Aberdeen to reduce stadium capacity

Getintaethem

Aberdeen are set to reduce their stadium capacity in order to try to improve the atmosphere in their library... err...stadium.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51830824

Chairman Dave Cormack also puts to bed the myth that they’re the third biggest club in Scotland:

"We are the fifth-best supported team in Scotland in terms of season tickets and attendances. Season tickets deliver around £2m a year in income, with walk‐ups and away fans contributing £1m, and AberDNA about £1m. In total, that's almost half the football budget.

Reduce? They may as well make new stadium (if it happens)a 10k seater 🤣

Edited by Hearts007

Im sure the massive debts they will accrue building their out of town £50m+ stadium will see their crowds increase again though. 

1 minute ago, Paul Shark said:

Desperately trying to put some positive spin on an utterly embarrassing situation 😂

It’s cool though. They have money for a £50m+ stadium, so it shouldn’t be an issue. Maybe when they move to that they can just close a stand straight from the off and allow “supporters to decorate it” instead? 🤷‍♂️

They should give the Old Firm the full Dick Donald stand, 1662 are available now and they'd increase that to 6000.  At £30 a ticket that's an additional £130k per game x 4.

Randy Marsh

They should just close the whole stadium down.  It's a crumbling shithole.  It actually annoys me that teams have almost gone to the wall having to upgrade their stadiums (like Dunfermline etc) to be in the top flight while Aberdeen were allowed to let theirs rot.

18 minutes ago, Randy Marsh said:

They should just close the whole stadium down.  It's a crumbling shithole.  It actually annoys me that teams have almost gone to the wall having to upgrade their stadiums (like Dunfermline etc) to be in the top flight while Aberdeen were allowed to let theirs rot.

They would if they had somewhere to go. But where to? Nobody knows yet when they'll even start to build their Kingsford stadium.

Randy Marsh
2 minutes ago, steven_mck said:

They would if they had somewhere to go. But where to? Nobody knows yet when they'll even start to build their Kingsford stadium.

They could easily redevelop Pittodrie.  Wiggy is just fleecing them.

27 minutes ago, Cade said:

Tin pot 80's throwbacks

Came on here to write exactly this!

6 minutes ago, Randy Marsh said:

Yes, this whole stadium thing is really just a massive real estate deal being spun as something beneficial and required for the club. It's pieman-esque.

Strange. What does reducing the operational capacity mean - isn't  it just not selling tickets for the upper tier of one stand if there is no demand? Don't lots of clubs already do that for parts of their grounds including us for diddy cup games against diddies? As for fans "decorating" the closed tier??? A weird place is Furry Boot city. 

N Lincs Jambo

No idea why they built that stand (or why Motherwell built their stand behind the goal). Both totally out of character with the rest of the stadium. I used to love going to Pittodrie when we got the whole Beach End. The atmosphere used to be great back then when our end was full.

38 minutes ago, Randy Marsh said:

Absolutely, vast expanses of space around most sides of that shithole. 

Not read one good reason that justifies the move yet. 

5 minutes ago, communist said:

Absolutely, vast expanses of space around most sides of that shithole. 

Not read one good reason that justifies the move yet. 

Ripping the soul out of the club for some ****ing Meccano-Identikit stadium. 

For the £50 odd million they're spunking up a wall, they could have secured the land around the stadium and renovated it. 

And it will be more. It always is. 

Always thought this new stadium was a waste of time and money and could ultimately harm Aberdeen. The whole idea just screams white elephant. 

It's certainly not going to suddenly catapult them into being a bigger/better club. 

Scotland's blandest football club. 

HardcoreJambo

Their attendances are incredibly poor for a club that size and Cormack seems to have the right idea about trying to generate an atmosphere and attract youngsters to support the club. I can't knock the guy for trying something different. I want to see Ourselves, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and even the Hobos try something to make football more exciting again. The OF and SFA has completely killed the game in Scotland and as a result I think a lot of fans of other clubs have lost some enthusiasm. I'm also looking forward to seeing the new 15,000 seater stadium that is being proposed by Dundee FC.

Tbh I think they will boost their attendances under Cormack. He seems to have the right idea. Its the worst stadium in the premiership, the worst atmosphere as a result and the football Aberdeen play is utterly turgid. He's reduced their ticket prices (they were the highest ticket prices outside the old firm since Milne took over). The "Red shed" should help them generate some sort of atmosphere similar to their away supports. I've been told their new stadium will be 18k but will be extended to 25k if Scotland successfully applies to host the European Champs with either England or Ireland.

4 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

pretty similar to FoH donations.

It's totally different. It's a membership scheme with all money going into the first team budget according to the website.

That name though.... 🤣 Although perhaps this is a solution for Aberdeen's rubbish crowds. Cloning. There is a sheep connection after all. Imagine 10,000 Willie Millers gesticulating from the stands!

Supposedly.........Pittodrie has failed its last 4 uefa inspections due to poor use of the whole stadium 🤷🏽‍♂️
If they Reduce the capacity it solves that problem and also halves an ongoing problem they have with drainage but will also save them

money on rates and insurance etc.

I believe the new stadium if it materialises will seat 19800 not the quoted 30k. 

Are they not closing seats in the upper section of the big stand behind the goal? Essentially the most modern stand with the best seats?

IveSeenTheLight
48 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Sounds wank mate

what FoH donations? ;)

46 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

It's totally different. It's a membership scheme with all money going into the first team budget according to the website.

It’s regular (or one off) donations toward helping the club.

Essentially just another type of revenue stream.

Its not just first team either as it’s used for youth development as well.

There are inclusions that give you a free replica top and discounted season tickets, but essentially it’s just an opportunity for those to give more to the club if they wish to.

JamboAndrew

There is no shame in them admitting they are a wee club. If they need inspiration just look at hibs. They are a wee diddy club and shameless.

5 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

what FoH donations? ;)

It’s regular (or one off) donations toward helping the club.

Essentially just another type of revenue stream.

Its not just first team either as it’s used for youth development as well.

There are inclusions that give you a free replica top and discounted season tickets, but essentially it’s just an opportunity for those to give more to the club if they wish to.

Now the fan ownership element of FoH has been met, I wouldn't be against it being turned into a similar membership scheme with other benefits etc on top of the voting rights. I think that would be more likely to get people to keep contributing or encourage new members to sign up. Only thing is people need to be employed to manage that, whereas FoH is currently run by volunteers I think.

Nothing wrong with their DNA thing. Hell of a lot better supported than HSL for example. 

Saying that my daughter has made more sponsor money going round the relatives than HSL has. 

Lets hand out 90000 tickets to schoolkids , reduce our capacity to 15500. We will sell 11000 tickets , 19 games , im sure thats just over 4500 tickets to schoolkids so the capacity is over with that and no away fans. 🤷🏻‍♂️ 

Rick Sanchez

You just know that Aberdeen fan wants to rip right into us and our league position :laugh:

Don't worry mate, we know.

Psychedelicropcircle
1 hour ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

pretty similar to FoH donations.

Who puts in?

8 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

You just know that Aberdeen fan wants to rip right into us and our league position :laugh:

Don't worry mate, we know.

He'd be speaking from experience if so. They've been down this end of the table more than a few times -  a lot more than us in the last 20-25 years or so anyhow. Needed a play-off to stay up once and another time only avoided a playoff because Falkirk's stadium wasn't up to scratch, and were helped by league reconstruction.

They have an ever dwindling support about to get even smaller when they move to their new soulless subutteo stadium. 

nothing wrong with them admitting this to be honest. Which is exactly what they have done. Their home attendances are embarrassing for a club with a whole catchment area to themselves and a team consistently 2nd-3rd in the league. 
They are certs to probably be the next club to sell their backsides and give the old firm more than one stand for their home fixtures.

pathetic club

IveSeenTheLight
2 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

They are certs to probably be the next club to sell their backsides and give the old firm more than one stand for their home fixtures.

pathetic club

I'm sure we reduced their allocation before you guys

HardcoreJambo
11 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Embarrassing, thing is the last few years is as good as it gets for them on the pitch. The only way is down

For anyone outside the OF its as good as it gets. Ourselves, Aberdeen, Hobos, Dundee Utd and occasionally Motherwell and kilie will take it in turns for best of the rest like it has been since the monopoly of the two ugly sisters. Scottish football is boring. Its predictable. Its all about The Rangers and Celtic. Its corrupt. The attendances for teams like Aberdeen are dwindling because theres absolutely no hope for success. Its taken Hibs over 100 years to win the Scottish cup and Aberdeen 25 years to win a cup (the league cup). Two of Scotlands bigger clubs outside the OF. We ourselves haven't won much in the last 50-60 years. Scottish football would benefit greatly if the Old firm pissed off to England or some European super league. Look how crowds across Scotland increased once Dead Rangers went defunct. People for a very short time were enthusiastic and excited again about football in Scotland because it eliminated one of the ugly sisters. Scottish football has reverted back to its previous state and theres apathy across all clubs in Scotland. Football has gone s**t once again and will remain so until the SFA (corrupt bast**ds) are booted and the OF leave for England.

IveSeenTheLight
Just now, HardcoreJambo said:

For anyone outside the OF its as good as it gets. Ourselves, Aberdeen, Hobos, Dundee Utd and occasionally Motherwell and kilie will take it in turns for best of the rest like it has been since the monopoly of the two ugly sisters. Scottish football is boring. Its predictable. Its all about The Rangers and Celtic. Its corrupt. The attendances for teams like Aberdeen are dwindling because theres absolutely no hope for success. Its taken Hibs over 100 years to win the Scottish cup and Aberdeen 25 years to win a cup (the league cup). Two of Scotlands bigger clubs outside the OF. We ourselves haven't won much in the last 50-60 years. Scottish football would benefit greatly if the Old firm pissed off to England or some European super league. Look how crowds across Scotland increased once Dead Rangers went defunct. People for a very short time were enthusiastic and excited again about football in Scotland because it eliminated one of the ugly sisters. Scottish football has reverted back to its previous state and theres apathy across all clubs in Scotland. Football has gone s**t once again and will remain so until the SFA (corrupt bast**ds) are booted and the OF leave for England.

^^^^^^^^

This man gets it.

The Scottish league would be far more competitive without the two cheeks

3 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

I'm sure we reduced their allocation before you guys

you’ve been 2nd and 3rd consistently past 6 seasons.  Yet you are closing part of your stadium due to shit attendances. 
Crack on though

5 minutes ago, HardcoreJambo said:

Not all true. A Hearts side getting league positions that the sheep have had last 6 seasons would be selling out. But then we also have 8,000 putting in over £1m a season in donations.

thats the difference 

6 minutes ago, HardcoreJambo said:

To the topic of the thread though, when we we're doing well or even when we're doing not so well, we fill a lot more of our stadium than Aberdeen does. While Aberdeen were finishing second and we were down in the Championship, our average home attendance was a fair bit above theirs.

7 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

^^^^^^^^

This man gets it.

The Scottish league would be far more competitive without the two cheeks

I’d love it if they buggered off. Reality is they are here for a good while yet unfortunately