Career change to IT

Jee

Has anyone else done this and how'd did you get on changing?

I'm looking at the 16 week Code Clan course with a view to changing from my current industry (Oil & Gas) to software development. It will be a complete sea change from what I do now, with dirty coveralls on, to an industry which has a brighter future. I'm sick and tired of working away from home now so to get back at night to my own bed would be fab.

Any advice on where I should start in order to achieve this? I've an interest in computers since I was a kid but have no formal training here at all so I'm really a complete beginner.

7 minutes ago, Jee said:

I'm looking at the 16 week Code Clan course with a view to changing from my current industry (Oil & Gas) to software development. It will be a complete sea change from what I do now, with dirty coveralls on, to an industry which has a brighter future. I'm sick and tired of working away from home now so to get back at night to my own bed would be fab.

Any advice on where I should start in order to achieve this? I've an interest in computers since I was a kid but have no formal training here at all so I'm really a complete beginner.

A lot depends on the roles you are targeting.

A degree in computer science may be a minimum requirement for a junior position.

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

A degree in computer science may be a minimum requirement for a junior position.

What should I be targeting when you consider It's not possible for me to attain a degree now?

Edinburgh market for software development is really hot at the moment.  Developers are able to choose between roles.  Only thing which might change that is changes to IR35 (contractors) which may result in more contractors looking to go full time.