The rise and fall of The SNP.

21 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Unyet we can find the money to pay £BILLIONS in nuclear subs and additional warheads that nobody needs or even wants...BILLIONS that don't benefit anyone!

Government is there to support its citizens. Not the other way around.

People have lost sight of that.

Yes i just cant understand how any Govt can justify spending that amount of money on weapons we should never use anyway. No one would " win" in a Nuclear war. 

2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

And by the same token the people here who wish the Union to remain seem to have turned their ire on their own place. 
Check this thread or any thread or indeed any social media about the constitution for derogatory comments about brigadoon, tartan, shortbread, scroungers, jakeys, heroin, haggis, braveheart etc etc. 
They can’t just say they want the Union to remain they have to trash their own country relentlessly into the bargain. 
A pretty bizarre mindset for me. 

Yes I see a lot of this on my Facebook as i have a few Unionist friends who are usually fine but then resort to these kind of self loathing Scottish cliches and statements. 

1 hour ago, Ron Burgundy said:

This is it for me.

Do people really think that people want to remain in the union simply because they like the Union Flag? People have concerns over jobs, pensions, mortgages and their children's future.

I would gladly have the flag of Uganda on my passport if it meant a better life for my kids.

And I would selfishly take independence in a heartbeat if it meant I would be better off financially. But I wont risk it on a promise, especially to a party that has no concern for mine or my kids future once they have achieved their only goal.

Show me concrete factual evidence my life will be better and I am getting out the blue and white war paint. Until then I will always be against it.

Yes you hit the nail on the head. People will vote for Indy due to their own personal circumstances.  I had never really discussed Independence  at the last Ref with one of my nieces. She is 30 .  However i just assumed she would be a yes as she is young. I know rather niave. She isn't. She stated quite clearly she would be worried about her children's future in an independent Scotland due to the economy and what may happen. 

• Replies 16.3k

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• manaliveits105

• Roxy Hearts

New Scottish Parliament poll, Opinium 1 - 6 Apr (changes vs 11 - 16 Mar):

Constituency:
SNP ~ 53% (+7)
Con ~ 21% (-3)
Lab ~ 18% (-2)
LD ~ 6% (nc)

List:
SNP ~ 44% (+2)
Con ~ 22% (nc)
Lab ~ 17% (-2)
Grn ~ 7% (nc)
LD ~ 5% (nc)
Alba ~ 2% (+2)

doomed.png.e09451af206475387ac2fd464790dee9.png :gok:

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes i just cant understand how any Govt can justify spending that amount of money on weapons we should never use anyway. No one would " win" in a Nuclear war. 

Horrifyingly, the Uk appears to want to develop more WMDs. The stuff the US, Russians and Chinese are developing are nightmarish weapons - hypersonic missiles that evade normal launch monitoring and go at such speeds, that they can evade detection/current missile defences - with the ability to change course and target as they fly, possibly using AI. The Russian avantgarde missile travels at Mach 27.  They don't fly predictable paths by going into LEO where they can be spotted by satellite monitoring, making them a nightmare to intercept even if you can spot them. 

Worse, these weapons aren't designed to fit the Mutally Assured Destruction doctrine either, but as precision, first-strike weapons. If you have enough weapons that give the enemy very little reaction time, aimed at critical infrastructure, and time that with massive cyber attack on utilities and communications, you could potentially neutralise a country's ability to respond meaningfully. 

Can only hope that this new arms race ends up in another stalemate since there appears to be little appetite for de-escalation. 

25 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Horrifyingly, the Uk appears to want to develop more WMDs. The stuff the US, Russians and Chinese are developing are nightmarish weapons - hypersonic missiles that evade normal launch monitoring and go at such speeds, that they can evade detection/current missile defences - with the ability to change course and target as they fly, possibly using AI. The Russian avantgarde missile travels at Mach 27.  They don't fly predictable paths by going into LEO where they can be spotted by satellite monitoring, making them a nightmare to intercept even if you can spot them. 

Worse, these weapons aren't designed to fit the Mutally Assured Destruction doctrine either, but as precision, first-strike weapons. If you have enough weapons that give the enemy very little reaction time, aimed at critical infrastructure, and time that with massive cyber attack on utilities and communications, you could potentially neutralise a country's ability to respond meaningfully. 

