.I games 11th Oct

Betfred game 13th Oct

Scotland & N.I games 14th Oct

Betfred game 10th Nov

Scotland game 12th Nov

Betfred game 14th Nov

N.I game 15th Nov

N.I game 18th Nov

Betfred 2nd Round - 28th & 29th Nov

If we are in the championship, league games to start around 17th of October and still got to somehow squeeze in a cup semi & final before the 20/21 Scottish cup round 1 starts.

Psychedelicropcircle
1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Money

2 hours ago, Gambo said:

Do we split gate money in group stages?

Might have to have a think if half my dosh is going to a scab club.

Gate money? Your dosh? Nae ***** is giving anyone any cash as these games will be played in the empty stadiums this diddy tournament deserves.

buzzbomb1958
20 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Gate money? Your dosh? Nae ***** is giving anyone any cash as these games will be played in the empty stadiums this diddy tournament deserves.

It's another boycott from me I'm out

1 hour ago, buzzbomb1958 said:

It's another boycott from me I'm out

Key players missing they can go **** themselves. Save us all the trouble and give it to celtic.

Lower leagues have taken to use the League Cup as their pre-season. They're not allowed trialists but will use the games to get fit, With seeding, they don't usually qualify anyway

• 3 weeks later...

DRAW TODAY

SEEDING POTS HAVE BEEN CONFIRMED FOR THE BETFRED CUP GROUP STAGE DRAW, WHICH TAKES PLACE AT 1.00PM TODAY...

The draw will be shown live by Premier Sports via their FreeSports channel. FreeSports is available on Freeview HD channel 64, Sky HD channel 422, Virgin HD 553, TalkTalk 64, BT Vision channel 64 and is also available on the FreeSports Player — www.freesportsplayer.tv

The draw will also be broadcast on the SPFL YouTube channel.

Forty clubs are involved in the draw - the 38 SPFL clubs not participating in Europe plus Highland League champions Brora Rangers and Lowland League winners Kelty Hearts.

The draw will produce eight groups of five teams on a regionalised basis. The four north and four south groups will each be made up of a first seed, a second seed and three unseeded clubs, with seeding based on league positions at the end of season 2019/20.

The eight group winners and four best runners-up will progress to the last 16 on November 28/29, where they will be joined by holders Celtic, Rangers, Motherwell and Aberdeen.

The full group stage fixture list, including Premier Sport TV selections, will be confirmed in due course, with ties to be played on the following dates:

Betfred Cup group stage
MD1: Tuesday October 6
MD2: Saturday October 10
MD3: Tuesday October 13
MD4: Tuesday November 10
MD5: Saturday November 14

North section - first seeds
1 St Johnstone
2 Hibernian
3 Ross County 
4 Heart of Midlothian

North section - second seeds
5 Dundee United
6 Inverness Caledonian Thistle
7 Dundee
8 Arbroath

North section - unseeded teams
9 Raith Rovers
10 Montrose
11 East Fife
12 Peterhead
13 Forfar Athletic
14 Cove Rangers
15 Elgin City
16 Cowdenbeath
17 Stirling Albion
18 Brechin City
19 Brora Rangers
20 Kelty Hearts

South section - first seeds
21 Livingston
22 Kilmarnock
23 St Mirren
24 Hamilton Academical

South section - second seeds
25 Ayr United
26 Dunfermline Athletic
27 Morton
28 Alloa Athletic

South section - unseeded teams
29 Queen of the South
30 Partick Thistle
31 Falkirk
32 Airdrieonians
33 Dumbarton
34 Clyde
35 Stranraer
36 Edinburgh City
37 Queen’s Park
38 Annan Athletic
39 Stenhousemuir
40 Albion Rovers

Edited by Super_Hans

Hopefully we draw teams that don't fall into the boycott list.

A group of Hearts, Partick Thistle or ICT, East Fife, Kelty Hearts and Brora Rangers would be perfect.

I can’t see how the competition can be played unless it reverts to a knockout format and we don’t know how many clubs are going to be around it’s a difficult task. 

Given up hope that I'll ever see us win it. Our record in it is awful in my time. Two final defeats and around 10 losses in the semi's. 

It should never have went back to the dreary group games. The straight knockout, early in the season, format of the 1980's and '90's was the best. After the European place went the early season immediacy was the only saving grace and they stopped that at the turn of the millennium. 

It needs revamping again. Some imaginative, but good, thinking. The Skol format transformed it overnight in the mid '80's and instead of maintaining that we've reverted back to the bad old days of the groups.

They're shite. 

4 minutes ago, The Spy Who Loved Me said:

I can’t see how the competition can be played unless it reverts to a knockout format and we don’t know how many clubs are going to be around it’s a difficult task. 

Every club has confirmed they can play.

The Scottish Premiership will have a backlog of fixtures by the time this comes around, so they would be as well binning it along with the 2020 Scottish Cup.

26 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

I guess Betfred Cup struck a deal with the covid testing suppliers to make it available to all 42 clubs.

We’ll see.

3 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

How are we seeded 😂

It's weird every season that the 12th in the Premier gets seeded above the top of the Championship.

It means next season we won't be seeded.  

39 minutes ago, martoon said:

Given up hope that I'll ever see us win it. Our record in it is awful in my time. Two final defeats and around 10 losses in the semi's. 

It should never have went back to the dreary group games. The straight knockout, early in the season, format of the 1980's and '90's was the best. After the European place went the early season immediacy was the only saving grace and they stopped that at the turn of the millennium. 

It needs revamping again. Some imaginative, but good, thinking. The Skol format transformed it overnight in the mid '80's and instead of maintaining that we've reverted back to the bad old days of the groups.

They're shite. 

Totally agree with every one of your four paragraphs - including the wee para at the end.😊

16 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

How are we seeded 😂

12th in Premier League last season.

4 clubs in Europe miss out. Top 8 in league placings are seeded.

David McCaig
46 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

In the naive belief that crowds would be back in grounds by October!!

1 minute ago, David McCaig said:

In the naive belief that crowds would be back in grounds by October!!

With £50,000 donation to pay for testing etc to tide them over meantime.

Jambo in Bathgate

When the seedlings came out on Twitter. I thought the SPFL had tried to **** us. Didn’t read the title first 😂

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
On 20/07/2020 at 10:36, ritchies75 said:

We could be in a group with Dundee Utd, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers 

On 20/07/2020 at 10:39, davemclaren said:

That’s a lot of walking. 

Sure you meant to type an "l" there, Dave?