SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )

Heres Rixxy

3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Another game off due to Covid.

Again because Albion Rovers aren't testing, 3 players having Covid is enough to prevent them playing because they don't know their other players are safe.

At least Hamilton get to win a game. 

Any now they’re calling for league reconstruction because it’s unfair on their shitey wee club. Absolute ****ing arseholes!! 🤬🤬🤬🤬

• Replies 93.5k

• Ethan Hunt

5 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

That's quite a staggering amount of profit for a betting company, albeit mostly online betting.  I can understand why some might be tight to give them a bailout. 

Their accounts show that £64.5bn was wagered.  After payment of winning bets, their turnover was £2.98bn, before their operating expenses were deducted. 

11 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

Any now they’re calling for league reconstruction because it’s unfair on their shitey wee club. Absolute ****ing arseholes!! 🤬🤬🤬🤬

I’ve just read the article - last season wasn’t the time to do reconstruction but this season is!  There is no logic behind his statement at all. 

17 minutes ago, Snedescu said:

I’ve just read the article - last season wasn’t the time to do reconstruction but this season is!  There is no logic behind his statement at all. 

I agree people just make up utter tripe and state it like it’s a fact then no one asks them to explain what the hang they are on about.

7 hours ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Tbf to Gordon and Lawell l think they gave the Anderson money straight to charity. However, Anderson shouldn't have had to make any donation in the first place though if we had competent leaders (instead of that incompetent crook Doncaster) that could find better money, even sponsorship of the league and better distribution throughout the leagues.

Interested what charity Lawell gave the money to? 🤔

will-i-am-a-jambo
2 minutes ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

Interested what charity Lawell gave the money to? 🤔

When l wrote the above l remembered reading about it but couldn't recall which one. Having just looked it up in google according to the Sun (l won't put a link up as l can't stand that paper) it went to Celtic FC Foundation. What they do as a charity l know not. Aberdeen and Killie also donated to charity according to the headline but l didn't look into that any further. Hibs l may have imagined it (them donating) but l can't see them accepting it and having Hearts gloat about it forever more.

Is Dave Cormack in America?

Presume that's why he hasn't read the Scottish 'tiers' / levels and the related clear guidelines on when fans will be allowed in grounds. Demanding talks with the Government to get fans back in ground. 

3 hours ago, Snedescu said:

It’s because this season his club Albion Rovers are exposed at bottom of League 2 with 3 points and they would face a play off meaning they would drop out of SPFL.

They are scared because Brechin also have 3 points but he knows that as the Brechin chairman is on SPFL Board then they will be saved ...again .... from a playoff while his team be likely to be sacrificed.

Pure self interest last season and this current season.

Albion Rovers, stop squealing like pigs and just take your medicine.

Edited by Brave Hearts

2 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Is Dave Cormack in America?

Presume that's why he hasn't read the Scottish 'tiers' / levels and the related clear guidelines on when fans will be allowed in grounds. Demanding talks with the Government to get fans back in ground. 

I read his latest crap, demanding a meeting with the first minister and Jason Leitch. They must be really struggling which is extremely pleasing.  After the scenes in the bar in aberdeen after Scotland qualified I’d say there is a fek all chance she will even pick up the phone to him 🤣🤣

9 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

I read his latest crap, demanding a meeting with the first minister and Jason Leitch. They must be really struggling which is extremely pleasing.  After the scenes in the bar in aberdeen after Scotland qualified I’d say there is a fek all chance she will even pick up the phone to him 🤣🤣

Football needs to come up with a plan on the sectors they believe should close so it can open up.

On 14/11/2020 at 17:16, Footballfirst said:

The think that the quoted tweet was a dig at Stoke City.

Stoke is owned by the betting group BET365, who made a profit of £682m in 2019 according to their last accounts.  BET365 is owned by the Coates family.  Their major shareholder and director, Denise Coates, took an eye watering salary of £277m in 2019 (up from £220m in 2018)

I didn't know that FF - it's bad enough that betting companies  sponsor cups & leagues and have their names on club shirts, but owning actual clubs too ?    Seems the ultimate in selling your soul to the devil.     

Maybe a  moral question  for all of us - if a betting company came knocking at the FoH door offering hundreds of millions in investment into Hearts, how would you react ? 

With all the restrictions that other businesses must endure, professional football clubs have been given more than a fair deal from the SG.  Businesses bigger than AFC have fared far worse, why should football clubs be exempt from suffering the consequences. 

