32 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Naw, this is!

E71uFmZRCuUCS2OIzWkIP478OHCn63O55ZtvKZS_

14 hours ago, Lee_Mellon said:

Never even heard of this film. Just googled it and will now have to give it a watch👍

Probably not 'iconic' but it's definitely the twist of all twists :pray: Obviously huge spoiler if you've never seen the first Saw film. 

Lee_Mellon
52 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Never even heard of this film. Just googled it and will now have to give it a watch👍

One of my all time favourites. It’s got so much going for it:- Nicholson, Karen Black, classical piano, the dad from the Waltons...

3 hours ago, Marty Byrde said:

He was so proud of that bridge.

An absolutely tremendous performance from Alec Guiness 

Some great film ideas on this thread so far. Many I've neglected for years and need to educate my sons with/about.

I also thought of The Great Esacape where Steve McQueen's burling about on his motorbike.

15 hours ago, Lee_Mellon said:

Ah, the Odessa Steps - haven’t seen that since Film Appreciation at Boroughmuir in 1971. Made a deep impression on me at the time and definitely fits the iconic criteria!

If you haven't done so yet, you should consider visiting them, LM.

Lee_Mellon
6 minutes ago, redjambo said:

If you haven't done so yet, you should consider visiting them, LM.

Maybe if I was 40 years younger, Red - nowadays my appetite for foreign shores begins and ends in Menorca!!

Meanwhile, how about another iconic Nicholson scene...

The dentist chair scene between Lawrence Olivier and Dustin Hoffman in Marathon Man.

17 hours ago, Cade said:

Like a painting brought to life.

This film is very under-rated and should be regarded one of cinema's all-time greats.

Using tens of thousands of Ukrainian army reserves as extras added to the authenticity of the armies.

No CGI baws back then.

Oooh, I don't think I've watched that. I'll definitely have to have a look for it, thanks. 👍 

4 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

One of my favourite films.  Hanks was terrific in this and such a departure from his usual roles.  Jude Law was creepy as hell in it too.  Some great dialogue too. 

It is my fave. 

Amazing film 

So underrated 

15 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

It is my fave. 

Amazing film 

So underrated 

I agree 

Vlad Magic

Still maintain this is one of the best scenes ever made.

If you haven’t seen the whole film trust me it’s fantastic!!!

4 hours ago, Auld Reekin' said:

Cool obscure fact. My Dad plays bassoon on the soundtrack.

I love David Lean Films. This and Dr Zhivago

15 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Cool obscure fact. My Dad plays bassoon on the soundtrack.

I love David Lean Films. This and Dr Zhivago

That is cool!   :thumbsup:

Me too.

36 minutes ago, Vlad Magic said:

The sequel was garbage

46 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

C'mon!! 

Oddly I must have seen that film well over a hundred times and that always been my least favourite scene. 

1 hour ago, Vlad Magic said:

And you missed Hit Girl

:vrwow:

Edited by luckyBatistuta

6 minutes ago, tedarmy said:

animal house.jpg

Shout. His speech in that film is also hysterically funny. "Was it over when the German's bombed Pearl Harbour"?

6 minutes ago, Cade said:

So many scenes from that film! I watched it again recently after being told that, every time someone dies there's an X somewhere in the background. (There is though I'm told Scorcese took that idea from another film)

Edited by Jamhammer

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

And of course the fence jump was a gag in all three Cornetto Trilogy films. 

aye, this one was my favourite. :thumbsup:

3 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Shout. His speech in that film is also hysterically funny. "Was it over when the German's bombed Pearl Harbour"?

:thumbsup::lol:

One of the great films and one of its best scenes.  One of the best ensemble acting in the one film. Very moving ending too. 

Vlad Magic
4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

One of the great films and one of its best scenes.  One of the best ensemble acting in the one film. Very moving ending too. 

Fabulous film.

So many unbelievable performances and scenes to choose from.

7 minutes ago, Vlad Magic said:

Fabulous film.

So many unbelievable performances and scenes to choose from.

Yeah literally everyone was outstanding . In particular Nicholson and Louise Fletcher . A great film about the individuals spirit against the authoritarian  state ! 

5 hours ago, John Findlay said:

The dentist chair scene between Lawrence Olivier and Dustin Hoffman in Marathon Man.

" Is it safe".

Wow if you don't like the dentist don't watch that clip🤔

The final scene in Alien when Ripley slides into the suit before wasting the baddie. 

Sicilians in True Romance. 

Getting off at the station in Train to Busan. 

Travolta and Jackson leaving the diner in Pulp Fiction. 

1 hour ago, Weakened Offender said:

The final scene in Alien when Ripley slides into the suit before wasting the baddie. 

Sicilians in True Romance. 

Getting off at the station in Train to Busan. 

Travolta and Jackson leaving the diner in Pulp Fiction. 

That has to be the least offensive post I've read by you.

46 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

That has to be the least offensive post I've read by you.

Cheers pal.