Smart Doorbell

SecN

Being confined to home during lockdown and getting loads of home deliveries, I’ve realised that my doorbell is not loud enough. 

I’ve considered a Smart Doorbell with either Nest or Ring. Nest would be my first choice as I’ve got some of their other stuff. I’ve read I need to uprate my doorbell transformer to at least 16v. I’ve located the current one and it’s only 8V and is part of the existing dumb doorbell setup. 

Anyone done something like this themselves?  I’m not experienced with electricals although  I’ll be able to work out the bell and video part of it. 

08-FF0-B09-9863-4-E04-B9-B8-BD95349-ACA7

Edited by SecN
Image link

Harry Potter

Got mine of Amazon about a tenner, TOPOP wireless, transmitter can be fixed at door with either screws or sticky

back tape, receiver/ringer plugs in to any socket, livingroom etc.

plays 52 tunes lol.

9 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Got mine of Amazon about a tenner, TOPOP wireless, transmitter can be fixed at door with either screws or sticky

back tape, receiver/ringer plugs in to any socket, livingroom etc.

plays 52 tunes lol.

You must hate it when someone rings your door bell twice

Don’t know about Nest but Ring can be battery operated so no need to worry about any wiring. 

Edited by Dazo

Harry Potter
1 minute ago, kila said:

aye ha ha but you can hear it even at half volume

The latest Ring 3.0 can have a second battery purchased for about £20'ish so you can charge it in advance of the expected 3-month swap-over period. 

I have looked at cheap eBay options for wireless bells also, not Smart Bells but the sort of ones with 52 different tones as HP suggests.  They can be as cheap at £11, suppose the debate is whether a Smart Bell is a needed thing or not?

davemclaren
1 minute ago, SecN said:

The latest Ring 3.0 can have a second battery purchased for about £20'ish so you can charge it in advance of the expected 3-month swap-over period.