Wildlife getting braver

I've seen pictures of wildcats in people's gardens, deer just hanging about the streets etc

Well now I've just seen something myself and I've no idea what it was. 

It looked like a squirrel but slightly fatter and no tail. It was brown, not the red colour a squirrel would be and not grey. 

Any ideas?

• Replies 220

• ri Alban

• Greedy Jambo

• Dawnrazor

Just now, Space Pirate said:

I've seen pictures of wildcats in people's gardens, deer just hanging about the streets etc

It looked like a squirrel but slightly fatter and no tail. It was brown, not the red colour a squirrel would be and not grey. 

Any ideas?

You need some sort of a befriender.

Just now, been here before said:

You need some sort of a befriender.

You need a slap round the chops but we cant all get what we want. 

22 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Any ideas?

A Doberman. 

25 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Any ideas?

OK, I'll attempt some sort of serious response...   :kirk:

Was it on the ground or up a tree? Did you see it near water? Are you in Edinburgh area, or another part of the country?

1 minute ago, Auld Reekin' said:

OK, I'll attempt some sort of serious response...   :kirk:

Was it on the ground or up a tree? Did you see it near water? Are you in Edinburgh area, or another part of the country?

It was on the ground in a neighbours garden. She puts food out for the birds so it was probably after a scran. 

I'm not all that far from linhouse waters and the almond. 

Seaside jambo
7 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

It was on the ground in a neighbours garden. She puts food out for the birds so it was probably after a scran. 

A Beaver 

1 minute ago, Seaside jambo said:

A Beaver 

Dam good shout. (No really though) 

1 minute ago, Seaside jambo said:

A Beaver 

You could be on to something. 

It was defo this colour but not all that much bigger than a squirrel. 

Maybe it was a young yin. 

Not really the same face though. 

beaver-2_2533418b.jpg

15 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

It could be a Bank Vole, or even a Water Vole, although they're much less common these days: used to see loads of them in the Water of Leith in the 60s, until the mink came along... Both have tails, but only quite short ones.

(Alternatively, an adventurous escapee Guinea Pig?)

Edited by Auld Reekin'

Just now, Lovecraft said:

Water vole

water-vole.jpg

Aye! I think you may have cracked it. Looked a lot more like that. 

Looking into water voles, they're under threat, so i'm going to class this as a rare sighting. 

Wish i'd got a picture but it buggered off pronto. 

43 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Could be a muskrat if you’re near the river. They’re in Scotland now. 

Didn't know that... Raccoons are in Germany and Spain, and therefore no-doubt various other European countries, too. The story I heard about the German ones was that Hermann Goering thought it'd be good to introduce them to give him and his mates more things to go out and shoot once their glorious victory had been achieved.

1 hour ago, Space Pirate said:

Any ideas?

a Guinea Pig.

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

a Guinea Pig.

Nah, it wasn't as cute as that. It looked like it knew how to survive in the wild but without looking like a horrible rat. 

Cairneyhill Jambo
1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Could be a muskrat if you’re near the river. They’re in Scotland now. 

Fortunately, there are no muskrats in Scotland now. 

1 hour ago, Space Pirate said:

Aye! I think you may have cracked it. Looked a lot more like that. 

They’re smaller than squirrels btw. 

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

They’re smaller than squirrels btw. 

Right, well, it's still anonymous then. 

It looked slightly bigger than a squirrel, quite flat looking, rather than having a hump or curve to it's body. 

5 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

Any ideas?

Probably a squirrel that's been mauled by a cat. The redish colour probably dried in blood and lost its tail In the fight. 

4 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

They should reintroduce bears and wolfs here, just to make things more interesting. 

Would fecking well clear the parks right enough. 

12 hours ago, Space Pirate said:

Any ideas?

Reflection?

13 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

The last time I saw a beaver was in a 70s porno film.

There's been no sign of the OP this morning. I'm away to search the news for animal attacks around Mid Calder.

Then on to 70s beaver.

1 hour ago, Lemongrab said:

To clarify, that's  1970s as opposed to just 70s 👵. :D 

Thanks.  👍

I did wonder.

I saw a smashing fox in next door's garden the other night, a surprisingly big one. It watched me come and go but stood it's ground. Magic!

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

I saw a smashing fox in next door's garden the other night, a surprisingly big one. It watched me come and go but stood it's ground. Magic!

You sure it wasn't a ginger Alsatian?

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I was thinking young Arsene Wenger

You just may be onto something there!