SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )

Heres Rixxy

4 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

There you go

I was a bit off but in the ball park , but the point is the same - helps other clubs completely, others not so much. 

Add in the reliance of crowds of these clubs, it isn't good for these teams. 

For us we have the whammy of the championship as well. 

Screenshot_20200523_185125_com.android.chrome.jpg

Talking of under-performing, it's right we get the most stick for that, but what about Hibs and Aberdeen!? 4th and 7th is also extremely wasteful. Both finishing below teams spending considerably less.

• Replies 93.5k

• Ethan Hunt

Benny Factor
1 minute ago, DETTY29 said:

Cosgrov gives all clubs that have had solvency issues dogs abuse, apart from Motherwell because for all his succsses during his career, a wee fat guy from Motherwell and his 40 year old jokes for giggling school kids is the only person making Cosgrove publicly relevant.

As mentioned before, his beloved Saints were in serious trouble and got extremely lucky with Asda looking for a prime site and willing to pay to relocate them... and a very generous farmer gifting them the land. Were it not for this happening, his club would be pan breed.

15 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

With regards to the vote and the way clubs voted, this sums it up perfectly. 

POng9wL.jpg

Love it, its all about look after no 1 and who cares about the rest, scottish football is a big joke and a bigger farce run by bigger clowns/ brainless muppets.

5 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

There you go

I was a bit off but in the ball park , but the point is the same - helps other clubs completely, others not so much. 

Add in the reliance of crowds of these clubs, it isn't good for these teams. 

For us we have the whammy of the championship as well. 

Screenshot_20200523_185125_com.android.chrome.jpg

Thank goodness for a 25% wage cut then agreed already (mimimum)  and that would be applied in the championship ….it would still have us as sixth highest payers though and in the Championship

3 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Talking of under-performing, it's right we get the most stick for that, but what about Hibs and Aberdeen!? 4th and 7th is also extremely wasteful. Both finishing below teams spending considerably less.

They've had it easy because of us. 

Aberdeen have spent the last 3 years going backwards. 

The were 2nd for a while, even with Rangers the  1st season . Then 3rd then behind Killie, then Motherwell. 

Cup performance and big games have been shite as well. 

Hibs are just hibs. 

3 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Also, weren't we paying high basic & low bonuses? Other teams doing the opposite, so Hibs & Aberdeen were probably paying out more than those figures in reality 

13 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Doige too. You don't pay 350 grand for someone then offer them peanuts in wages.

Their average wage is £120k but they only get £2k a week, so the average is 20k bonus for what 10-15 wins 🙈. hope he’s not home schooling ffs. They signed quite a few from down south that will be on higher than their average wage.

Just now, August Landmesser said:

Also, weren't we paying high basic & low bonuses? Other teams doing the opposite, so Hibs & Aberdeen were probably paying out more than those figures in reality 

Are Hibs also the only team to ever vote themselves down a position?

Jamboelite
23 minutes ago, rip van tinkle said:

Where are you getting these figures from?I’ll be absolutely stunned

if we are only 8k a year above what Hibs are paying. Yes we have a bigger squad and yes if stories are to be believed then there’s not much of a win bonus as it’s all paid upfront. 
Said it on another thread but only Kamberi and Allan can be close to 2k basic 

They were posted by the company that looks at salaries across the league and its usually spot on.

here

https://www.statista.com/statistics/547202/average-annual-first-team-player-salaray-football-clubs-scottish-premiership/

Edited by Jamboelite

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

Are Hibs also the only team to ever vote themselves down a position?

Another thing to put on the honours board with 'first floodlights' and 'most rodent shit in the pies'

7 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Cosgrove gives all clubs that have had solvency issues dogs abuse, apart from Motherwell because for all his succsses during his career, a wee fat guy from Motherwell and his 40 year old jokes for giggling school kids is the only person making Cosgrove publicly relevant.

His club admitted to spending more than they should have for this season. The main reason why Wright has left, is they are having to claw as much back as they can to prevent using up the small reserve they have. 

They are the club who are having to beg Celtic and Rangers to fill their ground, so they can limit the damage. They could be one of the Premiership clubs who are on the edge of administration, so maybe he should pipe down a bit until the threat of that has past.

2 minutes ago, August Landmesser said:

It won’t be low wages and high bonuses, just a better ratio than we pay. If it was players would come to us instead of going to them.

Angel eyes
49 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

It’s on hold.

Okay obviously with more important things going on in the world your new stadium is way down in the list of priorities in terms of sports news I’d think on hold for some considerable time?

Ethan Hunt
24 minutes ago, graygo said:

Have a wee read of this and see if you still believe that.

Screenshot_20200523-184517.png

So, in simple terms it’s saying we’ll deduct the costs of running and administering the league and league cup, and all the associated costs such as wages, office running costs, advertising, etc, and any other payment made to clubs (parachute payments, etc) out of the commercial revenue fees before any payment will be made to members. In other words, a long winded way of saying the clubs will get what’s left after all the administrative and running costs have been taken.

2 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

It isn't restricted to Glasgow.

BBC Scotland are a national organisation, yet are afraid to tackle sectarianism in football. 

The Scottish sport media are national, yet are afraid to tackle sectarianism in football.

The Scottish news media are national, yet are afraid to tackle sectarianism in Scotland.

The Scottish government are national, yet are afraid to tackle sectarianism in football and society in Scotland.

Perhaps people, you and I included, should care more. We should complain and highlight the shite we put up with as ignoring it hasn't done us any good.

The Scottish Government attempted to tackle sectarianism in Scottish football  but Labour and Tory MSPs voted to get rid of the behaviour at football law as they said it discriminated against football fans. Football fans actually meaning OF fans. 

Scotland is a great country its just the folk running our football who spoil things. 

2 minutes ago, Ethan Hunt said:

So, in simple terms it’s saying we’ll deduct the costs of running and administering the league and league cup, and all the associated costs such as wages, office running costs, advertising, etc, and any other payment made to clubs (parachute payments, etc) out of the commercial revenue fees before any payment will be made to members. In other words, a long winded way of saying the clubs will get what’s left after all the administrative and running costs have been taken.

Aye very good mate. Try to be less selective and read/quote the last sentence.

The one about liabilities incurred and any other thing the board deems appropriate.

6 minutes ago, luckydug said:

The Scottish Government attempted to tackle sectarianism in Scottish football  but Labour and Tory MSPs voted to get rid of the behaviour at football law as they said it discriminated against football fans. Football fans actually meaning OF fans. 

Scotland is a great country its just the folk running our football who spoil things. 

Well said. 

Montgomery Brewster
25 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Cosgrove gives all clubs that have had solvency issues dogs abuse, apart from Motherwell because for all his succsses during his career, a wee fat guy from Motherwell and his 40 year old jokes for giggling school kids is the only person making Cosgrove publicly relevant.

I honestly can’t believe people waste their time listening to these programs. Full of absolute erseholes blowing hot air 

6 minutes ago, luckydug said:

It’s not just the folk running it though it’s the bigots who support it and the clubs who condone it and the media who ignore it. 

11 minutes ago, Angel eyes said:

Okay obviously with more important things going on in the world your new stadium is way down in the list of priorities in terms of sports news I’d think on hold for some considerable time?

I like this group on Facebook, they give a good insight into the plans.

https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nokingsfordstadium.org.uk%2F&h=AT35YTcBtF5ST2ONlhECQYKQhu57bQBpNBsgTlmM1XFLZlB33RA-_JM4RTb2btpgVZYiWQroHfqXnahfgh57HWv0tUeBbV3WJ9YXmUdvd1QRjRaO4AGXaXAkTa2SJQ

7 minutes ago, luckydug said:

I'm no lover of the SNP, but I thought that was a scandal.

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Dick Gordon seemed to spend the afternoon sniggering whenever Hearts were mentioned - he probably reads jkb and knows we all think he is a complete sissy bawbag 

Stop any use of anything BBC, and stop paying the license fee. Email them to tell them why.

30 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I admit I like Cosgrove but it's funny that all these folk with so-called left-leaning, even socialist credentials and a belief in the collective etc (I include Celtic fans image of themselves in this) are currently behaving like Tory "everyone for themselves" twats. Only Michael Stewart is staying true to his beliefs in that respect.

Listened to Off the Ball this evening, well done all Hearts fans for not taking the bait about "What Now for Hearts".

To be fair Tam Cowan tried a couple of times to air the its not fair to relegate any team as leagues were not completed.

1 minute ago, pablo said:

From memory, I think the problem was that the legislation was specific to football only - in spite of sectarianism being a societal issue. That is intrinsically unfair.

Also, I think there are existing laws covering everything that that particular law was trying to address - and with more severe penalties.

Ethan Hunt
5 minutes ago, graygo said:

Aye very good mate. Try to be less selective and read/quote the last sentence.

The one about liabilities incurred and any other thing the board deems appropriate.

Liabilities and any other thing in relation to the day to day running of the league and cup competition you mean?

But, you obviously reckon that that section, and the particular line you quoted, refers to all liabilities and any other thing, like monies potentially owed to TV companies, or clubs who have made it known that they intend to take legal action and there may be court costs to pay as well as compensation?

If that is the case, the SPFL board are making Rangers job really easy for them to evidence neglect under company law. Because, if that section refers to the day to day running costs of the league then the SPFL board are fine. But if, as you are suggesting, they should be withholding monies to pay liabilities or other things, and those include TV monies owed and legal and compensation costs, and they have paid out all the prize money, then they are in neglect and breach of their duty.

Now, the SPFL board have shown they are stupid, but do you really think they are that stupid?

Just now, Jambo66 said:

From memory, I think the problem was that the legislation was specific to football only - in spite of sectarianism being a societal issue. That is intrinsically unfair.

Also, I think there are existing laws covering everything that that particular law was trying to address - and with more severe penalties.

I know, I remember all that now you mention it. It wasn't perfect, but at least it was an attempt to target it specifically. And although it is a societal issue, like many of us, if I wasn't a football fan I wouldn't know sectarianism existed. 

Don't suppose it matters now but I thought it was a shame. 

See these mutants at SPFL don't you think that now is the best time to decide the way forward rather than be so bloody hasty!?why did these muppets have 2 days to decide when its clear teams like Dunfermline that are represented are in dire straights 🙄 

1 minute ago, Ethan Hunt said:

Liabilities and any other thing in relation to the day to day running of the league and cup competition you mean?

But, you obviously reckon that that section, and the particular line you quoted, refers to all liabilities and any other thing, like monies potentially owed to TV companies, or clubs who have made it known that they intend to take legal action and there may be court costs to pay as well as compensation?

If that is the case, the SPFL board are making Rangers job really easy for them to evidence neglect under company law. Because, if that section refers to the day to day running costs of the league then the SPFL board are fine. But if, as you are suggesting, they should be withholding monies to pay liabilities or other things, and those include TV monies owed and legal and compensation costs, and they have paid out all the prize money, then they are in neglect and breach of their duty.

Now, the SPFL board have shown they are stupid, but do you really think they are that stupid?

I'm not sure where you are going with this tbh.

Yes I think this covers any legal action anybody might take against the SPFL.

Nobody has taken legal action against the SPFL so why should they hold back money due to clubs? Just in case someone successfully sues them in the future? There hasn't been any neglect under company law that I can see, not the kind you're alluding to anyway. Any money due to be paid back to TV companies will come out of next season's pot.

1 hour ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

If you wanted what was best for Scottish football, your club wouldn't have shafted Hearts, Partick and Stranraer. Still, as the concentration camp guards said, you were only following orders. Now piss off back to wherever you came from and leave this place to Hearts supporters.

Don't mind him tbh , talks more sense than some of the arsehole Hearts fans on here and at least he's not trying to pretend he's a Hearts fan like a good few Hibs sadsacks on here . 

johnthomas
14 minutes ago, Tynehead said:

Listened to Off the Ball this evening, well done all Hearts fans for not taking the bait about "What Now for Hearts".

To be fair Tam Cowan tried a couple of times to air the its not fair to relegate any team as leagues were not completed.

Tam Cowan is , in general , even handed . Certainly not anti Hearts .

Rapidly going off Cosgrove 

Edited by jamboinglasgow
Actually think this will end up off topic so will just end it

johnthomas
1 minute ago, jamboinglasgow said:

Except it didnt really tackle sectarianism. It was a law that was so poorly written that a lot times cases were thrown out. Also most of what it did was covered by other laws. 

It did , apparently , backfire on Celtic fans 

Not a coincidence the MSP who did most to repeal it was a Celtic fan 

Im just sitting at home now thinking this and shoot me down if im wrong - Anne Budge right now is going about trying her best to rejig the leagues so teams that want to play CAN play??all the while SPFL top dog Doncaster is sitting in his house watching Netflix till Anne calls him with options???is it not his job to tell teams things are looking precarious if so?

Edited by rory78

1 minute ago, johnthomas said:

It did , apparently , backfire on Celtic fans 

Not a coincidence the MSP who did most to repeal it was a Celtic fan 

James Kelly iirc. 

One of the Kelly family associated with the 'Celtic family' over many generations. 

One of the few things the OF  bigots manage to agree on. 

Can't have anyone infringing on their 'rights' to drag Scotland back into the seventeenth century. 

glynnlondon
22 minutes ago, pablo said:

LOL SNP won't be changing shit

They clubs ain't Scottish just happen to reside in the weege

Too busy fighting a civil war across the water.

No-one is changing that mentality 

No matter whose in charge

Just now, rory78 said:

Im just sitting at home now thinking this and shoot me down if im wrong - Anne Budge right now is going about trying her best to rejig the leagues so teams that want to play CAN play??all the while SPFL top dog Doncaster is sitting in his house watching Netflix till Anne calls him with options???

You’ve got it mate, and the top deviant claims a massive wage for her doing it, meanwhile everyone and their dug is blaming Hearts for fecking Scottish fitba 😏

11 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

This is exactly where I’m at . For all cosgrove appears to be an intelligent man , his spiteful comments are letting him down . 

8 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

So what’s this all about?

http://www.skysports.com/share/11993552

Stendel trying to extend his contract? Or get out with a pay off??

He is in contract limbo right now.

If reconstruction happens and Hearts are still in the top flight, then the 'relegation' clause in his contract doesn't apply. If Hearts find themselves in the 2nd tier then his current contract is done and if we want to keep him we negotiate a new one.

I get the impression Stendel really likes Hearts, Tynecastle, Oriam and Edinburgh in general. Who the hell wouldn't? Nothing he's said or done has implied he wants away or is after a pay off - if he were after the latter he'd hardly forgo his ENTIRE wage to help save the club!

Ethan Hunt
5 minutes ago, graygo said:

I'm not sure where you are going with this tbh.

Yes I think this covers any legal action anybody might take against the SPFL.

Nobody has taken legal action against the SPFL so why should they hold back money due to clubs? Just in case someone successfully sues them in the future? There hasn't been any neglect under company law that I can see, not the kind you're alluding to anyway. Any money due to be paid back to TV companies will come out of next season's pot.

Mate, the article relates to the day to day running of the league and cup competition.

Where I am going with it is if the SPFL Board have paid the monies out on the day to day running of the league - as per the article - then they have fulfilled their duty.  

If, however, as you seem to think, that the “liabilities or other thing” in that particular article relates to any, and every, liability then they have neglected and breached their duty. The last part of the last sentence your were so keen to point out states “liability incurred or to be incurred by the company or provision or allowance which the Board considers it appropriate for the Company to provide for”

If the Board didn’t consider it appropriate to withhold money for potential legal action, given a number of clubs other than Hearts have stated they are considering it, then I would confidently say they have not carried out their duties in a competent manner. They are paid to, amongst other things, consider what it is appropriate for the company to provide for, in doing that they protect the Company and its members.

2 minutes ago, Ethan Hunt said:

Mate, the article relates to the day to day running of the league and cup competition.

Where I am going with it is if the SPFL Board have paid the monies out on the day to day running of the league - as per the article - then they have fulfilled their duty.  

If, however, as you seem to think, that the “liabilities or other thing” in that particular article relates to any, and every, liability then they have neglected and breached their duty. The last part of the last sentence your were so keen to point out states “liability incurred or to be incurred by the company or provision or allowance which the Board considers it appropriate for the Company to provide for”

If the Board didn’t consider it appropriate to withhold money for potential legal action, given a number of clubs other than Hearts have stated they are considering it, then I would confidently say they have not carried out their duties in a competent manner. They are paid to, amongst other things, consider what it is appropriate for the company to provide for, in doing that they protect the Company and its members.

Then respectfully we will agree to disagree.

5 minutes ago, kila said:

If reconstruction happens and Hearts are still in the top flight, then the 'relegation' clause in his contract doesn't apply. If Hearts find themselves in the 2nd tier then his current contract is done and if we want to keep him we negotiate a new one.

I get the impression Stendel really likes Hearts, Tynecastle, Oriam and Edinburgh in general. Who the hell wouldn't? Nothing he's said or done has implied he wants away or is after a pay off - if he were after the latter he'd hardly forgo his ENTIRE wage to help save the club!

Good comment I agree with it in its entirety!

Independence
28 minutes ago, glynnlondon said:

LOL SNP won't be changing shit

They clubs ain't Scottish just happen to reside in the weege

Too busy fighting a civil war across the water.

No-one is changing that mentality 

No matter whose in charge

Eh?

Class of 75
36 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

Cosgrove hates us with a passion. Listened to him this afternoon and had a swipe at us for not accepting our fate. Hates us and Rangers as he sees us as establishment clubs. I listened to him last year and he had the ex Scotland Rugby Captain Doddie Weir who is unfortunately suffering from a dehabilitating illness. He took great satisfaction in trying to claim that any kids playing rugby at schools in Edinburgh must be toffs. The man is a Hibs class inveterted snob who has a chip on his shoulder. He one of those radio presenters who thinks his opinion counts and that he is some offincianado on Scottish football. Needs told that he supports an irrelevant pub team. 

52 minutes ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

I honestly can’t believe people waste their time listening to these programs. Full of absolute erseholes blowing hot air 

20 odd years ago, Off the Ball was a refreshing change. They came on and ripped the pish out of what was stale and out of date coverage of Scottish football. 

Now, they have become a parody of themselves, they have become the very thing they ridiculed, yet they can't see it. They are radios equivalent of Only an Excuse, same jokes, same skits, same guests, same shit.

BBC need to scrap their coverage and start again but they won't, it will be the same old stuff for years, regurgitated time after time.

11 minutes ago, kila said:

We have been officially 'relegated' though. Decision made. We may retrospectively challenge this legally,  or use to leverage reconstruction. I'm not sure that he is in contract limbo as its not a grey area as it stands right now.  He may wish to wait and see what happens of course but is he not free to leave now, if he chooses? 

39 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

Sure I heard the 2 of them talking about the song Sunshite on Leith and asked do Hearts fans get goosebumps listening to it.   That and the constant putting the boot into Hearts all day on radio makes me want i hope their clubs join defunct Rangers, Gretna

and Third Lanark.

30 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

This is exactly where I’m at . For all cosgrove appears to be an intelligent man , his spiteful comments are letting him down . 

Not sure about him being intelligent, but I think a large part of the current anti Hearts message from the BBC is due to jealousy concerning FOH and the positive impact it has on our club. 

2 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

How’s this affecting your new stadium plans? Did you get the heads up to start or still waiting

2 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

It’s on hold.

Yeah. It’s “on hold”. Once this pesky virus goes away, you’ll be visiting the magic money sheep and getting it to shit out £50m+ blabs. 

• jkbmod 9 changed the title to SPFL declare league (2019/20) due to Covid (Arbitration panel upholds SPFL decision )
  • davemclaren changed the title to SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )