Tims & Huns Escape From SPFL

Stuart Lyon

The arrogance of the OF - They would expect to be invited but would actively seek involvement...The relegation/promotion aspect might be a problem for them. They'd need to take at least a one or two other Scottish clubs with them to act as the patsy...

• Replies 104

• Spellczech

• Kiwidoug

• Rizla

2 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

The arrogance of the OF - They would expect to be invited but would actively seek involvement...The relegation/promotion aspect might be a problem for them. They'd need to take at least a one or two other Scottish clubs with them to act as the patsy...

Such bullshit anyway, would one team from each country be relegated each season? Nope!

So you win the Scottish league and nowt happens because Belgians finish bottom every season?

They had it all worked out

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

Such bullshit anyway, would one team from each country be relegated each season? Nope!

So you win the Scottish league and nowt happens because Belgians finish bottom every season?

They fail to see the endgame that in such super leagues - eventually one of the of would either leave Glasgow to become an Edinburgh franchise, or cease to exist entirely to allow a Scotland franchise 

9 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I read it as the bottom team of each nationality would get relegated. So if the Dutch clubs filled positions 1-10 and the Belgians 11-18 then the teams in 10th and 18th get relegated...with the "champions" of each country promoted to BeNe league in their place. I suppose it is workable but makes for league within league situation where it is more important not to be last Dutch club...

10 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

They fail to see the endgame that in such super leagues - eventually one of the of would either leave Glasgow to become an Edinburgh franchise, or cease to exist entirely to allow a Scotland franchise 

More likely Celtic would relocate to Dublin...

43 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

It would be shite. The OF would have access to even more money than they do currently, and our league would not be able to compete. Fans would desert what was left in droves, and the standard of player available to the teams that were left would drop considerably too. It would kill our game within about 20 years, possibly sooner. You had people complaining about the standard of player and style of play these last six years, do you think they will suddenly start enjoying an even lower quality product? No chance. If the OF start playing in a higher standard competition whilst still playing out of stadia in Glasgow, then our league is ****ed.

We will have to agree to disagree 100%. The difference you overlook is that at least 6 clubs would have a very realistic chance of winning the league whereas now they have no chance whatsoever.

1 hour ago, OTT said:

It would be 50% worse with Sky

I think some sort of Scottish Sports TV/online package should be arranged and led by the government. Crowdfunding has taken off in a big way, and the foundation is kind of based off that thinking. If a Scottish sports package was offered at say £10 a month how many takers could we get?  If it worked out that it included multiple popular sports like Tennis, Football, Rugby, Cricket*, Golf, swimming... ****ing tiddly winks,  it may reach far enough across the spectrum to have near virtual universal uptake. Google says there are 2.4m households in Scotland. So already, assuming 100% uptake (never going to happen) you have £288m a year which could be invested directly into Scottish sports. Even just half you're talking £144m and thats still literally just within Scotland AND not counting any sort of commercial license (for pubs for example).

Obviously that figure would be split across multiple sports but we're still talking about a net gain on whatever pittance Sky come to the table with. 

Look, its 100% ambitious, I totally get that but loads of people said that the Foundation would never be successful and to date over 8,000 people have bought into what the foundation is all about. I think similarly a Scottish sports package could have similar success. It would take everything in house and actually maximise investment in these various sports rather than lining the pockets of Skys investors. 

Sky have set the threshold for success at £25m so if the OF left our deal could be £12m maybe less, maybe more. We'd be stupid not to at least try. 

*calling Cricket a sport is a bit of a stretch :P 

The point I meant to make was that even if it was 50% worse every other team woould be as.

Scottish TV package is a decent idea, we could have had the basis for that had the sfa not shat themselves and pulled out of the rugby deal regarding hampden. 

Maroon tinted glasses 2

Ok so the story is based on the Dutch and Belgian FA's discussing the possibility to form a league between the two countries......... and apparently will just randomly invite celtic (who's fans are constantly in bother when playing away in European fixtures) and Rangers (who are less than 10 years old and never won the top league) without any consultation from the Scottish FA. 

Firstly, UEFA would never allow this to happen and if it did they couldn't play in European competitions as they can't represent their countrys league. 

Second, if the Scottish FA were to get involved then the other top Scottish clubs would want in so vaote would need to take place...........how would the other smaller clubs like st midden, Ross c*nty, livingston and hibs vote then. 

Third, it would create the whole "we will just resign from the Scots prem and start our own league" chat from the other clubs. 

Fourth (and the main one) the new firm would no longer carry the same weight as they do in the Scottish set-up. 

1 hour ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

It would be shite. The OF would have access to even more money than they do currently, and our league would not be able to compete. Fans would desert what was left in droves, and the standard of player available to the teams that were left would drop considerably too. It would kill our game within about 20 years, possibly sooner. You had people complaining about the standard of player and style of play these last six years, do you think they will suddenly start enjoying an even lower quality product? No chance. If the OF start playing in a higher standard competition whilst still playing out of stadia in Glasgow, then our league is ****ed.

It could go that way but the game is bleeding out by 1000 cuts as we stand. 

We might lose more fan boys to to the of, but that happens anyway across all cities. 

Regarding players, same as above. If a player wants to go to the of, they're going, doesn't matter what league they play in Tbh. 

I'd take the chances, a league with 4/5 teams having a chance of winning would be interesting at a national level if not a global level. 

Just now it's just shite across the board and if celtic get to 15/20 iar it will get worse. 

A treble treble should have the alarm bells ringing, celtic fans themselves will be bored of this pish if it continues another 5 years

3 minutes ago, Maroon tinted glasses 2 said:

Ok so the story is based on the Dutch and Belgian FA's discussing the possibility to form a league between the two countries......... and apparently will just randomly invite celtic (who's fans are constantly in bother when playing away in European fixtures) and Rangers (who are less than 10 years old and never won the top league) without any consultation from the Scottish FA. 

Firstly, UEFA would never allow this to happen and if it did they couldn't play in European competitions as they can't represent their countrys league. 

Second, if the Scottish FA were to get involved then the other top Scottish clubs would want in so vaote would need to take place...........how would the other smaller clubs like st midden, Ross c*nty, livingston and hibs vote then. 

Third, it would create the whole "we will just resign from the Scots prem and start our own league" chat from the other clubs. 

Fourth (and the main one) the new firm would no longer carry the same weight as they do in the Scottish set-up. 

The two Welsh teams play in England and Berwick play in Scotland...Uefa will agree to anything where there is a tasty kickback for them...

Wouldn't it be great if UEFA said they could go only if the SPFL member clubs agreed in a secret ballot.  The same voting we have now would apply.  Clubs like Elgin and Stranraer could stop them.

Stick that up your rigged voting system.

40 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

It could go that way but the game is bleeding out by 1000 cuts as we stand. 

We might lose more fan boys to to the of, but that happens anyway across all cities. 

Regarding players, same as above. If a player wants to go to the of, they're going, doesn't matter what league they play in Tbh. 

I'd take the chances, a league with 4/5 teams having a chance of winning would be interesting at a national level if not a global level. 

Just now it's just shite across the board and if celtic get to 15/20 iar it will get worse. 

A treble treble should have the alarm bells ringing, celtic fans themselves will be bored of this pish if it continues another 5 years

1 hour ago, Kiwidoug said:

We will have to agree to disagree 100%. The difference you overlook is that at least 6 clubs would have a very realistic chance of winning the league whereas now they have no chance whatsoever.

A league where the biggest three teams have a combined average attendance of about 40k, and the rest can barely fill a bus shelter. Much like twatting plumbers and brickies in the Championship back in 2014, it’d be a very much diminished championship and it would not mean as much as winning the Premiership as it is now. Honestly, it’d be the death knell for the Scottish game outside of Glasgow. Quality would drop, crowds would drop, money would drop. If folk are just bothered about being favourites to win a league, we’d be as well just arseing about in the Championship and refusing promotion each season. Wouldn’t be too long before our top flight was of the quality of the current Scottish Championship, if it did happen. 🤷‍♂️

Edited by Special Officer Doofy

Different matter altogether if Rangers and Celtic actually upped sticks and ****ed off taking their stadia with them. I’d be well up for that.

You prostituted yourselves too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. 

"In the Name of God, GO!!!"

2 hours ago, Spellczech said:

I read it as the bottom team of each nationality would get relegated. So if the Dutch clubs filled positions 1-10 and the Belgians 11-18 then the teams in 10th and 18th get relegated...with the "champions" of each country promoted to BeNe league in their place. I suppose it is workable but makes for league within league situation where it is more important not to be last Dutch club...

I was meaning the Atlantic league :thumbsup:

1 hour ago, Maroon tinted glasses 2 said:

Ok so the story is based on the Dutch and Belgian FA's discussing the possibility to form a league between the two countries.........

It isn't the FAs pushing it

A league where the biggest three teams have a combined average attendance of about 40k, and the rest can barely fill a bus shelter. Much like twatting plumbers and brickies in the Championship back in 2014, it’d be a very much diminished championship and it would not mean as much as winning the Premiership as it is now. Honestly, it’d be the death knell for the Scottish game outside of Glasgow. Quality would drop, crowds would drop, money would drop. If folk are just bothered about being favourites to win a league, we’d be as well just arseing about in the Championship and refusing promotion each season. Wouldn’t be too long before our top flight was of the quality of the current Scottish Championship, if it did happen. 🤷‍♂️

The reason they can hardly fill a bus shelter is because it's pointless.  They have absolutely no chance of winning it.

In times where it was a bit more competitive than it is now, I can vividly recall crowds of up to 20,000 at Dunfermline, kilmarnock, Motherwell, Partick.  Big crowds too at times in Dundee and Perth when the home sides were doing well.

2 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

"Celtic attempted to form an Atlantic League with clubs from Scotland, Belgium, the Netherlands, Portugal and Scandinavia 20 years ago."

Go to court to overturn an unfair relegation: Hammered for weeks

Try to break up the entire Scottish league: "On you go Celtic"

Apart from the behaviour of Old Firm fans at home and abroad week after week, I can't see anything that brings our game into more disrepute than openly attempting to leave it.

Bravo,imagine someone on the SFA with your logical thinking? This sort of thing would never make print but because we are dealing with the dinosaurs that never died ,these things in charge will wait until it’s entirely impossible or a teeny weeny bit improbable before saying it was never on the table 

20 yrs pass and it was an idea that these phukks will say never happened and 20 minutes after this looks a bit odd ,the same cxxnts  will be saying it was a journo prank , scum 

9 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

The reason they can hardly fill a bus shelter is because it's pointless.  They have absolutely no chance of winning it.

In times where it was a bit more competitive than it is now, I can vividly recall crowds of up to 20,000 at Dunfermline, kilmarnock, Motherwell, Partick.  Big crowds too at times in Dundee and Perth when the home sides were doing well.

Yes but improved transport means that supporting a local team is no longer so necessary. Like it or not, gloryhunting became easier...

Celtic in a European league representing Scotland and flying the Irish flag.?...sounds about right.

3 hours ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

If they were to go, we would have to go with them, or resign ourselves to being in a dying league.

Aren't we already in a dying league .... thanks to the presence of the Bigot Brothers ?    

1 minute ago, Lone Striker said:

Aren't we already in a dying league .... thanks to the presence of the Bigot Brothers ?    

It would be much worse if they were still here geographically, but playing in a richer and more attractive competition. 

2 hours ago, Turkishcap said:

Can this be pushed through for August 1st 🤔

☺️  Yes please.   As a Sellick-minded QC once said ..." ye'll be oot the game"  😜

40-45k for the three biggest teams (without the ersecheeks) is pretty good for a country the size of Scotland.  Certainly compares favourably with other, similarly sized, countries including those that have had much more success recently in international competitions.

Edited by FWJ
Grammar!

5 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

It would be much worse if they were still here geographically, but playing in a richer and more attractive competition. 

How ?   Are you suggesting that  a percentage of Hearts/Hibs/Dons etc fans will abandon their teams in order to go glory hunting in front of their TV sets ?

Just now, Lone Striker said:

How ?   Are you suggesting that  a percentage of Hearts/Hibs/Dons etc fans will abandon their teams in order to go glory hunting in front of their TV sets ?

No, I’m suggesting that future generations of Hearts supporters would abandon the team of their fathers, to watch the better quality football on their doorsteps. 

Forever Hearts
8 hours ago, JackLadd said:

I don't see Sevco fans being too welcome in Belgium tbh, not that they are welcome anywhere.  

Whereas the lovable, IRA, supporting, Celtic fans....

Edited by Forever Hearts

19 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

No, I’m suggesting that future generations of Hearts supporters would abandon the team of their fathers, to watch the better quality football on their doorsteps. 

Ah ok - although I think you're overplaying that possibility.  Assuming that the only way to watch "better quality football" is to sit in front of a TV, then that happens at the moment - the EPL has blanket coverage, and there are probably thousands of Hearts fans tuning in from time to time ........ but they still actively support their local team, and induct their offspring into the faith (as best they can).      If our football  popularity is to decline, surely the lure of the EPL is more likely to cause it rather than the OF in a Euro league ?

ehy

If the OF wish to leave and play in a foreign league they should have to relocate.

The SFA and the SG should protect our leagues by refusing teams playing in foreign leagues from operating in Scotland.

Rangers and Celtic get full houses as it is.

It wouldn't make any difference at all to us and the smaller clubs would just cut their cloth to suit.

It's not as if it's going to be a glamour league of the top teams it would be a cobbled together European second tier with no history and OF fans might not take too well getting humped regularly. 

Some of the glory hunters might jump ship. 

1 hour ago, Forever Hearts said:

Sevco fans are proven violent thugs. 

3 hours ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Not a dogs chance.

See ya later guys , wish you all the best, and next time your passing  don't bother visiting 

12 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Long cut and paste from today's Times 

Lawwell will be monitoring the plans for a BeNe League with great interest
BILL MURRAY/SNS

Save

The ongoing discussions between the Dutch Eredivisie and the Belgian Jupiler Pro League regarding plans to merge the best clubs from their respective leagues to create a new 18-team division will have far-reaching consequences for the game in Europe. It may also finally provide Celtic and Rangers with the escape route from Scottish football that they have been hoping for almost a quarter of a century.

A report in German magazine Kicker revealed that the two countries have hatched a plan for the ten clubs from Holland and eight from Belgium to form a new Super League, one which would generate considerably more money from broadcasters and help them to compete in European competitions with clubs from England, Spain, Germany, Italy and France.

Should their plan be given the green light then the Glasgow giants would anticipate being invited — and would proactively seek an invitation — to join that league or any similar new conglomerate. Celtic chief executive Peter Lawwell is on the board of the European Clubs Association and will be monitoring the situation with interest.

“We cannot ignore the new reality,” said Bart Verhaeghe the Club Brugge chief executive. “Sooner or later, there will be a European Super League with games between Bayern Munich and Real Madrid on Sundays.”

Deloitte, the international audit, consulting and financial advisory group, was hired by the Belgians and Dutch to examine the potential for a BeNe League and were informed they could expect to earn around £365 million per year in television revenue, which compares favourably to the £73 million each collects at the moment.

That would place the BeNe League just behind the big five TV nations and level the playing field for their clubs in the Champions League and Europa League. It has been proposed that the Dutch and Belgian clubs finishing lowest in the table would be automatically relegated each year while the champions of the domestic leagues left behind would be promoted.

Celtic attempted to form an Atlantic League with clubs from Scotland, Belgium, the Netherlands, Portugal and Scandinavia 20 years ago. Roger Mitchell, who was then chief executive of the Scottish Premier League, confirmed that he had taken precautionary measures to protect the clubs who would not have been invited and regarded the move as inevitable until national associations conspired to prevent it.

“We had it all worked out,” he said last night. “There was a mechanism there which could have seen our clubs promoted and there were financial guarantees which would have meant that our smaller clubs would not have been worse off.

“However, it was the national associations, who are the regulators in each country, who stood in their way. Ironically, it was the former Celtic chairman, Jack McGinn, who was the SFA’s president at the time and he wasn’t interested: he just went through the motions.

“The other associations were the same: they didn’t see any reason to give up their cushy numbers and that’s where it died. They didn’t want to lose their perks — the first-class travel and the five-star hotels — so they weren’t bothered and that was scandalous.

“Leagues, as we’ve seen, are now an uncomfortable marriage of people who want nothing to do with each other and market forces are driving them apart because broadcasters don’t want to show Hamilton v St Johnstone.”

In the late 1990s Celtic considered buying Wimbledon FC, then in England’s top tier, from owner Sam Hammam. The plan was to relocate the club to Celtic Park and then rename it, thus parachuting themselves into the Premier League.

A stalking horse had been let loose in the shape of Dr John Hall, a Bermuda-based businessman who had bought Clydebank FC and attempted to play their home Scottish League fixtures in Dublin.

The Royal Dublin Showground had been chosen as their new stadium and there was nothing in the rules to prevent the deal being done. However, representatives of the Scottish and Irish associations called on Fifa to act prior to the 1998 World Cup finals and the governing body created new legislation to prevent such a move.

Intriguingly, Fifa president Gianni Infantino, speaking to the media in December, appeared to signal a softening of their stance.

“We need to be open to discussions,” he said. “The Belgians and the Dutch have been discussing creating a Benelux league and these discussions have been going on for 20 years and we are always saying no, because we are based on national leagues.

“But maybe it helps? Maybe it is the only way out, maybe in Europe they have to think about this, maybe in Africa. I was proposing something like this for Africa. I think we have the duty to study these things then we will see where it goes.

“It’s not about bringing anyone down. It’s rather about bringing those who are today down a little bit further [up] and we are willing to discuss with everyone about everything. And then we will see.”

Save

This again. Jaysus! I'm watching an episode of Scotsport from 1997 and they're talking about this. The SFA gravy train rolls on and on, and why not? CHOO CHOOOO!

glynnlondon
8 hours ago, Shanks said:

Folk need to remember that if Celtic and rangers leave the league they don’t leave Scotland unfortunately, they would still be here sucking the lifeblood out the country.

You can also guarantee they would be allowed ‘colt’ teams to remain in our league that would probably still generate more money than any other club.  Depressing. 

Without a doubt the football authorities egged on by the media would be on their hands and knees pleading with them for a few crumbs.

10 hours ago, Spellczech said:

The two Welsh teams play in England and Berwick play in Scotland...Uefa will agree to anything where there is a tasty kickback for them...

Stop this silly myth.

Swansea and Cardiff (Wrexham) previous my played in English leagues since the 1920s.

Berwick joined Scottish leagues in 1905.

Uefa wasn't formed until 1954.

4 hours ago, BobbyCox said:

Sectarian language, really?

Neither Tim nor Hun are sectarian.

9 hours ago, Forever Hearts said:

Look FH we all know Timothy are lovable freedom fighters & the Williams boys are, well just violent orcs.

6 minutes ago, Rizla said:

Ok then.

Timothy & William 

Again, neither are sectarian. 

32 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Again, neither are sectarian. 

Yes we are all aware of that but we’re just having a wee laugh.

Let me get this right, it's to be an 18 team league, with 10 from Holland, and 8 from Belgium, but Rangers and Celtic "EXPECT" to be invited, their self entitlement knows absolutely no bounds, they're like the school bully who loves battering the little ones, but wants to be cool and hang around with the adults without being welcomed for numerous reasons, god I hate them so much! 

25 minutes ago, Rizla said:

Yes we are all aware of that but we’re just having a wee laugh.

No, many folk are not. Periodically posters like to make a claim for either or both terms to be banned from JKB for being sectarian. Assume BobbyCox was being serious, as it’s a common recurring theme on here.

17 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

No, many folk are not. Periodically posters like to make a claim for either or both terms to be banned from JKB for being sectarian. Assume BobbyCox was being serious, as it’s a common recurring theme on here.

I’m aware of it mate no probs👍

28 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

Let me get this right, it's to be an 18 team league, with 10 from Holland, and 8 from Belgium, but Rangers and Celtic "EXPECT" to be invited, their self entitlement knows absolutely no bounds, they're like the school bully who loves battering the little ones, but wants to be cool and hang around with the adults without being welcomed for numerous reasons, god I hate them so much! 

The Old Firm have been acting like school bullies since 1872 & 1888.