The rise and fall of The SNP.

8 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

The problem sturgeon has now is that the cat is out the bag as far as Salmond’s submissions are concerned. They are out there and there’s no point in trying to redact them now. 
Any journalist worth their salt will challenge the FM about her take on the “facts” at every opportunity

Do you think any journalist here will ask her anything? 

• Replies 16.3k

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• manaliveits105

• Roxy Hearts

1 minute ago, JyTees said:

Rotten to the core.

It's no surprise there's suddenly a vacuum of Nats contributing to this thread. Indefensible!

Wheeshtforindy indeed.

Is that what you think is going on?

I'm enjoying watching this sideshow of increasingly amusing over excitement that will inevitably lead to a minimal effect on support for independence rather than the death blow some of you seem to imagine.

I'm a nationalist, I don't particularly care about salmond, or Sturgeon for that matter, and sometimes I sit back and watch dafties work themselves into a frenzy

20 minutes ago, theshed said:

Unfortunately that's the problem as they're all running scared of he SNP. 

12 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I'm enjoying watching this sideshow of increasingly amusing over excitement that will inevitably lead to a minimal effect on support for independence rather than the death blow some of you seem to imagine.

I'm a nationalist, I don't particularly care about salmond, or Sturgeon for that matter, and sometimes I sit back and watch dafties work themselves into a frenzy

What is it you think's going on Smithee? When the lord advocate orders parliament to redact evidence, specific evidence that implicates the first minister? You don't see anything that might worry you at all?

I get the "Indy at any cost" attitude from nationalists like yourself, but when any cost means turning a blind eye to political corruption at the very top, what is it you're really supporting?

If you want to fling insults about because "dafties" are a wee bit shocked and worried at the extent of criminality that's going on in government making daily decisions in their lives, fair enough. 

49 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Same as me. It's peculiar watching the  peculiar!

1 hour ago, theshed said:

Possibly. The Sky Correspondent certainly will 

2 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

He's not appearing tomorrow.  The country is heading towards banana republic territory.  Thankfully, Alex Salmond is a lot smarter than Sturgeon and I do look forward to his press conference 😎

Long game.

Salmond has other options provided by the legal system. 

I can't believe Nicola Sturgeon doesn't remember the first time she heard about the allegations.

You would think it was a JFK where were you moment. Unless she knew long before. Which would be a much bigger lie.

But no matter whether she has done anything majorly wrong. No doubt there was a campaign to get Salmond. And that is going to come out. Just the timing. 

Edited by Mikey1874

1 hour ago, JyTees said:

What is it you think's going on Smithee? When the lord advocate orders parliament to redact evidence, specific evidence that implicates the first minister? You don't see anything that might worry you at all?

I get the "Indy at any cost" attitude from nationalists like yourself, but when any cost means turning a blind eye to political corruption at the very top, what is it you're really supporting?

If you want to fling insults about because "dafties" are a wee bit shocked and worried at the extent of criminality that's going on in government making daily decisions in their lives, fair enough. 

I support the people of Scotland being able to hire and fire their government. None of this changes that.

Edited by Smithee

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

15 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Same as me. It's peculiar watching the  peculiar!

Sorry but i think you are calling it wrong. This is potentially catastrophic for the Indy movement but definitely the beginning of the end for the SNP. They may survive a little longer as Labour did in similar circumstances but the writing is on the wall and the wider electorate will catch on soon. 

The irony is that Boris and the Tories have done more to promote Indy than almost anybody else and Nicola and the SNP have done more to thwart it than Better Together ever could.

This isn't the usual government incompetence and corruption this is an all out assault on democracy where Government, the Justiciary, the Civil Service and the Press have conspired to distort reality and prevent scrutiny by parliament or anybody else for that matter. This shouldn't really come as much of a surprise though as they have always got each others backs.

Government appoints the Lord Advocate, he is very grateful and glad to do their bidding although the cloak of complete incompetence is convincing i believe the real isssue is their corruption. They wont prosecute the alphabet women for their collusion and indeed will prevent the public knowing their identities even though many can be proved to have been telling lies about Salmond and colluding with regard to their evidence and on other matters. 

You wont hear much about this in the press though because they are dependent on the civil service and government for so much of their output. They are also subsidised by the SG and the BBC and so will be most unlikely bite the hand that feeds them. Despite the press positioning Salmond next to Jimmy Savile, Fred West the Bulger killers and other equally vile individuals and despite them naming some of the alphabet women and making others easily identifiable it was not the MSM that landed in court it was bloggers who tried very hard and sought assurance from the crown office before publishing their blogs, who were prosecuted. There are multiple obvious contempt of court charges thatt could stick against the msm but what would be the point in the justiciary charging them and antagonising a tame press core?

Attacks by the msm on Sturgeon and the SNP are nowhere near as effective as they could be. The Press are all Unionist propaganda rags and yet they miss chance after chance to nail her and the SNP. Could this be that there is a tacit understanding that she and many in her party are not interested in Indy and so keeping her in power and going light is a good tactic from them. 

The Crown office are hiding behind laws that were made for other issues and precedents that don't exist. Fully airing the issues raised by AS will discredit them enormously and so the convoluted attempts to suppress the truth. Nicola, her advisers and others have lots to lose as do those who sit in Holyrood and WM very few of whom got there because of any skills or ability they might possess. They are ther because of Salmond and Sturgeon but primarily because so many of us support Indy.The politicians wont call the Crown office to account because their status and livelihoods are at stake. Far better to hang in there'say nothing and hope for the best as did Mx Ferrier.

Short of jailing several of thes people i have no idea how you break this chain but we cant jail them because they are protected by their fellow conspirators. It was to get away from this very thing that attracted so many of us to Indy so i cannot see how there will not be huge disillusion in the Indy movement many of whom are fully aware of what has been going on. 

They would have got away without any scrutiny whatsoever had it not been for the jury in the AS case.

2 hours ago, JyTees said:

Rotten to the core.

It's no surprise there's suddenly a vacuum of Nats contributing to this thread. Indefensible!

Wheeshtforindy indeed.

I'm not really interested in anything Alex Salmond is up to these days and I will still be voting SNP 1 and SNP 2 come May if you're interested. 😊

23 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

I'm not really interested in anything Alex Salmond is up to these days and I will still be voting SNP 1 and SNP 2 come May if you're interested. 😊

You don't care the SNP government are guilty of collusion and corruption either. Collaborating and turning a blind eye doesn't normally end well...for the collaborators.

3 minutes ago, JyTees said:

You don't care the SNP government are guilty of collusion and corruption either. Collaborating and turning a blind eye doesn't normally end well...for the collaborators.

It will be important at the start of an independent Scotland to have credible people in charge of Government. 

2 minutes ago, JyTees said:

Correction. 

IF, and that's a big IF, the SNP are found to be guilty of collusion, corruption and collaboration THEN I won't care. 😊

As things stand, most of what I'm seeing and reading online is a bunch of folk who were gloating at the prospect of AS being jailed for rape now making out he's the victim of some undemocratic conspiracy theory. 

Been on the Gov.scot website looking for Salmond's (redacted) statement but can't find it.  Anyone any idea where they've hidden it?

8 minutes ago, JyTees said:

I didn't say I don't care, but I don't care enough for it to make a dent in my core belief that the people of Scotland are the only people who should decide our government and future. I don't particularly care for the SNP, but as long as they're the main vehicle for Scottish independence they have my vote.

10 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

It will be important at the start of an independent Scotland to have credible people in charge of Government. 

The million (add relevant currance here) question. How many credible politicians are there around? 

8 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

But it's not important now?!!

I'd argue in order to get to your promised land and convince others who may be sitting on the fence either way it's more important now than ever!

5 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I didn't say I don't care, but I don't care enough for it to make a dent in my core belief that the people of Scotland are the only people who should decide our government and future. I don't particularly care for the SNP, but as long as they're the main vehicle for Scottish independence they have my vote.

If the SNP voters still turn out to vote for the SNP after the SNP have been found guilty of collusion, corruption and collaboration then I guess all the Nawbags can just shake their wee empty heids and mumble "well, they dinnae call them the Tartan Tories for nothing." 😁

Edited by Weakened Offender

So basically it goes something like this 

Salmond is told to present his evidence as they say he has none

Salmond presents his evidence 

“Oh we don’t like what he’s saying about us, so we'll have to remove it” 

They now are saying salmond must not provide evidence 

So Scotland's creep towards being the new North Korea gathered pace to become a headlong rush today? 

It's absolutely embarrassing this whole debacle and worthy of the worst run banana republic. 

The best idea would be to shut down the kiddy-on parliament and save ourselves a lot of money and hot air. The nats are accountable to no-one it seems and what passes for an opposition are hopeless.

This will run and run, Salmond will not take this lying down and nor should he.

The whiff of corruption and collusion is strong.

5 hours ago, JyTees said:

I take you're the judge and jury. Does NS not get to tell her side of the story. 

Let's talk rotten, how's the Britnats of WM these days. Shovelling anymore taxpayers money to their mates. And Where's all these billions promised for the nhs post brexit? 

Come to think of it, Yewtree, expenses scandal, Iraq war, etc... etc... 

As for stitch ups, the britnats are the world leaders for stitch ups and scandal. Yeah, let's talk about rotten to the core. 

Aye what about the bloody toaries !

5 hours ago, theshed said:

So basically it goes something like this 

Salmond is told to present his evidence as they say he has none

Salmond presents his evidence 

“Oh we don’t like what he’s saying about us, so we'll have to remove it” 

They now are saying salmond must not provide evidence 

Correct Mrs Murrell has spraffed about let’s see his evidence and when it’s produced it’s then hidden by smoke and mirrors

she is not fit for purpose

FTFN

Donald Dewar: 

A Scottish Parliament. Not an end: a means to greater ends. And those too are part of our mace. Woven into its symbolic thistles are these four words: Wisdom. Justice. Compassion. Integrity.

Fast forward to 2021 and we now have the latest chapter of "Wheesht for Indy" brought to you courtesy of the Crown Office.

What has Scotland become?  

1 hour ago, Candy said:

Donald Dewar: 

A Scottish Parliament. Not an end: a means to greater ends. And those too are part of our mace. Woven into its symbolic thistles are these four words: Wisdom. Justice. Compassion. Integrity.

Fast forward to 2021 and we now have the latest chapter of "Wheesht for Indy" brought to you courtesy of the Crown Office.

Any word on the billions of pounds spunked to Bodybag Boris's mates during a pandemic yet? 😊

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Aye what about the bloody toaries !

Correct Mrs Murrell has spraffed about let’s see his evidence and when it’s produced it’s then hidden by smoke and mirrors

she is not fit for purpose

FTFN

Another articulate, fact-based  post by you. 😁

9 hours ago, Horatio Caine said:

Been on the Gov.scot website looking for Salmond's (redacted) statement but can't find it.  Anyone any idea where they've hidden it?

Why would a document be hidden on a website that didn't commission it when it's publicly available (albeit redacted, now) on the website that did?

24 minutes ago, Haken said:

Why would a document be hidden on a website that didn't commission it when it's publicly available (albeit redacted, now) on the website that did?

Discovered it's on the parliament.scot web site, not the gov.scot one.  Thanks to @Boy Daniel for providing the link.

My comment about hidden was my poor attempt at sarcasm born out of frustration at going through the gov.scot website for ages convinced I was just not seeing it.

This should have been a relatively straightforward task for the Committee. Their remit is to investigate the complaints against Alex Salmond. How it was dealt with. How the complaints process worked. 

Somehow it's become a soap opera with no obvious resolution. 

https://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/CurrentCommittees/111052.aspx

Quite amusing watching this unfolding on here. About 7 folk baying for blood on a football forum...cute.

The FM may well be as corrupt as Boris and his cronies (doubt it), but the only folk that care about this sideshow are the yoony loonys and the right wing media who will do ANYTHING to derail the Indy train.

Scotland WILL vote in huge numbers for the SNP in a few months and all this shite will pass. Even if the FM falls on her sword (she wont). An SNP majority will happen and with it, the next Indy ref is just around the corner. You will have failed!

Suck it up buttercups. As amusing as this is, it aint derailing shit!

Funny watching all the faux anger though. As if the same folk even CARE about Alex Salmond.

LOL!

6 hours ago, Candy said:

Donald Dewar: 

Run by a party who have none of those attributes but specialise in dishonesty and supported by rockets 

59 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Quite amusing watching this unfolding on here. About 7 folk baying for blood on a football forum...cute.

The FM may well be as corrupt as Boris and his cronies (doubt it), but the only folk that care about this sideshow are the yoony loonys and the right wing media who will do ANYTHING to derail the Indy train.

Scotland WILL vote in huge numbers for the SNP in a few months and all this shite will pass. Even if the FM falls on her sword (she wont). An SNP majority will happen and with it, the next Indy ref is just around the corner. You will have failed!

Suck it up buttercups. As amusing as this is, it aint derailing shit!

Funny watching all the faux anger though. As if the same folk even CARE about Alex Salmond.

LOL!

453vnw.jpg.fe1efed803a847dea7420733e4db03d1.jpg

It's about time people in Scotland wake up to the snp, independence is a seperate issue, but for this party to continue to run the country the way it has is just a nonsense, I realise the opposition is weak but the people of Scotland deserve much better, the kid's deserve to get an education for a start, what has been swept under the carpet won't go away

Libdem and Tory election junk mail in the post today.

🤮

Lady Rooth of Moothville all over it.

She's not even leader.

And her hilarious hypocrisy in resigning in protest at Boris being PM only to become his best pal when he gave her an ermine cloak makes it even worse.

The scots Tories are a single issue party of protest. "Independence Nivvur" is their one and only policy.

SNP well on course for another massive landslide and potentially even a working Majority again.

6 minutes ago, Cade said:

Libdem and Tory election junk mail in the post today.

🤮

Lady Rooth of Moothville all over it.

She's not even leader.

And her hilarious hypocrisy in resigning in protest at Boris being PM only to become his best pal when he gave her an ermine cloak makes it even worse.

The scots Tories are a single issue party of protest. "Independence Nivvur" is their one and only policy.

SNP well on course for another massive landslide and potentially even a working Majority again.

Do you see the Salmond affair having an impact on the Election ? 

1 hour ago, Cruyff said:

453vnw.jpg.fe1efed803a847dea7420733e4db03d1.jpg

Blatantly either didnt read it, or didnt understand it.

At this moment in time, NO Indy supporter gives 2 fecks about the what he said/she said pissing contest.

If the FM is corrupt then hell mend her AFTER we gain Independence but right now. NOBODY on this side cares and it may be sad but look at what Westminster has taught us...be corrupt as you like and nothing ever happens to you!

18 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Nope...He's not even a politician.

24 minutes ago, weehammy said:

A variation on a familiar theme:

England bad - Scotland good

Boris bad - Sturgeon good

Cummings bad - Murrell good

Westminster corruption bad - Holyrood corruption good

Tory lying bad - SNP lying good

Whatever happened to the new, honest politics they promised us post-independence?
Fat chance!

:greatpost:

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Blatantly either didnt read it, or didnt understand it.

At this moment in time, NO Indy supporter gives 2 fecks about the what he said/she said pissing contest.

If the FM is corrupt then hell mend her AFTER we gain Independence but right now. NOBODY on this side cares and it may be sad but look at what Westminster has taught us...be corrupt as you like and nothing ever happens to you!

Everyone cares except a select few Sturgeon supporters or those so fixated on Indy that they do not care for the principles or integrity of the parliament that governs us now and would govern us post Indy. 

We cannot have a FM who has lied and broken the ministerial code and we cannot allow for corruption in Government. Her and her husband should go immediately. 

13 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Everyone cares except a select few Sturgeon supporters or those so fixated on Indy that they do not care for the principles or integrity of the parliament that governs us now and would govern us post Indy. 

We cannot have a FM who has lied and broken the ministerial code and we cannot allow for corruption in Government. Her and her husband should go immediately. 

Who cares? Unionists that's who.

The second part I agree with but as much as the unionists want her to go (which they see as a knife into the Indy side), it wont happen. Not yet.

Don't kid yourself on that anyone in control in Scotland currently will care about this anymore than anyone else in the UK gives a shit about the missing PPE £Billions handed out to family members.

They just don't!

Right or wrong, its true.

The UK Gov haven't even had to turn to their dirty tricks department to discredit the snp - they are doing a fine job of that themselves . Im sure there will be even more bumps in the road ahead if required though.

2 hours ago, luckydug said:

It'll have almost no effect, despite the constant hyping of the issue in the mainly unionist press.