Robbie Neilson as a player.

Spellczech

Underappreciated, by me too...He was an athlete more than a player - could run all day. Good positionally, got forward but was not a great crosser. Solid tackler. When we had the likes of Jamie McAllister on the other side he looked good, when it was Takis or Wallace he looked poor. I think he was a weakness in the 2006 team as they were a level above him which made us a bit predictable going forward. In last year's team he would've been standout solid.

• Replies 127

• Greedy Jambo

• Last Laff

Ainsley Harriott

Solid defensively just not technically gifted. I remember the start of the Romanov era all the new full backs that were signed to replace Robbie yet he always forced his way back into the team which tells you alot about his work ethic and character. 

AlimOzturk

Use to hate the Robbie long throw. Don't think we ever scored a goal from it. 

Was a good player IMO solid, dependable. 

Just now, AlimOzturk said:

Never scored from it? Never? No goal springs to mind? At all?

Have a think 😏

9 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

That's another thing that bugs me, did he not tell the team to lay off them and not score anymore goals? 

We only won by ten. Boo! 

77Mackay77

Oh what an opening post! 🤦‍♂️

Very dependable, hard working right back, with a huge number of appearances during one of our most successful periods!

If you ever watched him play, like properly watched him, you would have noticed how often he made himself available to a midfielder or centre half who was under pressure, while other players would pretend to be available but were hiding. And often he would then find himself under pressure and no one made themselves available.

Always took responsibility when other players hid.

2006 cup final typified Robbie as a player imo, the tackle and then with Hartley getting himself stupidly sent off, Robbie steps up to take a penalty. Where were all these far more technically gifted and better players then....?!? 

Edited by 77Mackay77

9 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

I know he had his moments, a couple of famous tackles,  but i couldn't stand him,  an absolute heedless chicken going forward. 

I can't fault his effort but bloody hell, he would run the length of the pitch, get to a position to either cross it or cut inside and would just be like mehhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I don't know what to do now, think i'll pass it backwards. 

Always a worry for me when you have a manager that knows hee haw about attacking. 

Nice.

9 hours ago, Smithee said:

I didn't realise how good he was at playing right back until he left. 

Look at his team mates. He was a first pick. Far better than some would give credit for.

Some of the shite spouted on here about Neilson is unreal. 
A solid, dependable fullback for us and a spot on attitude that a few of the current chancers could and hopefully will, learn from.

31 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

A solid, dependable fullback for us and a spot on attitude that a few of the current chancers could and hopefully will, learn from.

What he said 👍

He was the type of player who had to work to get to where he was and it showed. You know you have players who are blessed with natural ability but can't be arsed. They'll have a season or two at best and then disappear down the leagues. Then you'll have your Don Cowie's, Neil Berry's, Michael Smith's. You see their name on the team sheet and you dont go "Baws" or "Woohoo". They're solid, dependable guys that the team needs. I liked him as a player and as a manager first time round. He's got a steel about him

Was steady.

Based on your theory Liverpool fans must've been terrified when Klopp, a centre half who couldn't kick his own backside as a player came in eh... seems to have worked out fine.

2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Cup final? 🤔

Tokyo Drifter
12 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

I know he had his moments, a couple of famous tackles,  but i couldn't stand him,  an absolute heedless chicken going forward. 

I can't fault his effort but bloody hell, he would run the length of the pitch, get to a position to either cross it or cut inside and would just be like mehhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I don't know what to do now, think i'll pass it backwards. 

Always a worry for me when you have a manager that knows hee haw about attacking. 

Master of the long throw is about all I remember of his time in defence.

In terms of his attacking nous as a manager, his Championship side was one of the most exciting, pacey and goal-tastic I have ever seen in 30+ years of watching Hearts at Tynecastle. The first half of the Falkirk game - think we were four up by half time: Keatings scored a screamer - is one of the most sublime 45 minutes I've ever seen us play.

Dallas Green
2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

C'mon now. There is a very important goal scored by one of our legends that came from a Robbie throw.

Hint, not his only great input in that match.

Tokyo Drifter
1 minute ago, Dallas Green said:

C'mon now. There is a very important goal scored by one of our legends that came from a Robbie throw.

Hint, not his only great input in that match.

Agree. I love a long throw(er). We lost two goals against St Johnstone once from two O'Shaugnessy long throws. Simple, just lobbed the ball into the box. Not liking long throws is the same as not liking corners. Not liking corners is the same as not liking goals. See where I'm going with this?

Scottie Wanshot.

good player, not great, who gave everything in a game. he has a Jambos Heart, and believe me we haven't had that this season.

7 hours ago, jamtartan74 said:

Sometimes I wonder what some of our fans expect from our players, I loved Robbie Neilson as a player for us, he gave everything over a long period of time and was very consistent in doing so playing under a number of managers. One of my favourite players in his time playing for us due to his overall desire and effort and consistency. Was delighted to hear of him coming back as manager, unfinished business. Got bottle got style Neilson in, get it right round yae ya phoodle phuds 😁

😂😂👏

cubanjambo

Great reliable Hearts player and great reliable Hearts manager, get it up yez plane hiring welts 😂😂😂 We're back !

jambostuart
8 hours ago, plastic_bas said:

All the key arguments have been made but I can't help think of him fondly.

I used to love the timing of his first long throw in a European game when they had no clue who he was. We'd always lull them in with a few short throws before the bedlam as he hits their box from the halfway line. Delish. 

He was a master at the last minute duck to earn a thrown. Whenever one of our full backs, from Takis to Oshaniwa, flicks the ball out for a throw you'll hear my dad say 'FFS should have Robbied it'. 

As an aside, whenever I see Kenny Miller's stupid face, I don't immediately think of the goals against us or the career ruiner on McHattie. I think about how oor Robbie should have 1 cap and 1 effing assist for this inch perfect cross in 2006. Start at 34 mins in the video. 

Cheers - was looking for this when I made my post saying the same, but couldn't find it! Looking again I can see Neilson conceded the penalty but it looked very very soft!

jambogirlglasgow
7 hours ago, 77Mackay77 said:

Oh what an opening post! 🤦‍♂️

Very dependable, hard working right back, with a huge number of appearances during one of our most successful periods!

If you ever watched him play, like properly watched him, you would have noticed how often he made himself available to a midfielder or centre half who was under pressure, while other players would pretend to be available but were hiding. And often he would then find himself under pressure and no one made themselves available.

Always took responsibility when other players hid.

2006 cup final typified Robbie as a player imo, the tackle and then with Hartley getting himself stupidly sent off, Robbie steps up to take a penalty. Where were all these far more technically gifted and better players then....?!? 

Exactly. Hard as nails, never stopped grafting for the team and stood up like a man 

when he was needed. That’ll do me. 

20 hours ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Cup winner. Steady if uninspiring fullback, who provided what needed to be done, when it was needed most, like the goal v Basel, and the tackle in the cup. Looked to be on his way out as a kid, but fought his way back in through grit and determination after a loan to QotS. Played in some of our greatest modern matches, and won a A Scotland cap with us. Never really let us down that I can remember. He’s alright in my book.

20 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Pretty good defender, good throw-in taker .... decent going forward.....absolutely hopeless at crossing & shooting though.   Him coming back from injury was a major factor in us finishing 3rd under Csaba.    7 out of 10 rating on Tripadvisor.  Delighted he's back with us again, this time as manager.    

19 hours ago, Cruyff said:

Robbie was solid, a great team player and a by the book full back. No ****ing about. 

He was very fit, could run up and down the park all day. Sometimes he'd even run 60 yards just to take a defender away and create space. Very unselfish. 

He always stuck the ball up the line if there was nothing on for a striker to chase. 

Always defended his back post well and made sure he got goal side. 

Good tackler and brave. Never shat it out of a 50/50 in his puff.

Long throw specialist.

Decent crosser. Always touch and cross, made sure it got into the box. 

Wasn't technically great, wasn't very quick but he was very solid and very dependable. 

I liked him. 

Yup.

baxterd1974

Stiff competition but this has to be up there as one of the most pointless threads ever! Look at me folks.

Boyces beard
20 hours ago, Ricardo Shillyshally said:

I suspect the OP was on the M8 at that time

I suspect you are correct

12 hours ago, iantjambo said:

This. A player a manager and team-mates could rely on to give everything in every game and do what he's asked to do. He was our Denis Irwin in that respect if not in other respects.

4 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

This. A player a manager and team-mates could rely on to give everything in every game and do what he's asked to do. He was our Denis Irwin in that respect if not in other respects.

**** off mate Irwin was the best full back of his generation :lol: 

1 hour ago, baxterd1974 said:

Stiff competition but this has to be up there as one of the most pointless threads ever! Look at me folks.

I've yet to read any of your threads, they decent, aye? 

In terms of a limited player with a good attitude, I'd take Robbie in my team every day of the week ahead of Lewis Stevenson! I can see him being the type that managers trust with being professional and keeping out of bother but he is one woeful player. 

Just now, Samuel Camazzola said:

In terms of a limited player with a good attitude, I'd take Robbie in my team every day of the week ahead of Lewis Stevenson! I can see him being the type that managers trust with being professional and keeping out of bother but he is one woeful player. 

I'm surprised Lewis Stevenson lasted as long as he did at hibs, Always thought he was utter bollocks. I suppose it's a good comparison with Robbie though, plenty of running and effort. 

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

I'm surprised Lewis Stevenson lasted as long as he did at hibs, Always thought he was utter bollocks. I suppose it's a good comparison with Robbie though, plenty of running and effort. 

Robbie was far better. He knew his limits and could read the game well. Learnt from better players too. 

Hibs had David Murphy for a couple of years and was a good fullback. Once he left, their options have been poor. Eckersley would have moved Stevenson if he had been fit. 

corryjambo
22 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

Always a worry for me when you have a poster that posts on a football forum and  knows feck all about football.

You of course were spot on about managers that know nothing about attacking. Jock Stein was a big course centre half and a really crap manager and his Celtic team knew nothing about attacking.:sarcasm:

1 minute ago, corryjambo said:

Always a worry for me when you have a poster that posts on a football forum and  knows feck all about football.

You of course were spot on about managers that know nothing about attacking. Jock Stein was a big course centre half and a really crap manager and his Celtic team knew nothing about attacking.:sarcasm:

You're comparing Robbie to Jock Stein?

Nice. 

28 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

**** off mate Irwin was the best full back of his generation :lol: 

Yeah that's why I very clearly compared their dependability not their skills. 

9 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

You're comparing Robbie to Jock Stein?

Nice. 

Is there not another football forum better suited for your hobby of slagging off Hearts and Hearts players?

21 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Neilson was a considerably better player than Stevenson. I suppose you've seen more of Stevenson though.

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

Is there not another football forum better suited for your hobby of slagging off Hearts and Hearts players?

He likes to spell it ‘hobbie’.

Just thought I’d point that out.

A solid player with a very good football brain.

Rarely made the wrong decision, especially with his positioning.

Long throws and crosses were not his forte.

2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I didnae think he was very good, should i just keep it a secret?

The Maroon tinted specs haven't really been going well for us of late. 

See if this court case goes against us, i have no words. 

I suppose we'll just have to up the direct debits again to pay for the £1m fine. 

13 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Yeah that's why I very clearly compared their dependability not their skills. 

You need to chill being over eager mate.  It makes you sound illogical. 

How the utter **** does wee baws Stevenson ripped each and every time of his career against HMFC and I’m talking every single time end up as some kind of thing to slag anyone Hearts related :lol: this place has went kamikaze man.  

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

I didnae think he was very good, should i just keep it a secret?

Not if you want to be taken seriously as a Hearts fan who knows anything about football. Not every player has to be a superstar. Neilson was an integral part of one of our best ever teams. Early in his career he saw off the challenge of an Irish international when Maybury was signed and made the position his own. Name a RB we've had in the last 20-30 years who has done as well and made as big a contribution to us winning a trophy? 

4 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

You need to chill being over eager mate.  It makes you sound illogical. 

You need to learn how to read. And write going by that last post on Stevenson.

Just now, Last Laff said:

You need to learn to chill.  

Chilling isn't something you learn. Reading is.

7 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

The Maroon tinted specs haven't really been going well for us of late. 

See if this court case goes against us, i have no words. 

I suppose we'll just have to up the direct debits again to pay for the £1m fine. 

Maybe if you just ****ed off that would do?