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

Jones and Edmundson of rangers have both got 7 game bans from the sfa for covid breaches going to a party after a match

Rangers supporting brother not happy

Celtic players only got 3 games

advised him to Take their medicine 

33 minutes ago, BelgeJambo said:

Lennon is presumably screeching about the injustice of it all.

40 minutes ago, BelgeJambo said:

No.1 - shouldn't he be happy especially Edmundson?

No.2 - jump from 3 to 7 does seem a big jump however, I wouldn't be surprised that all clubs and players had been further reminded of responsibilities so higher really punishment us not unexpected. 

No.3 - yep, once Rangers couldn't benefit, they walked away.  Take your medicine indeed.

Edited by DETTY29

Presume with the UK Government support package for sport announced today including Leagues 1 and 2, that money will be coming from the Scottish Government soon. 

13 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Presume with the UK Government support package for sport announced today including Leagues 1 and 2, that money will be coming from the Scottish Government soon. 

BBC report says the EFL are excluded. Football money starts at the National League level.

44 minutes ago, JamboGraham said:

BBC report says the EFL are excluded. Football money starts at the National League level.

The Scottish Gov’ will get to decide how to distribute. 

3 hours ago, Last Laff said:

The Scottish Gov’ will get to decide how to distribute. 

Indeed but the poster suggested that League 1 and 2 was to receive UK government funding which is not correct based on reports today.

Cormack wittering on about a plan for fans return again, he doesn't want govt. handouts. 

Try not spending 90 pence of every pound you earn on wages.

Try cutting your squad.

Try planning for the covid tsunami in March not ****ing November.

Try not expelling the third biggest club in Scotland from your corrupt covid league.

Try voting for reconstruction when it mattered.

Try stopping your players going out on the piss when infection rates in Aberdeen were peaking.

Of course we needed a plan Cormack, but a joint plan with all Scottish clubs could have happened 8 months ago but you joined the "looking after our own interests" group. 

Do one.

11 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

Cormack on sportsound. Talking about debt and no fans to recover. 

Maybe they can get their fans to pledge the value of their Scottish cup final tickets. 

£0.00 will go a long way. 

8 hours ago, SE16 3LN said:

Cormack wittering on about a plan for fans return again, he doesn't want govt. handouts. 

Try cutting your squad.

Try not expelling the third biggest club in Scotland from your corrupt covid league.

Try stopping your players going out on the piss when infection rates in Aberdeen were peaking.

Of course we needed a plan Cormack, but a joint plan with all Scottish clubs could have happened 8 months ago but you joined the "looking after our own interests" group. 

Do one.

Lots of valid points there. I look forward to Dick Gordon raising them in a hard-hitting (stop sniggering at the back) interview with the Aberdeen supremo.

Scotland U21 players and staff isolating after three positive Covid-19 cases - https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55028971?fbclid=IwAR1ehR2r90JbIwB02vpDXine5bBAd6Y81_Th6v3Sv6dmxHqU4FnvZYdFvK8

11 U21 players needing to self isolate, 3 positive cases.

On Sportsound on Monday, Darryl Broadfoot was saying how much team spirit in the full team camp because the all players moved their chairs together for the night, that no doubt had been set socially distant.

Clubs going mental with the SFA apparently however, I bet some of the clubs going radge also aren't following protocols properly in and around their own dressing rooms.

Edited by DETTY29

Couple of Motherwell players missing their game today in line with protocols.

1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

Turnbull of celtic tests positive - hope Mayo who played against us last night was ok !

Was just going to say joeblack on twitter had posted a Celtic player had been sent home from their Edinburgh hotel.

6 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Turnbull of celtic tests positive - hope Mayo who played against us last night was ok !

Apparently has tested negative.

However, some of the other players tested negative a few days ago, but on return tested positive.

Could be incubation, could be the NHS test which is of a higher standard?

SPFL clubs could go bust in January, warns Stenhousemuir chairman Iain McMenemy, as the Scottish government is again urged to offer financial help. 

gutted for them , NOT .

totally against govt money being used to bail out clubs/chairmen 

On 21/11/2020 at 14:19, neilnunb said:

Couple of Motherwell players missing their game today in line with protocols.

Was just going to say joeblack on twitter had posted a Celtic player had been sent home from their Edinburgh hotel.

Joe Black is a know-nothing Rangers twat. Followed him for the arbitration and literally everything he said would happen, didn't. 

29 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

Joe Black is a know-nothing Rangers twat. Followed him for the arbitration and literally everything he said would happen, didn't. 

Tbf, that was pretty much like on here 😁

5 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

SPFL clubs could go bust in January, warns Stenhousemuir chairman Iain McMenemy, as the Scottish government is again urged to offer financial help. 

gutted for them , NOT .

totally against govt money being used to bail out clubs/chairmen 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55073217

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon says football cannot be treated "in isolation" amid the SPFL's renewed attempts to hasten the return of fans.

Ms Sturgeon was responding to league chief executive Neil Doncaster's request for an emergency meeting.

Amid different Covid regulations in each UK country, England will permit up to 4,000 spectators at outdoor events in lowest-risk areas next month.

Only 300 are permitted in stadia in Scotland's two lowest lockdown tiers.

Sturgeon said: "However much Neil Doncaster, for reasons I understand, is only looking at football, we can't see any sector or any part of society in isolation because there is only so much we can do overall to keep the virus under control."

Doncaster had warned the lock-out of supporters will "sound the death knell" for some clubs if it continues.

He added: "Every major club in Scotland has very detailed, well-founded plans in place for safely returning fans back to stadiums.

"If it's good enough for English fans, it must be good enough for Scottish fans.

"If the First Minister refuses to allow football fans all over Scotland to watch their beloved teams in carefully-regulated, limited numbers, complete with track and trace, she will have to explain to them the clinical difference between Scottish fans and English fans."

...oooo tough talk from dungcatser! Mind you, he's only spouting what lawwell tells him to.

Are they thick? I mean, when fans are allowed to return it will be in reduced numbers - no profit there. And those that are permitted to return will be ST holders who have already paid - no additional profit there. In fact, there will be overheads to cover eg. policing, stewards etc. - no profit there... in fact, allowing fans back will incur costs to clubs. We ALL know this! So what is duncaster/lawwell after here? Do they really believe that ALL fans should be able to fill all stadia throughout Scotland!?... because that is the ONLY way clubs will turn any sort of profit. 

FTHSPFL FTSFA FTH

"If the First Minister refuses to allow football fans all over Scotland to watch their beloved teams in carefully-regulated, limited numbers, complete with track and trace, she will have to explain to them the clinical difference between Scottish fans and English fans."

That is Lawell  100% talking, All the rhetoric from donkey has never been that agressive.  It stinks of Clarifucashun.

Here is the diference:  Weegies, celtic flavoured ones in particular

But in all seriousness, England are idiots if they go all relaxed.  its 5 times worse in Hull than Glasgow and in the north east 10 worse than West Lothian, which is in L4. 

Doncaster:  We demand an urgent talk...NOW

FM:  ehhhh  Naw,  Frank get the door!

Lawell:  what did she say? did you tell her what I said for  yiz tae say?

Doncaster:  I did I demanded urgent talks:

Lawell: D.O.B!

On 20/11/2020 at 11:33, SE16 3LN said:

Try cutting your squad.

Do one.

My thoughts. 

You missed " do one, prick". 

1 hour ago, Rogue Daddy said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55073217

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon says football cannot be treated "in isolation" amid the SPFL's renewed attempts to hasten the return of fans.

Ms Sturgeon was responding to league chief executive Neil Doncaster's request for an emergency meeting.

Amid different Covid regulations in each UK country, England will permit up to 4,000 spectators at outdoor events in lowest-risk areas next month.

Only 300 are permitted in stadia in Scotland's two lowest lockdown tiers.

Sturgeon said: "However much Neil Doncaster, for reasons I understand, is only looking at football, we can't see any sector or any part of society in isolation because there is only so much we can do overall to keep the virus under control."

Doncaster had warned the lock-out of supporters will "sound the death knell" for some clubs if it continues.

He added: "Every major club in Scotland has very detailed, well-founded plans in place for safely returning fans back to stadiums.

"If it's good enough for English fans, it must be good enough for Scottish fans.

...oooo tough talk from dungcatser! Mind you, he's only spouting what lawwell tells him to.

Are they thick? I mean, when fans are allowed to return it will be in reduced numbers - no profit there. And those that are permitted to return will be ST holders who have already paid - no additional profit there. In fact, there will be overheads to cover eg. policing, stewards etc. - no profit there... in fact, allowing fans back will incur costs to clubs. We ALL know this! So what is duncaster/lawwell after here? Do they really believe that ALL fans should be able to fill all stadia throughout Scotland!?... because that is the ONLY way clubs will turn any sort of profit. 

