The rise and fall of The SNP.

10 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Use Sterling for the first year or two????

Concrete plans with fixed timescales would be more of a lure.

Perhaps and I for one believe we should just go for it on day one with the Scot Pound or whatever but I don't run the country however; I am sure there will be a 2 - 3 year transition period during the divorce (Brexit one has went on for what 2+ years now?) so it probably makes good sense to continue using GBP during that time. I am sure there will be further announcements on this AFTER the Scottish elections.

Stay tuned sports fans...

• Replies 16.3k

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• manaliveits105

• Roxy Hearts

50 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Surely if they can't sort the currency issue out all these years on it shows a complete lack of forethought for when/if  they get independence.

I'd expect a solid plan of how we would go forward beforehand rather than just wing it once it happens.

The problem is the SNP won't give a shit what happens after they achieve their goal. They will have the sole thing they wanted to achieve and then to hell with the consequences. They exist for independence, nothing else.

It would be astonishing if they didn't have a solid plan for any IR2.  The "wha's like us?", "don't tell us we're too wee" approach fell on it's arse the last time.

Having said that, some folk seem to have blind faith that it'll be alright on the night.  

17 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

It would be astonishing if they didn't have a solid plan for any IR2.  The "wha's like us?", "don't tell us we're too wee" approach fell on it's arse the last time.

Having said that, some folk seem to have blind faith that it'll be alright on the night.  

And some folk think everything will be a disaster🤷🏽‍♂️

50 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

around 55% of folk at the last count

That number will be the same but reversed FB

45% No

55% Yes

Even a daftie can see it.

14 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

That number will be the same but reversed FB

45% No

55% Yes

Even a daftie can see it.

Mibbes aye, mibbes naw.  Fact is no-one knows

A lot could happen between now and another vote, if there even is another vote.

1 minute ago, Fun Boaby said:

Mibbes aye, mibbes naw.  Fact is no-one knows

A lot could happen between now and another vote, if there even is another vote.

Oh there will be another vote Boaby, you can take that to the bank (the Scottish savings and investment bank).

4 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Its not an issue in that we have options that Scotgov have already expressed. We use Sterling in the first year or two then create our own currency when the economic tests have been met. They have already started the process with creating a Scottish investment bank.
But, it gets blown up by the No side as a vote breaking issue and because they bang on about it (& its repeated in the unionist media), the seed of doubt is planted. Same as the Brexit fiasco. Someone above mentioned a poll in 2014 where 1% of people thought the EU was an issue. Introduce the ERG and the unionist media and BOOM!!’ Suddenly its priority number 1 for the masses. 
Their narrative, adopted & endorsed. 
A non-issue that became a big issue. 
This is what happened to the Sots currency question. 

That's what I can't understand when all the unionists go on and on about 'resolving the currency issue. The SNP have already said that we would use sterling in the short to medium term. After that the,aim would be to move to our own currency. Not sure what else has to be explained

35 minutes ago, XB52 said:

That's what I can't understand when all the unionists go on and on about 'resolving the currency issue. The SNP have already said that we would use sterling in the short to medium term. After that the,aim would be to move to our own currency. Not sure what else has to be explained

And what if the UK Gov and Bank of England says no you cannot use it? 

17 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

There is nothing to stop any country using sterling. Tied to the BOE is another matter. We already have pounds though and they are in circulation. 
Ireland used the punt (which for all intents and purposes was a pound) for years. Their economy took off when they binned it funnily enough. 

2 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

There is nothing to stop any country using sterling. Tied to the BOE is another matter. We already have pounds though and they are in circulation. 
Ireland used the punt (which for all intents and purposes was a pound) for years. Their economy took off when they binned it funnily enough. 

Ahem....

http://www.lyddonconsulting.com/uk-still-on-the-hook-for-eur19-4-billion-of-irelands-financial-bailout-money-until-2042/

2 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Surely with no central bank of our own and with out the reserves to create one if the BoE says call it whatever you want but we are not underwriting it then it will be worthless will it not?

27 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

they said no the last time the SNP waffled on about how they would run things

11 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

What’s ahem about that? Countries all

owe money and Ireland has paid back large amounts of it. Britain only recently paid back WW2 debt to USA and paid off slave owners from the 1800’s, we’re up to our fecking eyeballs an all. Ireland needed the money and Britain had good reason for helping. They’re making a lot of interest out of it. Loans kinda work that way. 
That’s not what I was getting at anyway, their economy transformed after they stopped pegging their punt (pound) to Sterling. 

37 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Come on don't be an arse. You know fine well that we can use whatever currency we want. You unionists don't do yourselves any favours by ignoring facts. Donald Trump would be proud of you

12 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Corbyn confirmed as ****ing scum.

Which comes as no surprise to anyone.

Nice relevant point, well done

31 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

What’s ahem about that? Countries all

owe money and Ireland has paid back large amounts of it. Britain only recently paid back WW2 debt to USA and paid off slave owners from the 1800’s, we’re up to our fecking eyeballs an all. Ireland needed the money and Britain had good reason for helping. They’re making a lot of interest out of it. Loans kinda work that way. 
That’s not what I was getting at anyway, their economy transformed after they stopped pegging their punt (pound) to Sterling. 

Fair enough

Depends on how success is measured I suppose.  I see a Country who ditched their currency and needed a bailout something like 7 or 8 years later.  Maybe  they would've needed it regardless of whether it was punts or euros.

2 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

Fair enough

Depends on how success is measured I suppose.  I see a Country who ditched their currency and needed a bailout something like 7 or 8 years later.  Maybe  they would've needed it regardless of whether it was punts or euros.

Quite possibly mate. All countries needed bailed out though during that in all honesty and the U.K. will make money on the loan. It wasn’t for free. 

6 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Surely with no central bank of our own and with out the reserves to create one if the BoE says call it whatever you want but we are not underwriting it then it will be worthless will it not?

Underwriting what exactly?

4 hours ago, weehammy said:

Just can’t help the snide and patronising dig can you?

21 hours ago, weehammy said:

the gobbledygook of your last paragraph notwithstanding.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Does America have a central bank?

Just a “glass ceiling” that get raised a few hundred Billion Dollars every year!

”FIRE UP THE PRINTER DON”!!!

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Just a “glass ceiling” that get raised a few hundred Billion Dollars every year!

”FIRE UP THE PRINTER DON”!!!

😄Central Bank and currency is to scare the natives. It works on some. 

14 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

We're told Scotland would be up for its share of UK debt. Surely then Scotland would also get its share of UK reserves?

6 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

We're told Scotland would be up for its share of UK debt. Surely then Scotland would also get its share of UK reserves?

BOOM!!!

(Unless you're a unionist then Scotland gets ALL the debt and NONE of the reserves...just coz eh!).

Oh and an Indy Scotland wont get EastEnders either OK.

NEXT!

22 hours ago, XB52 said:

Finally a unionist that acknowledges their lies. I'm proud of you

john swinney says,

"Speaking about the travel restrictions, he said: "We are trying to say to people 'err on the side of caution and stay within your local authority area' because people moving round the country creates the bridges and the possibilities of the spread of the virus."

so shipping vulnerable people with covid around the country to mingle with even more vulnerable people would be at least culpable homicide or indeed up there at the Harold shipman level.

lie your way out of that "it was the English" is not an excuse

3 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

BOOM!!!

(Unless you're a unionist then Scotland gets ALL the debt and NONE of the reserves...just coz eh!).

Oh and an Indy Scotland wont get EastEnders either OK.

NEXT!

I know you’re only joking but if the bbc split between Scotland and the rest of the uk we could hopefully bin some of the Londoncentric shite we have to put up with.

33 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

The Federal Reserve. 

This is a private Rothschild bank that doesn't,t underwrite anything as far as I know.  I doubt anybody could underwrite the debt of the USA  but I would be interested to know what function the fed provides for the USA that Scotland could not provide for itself.

5 hours ago, reaths17 said:

john swinney says,

"Speaking about the travel restrictions, he said: "We are trying to say to people 'err on the side of caution and stay within your local authority area' because people moving round the country creates the bridges and the possibilities of the spread of the virus."

so shipping vulnerable people with covid around the country to mingle with even more vulnerable people would be at least culpable homicide or indeed up there at the Harold shipman level.

lie your way out of that "it was the English" is not an excuse

Are you totally insane or just a brain dead unionist troll????  If you can read English then can you please explain what your post has to do with Scotland using the pound???? 

29 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Are you totally insane or just a brain dead unionist troll????  If you can read English then can you please explain what your post has to do with Scotland using the pound???? 

It was a bizarre post, but TBF the union is becoming increasingly difficult to defend, I'd probably be struggling to make sense too.

10 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

The Federal Reserve. 

So the USA have the Federal Reserve and UK has the bank of England. Both have trillions of debt and makes no difference. Scotland has no debt and can use any currency it wants.

Appears to be that if you have a central bank or reserve and a currency you can be as profligate as you wish! New economics required.

9 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

So the USA have the Federal Reserve and UK has the bank of England. Both have trillions of debt and makes no difference. Scotland has no debt and can use any currency it wants.

Appears to be that if you have a central bank or reserve and a currency you can be as profligate as you wish! New economics required.

Well there is new economics. MMT (Modern monetary Theory) look it up and watch some stuff on it it’s pretty interesting. 
Deficit’s take on a new meaning when you understand what a deficit actually is. You really don’t want a surplus which is strange when you’re told deficit is bad. People throw around the debt thing like we’re ever going to pay it back too. It will never be paid back and you will never see interest rate rises again the way things stand. Welcome to negative interest rates is the way it’s going. 

2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Well there is new economics. MMT (Modern monetary Theory) look it up and watch some stuff on it it’s pretty interesting. 
Deficit’s take on a new meaning when you understand what a deficit actually is. You really don’t want a surplus which is strange when you’re told deficit is bad. People throw around the debt thing like we’re ever going to pay it back too. It will never be paid back and you will never see interest rate rises again the way things stand. Welcome to negative interest rates is the way it’s going. 

It appears to be ok for some to ask questions of Scotland when they can't even answer for the current situation! As you say the debt will never be paid but you could can narrow deficits. 

Yesterday showed how bereft of quality the snp are when Swinney is deputy to Queen Nicky - Jean the invisible health secretary out her depth - the economy secretary looks like she is just back from the bingo and then there is the Finance girl who yaps on excitedly about what the tories are doing wrong without any substance or alternatives. Mike Russell and Fatty Blackford - dear god.

Scotland needs to wake up or sleep walk into disaster with these imposters - I think recent decisions on handling the tiers is opening peoples eyes to the cult.

:greggy:

56 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Yesterday showed how bereft of quality the snp are when Swinney is deputy to Queen Nicky - Jean the invisible health secretary out her depth - the economy secretary looks like she is just back from the bingo and then there is the Finance girl who yaps on excitedly about what the tories are doing wrong without any substance or alternatives. Mike Russell and Fatty Blackford - dear god.

Scotland needs to wake up or sleep walk into disaster with these imposters - I think recent decisions on handling the tiers is opening peoples eyes to the cult.

:greggy:

Name calling is going to solve our problems right enough. The cult of UK is flourishing on here! Must be brutal having a closed mind with no confidence in Scotland's people.

Space Mackerel
On 29/10/2020 at 08:24, Ron Burgundy said:

Surely if they can't sort the currency issue out all these years on it shows a complete lack of forethought for when/if  they get independence.

I'd expect a solid plan of how we would go forward beforehand rather than just wing it once it happens.

The problem is the SNP won't give a shit what happens after they achieve their goal. They will have the sole thing they wanted to achieve and then to hell with the consequences. They exist for independence, nothing else.

Pay attention 😊

SNP members change leadership's currency plan https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-48069470

GIRUY Peter Murrell and Ian Blackford ya Hibs welts.

Blackford will be sitting in his conservatory in Skye greeting into his Hibs memorabilia :rofl:

strappingjock

Two items.

1 With no central bank we cannot join the EU. We need stable history before they will look at us.  With BOE calling the shots what can we do?

2  Exchange rates. We have twice screwed ourselves in the past.   We got £400,000 ( at the then rate )  for handing over our king to Cromwell.  60 years later we go a similar amount in settlement after the Darien fiasco. We had to give up our independence to survive.

Anyone think we can do better this time when the neighbour is much more powerful in the world than we are.

Edited by strappingjock
accident

45 minutes ago, strappingjock said:

Two items.

1 With no central bank we cannot join the EU. We need stable history before they will look at us.  With BOE calling the shots what can we do?

2  Exchange rates. We have twice screwed ourselves in the past.   We got £400,000 ( at the then rate )  for handing over our king to Cromwell.  60 years later we go a similar amount in settlement after the Darien fiasco. We had to give up our independence to survive.

Anyone think we can do better this time when the neighbour is much more powerful in the world than we are.

Mate, bloody hell, there's scrambling in the dark then there's bringing up the fallout from the 300+ year old Darian scheme as proof we couldn't deal with independence, thats ridiculous!

As for the central bank, well we'll probably start one. It's not exactly an impossible task, an independent nation starting a Bank.

23 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

GIRUY Peter Murrell and Ian Blackford ya Hibs welts.

Blackford will be sitting in his conservatory in Skye greeting into his Hibs memorabilia :rofl:

Well said 

Are all the SNP acolytes on here totally at ease and comfortable with Humza Yousaf's new Hate Crime and Public Order (Scotland) Bill? 

On 01/11/2020 at 20:12, Smithee said:

Mate, bloody hell, there's scrambling in the dark then there's bringing up the fallout from the 300+ year old Darian scheme as proof we couldn't deal with independence, thats ridiculous!

As for the central bank, well we'll probably start one. It's not exactly an impossible task, an independent nation starting a Bank.

Already started a Scottish National Savings & Investment bank. Wouldnt be too difficult to take the next step. Fairly sure the last governer of the Bank of England said Scottish financial institutions are collectively worth “North of £2 TRILLION pounds”. 
Canny dae it though eh!!!

2 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Are all the SNP acolytes on here totally at ease and comfortable with Humza Yousaf's new Hate Crime and Public Order (Scotland) Bill? 

You could try not poisoning the well with this "SNP acolytes" pish, you butcher's apron lover (see?).

I say that because it has potential to be a serious question. That said, did you have any specific concern? What you've posted is very vague, and at a glance this doesn't look any different than any other UK hate crime stuff I've seen.

For me, I don't like any of it, and have argued that hate crime laws tend to harm the groups in question more than if the laws did not exist. But compared to other such legislation I don't see anything glaringly worse.