Can only hope that this new arms race ends up in another stalemate since there appears to be little appetite for de-escalation. 

I watched a bit the other day about these weapons. Their capabilities are ridiculous and they have officially moved the doomsday clock forward to 100 seconds to midnight. 
Terrifying. 

Edited by jack D and coke

4 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

This is it for me.

Do people really think that people want to remain in the union simply because they like the Union Flag?

Some people undoubtedly do ! 

3 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

Ffs that’s crap mate , was it an error not renewing or a choice ? Personally I’d love to be able to get a different job 

I decided to stop working to look after elderly mother so there wasn't much point in renewing .

The Finance Secretary Kate Forbes is a compulsive liar or not very bright .

Roxy Hearts
2 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Rubbish.

Tell that to Sevco fans, Orange men, Ian Murray, UK government, Tories, EDL, shops, etc, etc...

6 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Tell that to Sevco fans, Orange men, Ian Murray, UK government, Tories, EDL, shops, etc, etc...

So by the same token many Independence supporters want to separate purely out of hatred for the English and to hell with the consequences?

Roxy Hearts
2 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

So by the same token many Independence supporters want to separate purely out of hatred for the English and to hell with the consequences?

Can't stand people who hate the English. I wish independence for Scotland but the English are our friends and always will be. I don't like the UJ myself but wish the English people would fly the St. George's Cross. 

I have English family and friends too and enjoy the banter of the politics.

Just now, Roxy Hearts said:

Can't stand people who hate the English. I wish independence for Scotland but the English are our friends and always will be. I don't like the UJ myself but wish the English people would fly the St. George's Cross. 

I have English family and friends too and enjoy the banter of the politics.

Me too, father was English, plenty English family and my two sons have an English mother.

I will be honest and state my reason for not wanting independence would change overnight if cast iron guarantees could be made regarding the future and I know they can't so I will accept the status quo as I am not wealthy enough to take a hit if it all went Pete Tong.

I also despise wee Krankie as much as Bojo and anyone who thinks she is less sleekit or devious is blind in my opinion. I could never bring myself to vote Tory or SNP.

1 hour ago, Gizmo said:

As you say horrifying. 

17 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Me too, father was English, plenty English family and my two sons have an English mother.

I will be honest and state my reason for not wanting independence would change overnight if cast iron guarantees could be made regarding the future and I know they can't so I will accept the status quo as I am not wealthy enough to take a hit if it all went Pete Tong.

I also despise wee Krankie as much as Bojo and anyone who thinks she is less sleekit or devious is blind in my opinion. I could never bring myself to vote Tory or SNP.

ach it will probably only be 10 years of chaos and austerity but on the bright side there will be a statue of Nicoliar in George Square with a cone on her heid so there will.

1 hour ago, Ron Burgundy said:

That must be the daftest argument against independence ever.  Can you tell me whenever the uk government have ever given you a cast iron guarantee about the future under WM. Nobody can guarantee anything, it's just that the majority of Scots now want our future to be run by Scotland 

On 07/04/2021 at 12:19, coconut doug said:

You got the "free stuff" and still do and you get it in larger quantities than almost anybody else. Who funded your education and who continues to do so with all the courses you still attend? Who paid for your student grant over an extended period? Who pays for your services and insulates you from the real world? Who pays for the premises you have used and the materials you use? GPs have a more than generous settlement from the taxpayer and yet you constatly bleat about how much tax you pay while simultaneously telling us you are successful. Clearly if you are not getting as much money as you think you merit then you are not that successful especially since in your case money seems to be the only thing you care about and is the measure of success for you. 

By free stuff i imagine you mean free prescriptions to those who are ill. What sort of human being, never mind doctor grudges people their medicine? You will no doubt be prescribing stuff that is beneficial to you i.e. you will get some sort of inducement to prescribe one drug over another irrespective of its efficay to either the patient or the public purse. In common with most GPs you will also be exploiting nurses and community health staff who will be doing tasks that you should be doing. It is a widespread misuse of public funds which you wont admit to because it is fraudulent. At the same time you will charge exhorbitant rates for filling out a form or providing a medical inspection for someone seeking employment. 

Your posts are way off the scale for arrogance and entitlement. You would not last very long in the real world with the skill set of the average GP. What could you do without the taxpayer funded NHS? I can't see the public buying your elixirs and investing in a knowledge base so easily accessible on the internet. What can you offer without the diagnostic freebies we get from the NHS? Virtually nothing is my guess. 

It might be an idea in an Indy Scotland to dispense with the bureacratic and financial burden of the GP service and direct our funding to the front line clinicians. We can provide the triage service offered by the GPs in a much more efficient and tax friendly way.

Why do you keep telling us you don't feel held back by England? Who is claiming that they are and what do you think it even means?

As bizarre a rant as it goes..... NHS salaries are held artificially low by operating in a socialist monopoly, in a capitalist country .

Compare our wages against other r occupations in £ph.

I charge less than a mechanic / plumber/ roofer and so on.

Check your bills - it’s true.

in fact compare our wages to private health care globally .

Didn’t say I grudged money spent on health care.

And I can assure you, I have more than repaid my training costs / education / uni / and so on many many times over.

Why do you think nobody wants to be a GP anymore?

Wage depreciation vs staying in hospital or emigrate and double your money for fewer hours.

Or retrain as a tube driver and go round in circles a few days a week for more money.

”public servants”= having the piss taken out of you .

On 07/04/2021 at 13:03, felix said:

No he wasn't - and The Times is currently subject to a legal complaint for reporting the same, so be careful.

Sometimes it is.

No-one asks to be born into circumstances that will diminissh their life chances, so voting for party that aims for a fairer society , distributing wealth more evenly, seems somthing worth voting for.

Nobody can distribute the wealth that needs shared more evenly.

those guys are untouchable .

that is the truth

The reality is you merely hammer the middle classes because we cannot avoid it, move it or hide it.

Catching the cash of the truly wealthy is like catching smoke.

Really want to increase revenues?

Ban cash completely, then see who is happy paying “their fair share”.

Many people would be squealing like stuck pigs.

I DEMAND THAT THE SNP ACCURATELY PREDICT EVERY EVENT FOR THE NEXT THIRTY YEARS OR IM VOTING NO AGAIN

Edited by Cade

21 minutes ago, Cade said:

I DEMAND THAT THE SNP ACCURATELY PREDICT EVERY EVENT FOR THE NEXT THIRTY YEARS OR IM VOTING NO AGAIN

Or that they simply provide an economic case that stands up to scrutiny given its all our futures at stake, perhaps?!

The Hogfather
7 hours ago, Jeffros Furios said:

I believe only half of the 38,000  met the criteria for the grant. 

Also the other devolved nations paid at least double that of the  Scot Gov .

That doesn't explain where the £20m went though. If people didn't meet the criteria, then that's fair enough, I don't know what the criteria was so I can't comment on it, but just over a 3rd of the money being "reallocated"? To where?

26 minutes ago, loveofthegame said:

Or that they simply provide an economic case that stands up to scrutiny given its all our futures at stake, perhaps?!

That would entail them admitting they have been an unmitigated disaster at growing the Scottish economy and revenue base and their whole incompetent executive is dependent on Barnett billions. Nicoliar is allergic to facts and truth and as a result her cult are sheep headed for a cliff edge. If her party ever starts telling the truth they might veer away and we can't have that. 

Edited by JackLadd

3 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

ach it will probably only be 10 years of chaos and austerity but on the bright side there will be a statue of Nicoliar in George Square with a cone on her heid so there will.

So, same as same as then except possibly exiting austerity earlier than under the tories. ;)

1 hour ago, Nunya Business said:

That doesn't explain where the £20m went though. If people didn't meet the criteria, then that's fair enough, I don't know what the criteria was so I can't comment on it, but just over a 3rd of the money being "reallocated"? To where?

Probably spend on cycle lanes :jj_facepalm:

Roxy Hearts
3 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

A lot of people feel the way you do. For me it's about getting the governments we vote for and the policies best suited for our needs.

Roxy Hearts
51 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

That would entail them admitting they have been an unmitigated disaster at growing the Scottish economy and revenue base and their whole incompetent executive is dependent on Barnett billions. Nicoliar is allergic to facts and truth and as a result her cult are sheep headed for a cliff edge. If her party ever starts telling the truth they might veer away and we can't have that. 

Who was responsible for education when you were at school?

7 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Who was responsible for education when you were at school?

Not you or your SNP thankfully otherwise I'd think 2 plus 2 is 22. 

Roxy Hearts
3 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

Not you or your SNP thankfully otherwise I'd think 2 plus 2 is 22. 

Makes sense now. Cheers! 

The Hogfather
1 hour ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Probably spend on cycle lanes :jj_facepalm:

Not in Edinburgh they won't be. The lowest funded local authority in Scotland per head.

Paddy Crossan
4 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

As bizarre a rant as it goes..... NHS salaries are held artificially low by operating in a socialist monopoly, in a capitalist country .

Compare our wages against other r occupations in £ph.

I charge less than a mechanic / plumber/ roofer and so on.

Check your bills - it’s true.

in fact compare our wages to private health care globally .

Didn’t say I grudged money spent on health care.

And I can assure you, I have more than repaid my training costs / education / uni / and so on many many times over.

Why do you think nobody wants to be a GP anymore?

Wage depreciation vs staying in hospital or emigrate and double your money for fewer hours.

Or retrain as a tube driver and go round in circles a few days a week for more money.

”public servants”= having the piss taken out of you .

If you are a doctor I’m Lord Lucan

5 hours ago, loveofthegame said:

Well I thought that’s what people would have taken from my post but it seemingly wasn’t clear enough. 
I really can’t be arsed arguing and certainly don’t need to justify my reasons to folk who just want a cyber pagger. 

Edited by Ron Burgundy

9 hours ago, Paddy Crossan said:

If you are a doctor I’m Lord Lucan

Any idea what happened to Shergar? 

15 hours ago, Nunya Business said:

Not in Edinburgh they won't be. The lowest funded local authority in Scotland per head.

Disgraceful the way her weeginess runs this country

The Hogfather
6 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Disgraceful the way her weeginess runs this country

It's certainly disappointing to see when they've been known to underspend the annual budget.

15 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Well I thought that’s what people would have taken from my post but it seemingly wasn’t clear enough. 
I really can’t be arsed arguing and certainly don’t need to justify my reasons to folk who just want a cyber pagger. 

Your rationale was solid, it was Cade's daft post that I took issue with. I agree with you though, nothing can be gained from debating online on entrenched positions. You unfortunately cannot teach the blind to see.

Global economics changes on a monthly basis.

Scotland is a fully developed, modern, industrialised, first world nation.

I'm sure we'd be just fine running our own gaff.

Some months we'd be doing slightly better than the rest of the UK.

Some months we'd be doing slightly worse than the rest of the UK.

On average we'd be about the same, but with full control over what our money is spent on.

And it'll all be spent on things that the people that live in Scotland will directly benefit from.

On 08/04/2021 at 11:09, manaliveits105 said:

More murky snp finances - strange that the Scottish media do not investigate - you would think they are being controlled

56937E5A-566B-4361-ACFC-EEFD4183AC6C.jpeg

bump - scummy nationalist party 

The Hogfather

Cool. The money handed out by the current UK government to their pals to create things like this track & trace or to their pub landlords to provide PPE should see every single member of the cabinet put behind bars. Now what?

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Global economics changes on a monthly basis.

Scotland is a fully developed, modern, industrialised, first world nation.

I'm sure we'd be just fine running our own gaff.

Some months we'd be doing slightly better than the rest of the UK.

Some months we'd be doing slightly worse than the rest of the UK.

On average we'd be about the same, but with full control over what our money is spent on.

And it'll all be spent on things that the people that live in Scotland will directly benefit from.

I see nothing that indicates any of the parties in Scotland are less corrupt, less nepotistic or less wasteful than we currently reside under.

Or that anything run under devolution has been less cocked up than WM.

So where is the benefit?

Or are we to merely be happier with our own crooks and liars?

13 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

I see nothing that indicates any of the parties in Scotland are less corrupt, less nepotistic or less wasteful than we currently reside under.

Or that anything run under devolution has been less cocked up than WM.

So where is the benefit?

Or are we to merely be happier with our own crooks and liars?

The benefit is that we can make different decisions. I'd expect the SNP vote share to drop post indy, which I hope would lead to more consensus politics and a move to a very different politics - far away from what we are stuck with.

Otherwise, you are right - there's no point if we remain tied to neoliberalism. 

I think moving away from an unelected Head of State (who does wield and exercise considerable power no matter what people think or say) and an unelected Upper House are just two good reasons to go our own way.

We could even move away from AV to an even more open, fair and representative form of democracy with consensus politics being the norm.

So everybody's voice is heard. And all issues are addressed.

Become a modern, forward thinking state and not a medieval feudal shitehole.

31 minutes ago, Cade said:

I think moving away from an unelected Head of State (who does wield and exercise considerable power no matter what people think or say) and an unelected Upper House are just two good reasons to go our own way.

We could even move away from AV to an even more open, fair and representative form of democracy with consensus politics being the norm.

tenor.gif

17 minutes ago, Cade said:

A shithole would be a 15bn black hole and separation depression forcing mass unemployment and collapse of the economy. But let's have an el Presidente Salmond with a license to grope by all means. Will make the grinding hardship bearable to know one guy is getting his end off while the serfs are enjoying the fruits of an all new singing and dancing super progressive on the bones of its erse iScroteland.

2 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

A shithole would be a 15bn black hole and separation depression forcing mass unemployment and collapse of the economy. But let's have an el Presidente Salmond with a license to grope by all means. Will make the grinding hardship bearable to know one guy is getting his end off while the serfs are enjoying the fruits of an all new singing and dancing super progressive on the bones of its erse iScroteland.

You actually hit "Submit Reply" to that utterly moronic word salad?

Jesus Christ!

Roxy Hearts
4 hours ago, JackLadd said:

The SNP have wrecked you. 🤣

Hey we need an emergency statement. Wings has alleged you have lavishly funded an organisation which is part of an Alliance campaigning to reduce the Age of Consent to 10. It doesn’t get more serious than that. Many are angry with you. Explain yourselves.

:interehjrling:

21 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:
Hey we need an emergency statement. Wings has alleged you have lavishly funded an organisation which is part of an Alliance campaigning to reduce the Age of Consent to 10. It doesn’t get more serious than that. Many are angry with you. Explain yourselves.

:interehjrling:

You're shameless

On 07/04/2021 at 12:32, Ron Burgundy said:

I'm 100% behind that. Are there enough Scots billionaires to sacrifice post independence to double our state pension? If that's the plan count me in.

Sorry, I missed this previously. Thing is, your focus here was on Scots billionaires only. But for decades those with obscene money in the entire UK have been allowed to squirrel it away off-shore, hurting the prospects of normal folks.

That's the larger context, and it's one of many harms of being in the Union. The way to look at the question isn't just "how will we benefit in an independent Scotland" like you said and got called daft for, harshly. That's not the whole picture. It's also "how much have we already lost by being in the Union". We can be pretty precise about that—at least as precise as our data is—because it's historical.

The trillion pound oil fund Scotland could have, like Norway does, is another example. But those profits went to private enterprise in London instead of benefiting Scottish citizens.

It also answers your "how will we pay for ______" question by shifting it to the past—that's how Scotland would've paid for it, with hundreds of billions to spare for a crisis like Covid, given the opportunity for independence a half century ago. No one knew of this possibility with any certainty in 1968. By 1970, everything had changed.

Is Scotland really prepared to sacrifice the next trillion over the next half century, simply because the future isn't 100% crystal clear, and we don't know the exact opportunity that will arise? So afraid of risk that we're willing to keep sacrificing a 13-figure opportunity cost to maintain this kind of status quo?

I really hope not, you know?

11 hours ago, Smithee said:

You're shameless

QAnon has come. Wish I posted this tweet yesterday.

On the bright side, any lurkers who thought they were reading reasonable critiques all around, now have an easy marker for the absolute moon howlers, where reality is the exact opposite of everything they say.