Cycle lanes

How many problems would that solve?!

Get it done instead of spending millions of pounds on tram lines. 

How many of us would use our bikes more if we were free from traffic?

How many car drivers would be less angry?

Not to mention the health benefits, a lot less unfit fat people for the NHS to deal with. 

Less pollution etc etc. 

Get it done you tubes.

Edited by Space Pirate

11 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

We already have cycle lanes on most of the roads that have space for them.

I used to live in holland mate, We have bugger all cycle lanes. 

They need to make space for them. 

There's some on Leith Walk now, entire length I think. I wouldn't be opposed. I have wanted a bike for ages and would love to cycle more, but I'm a bit of a shitebag cycling on the road, and there's too many ****ing doughnuts on the road too.

IronJambo
29 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

We already have cycle lanes on most of the roads that have space for them.

He means specialised protected lanes (not part of the road) that don't have cyclists dodging drains and rubbish in the gutter.

Undoable in most places IMO. It's definitely the way forward though and I don't think people shouldn't be encouraged to cycle until something like that is commonly in place.

11 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

He means specialised protected lanes (not part of the road) that don't have cyclists dodging drains and rubbish in the gutter.

Undoable in most places IMO. It's definitely the way forward though and I don't think people shouldn't be encouraged to cycle until something like that is commonly in place.

First bold: Yeah, possibly, but would they even think about it? where there is a will, there is a way. 

2nd bold: Try telling that to the people i know that have went over car bonnets because car drivers haven't been looking. 

Edited by Space Pirate

IronJambo
6 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

First bold: Yeah, possibly, but would they even think about it? where there is a will, there is a way. 

2nd bold: Try telling that to the people i know that have went over car bonnets because car drivers haven't been looking. 

2nd part....was meant to say I don't think people should be encouraged.

I give cyclists loads of room and hang back in 2nd gear if I have to until it's safe to pass. Some are dicks and take chances with their life that I wouldn't. I squirt them with my headlight washer if I can. I see some drivers pass them at crazy parts of the road though and that must really piss the minority (the non arrogant, non self entitled ones) off. A safe solution is needed for all.

3 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

I give cyclists loads of room and hang back in 2nd gear if I have to until it's safe to pass. Some are dicks and take chances with their life that I wouldn't. I squirt them with my headlight washer if I can. I see some drivers pass them at crazy parts of the road though and that must really piss the minority (the non arrogant, non self entitled ones) off. A safe solution is needed for all.

I can see both views, I'm a lazy car driver but i have family that are heavily into cycling, winning semi pro races n shit. 

Drivers that get angry at them probably can't even ride a bike. 

IronJambo
2 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

I can see both views, I'm a lazy car driver but i have family that are heavily into cycling, winning semi pro races n shit. 

Drivers that get angry at them probably can't even ride a bike. 

They don't bother me on the road. If someone wants to put thrmself closer to death then that's their problem.

They're a pain in the cock on trains though. I don't mean all of them, probably just around a 75%. Only care for their own convenience over other people's safety. 

1 minute ago, IronJambo said:

They don't bother me on the road. If someone wants to put thrmself closer to death then that's their problem.

They're a pain in the cock on trains though. I don't mean all of them, probably just around a 75%. Only care for their own convenience over other people's safety. 

Aye, a can fully imagine that there's some cocks out there, as there is in all walks of life. 

30 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Aye, a can fully imagine that there's some cocks out there, as there is in all walks of life. 

‘A can’

magic roundabout

Interesting the govt were talking about the use of E-scooters today. It's something I would serious consider if it was safer. 

I was out in the car today and was appalled by some of driving from both cyclists(going through red lights) and car drivers (driving like f1 drivers). 

Clear divided lanes (on a larger scale) would definitely make it beneficial. 

Cycle lanes MUST be segregated, not integrated with the road or cutting over pavements 

Safer roads, safer streets safer pavements 

Save the money - just ban cycling on main roads -  win win 

oh and arrest these clown cyclists with cameras on their heid - rockets 

What about these cyclist's that go on the road's with toddlers on the little seated handlebars, some don't even wear a helmet 

The sooner legislation comes into force for all road users the safer for everybody, maybe a mandatory cycle test is the way to go Some of these cyclists look a danger to themselves 

A proper invested segregated cycle lane structure away from roads pavements and tram lines is what's needed, putting serious money into it, but we keep getting cheap half measures from this council / scottish government 

14 hours ago, IronJambo said:

You'd have thought so but in London, where the congestion must be greater than Edinburgh, there are segregated cycle lanes springing up all over the place.

