Your school punishment options?

crichiejambos

11 hours ago, Marvin said:

Did teachers ever count the lines that you completed? I got 100 lines for general misbehaviour. When I handed them in, he threw them straight in the bin. :annoyed:

That’s what the old bugger I got did, got lines did them he threw straight in the bin didn’t even look at them so next time just said f@#k it I’m not doing them and got the belt instead which did sting he drew back and caught my fingers rather than the palm of my hand which he meant to do.

• Replies 100

• Marvin

• Angel eyes

• inspector

1 minute ago, Angel eyes said:

That’s what the old bugger I got did, got lines did them he threw straight in the bin didn’t even look at them so next time just said f@#k it I’m not doing them and got the belt instead which did sting he drew back and caught my fingers rather than the palm of my hand which he meant to do.

What you should have perhaps done and my self wrote x times "Feck it I'm not doing them." :laugh: 

Just now, Marvin said:

What you should have perhaps done and my self wrote x times "Feck it I'm not doing them." :laugh: 

He was the first male teacher I had primary 7 up until then it was all female teachers and really can’t remember if any of them used the belt? But he would have got his comeuppance a few years later but he died was a heavy smoker made it into his early 50s but  his grown up son was convicted of child pornography got two years in Peterhead sex offenders.

1 hour ago, crunchy frog said:

Went to school in Germany in  late 70s where I received the cane. I think that was more for the pervy teacher's benefit than mine, the *****.

Came back to Edinburgh 81 got a few blackboard dusters bounced off my dome but avoided the strap.

After that it was exclusion from the class standing in the corridor ootside the room. Got a few funny looks from other teachers passing by but I probably learnt more in the corridor than the class of the baldy bassa that chucked me out 😀

Forgot about the blackboard dusters they wooden lumps with the felt.

Just now, Angel eyes said:

He was the first male teacher I had primary 7 up until then it was all female teachers and really can’t remember if any of them used the belt? But he would have got his comeuppance a few years later but he died was a heavy smoker made it into his early 50s but  his grown up son was convicted of child pornography got two years in Peterhead sex offenders.

Good to hear. At high school I had a pervy teacher who'd check to see if the boys were taking a shower after cross country running.  :(

There were a fair few sadistic old school teachers that would be up in court nowadays. I remember a classmate being made to spend an entire swimming lesson sitting in the foot bath in freezing water for no particular reason apart from talking in line. 

When I was at school it was the belt, then moved towards lines, and for a period there were both options.  A few instances that I can recall...

I was one of 4 boys hauled up for doing something wrong, I can't recall what it was.  We were offered the option, belt or lines.  Three of us opted for the belt, the other guy shat it and took lines,  he was ridiculed about this for ages.

One teacher threatened the first person to misbehave with 100 lines, and the sentence would be doubled for each subsequent offender.  My mate who sat next to me managed to get 800 lines, and for laughing at him, I was promptly given 1600.  I got bored writing out the lines, and knowing that the teacher would never actually read through them, I started changing occasional lines.  So 'I must not misbehave in class' gradually evolved through 'I must not fart in class' to 'Miss X is a bitch'.  I showed a few mates what I'd done, then sat sweating after I handed them in case she flicked through them and happened upon one of the rogue lines, thankfully she didn't.

Finally, I had a Physics teacher who dished out the belt numerous times in every lesson, expect what he did was fold the belt in half them tap you on the hand very gently.  If you really misbehaved, he sent you to the local shop to buy him a Tunnock's caramel log for his tea break.

3 hours ago, PontiusPilate said:

I was there 77-81 and can confirm that, think the teachers enjoyed beating kids

12 hours ago, Seaside jambo said:

Portobello high school in the 70s 

the lash (belt) was the frequently used punishment by nearly all my teachers 

I was there 74-79

*ow the Physics teacher (head of science too)  had a whole range of options. He insisted all punishments in the Science department were to be carried out by him personally.

Regular - he had three sizes of belt. You would be made to kneel in the corner of the hard lino floor staring at the wall. He would repeatedly ask you if you wanted 2 of the grand belt, 4 of the medium or 6 of the small. He didn't want the decision til the end of the period(s)

Electrocution  For a term he had a train set signed up and when misbehaving  kids from other classes were brought in he would make them hold two ends of a circuit so they got a minor shock

Tacks and pins - he enjoyed various methos of pinning boys in the behind. No one would get in the lift with him to the ground floor even though we were on the 8th floor. 

Mental torture - his speciality and especially played on those less gifted

A 'less gifted' boy who was sent to him regularly for punishment was a favourite. He would nip his backside, and ask him to check the time, giving him a telescope and pointing to the window - the boy would get hte time off the town hall clock after much effort and calculation. After he left, the teacher would snigger and point to the clock on the wall.....

Worse one was a girl who had misbehaved in another class and he got her to stand up at the front while he put a physics encyclopaedia on a lectern. We were the 'brainy class'  . He pointed out difficult words and she tried to pronounce the. Despite ourselves we laughed at her clumsy efforts and she cried. He was delighted.

Still makes me angry thinking about that one....

He got his comeuppance one day when we trooped into a French class and the master there saw a girl was crying (having been the subject of some torture by *ow) . The french teacher turned purple in the face (he had a temper ) . He stormed off and came back bedraggled and with blood on his knuckles about 20 minutes later. Sorted him out, we gathered on the grapevine....

The  good old days at Porty !

I also got belted by the Asst Head for being carried around all day in the lotus position for a bet, which must be pretty unique!

First day at Heriot's 1969, our art teacher Mr McCheyne put a piece of chalk on the desk and told the class of 12 year olds that he would suffer no nonsense in his class. He then vapourised the chalk on the desk with his belt. He had the best behaved pupils in his class . We were all terrified.

19 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

I also got belted by the Asst Head for being carried around all day in the lotus position for a bet, which must be pretty unique!

:D Well worth it.

8 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Our PE teacher made you do gym in your pants if you forgot your kit. I remember one boy busting out greeting. Turned out he wasn't wearing any pants.

We had a science teacher, aptly nicknamed 'Psycho', who used to throw the wooden blackboard duster at you, if he thought you weren't paying attention. He disappeared for a while, with rumours saying he was suspended for throwing a stool at a boy; which was perfectly believable. 

Quite right. That’s thoroughly disgusting. 

Seaside jambo
28 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

I was there 74-79

*ow the Physics teacher (head of science too)  had a whole range of options. He insisted all punishments in the Science department were to be carried out by him personally.

Regular - he had three sizes of belt. You would be made to kneel in the corner of the hard lino floor staring at the wall. He would repeatedly ask you if you wanted 2 of the grand belt, 4 of the medium or 6 of the small. He didn't want the decision til the end of the period(s)

Electrocution  For a term he had a train set signed up and when misbehaving  kids from other classes were brought in he would make them hold two ends of a circuit so they got a minor shock

Tacks and pins - he enjoyed various methos of pinning boys in the behind. No one would get in the lift with him to the ground floor even though we were on the 8th floor. 

A 'less gifted' boy who was sent to him regularly for punishment was a favourite. He would nip his backside, and ask him to check the time, giving him a telescope and pointing to the window - the boy would get hte time off the town hall clock after much effort and calculation. After he left, the teacher would snigger and point to the clock on the wall.....

Worse one was a girl who had misbehaved in another class and he got her to stand up at the front while he put a physics encyclopaedia on a lectern. We were the 'brainy class'  . He pointed out difficult words and she tried to pronounce the. Despite ourselves we laughed at her clumsy efforts and she cried. He was delighted.

He got his comeuppance one day when we trooped into a French class and the master there saw a girl was crying (having been the subject of some torture by *ow) . The french teacher turned purple in the face (he had a temper ) . He stormed off and came back bedraggled and with blood on his knuckles about 20 minutes later. Sorted him out, we gathered on the grapevine....

I it was a wonderful place ,I left in 75 so probably know these teachers you mentioned 

16 minutes ago, inspector said:

First day at Heriot's 1969, our art teacher Mr McCheyne put a piece of chalk on the desk and told the class of 12 year olds that he would suffer no nonsense in his class. He then vapourised the chalk on the desk with his belt. He had the best behaved pupils in his class . We were all terrified.

Do you remember Mr Welton?

46 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I remember Welton and McCheyne.  Both sadistic barstewards.  Fortunately never fell foul of Welton and McCheyne was not my Art teacher.  The only one who belted me was Horsey Shires the music teacher.  I got two for complaining about an open window on a freezing cold day.  Horsey was fairly soft so no pain.

55 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Tony. Remember him well. Always got on fairly well with him. I rememember him walking round the swimming pool after Our swimming lessons and chucking a few boys in before they had finished drying themselves. Never happened to me though. Don't remember Shires. We had Rutherford. Scott the Geography teacher was vicious with the belt though.

6 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

I was there 74-79

Now I know where they get school “was the best days of your life” that school sounds fecking horrendous 

9 hours ago, inspector said:

Tony. Remember him well. Always got on fairly well with him. I rememember him walking round the swimming pool after Our swimming lessons and chucking a few boys in before they had finished drying themselves. Never happened to me though. Don't remember Shires. We had Rutherford. Scott the Geography teacher was vicious with the belt though.

I think Shires must have left before your time.  I remember Rutherford - he replaced Doc Smith who retired when I was in, I think, third year.  I was there `64 - `70.

Got the tawse more times than I can remember at Trinity. Brodie, the headmaster, was a wee guy but boy could he belt

10 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Got the tawse more times than I can remember at Trinity. Brodie, the headmaster, was a wee guy but boy could he belt

Single or double handers?

We had 1 geography teacher, miss Russell. She was about 4 foot 8 tall and she couldn't belt to save herself. She would stand on her desk or chair and jump off. Some days we used to set challenges on who could get the belt quickest. Usually just talking constantly and ignoring her. 1 guy went too far 1 day though and said something like "is that the effing best you can do sweaty betty". The school rules were no more than 6 of the best in a period. The bell went, he just held his hands out again. Tou should have seen his face drop when she said she was getting mr Sutherland, the department head, to dish it out instead. He was 1 of the teachers you tried to avoid getting the belt from.

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

And he’d give you the same again if you called him the headmaster instead of rector. Ones to avoid were Mr Winton the rector of the annexe and Jake Harper the PE teacher. I failed to avoid either. 

Got the belt in primary school.

Towards the end in Primary 7 the teacher pissed me off one day (cant remember why exactly) and I stood up and threw my chair at her across the room in pure rage (hormones eh). it missed her but dented the plaster in the wall behind her. My mum was called to the head masters office and it was discussed etc.

Sent home for the day which was brilliant and straight back into class the next day like nothing had happened. No belt or anything :greggy:

Classmates thought I was a hero!

Edited by Pans Jambo

9 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

Now I know where they get school “was the best days of your life” that school sounds fecking horrendous 

Lots of good teachers too, and lots of good times. The early 70s were pretty hectic times to be at school because of the baby boom after the war - over 2000 at our school IIRC , classes over over 40, lots of experiments with non-streaming etc. I wouldn't have fancied being a teacher then, that's for sure.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

And he’d give you the same again if you called him the headmaster instead of rector. Ones to avoid were Mr Winton the rector of the annexe and Jake Harper the PE teacher. I failed to avoid either. 

Apologies you are of course correct. Jake Harper was a great pe teacher and rugby coach but never got on the wrong side of him to get the belt. He did borrow one of my rubbers once to give someone 6 on the bahooki and when he returned it to me he made sure that I saw it was my wee brother who had been on the receiving end

1 hour ago, scott herbertson said:

Lots of good teachers too, and lots of good times. The early 70s were pretty hectic times to be at school because of the baby boom after the war - over 2000 at our school IIRC , classes over over 40, lots of experiments with non-streaming etc. I wouldn't have fancied being a teacher then, that's for sure.

Don’t think being a teacher in the here and now would be all that great some of the things a teacher could be accused of nowadays would be horrendous. All through my schooling I never ever heard of a teacher being accused of anything untoward at secondary school I’d some decent enough guys who would let you go so far then at a certain point they’d become a teacher. The one situation I’d change was RE the poor bint had us last thing on a Friday she hadn’t a chance,  look back at that with shame she was an older woman she was someone’s mother, wife , daughter and I certainly wouldn’t have wanted any of my family treated like that but......as a child 😞

Craigroyston early 70's there was a teacher (history I think he taught) who had great delight in frightening the erse oaf yea before he gave you the belt by standing upright a stick of white chalk on his desk disintegrating to dust 😲

11 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Single or double handers?

We talking dentists here?

:oohmatron:

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

Stop it.

I’m touching my molars as I type.

At primary school, the janitor used to make you stand up against a wall for the entire duration of play/lunch time if you misbehaved during those times.

Great times.

16 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

Don’t think being a teacher in the here and now would be all that great some of the things a teacher could be accused of nowadays would be horrendous. All through my schooling I never ever heard of a teacher being accused of anything untoward at secondary school I’d some decent enough guys who would let you go so far then at a certain point they’d become a teacher. The one situation I’d change was RE the poor bint had us last thing on a Friday she hadn’t a chance,  look back at that with shame she was an older woman she was someone’s mother, wife , daughter and I certainly wouldn’t have wanted any of my family treated like that but......as a child 😞

No rumours of PE teachers pumping 6th years? I thought that went on in every school.

3 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

No rumours of PE teachers pumping 6th years? I thought that went on in every school.

We had a teacher who got a girl pregnant, Mr Barclay. Mr Thompson was the one who'd make sure the boys were taking a shower after cross country running :o

9 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Erm..... 6th years maybe did but I was long done with the Scottish education system by then and besides kids stayed on at school if they couldn’t find a job 5th year at most staying on for a 6th year is more modern take 70s, 80s kids wouldn’t have stayed on or should say wouldn’t have got the choice get a job.....end of ......could be wrong though 

45 minutes ago, Angel eyes said:

Erm..... 6th years maybe did but I was long done with the Scottish education system by then and besides kids stayed on at school if they couldn’t find a job 5th year at most staying on for a 6th year is more modern take 70s, 80s kids wouldn’t have stayed on or should say wouldn’t have got the choice get a job.....end of ......could be wrong though 

A lot of those going on to University would stay on for 6th year, in my experience.

22 minutes ago, redjambo said:

A lot of those going on to University would stay on for 6th year, in my experience.

Possibly, just in my era it wasn’t a thing 5th year yes but a 6th year not so much so.

3 minutes ago, Angel eyes said:

Possibly, just in my era it wasn’t a thing 5th year yes but a 6th year not so much so.

I was at school in the late 70s. It was certainly the case in my era. Different experiences.

1st encountered the Belt at primary school in a Shitty little place called Thornhill near Stirling, a very strange place populated by one or two families all linked in the past, all very similar in appearance. 

Rather a culture shock as i spent most of my primary school years in Balerno where the Belt wasnt even heard of.

Then onto The McLaren High School in Callander whos headmaster or Rector as he liked to be called was a highly placed member of the Gideons no less, full cloaks where worn buy all teachers and everyone one of them had a belt in the top drawer, the belt in this sadistic establishment  was fondly named "the chop" and used pretty much on a daily basis. 

Stung like **** and if you crossed the wrong lunatic teacher it would leave some pretty nasty bruising.

If memory serves correctly there was some sort of rule that prohibited them from belting you more than 3 times on each hand. Right kind of them eh 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Seriously barbaric. 

Ricardo Shillyshally

loads of lines, lunchtime and evening detentons and one suspension.

Best one was for hitting a fat Celtic fan with a science book. 500 lines. Worth it.

6 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

Late 70s like Red.  The school I went to was one of the few in the area with a 6th year, so we used to get kids from other schools coming to do 5th and 6th years.

On 27/06/2020 at 21:31, Salad Fingers said:

What was people's lines technique? 

Was it writing the lines out in full seperately? Or did you do all the words at the same time like

I must 

I must 

I must 

I

Etc. 

And did anyone use a ruler and just do one big 'I' at the start? :laugh:

I used to sellotape three pens together. You had to watch to get the angle just right default_ooh_matron2.png.b41b17e620898fae4a4c04c52f5d68fb.png

Did reduce the time and boredom factor.

Bluesy1874

We had a punny which had to be taken home and signed, a double punny so one in detention and one at home to be signed.

Detention which was half an hour, double detention which was an hour.

Suspension then expulsion.

On 27/06/2020 at 20:39, crichiejambos said:

Your age will dictate your answer on how you were/if punished at school if like me 70s/80s was  your era it was the belt which looking back was barbaric but you thought nothing of it at the time. Writing lines  were later on "I MUST NOT...........?"a  thousand times which was really a time wasting exercise and not particularly effective , detention was never an option the teachers were less interested in  staying back after school than we were plus lots of kids got school buses home and even then leaving a child stranded wasn't a good option even less so now. So how did the Scottish education system keep you check or were you an......:teu35:

Only got the belt once for knocking a football through the school library window (and parents paid for repair). 

Think I preferred the belt to getting lines to be honest at least it was over and done with straight away.

On 29/06/2020 at 09:16, Horatio Caine said:

I think Shires must have left before your time.  I remember Rutherford - he replaced Doc Smith who retired when I was in, I think, third year.  I was there `64 - `70.

69-75

2 hours ago, inspector said:

69-75

I take it William Dewar was your headmaster?  Or maybe an overlap with him and Allan MacDonald?

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I take it William Dewar was your headmaster?  Or maybe an overlap with him and Allan MacDonald?

Overlap

4 hours ago, Morgan said:

Dewar was Head in my time.  No idea how he was with the belt.  MacDonald taught me German.  He had a belt that he called `Der Hund` locked in a drawer.