Craig Gordon signs for Hearts (title updated)

Back to 2005

4 minutes ago, weegiejambo8 said:

I don’t normally post here, and not normally in the know! However I am told by a reliable friend that when CG turned down St Mirren offer, he told Jim Goodwin that he would be returning to Hearts no matter what league we were in. Done Deal 👍🏻

Please make it happen .

A major part of our downfall has been our pish poor keepers .

• Replies 1.2k

• Last Laff

• jack D and coke

• Cruyff

He wouldn't have been my choice for GK but welcome back Craig.

One huge plus is there won't be a better mentor out there for Harry Stone.

Leveins Battalion

Anybody turning their noses up to Craig Gordon is just crazy.

Born winner,hugely experienced and a Hearts man.Also still a great goalkeeper.

It's a big YES from this jambo👍🇱🇻

10 hours ago, Yoda said:

Good if true.

Ann's had her wheat-a-bix.

Aye.....3 of them, none of your two pish.

Edited by highlandjambo3

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

If this ends up with another reconstruction vote I look forward to the complete turnaround by some clubs and their justification for doing so. I’ll guess we’ll never hear from most of the loudmouths. 

They will just they are acting for the good of the game, just as the would have said they were acting for the good of the game when they chucked us out of the lifeboat. They won't even blush when the say it.

I've just found out something I didn't know: if you change threads between answering a quote, the answer appears in the new thread:facepalm:

Edited by upgotheheads

I also happen to know for a fact that Jamie McDonald would love to come back, but would he come back as a number 2, and would it stunt the progress of Stone? 

Great pro. Great person. Jambo. Shot stopper we have not had for years. Also will improve our defence when they know they have him behind them. No-brainer for all concerned including Craig himself. Upwards and onwards. A few more signings and we are ready to go in what ever league we are playing in. Seems to still be a presumption in the media we will be playing in the Championship, but let’s just wait and see on that one as well. All very arrogant and presumptious as usual! HHGH

LeylandJambo
41 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Didn't think anyone rated Tepi Moilanen that highly.

Thing with Tepi Moilanan is he was pretty decent at PNE. 

49 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

The tramps were beaten before they even got on the bus that year. 

Replicated in 2012. 

That's why they hate us. 

It's like comparing a thoroughbred horse to a feckin Clydesdale.

Hey, don't knock Clydesdales - solid beasts they are.

This is more like the Hobo horse in your analogy:

hqdefault.jpg

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

hqdefault.jpg

Neigh, this is a Hibs horse

6E2C634A-62AA-4EA7-89B0-2F84AFADB2A1.jpeg

40 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

I agree. I think CG will still have a lot to prove to people who have knocked him.

& it has been said, he's better than any keeper we currently have or have had in at least 3 seasons!

Not just a top keeper but will help sort out the defence and will help develop Harry Stone

Will also piss off St Midden, win win win 

I'd take him

would be a much better option than what we currently have.

Would prefer McLaughlin or hladky though.

1 hour ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Have to question people’s sanity if they don’t want to sign Gordon tbh 

Not one for the future obviously (other than potential coach) but a MASSIVE improvement on what has been our biggest weakness.   Would be terrefic to see him back and we can then improve the position further over next couple of years. 

An absolute improvement on what we have. Anyone any idea how his fitness is? Been playing regularly for the reserves? 

3 hours ago, Marvin said:

Which one? Both Doyle and  Bobby are total bombscares, not seen the like since Craig Nelson.  

Was talking primarily about Joel but both Doyle and Bobby have been so far below the level we're used to. 

1 hour ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

I also happen to know for a fact that Jamie McDonald would love to come back, but would he come back as a number 2, and would it stunt the progress of Stone? 

Aye let's have 5 keepers.....

14 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

Aye let's have 5 keepers.....

I'd like to think we'd empty Bobby, and Doyle is already away isn't he? Which would leave 3 

4 hours ago, Paolo said:

He is better than what we currently have.   Perhaps we could do better, but a CG and JM pairing will be miles ahead of the current incumbents.   

Correct

2 hours ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

I can’t see Doyle and Zlamal voluntarily leaving at this particular time. 

53 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Tepi Moilanen as flexible as a Subbuteo goalkeeper 

That O’cokey goal at Easter Road and the pitch invasion at the end 🤬

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

nope..☹️

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

hqdefault.jpg

Appears to be looking for a Crusade.

Thought Police

With absolutely no inside knowledge, I rate our chances of getting CG as 50/50

31 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

I'd like to think we'd empty Bobby, and Doyle is already away isn't he? Which would leave 3 

Doyle was given a two year deal in August 2019 for some reason.

Edited by Stanley_

1 minute ago, Thought Police said:

With absolutely no inside knowledge, I rate our chances of getting CG as 50/50

Might well depend on Celtic getting Forster back in some form, if they don’t he might be first choice as Lennon doesn’t seem to like Bain. Gordon said he was waiting on Celtic improving their offer and thinks he has four more years in him.

As someone else has said, in his first spell, prob the only time I think we could say we have a top class/world class player in our ranks....

He could hold his own in any company...I am over the moon if he returns...I think easily 2-3 years at a level we havent had in a number of years at our disposal and a chance for young Harry to watch, learn and try and emulate...

Might well depend on Celtic getting Forster back in some form, if they don’t he might be first choice as Lennon doesn’t seem to like Bain. Gordon said he was waiting on Celtic improving their offer and thinks he has four more years in him.

My thinking too

Rick Sanchez

I don't think Gordon will have been happy with the way he's been treated at Celtic tbh. 1st choice to 3rd choice while going for a treble treble. But here's a new contract on lesser terms...but could you hold on until we see if we can get Forster in first?

No chance, he's ours if we want him IMO.

3 hours ago, Leveins Battalion said:

agreed.

File under 'fans who moan when we're only second in the league'

13 minutes ago, Stanley_ said:

It was apparently that there was some family issues in regards to health, so Levein gave him it on compassionate grounds.

5 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

It was apparently that there was some family issues in regards to health, so Levein gave him it on compassionate grounds.

His son isn’t well, we are not a charity though. 

29 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I honestly thought Doyle's contract had run out, how long does Bobby have left? 

18 minutes ago, Stanley_ said:

Damn, I thought it was only a 1 year extension he was given for personal reasons, that's absolutely insane. 

6 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

Damn, I thought it was only a 1 year extension he was given for personal reasons, that's absolutely insane. 

He already had a contract until 2020 and the gave him a 1 year extension until 2021.  I'm not sure why they gave him a new deal when he still had one year left.

Edit: Hadn't read JiG's reply about family issues when I posted this.

Edited by Stanley_

2 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

Both have a year left 

1 minute ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

Out of Bobby and Doyle, I actually reckon Doyle is the safer one to keep. In no way am I suggesting he should be No. 1, but he has played at a decent level and is in and around the Irish national team also. You don't get into that for sentimental reasons. Bobby, I reckon still has aspirations of being a number 1, and is very erratic.

New No 1 (Id take Gordon), Stone & Doyle for me.

Just now, Stanley_ said:

He already had a contract until 2020 and the gave him a 1 year extension until 2021.  I'm not sure why they gave him a new deal when he still had one year left.

Just another part of Leveins home for old timers who pass in knowledge saving them doing it, and injury prone guys who didn’t make the big move like him.

1 minute ago, ericb said:

Out of Bobby and Doyle, I actually reckon Doyle is the safer one to keep. In no way am I suggesting he should be No. 1, but he has played at a decent level and is in and around the Irish national team also. You don't get into that for sentimental reasons. Bobby, I reckon still has aspirations of being a number 1, and is very erratic.

New No 1 (Id take Gordon), Stone & Doyle for me.

Connor Sammon has 9 caps for ROI.

We have had a few awful players who have caps for their countries, our new manager for instance, it happens.

Connor Sammon has 9 caps for ROI.

We have had a few awful players who have caps for their countries, our new manager for instance, it happens.

I know that, but what I'm saying if we have to keep 1 from 2, then its Doyle. Unless clubs are willing to take them, then we are stuck with at least one, maybe both.

SCARF. ABOVE. HEID.

NOW. 

:D I just want this done. A great signing and vast improvement on the dross we've seen since Mclaughlin. 

15 minutes ago, ericb said:

I know that, but what I'm saying if we have to keep 1 from 2, then its Doyle. Unless clubs are willing to take them, then we are stuck with at least one, maybe both.

Probably both, and about a dozen others we could do with getting shot of.

20 minutes ago, ericb said:

What an awful choice to be fair.  My 9yo daughter likes playing 'would you rather' with me eg 'would you rather eat a tarantula or lie in a bed of worms'.  Doyle or Bobby is perfect for this game but not sure she'd understand the context. 

19 minutes ago, OTT said:

Could loan Doyle or Bobby out to Partick since they'll need a keeper. Solidarity and all that :D 

I’d rather we loaned them out to someone we don’t like 👍🏽

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

I’d rather we loaned them out to someone we don’t like 👍🏽

:D Very true. Doyle to St Mirren then?