Personally, I don't feel the need for them; I manage to cycle safely & confidently with the traffic. I tell you what I'd really appreciate, though: smooth road surfaces. I get shaken to bits on the road and it hurts! :(

11 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

You'd have thought so but in London, where the congestion must be greater than Edinburgh, there are segregated cycle lanes springing up all over the place.

Personally, I don't feel the need for them; I manage to cycle safely & confidently with the traffic. I tell you what I'd really appreciate, though: smooth road surfaces. I get shaken to bits on the road and it hurts! :(

I'm not in London very often these days other than commuting into Paddington from Berkshire every day. I do remember they were throwing up a lot of extra cycle lanes when I lived there 6 years ago but many of them were still very dangerous. Mayor Boris was encouraging cycling no end despite the record amount of deaths at time. Boris has always been responsible.

Edit: I'm with you on the surfaces. I get rattled to bits on my kick scooter 

Edited by IronJambo

Typical southern softies, the roads in London are like a billiard table to cycle on compared to the ones in Edinburgh. When I lived just off Leith Walk I had to work out my route so I knew what bike to take as Leith Walk and York Place were so bad I needed a mountain bike with good suspension forks as it would have knackered my road bike in no time. 

25 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Typical southern softies, the roads in London are like a billiard table to cycle on compared to the ones in Edinburgh. When I lived just off Leith Walk I had to work out my route so I knew what bike to take as Leith Walk and York Place were so bad I needed a mountain bike with good suspension forks as it would have knackered my road bike in no time. 

The roads and pavements are shite everywhere because councils don't want to spend money maintaining them. The state of London's roads are going to vary from borough to borough, each being their own level of shit.

I hate cycling on roads lucky we have a good selection of routes edinburgh/Midlothian

Looked up routes you can get to mussy, pans, dunbar, pencaitland, Haddington, penicuik, dalkeith and centre of edinburgh and barely even have to go on a road.

4 hours ago, Tazio said:

I wouldn't take my bike on the roads in Edinburgh. The roads are a disgrace. I'd break wrists and collarbones and my bike!

21 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

How many problems would that solve?!

Get it done instead of spending millions of pounds on tram lines. 

How many of us would use our bikes more if we were free from traffic?

How many car drivers would be less angry?

Not to mention the health benefits, a lot less unfit fat people for the NHS to deal with. 

Less pollution etc etc. 

Get it done you tubes.

What about flattening the city first Space Pirate? That way folk who can't handle the hills would get on their bike too. 

Flatter city, more cyclists = simples.

will-i-am-a-jambo
10 hours ago, Still Tynie said:

Cycle lanes MUST be segregated, not integrated with the road or cutting over pavements 

Safer roads, safer streets safer pavements 

Totally agree with this.

will-i-am-a-jambo
9 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Save the money - just ban cycling on main roads -  win win 

oh and arrest these clown cyclists with cameras on their heid - rockets 

Save the money and ban cars on main roads too, then we won't have to maintain them. No pollution and no aresholrs cutting up cyclists thinking they own the road - win, win.

will-i-am-a-jambo
23 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Thats nice you give cyclists space, as any car driver should. Why do you squirt the cyclists with washer liquid though? That's out of order even if they have behaved poorly on the roads. Two wrongs don't make a right.  Would you do the same to a car driver if they had behaved poorly on the road? No you wouldn't. You get poor cyclists and poor car drivers on the road but people think it's ok to target the most vulnerable road users.

23 hours ago, Mr 3 Putt said:

Like the nice new cycle lane that was put in on leith walk that they never use...

With their own little green light to let them get away first, only problem is, they don’t acknowledge traffic lights and are long gone.

41 minutes ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Thats nice you give cyclists space, as any car driver should. Why do you squirt the cyclists with washer liquid though? That's out of order even if they have behaved poorly on the roads. Two wrongs don't make a right.  Would you do the same to a car driver if they had behaved poorly on the road? No you wouldn't. You get poor cyclists and poor car drivers on the road but people think it's ok to target the most vulnerable road users.

It just so happens I wash my headlights at the same time they pass and there's a bit of spray goes either side of the car. Unfortunate timing really. It would be worse if I wasn't looking in places that they shouldn't be and I didn't see them. That would of course be my fault though. They get a little bit of screenwash on their lycra, it's better than getting squashed.

Edit: and yes, if there's an idiot tailgating me I'll excessively use the window washer so that the spray irritates them. If someone acts the dick then so will I.

Edited by IronJambo

I’m a cyclist and a driver, each group have a huge number that have no right being on the road. 

without proper segregation there’s always going to be conflict. Both sides have proven they can’t get along by themselves so legislation/enforcement seems the only way forwards, maybe things like cyclists are only allowed on roads with an equivalent of the cbt test, otherwise they are restricted to cycle lanes. That way they at least have something to lose by jumping lights etc and at the same time making it 3 points or a fine for drivers passing too close, parking in cycle lanes etc

The Leith Walk cycle segregation is more of a problem with pedestrians floating in and out of that space than anything else.

The advanced start traffic lights for cyclists (read cyclists, not just neds on bikes) at the junction of MacDonald Road/Brunswick Road/Leith Walk actually works pretty good.

will-i-am-a-jambo
2 hours ago, Ribble said:

I’m a cyclist and a driver, each group have a huge number that have no right being on the road. 

without proper segregation there’s always going to be conflict. Both sides have proven they can’t get along by themselves so legislation/enforcement seems the only way forwards, maybe things like cyclists are only allowed on roads with an equivalent of the cbt test, otherwise they are restricted to cycle lanes. That way they at least have something to lose by jumping lights etc and at the same time making it 3 points or a fine for drivers passing too close, parking in cycle lanes etc

Im the same as you, a cyclists and a car driver. I agree with what your saying to a certain extent but it's very difficult to enforce and police light jumpers. As a cyclist it irritates me when l see other cyclists jump the lights as it gives cyclists a bad name. However, l see plenty cars jumping lights too. I'm not condoning a cyclist jumping lights behaviour but the difference is if a car jumps the lights they can easily kill someone whereas a cyclist is likely to only damage themselves than others.

will-i-am-a-jambo
2 hours ago, IronJambo said:

It just so happens I wash my headlights at the same time they pass and there's a bit of spray goes either side of the car. Unfortunate timing really. It would be worse if I wasn't looking in places that they shouldn't be and I didn't see them. That would of course be my fault though. They get a little bit of screenwash on their lycra, it's better than getting squashed.

Edit: and yes, if there's an idiot tailgating me I'll excessively use the window washer so that the spray irritates them. If someone acts the dick then so will I.

Funny you should say l've had car drivers spray me with washer liquid, was it you? It wasn't because l behaved poorly on the roads, was an accident. It wasn't a pleasant experience. However, as l said before two wrongs don't make a right but if you behave just as them then you are no better than them. If it makes you feel better though.....

The ****ing roads are empty and the ***** are still using the pavements and running red lights. Great initiative if the majority of then weren’t such a bunch of ***** without any bright clothes, helmets or regard for any the rest of us. They are as bad as the people they moan about. Did I mention they are *****?

Devorgilla
12 hours ago, IronJambo said:

The roads and pavements are shite everywhere because councils don't want to spend money maintaining them. The state of London's roads are going to vary from borough to borough, each being their own level of shit.

Certainly in Scotland Councils have significantly less budget available to spend on maintaining roads.  That also includes significant reductions in the staff to manage and deliver this work.  Whole thing is a vicious circle of decline.  

3 hours ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Im the same as you, a cyclists and a car driver. I agree with what your saying to a certain extent but it's very difficult to enforce and police light jumpers. As a cyclist it irritates me when l see other cyclists jump the lights as it gives cyclists a bad name. However, l see plenty cars jumping lights too. I'm not condoning a cyclist jumping lights behaviour but the difference is if a car jumps the lights they can easily kill someone whereas a cyclist is likely to only damage themselves and the vehicle they’ve now collided with...then proceed to pay absolutely nothing towards the cost of the repairs to the damaged vehicle.

Ftfy

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

The ****ing roads are empty and the ***** are still using the pavements and running red lights. Great initiative if the majority of then weren’t such a bunch of ***** without any bright clothes, helmets or regard for any the rest of us. They are as bad as the people they moan about. Did I mention they are *****?

Not only do the vast majority not have lights on and wear headphones. They no longer see the need to let anyone behind them no which direction or lane they have now decided to move to. I had two in front of myself tonight going down Leith street side by side chatting away, oblivious to the fact there was anything, or anyone else nearby. At the last second, they both just veered over in to my lane and continued on with their conversation. If I hadn’t been paying attention to what they were doing, they would be in a hospital right now. They seem to have the attitude that nothing is their responsibility any more.

As for those bicycles you can rent. At the weekends before the lockdown, you would have groups of drunks just mucking around on them in the middle of the roads thinking it’s a big joke. I approached the roundabout at the parliament from Abbeyhill on Saturday afternoon and four young Chinese girls on them came tearing straight over the roundabout from the park on the wrong side of the road going round it the wrong way.

7 hours ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Funny you should say l've had car drivers spray me with washer liquid, was it you? It wasn't because l behaved poorly on the roads, was an accident. It wasn't a pleasant experience. However, as l said before two wrongs don't make a right but if you behave just as them then you are no better than them. If it makes you feel better though.....

I doubt you're on the same roads as me.

5 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Not only do the vast majority not have lights on and wear headphones. They no longer see the need to let anyone behind them no which direction or lane they have now decided to move to. I had two in front of myself tonight going down Leith street side by side chatting away, oblivious to the fact there was anything, or anyone else nearby. At the last second, they both just veered over in to my lane and continued on with their conversation. If I hadn’t been paying attention to what they were doing, they would be in a hospital right now. They seem to have the attitude that nothing is their responsibility any more.

As for those bicycles you can rent. At the weekends before the lockdown, you would have groups of drunks just mucking around on them in the middle of the roads thinking it’s a big joke. I approached the roundabout at the parliament from Abbeyhill on Saturday afternoon and four young Chinese girls on them came tearing straight over the roundabout from the park on the wrong side of the road going round it the wrong way.

Edinburgh Centre is just a big play park for cyclists, council just take the piss 

No road rules or regulations for cyclists or scooters, they just do what they want

Deliveroo boxes seem to be the worst 

What I like to do is hold up a peleton with a tractor and trailer.Just until the cyclists think they can over take and then speed up a bit.

Edited by jb102

BigCGilmour

There's a few things buzzword bingo things missing from this thread, cyclists should

pay road tax

be insured

have a registration plate

8 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Sounds awful, people are going to get hurt, do they realise how flimsy the bikes are? I get that it’s great exercise and brilliant for the environment but ffs they don’t help themselves.

will-i-am-a-jambo
9 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Ftfy

Im assuming this speaking from personal experience? Really sorry to hear that. You get arseholes in all walks (or cycles!) of life.

will-i-am-a-jambo
4 hours ago, IronJambo said:

I doubt you're on the same roads as me.

Ah yes, l've just seen your location, probably not then lol.

will-i-am-a-jambo
9 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

This is really bad. Not just cyclists though. I've seen guys on motorbikes doing wheelies thru a 4-way junction when it was a red light for their side of the road. They could've killed somebody.

As a cyclist and a car driver you see bad road behaviour on both sides. The private hire taxi drivers seem to me to be the worst road users and are often aggressive and abusive. I've had these guys cut me up thinking they own the roads and beeping their horn at me as lm going too slow (lm on a bike ffs).

42 minutes ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Im assuming this speaking from personal experience? Really sorry to hear that. You get arseholes in all walks (or cycles!) of life.

Unfortunately I am. Four times now my taxi has been hit by cyclists causing hundreds of pounds each time and not a single penny paid by any of the cyclists. You get their name, address and phone number off them and it’s all a pack of lies. Only one guy gave me the correct phone number and after answering, he put the phone down on me and then just cut me off continually after that. Cyclists really should have a form of insurance with a tiny little plate on the frame that you can get their information. I have a bicycle myself and would not have a problem doing this myself.

35 minutes ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

This is really bad. Not just cyclists though. I've seen guys on motorbikes doing wheelies thru a 4-way junction when it was a red light for their side of the road. They could've killed somebody.

As a cyclist and a car driver you see bad road behaviour on both sides. The private hire taxi drivers seem to me to be the worst road users and are often aggressive and abusive. I've had these guys cut me up thinking they own the roads and beeping their horn at me as lm going too slow (lm on a bike ffs).

I’m obviously biased towards PHC drivers, but I do agree with you in the fact they are the most aggressive drivers on our road at the moment. 

will-i-am-a-jambo
2 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Unfortunately I am. Four times now my taxi has been hit by cyclists causing hundreds of pounds each time and not a single penny paid by any of the cyclists. You get their name, address and phone number off them and it’s all a pack of lies. Only one guy gave me the correct phone number and after answering, he put the phone down on me and then just cut me off continually after that. Cyclists really should have a form of insurance with a tiny little plate on the frame that you can get their information. I have a bicycle myself and would not have a problem doing this myself.

I’m obviously biased towards PHC drivers, but I do agree with you in the fact they are the most aggressive drivers on our road at the moment. 

Thats awful mate, lm really sorry you've had problems like this. Perhaps you could ask for ID if it happens again? I hope it doesn't happen again obviously. Did you report them to the police? They maybe able to advise you best on the best course of action to take under these circumstances. I don't think cyclists should pay for things like car tax (or bike tax) as they don't damage the roads like big SUVs do. I agree there's should be some kind of insurance though.

As for the PHC companies, l think in future lm going to take their registration number or taxi number and report them if l see anything but when you are in a state of shock it's difficult to remember to do this. I even had one incident where l waited for a taxi driver to pass a bus, he was on my side of the road and l had to stop. He thanked me by winding down his window and shouted abuse at me! If l had been in a car he would've waved and thanked me - absolutely disgraceful. Appreciate it was just abuse and it didn't cost me or him anything in terms of money like yourself but there was just no need as l had done him a favour.

Edited by will-i-am-a-jambo

1 hour ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Thats awful mate, lm really sorry you've had problems like this. Perhaps you could ask for ID if it happens again? I hope it doesn't happen again obviously. Did you report them to the police? They maybe able to advise you best on the best course of action to take under these circumstances. I don't think cyclists should pay for things like car tax (or bike tax) as they don't damage the roads like big SUVs do. I agree there's should be some kind of insurance though.

As for the PHC companies, l think in future lm going to take their registration number or taxi number and report them if l see anything but when you are in a state of shock it's difficult to remember to do this. I even had one incident where l waited for a taxi driver to pass a bus, he was on my side of the road and l had to stop. He thanked me by winding down his window and shouted abuse at me! If l had been in a car he would've waved and thanked me - absolutely disgraceful. Appreciate it was just abuse and it didn't cost me or him anything in terms of money like yourself but there was just no need as l had done him a favour.

I have asked for id, but they know what they’re doing. There is absolutely no point in contacting the police, none whatsoever. They would not show up if I phoned them at the time and they wouldn’t pursue this afterwards either. You have to make them realise they have to be held accountable for their actions is for them to have insurance, with some kind of little plate on their bicycle with details on. Even then though, they would just change the events of the accident afterwards accepting no blame on their part. The actual only way to get them is to phone the police at the time of the accident and tell them that someone is injured (even if they are not) this is the only way the police will attend the incident.

18 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

I have asked for id, but they know what they’re doing. There is absolutely no point in contacting the police, none whatsoever. They would not show up if I phoned them at the time and they wouldn’t pursue this afterwards either. You have to make them realise they have to be held accountable for their actions is for them to have insurance, with some kind of little plate on their bicycle with details on. Even then though, they would just change the events of the accident afterwards accepting no blame on their part. The actual only way to get them is to phone the police at the time of the accident and tell them that someone is injured (even if they are not) this is the only way the police will attend the incident.

Make the call next time. You'll have whiplash.

1 hour ago, IronJambo said:

Make the call next time. You'll have whiplash.

:lol: I’m sure some would