Beans in their own pot or on the plate

Breakfast beans in their own pot  

67 members have voted

1. 1. When having breakfast out do you prefer your beans in their own pot on the plate or, poured onto the plate?

• Pot
    • Plate

44 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Autocorrect, it's darlin my wife has. Don't know this dumpling person.

I think he’s quite a ood lad, if truth be told.

3 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

They are actually quite good quality, not the cheap fat jobs.  As the breakfast is cooked to order they cook quicker.....currently scoring 9.5 on booking.com fir breakfast, I’m just trying to get why some places serve them in a pot.

I suppose it gives folk the choice to mix them with their brekkie, or eat them separate.

The hotel we use when in Edinburgh serve beans in a wee dish, to the side of the plate.

My wife eats them from the wee dish, I pour them out onto my plate.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Also not good enough just to heat the beans up. Cook them with a big lump of butter and some Worcestershire sauce and black pepper, thickens up the sauce and gives them loads of flavour. 

FYI..... Worcestershire sauce has anchovies in it so therefor cannot be served to vegans or vegetarians of which we cater for......

you knew that right ?

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

Funny how people see things differently, I wouldn't have mushrooms, tomatoes or beans anywhere near my breakfast, and I'd probably be in tears at the missing square sausage and fruit slice.

Correct. Well, I’d have the mushrooms.

Baked beans are an abomination.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

aww look at  moran tryin to steer into the skid

2 hours ago, Cruyff said:

Sorry chaps. You defo need a couple of tattie scones. Red pudding too, do the english have red pudding, black pudding and tattie scones with their bacon, sausage and egg? 

hadn't heard of red pudding before, but after a quick google think it would be a nice addition

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

aww look at  moran tryin to steer into the skid

Does look like that, doesn’t it?

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

hadn't heard of red pudding before, but after a quick google think it would be a nice addition

I’d never heard of it either.

20 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

FYI..... Worcestershire sauce has anchovies in it so therefor cannot be served to vegans or vegetarians of which we cater for......

you knew that right ?

I did know that. However my post wasn’t aimed at your establishment but the rest of the readership of this thread. And I think we’ve established some of them will eat pretty much anything. 

28 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

Not many people have. I think it's a Fife thing. Not sure, someone told me that. It's like the same as a black pudding but like a cross between a white pudding and pork sausage with oatmeal and stuff in it. 

49 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

you knew that right ?

You should invest in some Henderson's Relish. Superior to Worcester's stuff and also suitable for vegans.

1ei0fpg.jpg

11 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Not many people have. I think it's a Fife thing. Not sure, someone told me that. It's like the same as a black pudding but like a cross between a white pudding and pork sausage with oatmeal and stuff in it. 

It used to be a lot more common, Bowman’s butchers in Leith always sold it and it was a Saturday night treat for us, pork and lots of white pepper in it so it’s quite tangy. 

AlimOzturk

In a pot. And always add a touch of butter to the beans 

Beans shouldn't touch meat or egg. It is there to out onto toast, hash browns of potatoes scones. 

Beans need to be strained before placement on the plate. The juice pervades the bacon, sausage, tattle scone etc and it’s just not right

Mushrooms? Personally you can serve them straight into your kitchen bin. They’re a fungus FFS

No pot for the beans. Wanky behaviour as others have said, akin to getting your chips  in a poncey wicker basket or a polished empty tin 

Thank you

Nae beans. 

Simple. 

Beans with a fry are pish imo. Just kills the taste it absolutely everything. 

11 hours ago, Morgan said:

As are you, bud.

But I am a dumplin at times. Morning noon and night. :D

12 hours ago, Cruyff said:

The butcher in Musselburgh does red pudding. As for the beans...on the plate

78FABAC9-520A-4B9E-B9DD-8C0F97A49AE7.jpeg

2 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Christ you would be Dolly Parton all day.....

In a taxi, the perfect self isolation technique. :)

Never knew any different until I started going out with my current girlfriend. She likes to serve them in a ramekin as she's a weirdo who doesn't like moist foods touching dry foods. She won't even have curry over rice. Needs to be side by side, even though she has a forkful of rice then dips it in curry so it's all in one mouthful anyway. ****.

Honestly don't care but sometimes the beans being on the plate adds the moisture that a dish might otherwise lack.

1 hour ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Hey, that’s some starter you have there.

On a serious note wtf is with the chips at breakfast.

Spellczech

I've always considered beans to be there because the fried breakfast would be a little dry otherwise. For that reason I don't think they are necessary if you have grilled tomato, scrambled eggs or fried eggs with a soft yolk on the plate.

Edited by Spellczech

37 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Hey, that’s some starter you have there.

On a serious note wtf is with the chips at breakfast.

Lads trip, waistline is an afterthought.

you sound like my wife with that statement🤣  always having a go at me about things not being appropriate for a breakfast. 

Edited by luckyBatistuta

CostaJambo
48 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Lads trip, waistline is an afterthought.

you sound like my wife with that statement🤣  always having a go at me about things not being appropriate for a breakfast. 

Yeah, mine too. Cannae believe she doesn't consider Stella appropriate for breakfast.

51 minutes ago, CostaJambo said:

Yeah, mine too. Cannae believe she doesn't consider Stella appropriate for breakfast.

:rofl: not quite at that point. She doesn’t have a problem with me eating hot stuff like a bacon, black pudding, fried egg roll etc, or a full fry up with beans, but has a serious problem with me making a salami, cheese, hot sauce toastie...what difference does it make🤯😤 She’s also got a problem with me eating yoghurt🤷🏼‍♂️ 

2 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

:rofl: not quite at that point. She doesn’t have a problem with me eating hot stuff like a bacon, black pudding, fried egg roll etc, or a full fry up with beans, but has a serious problem with me making a salami, cheese, hot sauce toastie...what difference does it make🤯😤 She’s also got a problem with me eating yoghurt🤷🏼‍♂️ 

Sure it’s not just this 🙄

2 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Sure it’s not just this 🙄

Nailed it :lol:

8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

As are you, bud.

But I am a dumplin at times. Morning noon and night. :D

:thumb:

Don’t you mean ‘Mornin noon and niht’?

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

In a taxi, the perfect self isolation technique. :)

Anti-social distancing.

26 minutes ago, Morgan said:

:thumb:

Don’t you mean ‘Mornin noon and niht’?

Nicht!

16 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

In a pot. And always add a touch of butter to the beans 

Beans shouldn't touch meat or egg. It is there to out onto toast, hash browns of potatoes scones. 

:what:

I voted pot. I don’t like the sauce in baked beans so don’t eat them. I do like filling in polls on jkb though. 

4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I voted pot. I don’t like the sauce in baked beans so don’t eat them. I do like filling in polls on jkb though. 

Racist!

:troll:

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Racist!

:troll:

Warsaw what you did there!

::troll::

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Warsaw what you did there!

::troll::

And I also

:isee:

Did Paul Merson not play for them. :whistling:

7 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Chips at breakfast? Was this taken in Benidorm? 😄 

Breakfast beans? Away and shite :rofl:

The only folk that have beans with their breakfast are the debauched, depraved and the 20 stone plus brigade as they'll eat anything.

Ya bunch o feckin' slobs :508:

50 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Chips at breakfast? Was this taken in Benidorm? 😄 

Lanzarote 

1 hour ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Lanzarote 

More of a brunch was it? All day breakfast? 

9 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Beans are a no no on a breakfast for me. Tinned Toms or GTF

what did tom ever do to you?

4 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

what did tom ever do to you?

I'm genuinely not arsed about cooked fresh tomatoes but I love tinned plum tomatoes with breakfast. I like baked beans, particularly the giant ones you get in Greece on your holidays but not for me brekker

8 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Mrs Tarkin refuses to munch the sausage before noon too. :(

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Racist!

Edit: I voted pot because I like pot.

Edited by Governor Tarkin

1 hour ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

More of a brunch was it? All day breakfast? 

Not sure what time of the day that was taken. Never made the trip myself, but my mates are greedy barstewards, so that could have been taken at any time of the day. Could also be their 2nd, 3rd or 4th one of the day too 😁

Cairneyhill Jambo

Beans are only acceptable in a cooked breakfast when tipped over the top of hash browns. 

Those that have tattie scones or fruit puddings/slices should be put down. 

6 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Mrs Tarkin refuses to munch the sausage before noon too. :(

Edit: I voted pot because I like pot.

:smoking:

Roll your own and pot them in the freezer 😉

On 12/05/2020 at 15:26, IronJambo said:

On the plate but they absolutely must not contaminate the bacon. Sausages are a natural barrier for this and in contrast to the bacon, can be mixed up with beans.

Almost punched a woman in Dobbies garden centre once when piled the contents of my complete breakfast in the middle of the biggest plate in the world. It was all in the centre like a collapsed breakfast jenga. Wee guys playing fitba on the rest of the plate.

Edit: my lovely bacon, buried under beans

Dobbies Garden Centre's breakfasts are utter rank.