• ri Alban

• glynnlondon

• ¼½¾

• Judge Fudge

inspector
7 hours ago, Georgecowie said:

What was the one with pipkin? Had time for Tickle on the Tum. 

Ralph McTell did the narration as well as the song to TOTT I think

3 minutes ago, inspector said:

Ralph McTell did the narration as well as the song to TOTT I think

Correct

And while I'm here

hqdefault.jpg

And the Adventure Game

The plant at the bottom right was the leader IIRC, and it was something to do with alien dragons

Adventure-Game-Fig-2.jpg

Edited by Smithee

55 minutes ago, LeftBack said:

Was it not Chugga Boom? 

Chugga-Boom appeared in The Perils of Penelope Pitstop as the successor to The Bulletproof Bomb.

4 minutes ago, Ominous said:

Glen michaels cartoon cavalcade 

Terrahawks

Zelda presents BBC breakfast.

43 minutes ago, Smithee said:

And the Adventure Game

The plant at the bottom right was the leader IIRC, and it was something to do with alien dragons

Adventure-Game-Fig-2.jpg

Gronda Gronda!

The plant is an aspidistra.

8 minutes ago, Rousset1 said:

Gronda Gronda!

The plant is an aspidistra.

That's right, it was raging about something.

Rentaghost, now that was a kids' show!

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Hey! Johnny Weissmuller was the one and only. 

While he was good, was he no just in films though?  Where as the other felly would be on every Saturday. 

1 minute ago, Lemongrab said:

While he was good, was he no just in films though?  Where as the other felly would be on every Saturday. 

Loved it, top tune.

Used to channel hop between Swap Shop and Tiswas on a Saturday morning. I had to get up off the sofa and walk to the telly to do it, though.

Also loved Grange Hill and Murphy's Mob amongst others.

American stuff was always a bit strange and psychedelic for me. Banana Splits did, however, have a terrific 3/4 Musketeers cartoon that made it worth watching. I couldn't watch HR Puff'n'stuff, though. Witchy-poo scared me to death as a wee lad.

Crap telly was plentiful too. Blue Peter was excruciatingly English and middle class. Probably still is. Chanced upon it about 10/15 years ago when Konnie Huq (sp) was presenting. She was making something with paper machete and said to camera that the kids would need plenty of old newspapers.

"You'll probably find some in your father's study".

I could imagine some wee kid in a Glasgow tower block asking his maw where da's study was. 

Although, as a teen in the mid '80's, I did watch it now and then because of Janet Ellis. 

6 minutes ago, Boof said:

Chugga-Boom appeared in The Perils of Penelope Pitstop as the successor to The Bulletproof Bomb.

20 minutes ago, martoon said:

I could imagine some wee kid in a Glasgow tower block asking his maw where da's study was. 

FTFY (somewhat cruelly and stereotypically in a feeble attempt at humour)

4 minutes ago, Boof said:

Are your horses far away or... 

😁

6 minutes ago, Boof said:

I thought about adding that, too. 😅

The red hand gang

Kids of degrassi street

Bod

We are the champions

The flashing blade

Banana splits

Cheggars plays pop

Chorlton and the wheelies

Huckleberry Finn and friends

Jossie's giants

Trumpton, chigley, etc

Jamie and his magic torch

Rainbow

On 07/05/2020 at 20:18, Morgan said:

Magpie.

By which I mean, Jenny Hanley.

This one? I believe the band who did the soundtrack were the brilliant FBI

Remember loving Why Don't You one summer holiday, and really looking forward to the next holiday's series, only for the Geordie kids to be replaced by some foghorn-voiced Northern Irish bunch. 

Needless to say I never watched it again. 

The summer holiday line-up was always good though. Huckleberry Finn, Pink Panther, Kick Start etc. 

10 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

The summer holiday line-up was always good though. Huckleberry Finn, Pink Panther, Kick Start etc. 

The summer holiday line up was always shite until the English schools went on holiday.

39 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

5 🌟 are shit. :D

Where as Matt Bianco are a bunch of wankers.

10 minutes ago, been here before said:

Where as Matt Bianco are a bunch of wankers.

Mac_fae_Gillie
On 09/05/2020 at 08:31, Craig_ said:

Get up real early for...

Champion the Wonder Horse

Harold Lloyd

Laural and Hardy

Buck Rogers(B/W version)

and stay up for "Why don't you"

On 08/05/2020 at 14:18, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

The red hand gang

Kids of degrassi street

Bod

We are the champions

The flashing blade

Banana splits

Cheggars plays pop

Chorlton and the wheelies

Huckleberry Finn and friends

Jossie's giants

Trumpton, chigley, etc

Jamie and his magic torch

Rainbow

On 08/05/2020 at 09:57, ri Alban said:

What was the show on before Rainbow that was Dinosaur puppets. I can remember them laughing.

Moshchops?

Judge Fudge
41 minutes ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

Get up real early for...

Champion the Wonder Horse

Harold Lloyd

Laural and Hardy

Buck Rogers(B/W version)

and stay up for "Why don't you"

You've got the order of shows spot on iirc, Swap Buck Rogers for Flash Gordon though. Starring Buster Crabbe, the best non porn star actor name of all time. 

Not really kids but there weren't many things me and my dad shared growing up. He doesn't like football that much. Ali, Space Race and The High Chaparral. I've just discovered it's on one of the Virgin channels. Made my day. 

Back on topic. In the 70's, as there were no video's etc to keep up with the banter in the schoolyard you HAD to watch certain programmes. Mine were always

The Hulk, (Bill Bixby version)

Six Million Dollar Man

Dukes of Hazzard

Starsky & Hutch

8 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Back on topic. In the 70's, as there were no video's etc to keep up with the banter in the schoolyard you HAD to watch certain programmes. Mine were always

The Hulk, (Bill Bixby version)

Six Million Dollar Man

Dukes of Hazzard

Starsky & Hutch

Also from that era Happy Days was essential viewing. 

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Couldn’t get a decent picture on HTV so hard to watch

magic roundabout

Anyone remember Barriers?

The opening theme was a bit haunting for a kids TV programme. I remember wanting to know what happened to his parents. 

Until I googled it I never realised some of it was filmed in Edinburgh. 

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

:fonzie:

On 08/05/2020 at 05:30, martoon said:

Used to channel hop between Swap Shop and Tiswas on a Saturday morning. I had to get up off the sofa and walk to the telly to do it, though.

Also loved Grange Hill and Murphy's Mob amongst others.

American stuff was always a bit strange and psychedelic for me. Banana Splits did, however, have a terrific 3/4 Musketeers cartoon that made it worth watching. I couldn't watch HR Puff'n'stuff, though. Witchy-poo scared me to death as a wee lad.

Crap telly was plentiful too. Blue Peter was excruciatingly English and middle class. Probably still is. Chanced upon it about 10/15 years ago when Konnie Huq (sp) was presenting. She was making something with paper machete and said to camera that the kids would need plenty of old newspapers.

"You'll probably find some in your father's study".

Although, as a teen in the mid '80's, I did watch it now and then because of Janet Ellis

:ruiner:

10 hours ago, Lovecraft said:

Moshchops?

Naw bud, it was a hand puppet show. Everything in darkness except them.

A T-Rex, Triceratops and. Pterodactyl. I think!

On 07/05/2020 at 20:31, Judge Fudge said:

Anyone remember those children foundation films, they were a bit like a mix between public information films and cheesy shit drama.

image.jpeg

Yeh, they used to put them on down at the Calton Film Studios on a Saturday afternoon.

On 08/05/2020 at 09:57, ri Alban said:

What was the show on before Rainbow that was Dinosaur puppets. I can remember them laughing.

Oscar the Rabbit?  It had a pterodactyl and a dragon puppet. 

59530ac01d0b70d65e194e8503e7d3ec.jpg

8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Naw bud, it was a hand puppet show. Everything in darkness except them.

A T-Rex, Triceratops and. Pterodactyl. I think!

Sounds like The Dinosaur Show.

I used to be terrified of the Pterodactyl

Edited by Lovecraft

On 08/05/2020 at 11:01, ri Alban said:

Zelda presents BBC breakfast.

What?

8 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Sounds like The Dinosaur Show.

I used to be terrified of the Pterodactyl

He was evil, with a laugh to match. :D