Pasta

Morgan

Seeing as it’s a bit of a food thread day.

Favourite pasta?  Not the sauce, just the pasta shape.

My top five  are Penne, Rigatoni, Tagliatelle, Bucatini and good old Spaghetti.

Add your favourites sauces too though!

14 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Marshalls Macaroni 👍

Absolutely this. None of your foreign muck.

36 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

linguine.

Good one, forgot about that. 

It’s linguine or spaghetti for me, way better than your more compact pasta shapes.

edit: tagliatelle as well. 

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

would probably go with tagliatelle as it can mop up lots of whatever sauce you want

You can go with pappardelle for really saucy stuff

Fusilli is great for holding a sauce.

With spaghetti you tend to just get some wet, bare spaghetti then a bowl of sauce.

Orzo is great in soups.

Ravioli is never a bad shout.

Two not-really-pasta-but-still-delicious-with-pasta-sauce things are Gnocchi and Gnudi

IronJambo

I thought my favourite was Thomas the tank shapes but I had ninja turtle ones last week and they were the business.

32 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

I thought my favourite was Thomas the tank shapes but I had ninja turtle ones last week and they were the business.

Sake, I've no had those daft shaped yins in years! 

Put me down for 3 tins. 

I can give it a miss - never been into pasta for some reason - one of the world boring foods for me ( everyone is different)

3 minutes ago, 12XU said:

I can give it a miss - never been into pasta for some reason - one of the world boring foods for me ( everyone is different)

Aye, i'm a bit like that too. I've got a couple of bags of tubes and swirls in the cupboard and some pasta sauces but they will probably be the last thing i go to during lockdown. 

1 hour ago, IronJambo said:

turtles dont beat thomas. not a chance. if you have a problem with that this person will sort you out

Sir_Topham_Hatt_1986.jpg

34 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Macaroni with cheese sauce and with bacon thrown in.

you've missed the bit about without sauce. mind you @Morgan is that type of deviant who would like pasta without sauce

1 hour ago, jb102 said:

What happened to long spaghetti?

2foot long spag is my favourite. 

In the long blue paper bags?

FFS, you’re going back donkeys.  :) 

2 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

you've missed the bit about without sauce. mind you @Morgan is that type of deviant who would like pasta without sauce

Aglio, Olio e Peperoncino.

:sweeet:

39 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Macaroni with cheese sauce and with bacon thrown in.

Comfort food.

Is that wee Comfort food restaurant still at the top of the Mound?  And the one on Forest Road?

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

In the long blue paper bags?

FFS, you’re going back donkeys.  :) 

would there not be the problem unless you had a pot big enough that 1/3 would be overcooked, 1/3 right and 1/3 undercooked? due to the length

i'll add :oohmatron: myself

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Comfort food.

Is that wee Comfort food restaurant still at the top of the Mound?  And the one on Forest Road?

what one at the top of the mound?

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

Let me be the first to say.... PARMESAN

Just now, Space Pirate said:

Let me be probably the only one to say.... CAPERS

Let this be the first time I’ve ever said to you....

:spoton:    Two wonderful things.

Pecorino Romano?  :sweeet:

Just now, milky_26 said:

what one at the top of the mound?

Used to to be a pub?

Carwash, or something?

would there not be the problem unless you had a pot big enough that 1/3 would be overcooked, 1/3 right and 1/3 undercooked? due to the length

i'll add :oohmatron: myself

The only person with a ‘pot’ big enough on this thread, is the aforementioned Janet.  :) 

Used to to be a pub?

Carwash, or something?

think it is just a pub now

just googled it, it looks like decent pub grub so maybe the same place

Edited by milky_26

Let this be the first time I’ve ever said to you....

:spoton:    Two wonderful things.

Pecorino Romano?  :sweeet:

Finally, we can agree on something, What a day. 

You living in italy or something?

15 minutes from the Italian border.  I can see Italy from my bed/balcony.

What a day, indeed.

Cheers, SP :cheers:

@Morgan lives in france near the italian border. or more accurately near the beaches where old italian  men wear budgie smugglers

think it is just a pub now

I’ve not been on the Mound since last May, and haven’t been in Edinburgh since January this year.  :sad: 

Cheers, Milky.  

15 minutes from the Italian border.  I can see Italy from my bed/balcony.

What a day, indeed.

Cheers, SP :cheers:

Thank feck It's not the city of Spoleto. 

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

@Morgan lives in france near the italian border. or more accurately near the beaches where old italian  men wear budgie smugglers

You and your memory.  👍

Thank feck It's not the city of Spoleto. 

Ha!

Bloody right, mate.

He was some boy.  :facepalm:

I’ve not been on the Mound since last May, and haven’t been in Edinburgh since January this year.  :sad: 

Cheers, Milky.  

check my edit, and you have been in edinburgh more recently than me

I'm going to be a lot nicer to you now Morgan cos i'm wanting to come visit you. haha

you are just hoping you can get lucky with janet

I'm going to be a lot nicer to you now Morgan cos i'm wanting to come visit you. haha

BYOB.

2 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Try the Peppa Pig ones, they're the shizzles.

3 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

you are just hoping you can get lucky with janet

If you’ll pardon the pun - it’s not hard.

To get lucky with Janet, that is.  :) 

Perhaps SP needs to know about the great white, better known as Janet the Gannet?

Edited by Morgan

Just now, graygo said:

Try the Peppa Pig ones, they're the shizzles.

Feck Peppa Pig.

Where’s your avatar?  :sad: 

JKB is not the same.

7 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

check my edit, and you have been in edinburgh more recently than me

Where do you stay?

I just always assumed it was Auld Reekie?

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

If you’ll pardon the pun - it’s not hard.

To get lucky with Janet, that is.  :) 

Perhaps SP needs to know about the great white, better known as Janet the Gannet?

blue whale seems more appropriate

Just now, Morgan said:

Where do you stay?

I just always assumed it was Auld Reekie?

north west england. parents live in east lothian where i grew up

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

blue whale seems more appropriate

As as long as we agree on ‘whale’ we're doing good, here.

Just now, milky_26 said:

Cool!  :thumbsup:

Meant to say, I’ve got good friends in both Haddington and Port Seton.