FTHSPFL FTSFA FTH

0_Celtic-v-Rangers-Ladbrokes-Scottish-Pr

This is the problem: a couple of hundred filth outside the ground, social distancing not even considered, and Glasgow's finest just stand there and watch.

1 hour ago, Rogue Daddy said:

Sounds like Doncaster is trying to threaten the government, that's bound to go down well. That shit might work with the likes of St Mirren and Brechin, but with politicians, not so much.

Celtic started this with tens of millions in the bank, but will have burned through most of it by now. Obviously squealing like a pig is beneath Lawwell, but it must be getting serious if he's having to send his sock puppet out to do his bidding.

56 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

That is Lawell  100% talking, All the rhetoric from donkey has never been that agressive.  It stinks of Clarifucashun.

Here is the diference:  Weegies, celtic flavoured ones in particular

But in all seriousness, England are idiots if they go all relaxed.  its 5 times worse in Hull than Glasgow and in the north east 10 worse than West Lothian, which is in L4. 

Doncaster:  We demand an urgent talk...NOW

FM:  ehhhh  Naw,  Frank get the door!

Lawell:  what did she say? did you tell her what I said for  yiz tae say?

Doncaster:  I did I demanded urgent talks:

Lawell: D.O.B!

The bit missed from liewell/Doncaster is the allowance of fans into games in England is tier dependant. Up to 4000 in lowest tier and up to 2000 in second tier. None in highest tier. Iirc in Scotland the two lowest tiers can have fans so some differences but still similar

If Nicola ever does agree to meet with dungcatcher the first question she should ask is why do you think SPL clubs should get a government handout when they've spent thousands(millions in some cases) in transfer fees 

30 minutes ago, Zico said:

Reads exactly like one of Liewell’s rousing speeches.

Can’t wait for some of these shithouse teams to start going bust. 

Cancer on the game is Law well. I might have said that before

They were too busy with their other scheming, during the summer, to give a thought to the possibility of Covid knocking out spectators attending for the entire season.

They could have reconstructed the league divisions, with clubs mothballing if they thought it best for their circumstances. The rest could have made up a couple of bigger divisions, with less games so more time to deal with postponements due to testing issues.

Did the Premiership clubs really think that they were going to have a normal season, with full grounds for the visits of the bigoted duo? Equally, did the Championship clubs really think that Hearts fans would be coming to fill their grounds?

Their spite and determination to hurt 3 clubs, and show nothing but self interest, blinded them to the possibility of what is coming to them.

We hardly see Doncaster these days. What he doing to justify his inflated salary for being a secretary?

As for Petrie and Dempster’s JRG 😂

1 hour ago, The Treasurer said:

If Nicola ever does agree to meet with dungcatcher the first question she should ask is why do you think SPL clubs should get a government handout when they've spent thousands(millions in some cases) in transfer fees 

It's just not justifiable - agree completely with your point and the worst if it is certain clubs have investing heavily during Covid - why should the taxpayer be compensating clubs for taking that risk?  The games governance has been completely inept which is another reason the taxpayer shouldn't be footing the bill.    It would piss me off if Hibs and Dundee Utd in particular received a handout.

Doncaster must have something in his contract whereby he has to say something. 

He's not coming across very well. Is it his failure if fans don't get back in? 

22 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

They were too busy with their other scheming, during the summer, to give a thought to the possibility of Covid knocking out spectators attending for the entire season.

They could have reconstructed the league divisions, with clubs mothballing if they thought it best for their circumstances. The rest could have made up a couple of bigger divisions, with less games so more time to deal with postponements due to testing issues.

Did the Premiership clubs really think that they were going to have a normal season, with full grounds for the visits of the bigoted duo? Equally, did the Championship clubs really think that Hearts fans would be coming to fill their grounds?

Their spite and determination to hurt 3 clubs, and show nothing but self interest, blinded them to the possibility of what is coming to them.

We hardly see Doncaster these days. What he doing to justify his inflated salary for being a secretary?

As for Petrie and Dempster’s JRG 😂

I think there was a strong belief fans would be back in some way by October, hence why the old firm got pushed back as late as possible. 

• davemclaren changed the title to SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )