Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

3 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

We have a gardener come every 2 weeks 😂

The amount of lawnmowers I have had over the years as the wife insists on buying the cheap pish one every time we go to buy one is unreal.Getting the garden all landscaped though as soon as we are allowed to get someone in to do it.

Some folk are good at it some not, I remember planting seeds at my dads and them going unchecked for years and taking over 😃. I can see why people enjoy it and this is a good time obviously.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Brighton Jambo
6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I get we need to be slow, never suggested otherwise but we aren’t coming out of this yet. We aren’t seeing any lifting of restriction till at the earliest 28 May.

I struggle with the logic of why the whole country is locked down when about 60% of the deaths of this rate in a care home setting. Meaning that actual general population as you would expect largely unaffected. We will have been locked down for over 10 weeks at least when we seen any lifting in Scotland.

A lockdown of this level make no sense to me, Its excessively restrictive for where we are. The government has continually failed to get the single biggest area under control in care homes.We are suffering for this failure. Whist, it has been poor in developing controls to enable the lifting 

In Scotland we will have suffered the most severe and longest lockdown in the UK People tend to portray that has not having a cost it most certainly has. 

I just don’t think we are pursuing the correct policy at all right now.

I must say I was gutted that we have at least another two weeks before any measures are lifted.  She actually said she will make formal changes on 28th but it would be a few days after before they come into effect so I am assuming 1st June.

another two weeks feels a long slog, I am really really done with this now, I had hoped some changes would come as soon as this weekend. 

even if we accept England are maybe pushing this a bit fast why are we so far behind Wales and Northern Ireland.  

Edited by Brighton Jambo

29 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I didn't mention politics. In the haste to defend your nationalist doctrine you've made an error in your assumption.

I was commenting on the tone and delivery of Enzo's put down, not the subject matter. Style over substance, if you will. I couldn't care for either of their politics. Too extreme for me.

I often muse over what it must be like being unable to appreciate things from a different angle. You know, how it must feel being locked in to staring directly ahead on account of the piles of ideological chips nestling on either shoulder.

Chips, no, it's called pride in my country, and I'll not have anybody talk shite about.  And It matters not how they dress it up.  But as I say, I thought I was reading the Anti Scottish thread, disguised as the SNP bad thread. 

FWIW, I can't be arsed after what happened to Hearts the day. 

Just now, ri Alban said:

Chips, no, it's called pride in my country, and I'll not have anybody talk shite about.  And It matters not how they dress it up.  But as I say, I thought I was reading the Anti Scottish thread, disguised as the SNP bad thread

FWIW, I can't be arsed after what happened to Hearts the day. 

Aye, it's an easy mistake to make at times!

On a more positive note my brother in law started back at work today. He's been asked to start getting the sites ready in anticipation of opening up within a couple of weeks. Hopefully have you back at work soon. 👍

Ehllhayapeh
17 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

That cuts both ways old son. I just tolerate the nonsense you spout about politics.  I'm old school so I don't feel the need for safe spaces around different views so don't head for the ignore button. I'll settle for judging a country's economy on what it spends and earns along with the debt to GDP ratio, size of the public sector etc. I'm sure lenders across the world and the IMF agree with me on that . I do appreciate, however, that some may prefer woolly ideas like "hope", "potential", "fairness" and the worst of all "progressive", whatever the @#$% that means, in judging a country's economic abilities. Each to their own.  I'm done here.

Nothing wrong with doing that but Professors at Oxford have suggested GERS is c.r.a.p for doing so (completely random approximations)

GERS assumes that 8% of the debt is Scotlands as we have 8% of the population. This is nonsense when you consider Holyrood cant run up a debt. Instead, Westminster spends the money and "apportions" 8% to Scotland. The question is, would Scotland spend the same independent as it does within the 8% of the UK? If not, GERS is nonsense. If so, GERS is accurate.

That apportioned part has paid for HS2, Crossrail, Wars, Brexit etc. Its simply ludicrous to suggest iScotland would spend exactly the same.

As for the deficit Scotland has. This is also only accurate if the spending is. Which is obviously is not. We do spend more per head but we also pay more per head in taxes. The geography and demographics of Scotland are different to England die the the islands and small comunities. The spend is self evidently not going to be the same.

To top it off, GERS is a creation of the Tory party, designed to make Scotland look poorer than it actually is, says an Oxford economist.

Brighton Jambo
Just now, Ehllhayapeh said:

Nothing wrong with doing that but Professors at Oxford have suggested GERS is c.r.a.p for doing so (completely random approximations)

GERS assumes that 8% of the debt is Scotlands as we have 8% of the population. This is nonsense when you consider Holyrood cant run up a debt. Instead, Westminster spends the money and "apportions" 8% to Scotland. The question is, would Scotland spend the same independent as it does within the 8% of the UK? If not, GERS is nonsense. If so, GERS is accurate.

That apportioned part has paid for HS2, Crossrail, Wars, Brexit etc. Its simply ludicrous to suggest iScotland would spend exactly the same.

As for the deficit Scotland has. This is also only accurate if the spending is. Which is obviously is not. We do spend more per head but we also pay more per head in taxes. The geography and demographics of Scotland are different to England die the the islands and small comunities. The spend is self evidently not going to be the same.

To top it off, GERS is a creation of the Tory party, designed to make Scotland look poorer than it actually is, says an Oxford economist.

Why is this post in the Coronavirus thread? 

Ehllhayapeh
1 minute ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Why is this post in the Coronavirus thread? 

Someone mentioned GERS earlier on

Jambo-Jimbo
35 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I have had the flu jab for over 20 years and not surprisingly haven't had the flu. Touch wood. Im assuming it works. Ill take my chances with a CV vaccine. 

Same here, I'll take my chances with a CV vaccine, simply because if I caught covid there is a strong probablilty that I'd end up as just another statistic.

I can understand some folks being reluctant about taking a vaccine which would be relatively new, and want to wait until it's been around for a while to make sure that there isn't any side effects etc etc, however for folks like us who are in a high risk category things are somewhat clearer, for us the choices are simplier, it is literally a matter of life or death. 

Catch covid-19 and almost certainly die.

Take a vaccine and probably live even if I caught covid, I'll take those odds, thank you very much.

14 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Same here, I'll take my chances with a CV vaccine, simply because if I caught covid there is a strong probablilty that I'd end up as just another statistic.

I can understand some folks being reluctant about taking a vaccine which would be relatively new, and want to wait until it's been around for a while to make sure that there isn't any side effects etc etc, however for folks like us who are in a high risk category things are somewhat clearer, for us the choices are simplier, it is literally a matter of life or death. 

Take a vaccine and probably live even if I caught covid, I'll take those odds, thank you very much.

Not so sure about “ almost certainly die” part . Yes if you have underlying health condition it may cause more problems if u caught cv but it’s not a given you would die . 

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The positive tests are down too. I know it's the weekend, but 90 yesterday and 57 today.

I know population wise we are about a tenth of the size of England, but even taken into account the percentage, we seem to be lower than them in everything.

I don't understand why the Scottish government are saying the 'R' is higher here than down there when the figures don't back that up.

England are still getting over 3k positive tests a day

If you go to the UK Government page of spin, sorry data you will see that the only regional breakdown is of the number of cases. This is the one measure that favours England vis a vis other nations . Deaths per capita they are much much worse than any of the others.

https://coronavirus.data.gov.uk/

The reason for the slower lockdown is simply that the spread of cases was judged to be happening faster in scotland than in England (their r number was lower for a few days). I suspect thought his was just the influence of the care homes figures. Now their R number is the same as ours and I suspect it will actually be higher in a few days.

The other reasoning would be the trajectory of cases/ deaths - if you look at the graphs their peak was much higher but they are coming down rapidly so it was judged that their r number was dropping fast whereas ours was a flatter decline. So they were starting from a worse place when their number s began to decline

I'm unconvinced that is still the case but I do think NS is right to err on the side of caution. Another 10 days of this and I think the deaths and cases will be declining fast to the point that the biggest danger will be new cases from outside. Unlike New Zealand and Australia we can't so easily lock down the  country while allowing everyone else to get back to normal inside.

19 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Looks like the Oxford vaccine test has failed - monkeys with the vaccine  all got the virus (source the telegraph)

51 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I get we need to be slow, never suggested otherwise but we aren’t coming out of this yet. We aren’t seeing any lifting of restriction till at the earliest 28 May.

I struggle with the logic of why the whole country is locked down when about 60% of the deaths of this rate in a care home setting. Meaning that actual general population as you would expect largely unaffected. We will have been locked down for over 10 weeks at least when we seen any lifting in Scotland.

A lockdown of this level make no sense to me, Its excessively restrictive for where we are. The government has continually failed to get the single biggest area under control in care homes.We are suffering for this failure. Whist, it has been poor in developing controls to enable the lifting 

In Scotland we will have suffered the most severe and longest lockdown in the UK People tend to portray that has not having a cost it most certainly has. 

I just don’t think we are pursuing the correct policy at all right now.

I do think the easing of restrictions could be starting this week after she outlines her plans.It doesn't need to be full scale just a little bit to show the public things are starting and then her full plan could start to take effect from the 28th.

5 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Looks like the Oxford vaccine test has failed - monkeys with the vaccine  all got the virus (source the telegraph)

A bit misleading. The report clearly says it is partially effective, in same way the current flu jab is partially effective. 

Anything that can slow the spread or suppress the virus van be worked with. 

Stop being a doom monger! 

Edited by Walter Bishop

6 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Hurdles I expect there will be many more.

2 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

A bit misleading. The report clearly says it is partially effective, in same way the current flu jab is partially effective. 

They will go back and work on it more it's not the end and it's what the tested if for.

5 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

Hi Walt - I wasn't being deliberately doom mongering though I did let my disappointment show. It's a disappointing report. The main point of the vaccine is to immunise against catching the virus and it has failed in that respect. here's the full article for the avoidance of doubt and so I don't mislead people! 

“Experts have warned that the vaccine may only be ‘partially effective’ after the results of a trial in rhesus macaques monkeys

A trial of the vaccine in rhesus macaque monkeys did not stop the animals from catching the virus and has raised questions about the vaccine’s likely human efficacy and ongoing development.

The vaccine, known as ChAdOx1 nCoV-19, is now undergoing human trials in Britain. The Government has brokered a deal between Oxford University and AstraZeneca, the drug company, to produce up to 30?million doses if it proves successful having ploughed £47m into the research.

“All of the vaccinated monkeys treated with the Oxford vaccine became infected when challenged as judged by recovery of virus genomic RNA from nasal secretions,” said Dr William Haseltine, a former Harvard Medical School professor who had a pivotal role in the development of early HIV/Aids treatments.

“There was no difference in the amount of viral RNA detected from this site in the vaccinated monkeys as compared to the unvaccinated animals. Which is to say, all vaccinated animals were infected,” he wrote in an article on Forbes.

Jonathan Ball, professor of molecular virology at the University of Nottingham, said that the vaccine data suggests that the jab may not be able to prevent the spread of the virus between infected individuals.

“That viral loads in the noses of vaccinated and unvaccinated animals were identical is very significant. If the same happened in humans, vaccination would not stop spread,” he said.

“I genuinely believe that this finding should warrant an urgent re-appraisal of the ongoing human trials of the ChAdOx1 vaccine.””

The positive bit

“On the up side, none of the vaccinated monkeys displayed pneumonia – which suggests that while not stopping the virus, it may be partially protective.

Dr Haseltine said this was “encouraging”, but that “experience with other vaccines tells us that is not a firm guarantee that such will be the case for humans.”

“It is crystal clear that the vaccine did not provide sterilizing immunity to the virus challenge, the gold standard for any vaccine. It may provide partial protection,” he said.”

Edited by scott herbertson

Good on Nicky today re-iterating party politics and aims should be shelved whilst we get through this - a good few on here could take heed 

:cornette_dog:

Just now, Lord BJ said:

It could but certainly wasn’t what was suggested today. She stated no easing until review point at least. Even then that will be minimal. 

Another thing we could do with some kind of normality in case this virus does come back strong in the winter months.

49 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Aye, it's an easy mistake to make at times!

On a more positive note my brother in law started back at work today. He's been asked to start getting the sites ready in anticipation of opening up within a couple of weeks. Hopefully have you back at work soon. 👍

Thanks bud. June the 1st is what I'm hearing. What about yourself, any movement? 

1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

Good on Nicky today re-iterating party politics and aims should be shelved whilst we get through this - a good few on here could take heed 

6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

It could but certainly wasn’t what was suggested today. She stated no easing until review point at least. Even then that will be minimal. 

I've a feeling it will happen on it's own.

As Gov mentioned sites are kicking off enabling works .

I think that socialising will be kept strict and that's not great for hospitality etc.

But hopefully the more of us back means those people can be kept at 80%.

You can understand Sturgeons hesitation it's a fair burden either way.

And despite the amount of stats from other countries long term it's not clear what way is best.

12 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Hi Walt - I wasn't being deliberately doom mongering though I did let my disappointment show. It's a disappointing report. The main point of the vaccine is to immunise against catching the virus and it has failed in that respect. here's the full article for the avoidance of doubt and so I don't mislead people! 

“Experts have warned that the vaccine may only be ‘partially effective’ after the results of a trial in rhesus macaques monkeys

A trial of the vaccine in rhesus macaque monkeys did not stop the animals from catching the virus and has raised questions about the vaccine’s likely human efficacy and ongoing development.

The vaccine, known as ChAdOx1 nCoV-19, is now undergoing human trials in Britain. The Government has brokered a deal between Oxford University and AstraZeneca, the drug company, to produce up to 30?million doses if it proves successful having ploughed £47m into the research.

“All of the vaccinated monkeys treated with the Oxford vaccine became infected when challenged as judged by recovery of virus genomic RNA from nasal secretions,” said Dr William Haseltine, a former Harvard Medical School professor who had a pivotal role in the development of early HIV/Aids treatments.

“There was no difference in the amount of viral RNA detected from this site in the vaccinated monkeys as compared to the unvaccinated animals. Which is to say, all vaccinated animals were infected,” he wrote in an article on Forbes.

Jonathan Ball, professor of molecular virology at the University of Nottingham, said that the vaccine data suggests that the jab may not be able to prevent the spread of the virus between infected individuals.

“That viral loads in the noses of vaccinated and unvaccinated animals were identical is very significant. If the same happened in humans, vaccination would not stop spread,” he said.

“I genuinely believe that this finding should warrant an urgent re-appraisal of the ongoing human trials of the ChAdOx1 vaccine.””

The positive bit

“On the up side, none of the vaccinated monkeys displayed pneumonia – which suggests that while not stopping the virus, it may be partially protective.

Dr Haseltine said this was “encouraging”, but that “experience with other vaccines tells us that is not a firm guarantee that such will be the case for humans.”

“It is crystal clear that the vaccine did not provide sterilizing immunity to the virus challenge, the gold standard for any vaccine. It may provide partial protection,” he said.”

Fair do's.

Just think some people rely on a wee bit of a positivity and every time theres a glimmer of some its turned into a negative very quickly. 

18 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Aye that is disappointing reading.I thought it was just going to be a hurdle to get over but that report seems like they might just give up on it.

Jambo-Jimbo
29 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Not so sure about “ almost certainly die” part . Yes if you have underlying health condition it may cause more problems if u caught cv but it’s not a given you would die . 

Granted it's not a given, but the more comorbidities a person has the poorer the outcome is likely to be.

From a personal point of view I have at least 3 of the top 5 or 6 comorbidities linked to increased likelihood of death in patients with covid-19, so my odds are not good if I caught it, not good at all.

1 minute ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Granted it's not a given, but the more comorbidities a person has the poorer the outcome is likely to be.

From a personal point of view I have at least 3 of the top 5 or 6 comorbidities linked to increased likelihood of death in patients with covid-19, so my odds are not good if I caught it, not good at all.

Sorry to hear this. Yes you are correct if you have a few comorbidities its not good. I only have one underlying health condition * arthritis . It also depends on what meds you are on too. If you are on a combination of various meds it increases your chances of becoming ill till. But as i've said not a given. 

11 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Aye that is disappointing reading.I thought it was just going to be a hurdle to get over but that report seems like they might just give up on it.

Not entirely - walt is right I was  a bit down when I wrote my first take. In fact the flu jab which oldies (and me as I have a heart issue) get every winter is similar in effect

to the description in the last paragraph - it doesn't stop you getting it but reduces the impact. If the vaccine does stop pneumonia it may reduce the seriousness of the viral infection for many at risk people, which would be a big positive (Not Death = Good Thing)

Edited by scott herbertson

...and as if by magic!

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/18/health/coronavirus-vaccine-moderna.html?action=click&module=Spotlight&pgtype=Homepage

The first coronavirus vaccine to be tested in people appears to be safe and able to stimulate an immune response against the virus, its manufacturer, Moderna announced on Monday.

The findings are based on results from the first eight people who each received two doses of the vaccine, starting in March.

Those people, healthy volunteers, made antibodies that were then tested in human cells in the lab, and were able to stop the virus from replicating — the key requirement for an effective vaccine. The levels of those so-called neutralizing antibodies matched the levels found in patients who had recovered after contracting the virus in the community.

4 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

...and as if by magic!

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/18/health/coronavirus-vaccine-moderna.html?action=click&module=Spotlight&pgtype=Homepage

The first coronavirus vaccine to be tested in people appears to be safe and able to stimulate an immune response against the virus, its manufacturer, Moderna announced on Monday.

The findings are based on results from the first eight people who each received two doses of the vaccine, starting in March.

Those people, healthy volunteers, made antibodies that were then tested in human cells in the lab, and were able to stop the virus from replicating — the key requirement for an effective vaccine. The levels of those so-called neutralizing antibodies matched the levels found in patients who had recovered after contracting the virus in the community.

I read about that one on Saturday.This is the good thing so many teams working on a vaccine

Further down that Telegraph article

Despite the findings, there is still “cautious optimism” about the Oxford vaccine among some experts, after a separate study involving monkeys at the Oxford University saw monkeys administered with a single shot of the vaccine generate antibodies against the virus within 28 days. 

“The most important finding to me is the combination of considerable efficacy in terms of viral load and subsequent pneumonia, but no evidence of immune-enhanced disease,” said Stephen Evans, Professor of Pharmacoepidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. 

“It is encouraging to see these results and suggests cautious optimism for the Oxford vaccine trial being done in humans.”

Dr Penny Ward, a visiting professor in pharmaceutical medicine at King's College London, added: “Single doses of the vaccine produced high quantities of neutralizing antibody in both species. 

“It is helpful to see that monkeys vaccinated with this Sars-CoV-2 vaccine did not have any evidence of enhanced lung pathology and that, despite some evidence of upper respiratory tract infection by Sars-Cov-2 after high viral load virus challenge, monkeys given the vaccine did not have any evidence of pneumonia.”

Jambo-Jimbo
4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Sorry to hear this. Yes you are correct if you have a few comorbidities its not good. I only have one underlying health condition * arthritis . It also depends on what meds you are on too. If you are on a combination of various meds it increases your chances of becoming ill till. But as i've said not a given. 

Mine is a damaged heart, cardiovascular disease, hypertension & diabetes, so my outlook wouldn't be that promising if I caught covid-19.

1 minute ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Mine is a damaged heart, cardiovascular disease, hypertension & diabetes, so my outlook wouldn't be that promising if I caught covid-19.

Keep yourself safe. ! But remember there have been 100 years old surviving...

Jambo-Jimbo
13 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

...and as if by magic!

Now that does sound promising.

23 hours ago, kila said:

Here's hoping.

Although this is a worldwide tragedy, I do find some excitement in watching the pace of scientific research with all resources being directed towards this globally. A major breakthrough cannot be far away now.

Wouldn’t it be great if this pulled us all together and global things changed significantly...........blind optimism though, we will all go back to being selfish bar stewards very quickly.

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

If it is any consolation, out of the patients we have had in my practice, even the ones we would have not thought capable of surviviing it- they all have. I've been pretty amazed so far! Should add out of the patients who have tested +ve

Edited by doctor jambo

Sooperstar

Sturgeon to look at easing restrictions as of Thursday 28th. More to be announced this Thursday but would mean things like golf etc being allowed.

Spellczech

I now know of 3 businesses where HR have sent an email to managers telling them that they can use this crisis to get rid of difficult or useless staff...

Any arrests at Celtic Park for the flouting of the rules ?

Or does the law not apply equally to all ?

Anyone arrested or charged should now simply show the videos and tell the judge you cannot find me guilty if you did not even arrest the crowd in attendance

Brighton Jambo
3 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

It has been widely reported that the purpose of using the monkeys was as much to ensure they didn’t have some catastrophic  reaction to the vaccine.  Which they didn’t so that data is still useful.

Edited by Brighton Jambo

6 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

I now know of 3 businesses where HR have sent an email to managers telling them that they can use this crisis to get rid of difficult or useless staff...

Really? I'd be interested in finding out more about that. 😁

16 hours ago, Jambo, Goodbye said:

South Korea is incredibly densely populated yet has had 11,000 cases and only 262 deaths. 

Taiwan is practically unscathed. 

Throw in Hong Kong too

It's almost as if the mask wearing countries are doing better...

Anyone still scoffing at masks are thick as mince 

Or simply not as dumb to think the mask was the cure...how thick do you have to be to believe that...answer very thick

5 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Any arrests at Celtic Park for the flouting of the rules ?

Or does the law not apply equally to all ?

Anyone arrested or charged should now simply show the videos and tell the judge you cannot find me guilty if you did not even arrest the crowd in attendance

They'll claim they're all from the same caravan

People do not need to wear face coverings where they are:

• Outdoors or while exercising
  • In schools
  • In workplaces such as offices and shops
  • Children under two or primary aged children who cannot use them without assistance
  • People who have problems breathing while wearing a face covering

10 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Aye, they said that about care homes anaw.

Still you know best eh....no one was talking about care homes where clearly some protection should be worn so stop being so silly in trying to be childish..try reading below

the advice talks about face coverings, rather than masks.

The World Health Organization (WHO) currently says only two groups of people should wear protective masks, those who are:

• sick and showing symptoms
  • caring for people suspected to have coronavirus

It says medical masks should be reserved for healthcare workers.

Masks are not generally recommended for the public because:

• they can be contaminated by other people's coughs and sneezes, or when putting them on or removing them
  • frequent hand-washing and social distancing are more effective
  • they might offer a false sense of security

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic