The rise and fall of The SNP.

Brighton Jambo

So there wasn’t any particular bombshell that guarantees she has to resign.

She was however evasive and lacked credibility.  How many times can the leader of a country credibly use the phrase “I can’t recall” and it be believable.

This doesn’t go away any time soon, Salmond won’t stop and neither will the opposition parties.  Although she didn’t drop a clanger today she said more then enough to give them plenty to probe away at by being so evasive and unclear.

The main defence I can see from nationalists both on here and social media is but look at Patel, Johnson, Hancock etc.  That’s nationalists lumping her in to that bracket, just reflect on that for a moment. That’s disastrous for her reputation.   

She may get away with not resigning but she’s damaged goods now, there’s no way she can be the unifying force that attracts the level of undecideds to guarantee an Indy ref win.  Long may she stay.   

• Replies 16.3k

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• manaliveits105

• Roxy Hearts

2 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

She was however evasive and lacked credibility.  How many times can the leader of a country credibly use the phrase “I can’t recall” and it be believable.

This doesn’t go away any time soon, Salmond won’t stop and neither will the opposition parties.  Although she didn’t drop a clanger today she said more then enough to give them plenty to probe away at by being so evasive and unclear.

The main defence I can see from nationalists both on here and social media is but look at Patel, Johnson, Hancock etc.  That’s nationalists lumping her in to that bracket, just reflect on that for a moment. That’s disastrous for her reputation.   

She may get away with not resigning but she’s damaged goods now, there’s no way she can be the unifying force that attracts the level of undecideds to guarantee an Indy ref win.  Long may she stay.   

Purely wishful thinking. 

If the inquiry clears her, that'll be that and it will be forgotten about within a day. 

3 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Thought there wasn't going to be a referendum 🤔

Brighton Jambo
4 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Purely wishful thinking. 

If the inquiry clears her, that'll be that and it will be forgotten about within a day. 

And you accuse me of wishful thinking!  That’s a ridiculous statement.  

1 minute ago, Cruyff said:

Purely wishful thinking. 

Apart from the committed on both sides of the political arguments does the ordinary man / women in the street really give a xxxx about all this ? 🤔 

Brighton Jambo
5 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Thought there wasn't going to be a referendum 🤔

Good point, there’s not.  So she might as well go and the SNP start afresh.

57 minutes ago, weehammy said:

The same Lord Advocate who was so reluctant to end the judicial review. This is the person who should be out on his ear for running a dysfunctional Crown Office.

The pure seethe from you this evening is utterly delightful. 

48 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Nice £1.2 billion extra to Scotland from budget but as usual from Kate Forbes

Its not enough 

just say thanks Katie you’ll feel better

You need a nurse pal. 😁

Brighton Jambo
1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Apart from the committed on both sides of the political arguments does the ordinary man / women in the street really give a xxxx about all this ? 🤔 

I don’t think they care as much as many on here.  But they can’t have avoided seeing all this and for many it will have planted a seed of doubt.

One of the big selling points of the SNP and the independence debate is that Scottish politics and Scottish parliament is so much better than the corrupt lying Tory governed Westminster. Now...

For Cummings read Ferrier

For Patels bullying read McKays grooming.

For Hancock’s fraud read Swinneys refusal to obey Parliamentary instruction.

And now for Boris lying to parliament read Sturgeon doing the same.

When you can’t take the high ground anymore a large differentiator that the SNP have made much capital from is lost.  

37 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

It's our money, not extra. We only get part of our own money, Westminster keeps the rest. Why can't you understand that?

Why do you think?

Just now, Brighton Jambo said:

And you accuse me of wishful thinking!  That’s a ridiculous statement.  

You're living in a dream man.

If she is cleared, that'll be the end of the matter. The headlines will read "Sturgeon cleared", "Sturgeon didn't break the Ministerial Code" etc.. . None of the opposition parties could even dare bring it up as they are part of the inquiry. 

So yep, purely wishful thinking on your part. 

1 hour ago, Cade said:

More than 7 hours of testimony.

Red and Blue Tories and LibDems still grasping at straws.

OkLEVzR.gif

😁

6 hours ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

Is it just me she is slowly turning from FM into a sith, its like that scene when Palpatine becomes Darth Sidious

She is now Darth Mendacious

LOL....no one was surprised at all when Palpatine was revealed as Darth Sidious...

5 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

This isn't about independence, this is about our government lying to other members of Parliament and trying to send innocent man to jail. 

You can still vote SNP and be horrified by what NS and hubby have done. 

NS isn't independence, nor is she the SNP, they must be bigger than that. 

Nail on the head. Its appears to have been a conspiracy. 

4 hours ago, jamboy1982 said:

Having followed this quite closely it would appear that there is very little to the actual accusations except minor infringements of who said what to who and when. The media circus surrounding this is blowing it up to be something massive when it is not. Don’t like to make comparisons but the media certainly didn’t behave like this regarding Johnson, Patel or Hancock, all of whom have committed far more serious offences. 

Its not like for like. THis may be about a gang of powerful people conspiring to frame an innocent man of heinous crimes. 

3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

So if Nicola didn't record or notify meeting undermines confidentiality what does that say about the Government? 

Sworn as they are to protect confidentiality. There are loads of sensitive information in Government.

Yes wheres the accountability and transparency. ? 

1 hour ago, weehammy said:

My congratulations to you. Despite severe competition on here you have emerged as the undisputed champion of Whatabootery! Arrangements are in hand for Margaret Ferrier to present your award.

as long as she disnae travel by train. . 

41 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

It's our money, not extra. We only get part of our own money, Westminster keeps the rest. Why can't you understand that?

True. 

Brighton Jambo
3 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

You're living in a dream man.

If she is cleared, that'll be the end of the matter. The headlines will read "Sturgeon cleared", "Sturgeon didn't break the Ministerial Code" etc.. . None of the opposition parties could even dare bring it up as they are part of the inquiry. 

So yep, purely wishful thinking on your part. 

Well let’s wait and see.  We can’t both be right! 

Edited by Brighton Jambo

10 minutes ago, luckydug said:

A very good point, no one, including the committee made up of all other parties, came out of this well.

Very few will have heard of the Ministerial code before this and if life begins to return to normal then very few will be even slightly interested.

1 minute ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Well let’s wait and see.  We can’t both be right! 

If she's cleared by an inquiry of Labour and Tory msp's, how is that going to stick? :lol:

Brighton Jambo
Just now, Cruyff said:

If she's cleared by an inquiry of Labour and Tory msp's, how is that going to stick? :lol:

This enquiry isn’t about whether she’s broken the ministerial code so they can’t declare either that way.  That’s being undertaken separately by a QC but with a much narrower remit.  That may find her innocent and then its almost certain that opposition parties will call for another enquiry into her conduct based on the committee hearings.  

It’s about the damage done in the eyes of the public, no smoke without fire etc.  recent polls have been showing it is having an effect.

Only time will tell.  

16 minutes ago, luckydug said:

No because there'll be the faux outrage reaction from Meghan and Harry's Oprah interview in a few days and there'll be more nonsense for people to get bothered about after that.

The SFA just pointed a finger at Celtic for child abuse, did you remember that from last week before I just pointed it out? That's shit that sticks, yet that story is now in the archives and the headlines have rightly or wrongly moved on. 

No one will give a monkeys after this is over. It'll be swept under the carpet by all sides if she is cleared. 

Is it wise for the justice minister to be tweeting a running commentary especially if this ends up in court?

Humza Yousaf Retweeted

Nick Eardley

@nickeardleybbc

·

2h

FM’s spokesman: “The First Minister today dismantled all of the claims which have been made against her.... the opposition completely failed to substantiate any of the allegations and absurd conspiracy theories which have been levelled at her and her office in this case.”

Show this thread

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

Imagine outrage of those who are suggesting Nicola Sturgeon *should have* intervened in process on behalf of Alex Salmond, if she had actually done so. Or if she had attempted to direct Police Scot, again as some members suggest. They would be the first to call for her to resign.

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

This is about the women remember? Or have you forgotten?

Quote Tweet

Murdo Fraser

@murdo_fraser

· 2h

Humza and all colleagues in the SNP told us that @AlexSalmond was a man of integrity who we should trust to lead Scotland to independence. Now they have changed their minds on him and don’t like being reminded of their previous loyalties - so they deflect. twitter.com/humzayousaf/st…

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

The mask always slips. For too many of our Opposition this has never been about matters of substance but politics and the constitution. The insinuation that a women must apologise for the inappropriate behaviour that a man has admitted to is depressing.

Quote Tweet

Andrew Learmonth

@andrewlearmonth

· 3h

Murdo Fraser: "Do you not think, given that you asked us all to trust [Alex Salmond] for so long, that you owe an apology to the people of Scotland for asking us to trust him?"

Show this thread

3 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

This enquiry isn’t about whether she’s broken the ministerial code so they can’t declare either that way.  That’s being undertaken separately by a QC but with a much narrower remit.  That may find her innocent and then its almost certain that opposition parties will call for another enquiry into her conduct based on the committee hearings.  

It’s about the damage done in the eyes of the public, no smoke without fire etc.  recent polls have been showing it is having an effect.

Only time will tell.  

I doubt it. They'll be accused of wasting public resources and turned on them as a witch hunt, no danger it'll go any further. 

The public who support Indy will vote that way and those who don't will vote the other. Folk have pinned their colours to their masts. They've had years to think about this, no inquiry is going to make a dent in that. 

Did anyone care about Boris's lies during Brexit? Nope, they voted him and his party into power. 

I'll tell you what wee stompy was in her element today, played the victim where necessary, all innocent on occasion and all spitting tiger the next second, she's obviously learnt well from Salmond.

And I wouldn't mind her gig as FM, she doesn't seem to have anything to do all day.

She hears nothing, sees nothing, nobody tells her anything and she never asks anybody anything.

:clyay:

Brighton Jambo
4 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

I doubt it. They'll be accused of wasting public resources and turned on them as a witch hunt, no danger it'll go any further. 

The public who support Indy will vote that way and those who don't will vote the other. Folk have pinned their colours to their masts. They've had years to think about this, no inquiry is going to make a dent in that. 

Did anyone care about Boris's lies during Brexit? Nope, they voted him and his party into power. 

So why did the latest Indy poll have no in the lead? 

2 hours ago, Boy Daniel said:

If Looks could kill!

C7033DDE-0E67-46C7-B5A2-AA2081AB594A.jpeg

Would

Just now, Brighton Jambo said:

So why did the latest Indy poll have no in the lead? 

Are you suggesting one poll with a margin of error between 3-7% means anything? 

There were 18 polls previous to that showing A majority for Indy, did you believe them as well? 🤔 

:Aye:

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Nae luck, Onionists.  

Check the nick of the slavering traitors above. :rofl:

Oh and 

Tick Tock!!!! 

😁

FB_IMG_1614800403702.jpg

Brighton Jambo
Just now, Cruyff said:

Are you suggesting one poll with a margin of error between 3-7% means anything? 

There were 18 polls previous to that showing A majority for Indy, did you believe them as well? 🤔 

:Aye:

I just wondered why the last three polls have shown a drop in support for independence with the latest showing a small (as you say) lead for No.

What do you think is causing that? 

5 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

I just wondered why the last three polls have shown a drop in support for independence with the latest showing a small (as you say) lead for No.

What do you think is causing that? 

As I said, they have a margin of error and all polls should be taken with a pinch of salt. I wouldn’t believe the previous 18 polls showing a lead for Indy of 4-7 points either.

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

So after both have appeared before the Committee the question still remains

Who is lying ?

Salmond or Sturgeon ?

Don't think it's about that. Its more about was there a conspiracy to get Salmond. 

Today Sturgeon could be said to have accepted she may have misled Salmond into thinking she would help him. And she is on the spot with not recording the meeting. And I would have asked her more about attitudes to MeToo. I think this messed up thinking. 

But more relevant is the discussion around the Scottish Government going to the Police against the wishes of the complainers. A sign of 'get Salmond'. Murrell etc are the ones to question and depending on the evidence of emails, texts etc not yet disclosed 

24 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

Is it wise for the justice minister to be tweeting a running commentary especially if this ends up in court?

Humza Yousaf Retweeted

Nick Eardley

@nickeardleybbc

·

2h

FM’s spokesman: “The First Minister today dismantled all of the claims which have been made against her.... the opposition completely failed to substantiate any of the allegations and absurd conspiracy theories which have been levelled at her and her office in this case.”

Show this thread

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

Imagine outrage of those who are suggesting Nicola Sturgeon *should have* intervened in process on behalf of Alex Salmond, if she had actually done so. Or if she had attempted to direct Police Scot, again as some members suggest. They would be the first to call for her to resign.

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

Quote Tweet

Murdo Fraser

@murdo_fraser

· 2h

Humza and all colleagues in the SNP told us that @AlexSalmond was a man of integrity who we should trust to lead Scotland to independence. Now they have changed their minds on him and don’t like being reminded of their previous loyalties - so they deflect. twitter.com/humzayousaf/st…

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

The mask always slips. For too many of our Opposition this has never been about matters of substance but politics and the constitution. The insinuation that a women must apologise for the inappropriate behaviour that a man has admitted to is depressing.

Quote Tweet

Andrew Learmonth

@andrewlearmonth

· 3h

Murdo Fraser: "Do you not think, given that you asked us all to trust [Alex Salmond] for so long, that you owe an apology to the people of Scotland for asking us to trust him?"

Show this thread

Slightly off subject I still don’t know how he got that job 

So still lied to parliament on dates she first knew of the allegations, made no record of meetings with Salmond and can't remember the first one (source of her lies to parliament) that was surely the most explosive news she'd been given all year, and ignored the legal advice that cost over a million to the tax payer for govt and Salmond's costs. Is still withholding a vast amount of related legal correspondence and documents. Surely an easy conviction for James Hamilton. 

We had Nazi Germany, the USSR and North Korea in here, any others I missed?

Edited by Justin Z

11 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

According to Pete Wishart loads of folk signing up to join the SNP tonight😂

Do we have a backfire spectacularly smiley?😀

Linesman, Mooth and Rennie GIRFUY😂

Cause Pete Wishart is a neutral commentator and wouldn't lie, would he. The man is NS stooge. 

18 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

According to Pete Wishart loads of folk signing up to join the SNP tonight😂

Do we have a backfire spectacularly smiley?😀

Linesman, Mooth and Rennie GIRFUY😂

Saw that a lot on social media too. 

Two people I know who aren't exactly fans of Nicola have been disgusted by the last few days and thought she came across brilliantly today. 

Time will tell, of course. 😊

5 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Cause Pete Wishart is a neutral commentator and wouldn't lie, would he. The man is NS stooge. 

Are you crying now? 😁

Just now, BarneyBattles said:

You lot are keen to label people liars. Might want to look a bit closer to home / London if you hold the truth so dear. 

And before I read the word ‘whataboutery’ yet again, it’s perfectly ok to pull people up for hypocrisy 

We'll see what Hamilton says.  If he decides on truth then she's going as her Green enablers will have to turf her out. You can cry hard about Pritti Patel's bullying allegations being swept under the rug then.

4 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

Time will tell indeed. I just signed up though😀

Did you wait long to get through? 😁

Just now, JackLadd said:

We'll see what Hamilton says.  If he decides on truth then she's going as her Green enablers will have to turf her out. You can cry hard about Pritti Patel's bullying allegations being swept under the rug then.

Snivel 😁

1 hour ago, Boy Daniel said:

Humza Yousaf Retweeted

Nick Eardley

@nickeardleybbc

·

2h

Show this thread

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

Quote Tweet

Murdo Fraser

@murdo_fraser

· 2h

Humza Yousaf

@HumzaYousaf

·

2h

Quote Tweet

Andrew Learmonth

@andrewlearmonth

· 3h

Show this thread

Yousaf is a complete weapon. Remember as transport minister he survived being done for driving without car insurance. You couldn't make these clowns up. Now he's an expert on 'justice'  which translates as whatever woke bollocks I can think up.

Edited by JackLadd

23 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

You lot are keen to label people liars. Might want to look a bit closer to home / London if you hold the truth so dear. 

And before I read the word ‘whataboutery’ yet again, it’s perfectly ok to pull people up for hypocrisy 

Plenty people on here are abusers of women. 

Statistical certainty. 

Edited by Mikey1874

1 hour ago, theshed said:

Slightly off subject I still don’t know how he got that job 

I feel sorry for Humza in a way, had a chance to be somebody and do something for his community. Instead he has all the standing of a twitter troll. A complete balloon of a man who just can't help himself.

1 minute ago, BarneyBattles said:

Just heard around 7,000 new members since Nicola signed off at teatime. 

Assuming it’s true the press will report it. 

Welcome to the cult 😅 wait till Christmas, we all get a lovely card from Nicola 😁😁

2 minutes ago, lou said:

Welcome to the cult 😅 wait till Christmas, we all get a lovely card from Nicola 😁😁

I sent her a pm on Insta of a few of Malinga's posts this afternoon and got a 'LOL, state of that!' reply back around teatime. 😊

1 hour ago, JackLadd said:

Yousaf is a complete weapon. Remember as transport minister he survived being done for driving without car insurance. You couldn't make these clowns up. Now he's an expert on 'justice'  which translates as whatever woke bollocks I can think up.

He’s getting pelters around the trans issue . He has been asked repeatedly if there are two sexes and can’t answer it or won’t answer it . The proposed “ hate “ bill is quite concerning in regarding to criminalising thoughts ! 

15 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

Just heard around 7,000 new members since Nicola signed off at teatime. 

Assuming it’s true the press will report it. 

Somehow doubt this obvious squirrel will generate much attention.

6 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

He’s getting pelters around the trans issue . He has been asked repeatedly if there are two sexes and can’t answer it or won’t answer it . The proposed “ hate “ bill is quite concerning in regarding to criminalising thoughts ! 

Guy is an out his depth unfit joke just like many of these overpaid and promoted little snp apparatchiks and flunkies. The woman at the end was alluding to that when the biased nat conveynor rounded on her. 

Roxy Hearts
8 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

Guy is an out his depth unfit joke just like many of these overpaid and promoted little snp apparatchiks and flunkies. The woman at the end was alluding to that when the biased nat conveynor rounded on her. 

You sound unhappy.

7 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

Don’t think that just applies to just SNP. Be interesting if anyone can name more than half a dozen decent MPs in the whole of the UK

9 minutes ago, JackLadd said: