Royal Bank of Scotland

OBE

Fond memories of late 70's, going toe to toe with the bank manager to prove I was worthy of a £650 bank loan for a Maroon Ford Escort 1300 GT. None of your 1.3 pish.

Never missed a payment in ma puff...Fredrick Anderson Goodwin did.

Worked with RBS for 19 years. Was a great place to work in those years.

Made loads of friends that I still have today. Met the trouble and strife.

All ruined in my mind by the greed and inflated ego of one Fred Goodwin.

19 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Worked with RBS for 19 years. Was a great place to work in those years.

Made loads of friends that I still have today. Met the trouble and strife.

Iconic name/brand "The Royal Bank of Scotland" it was everywhere...what a waste.

Great the friendships are still maintained, every cloud eh?  Oh, and the wife...love it!

Moved to England aged 17 and still have my branch down there in Greater Manchester. Does this mean my branch will be Nat West now? They’ve been threatening for years that I’ll have to stop banking with RBS and nowt has happened so far. 

7 minutes ago, Helzibob said:

Moved to England aged 17 and still have my branch down there in Greater Manchester. Does this mean my branch will be Nat West now? They’ve been threatening for years that I’ll have to stop banking with RBS and nowt has happened so far. 

Aye, renaming  imminent allegedly. BBC business news.

Edited by Old Blue Eyes

1 minute ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

They've threatened this for years. The last one was as part of the government bail out, they were meant to sell all the English and Welsh branches, never happened. Maybe I should change to a Scottish bank though, seeing as I moved back up here 7 years ago. 🤷🏼‍♀️

5 minutes ago, Helzibob said:

They've threatened this for years. The last one was as part of the government bail out, they were meant to sell all the English and Welsh branches, never happened. Maybe I should change to a Scottish bank though, seeing as I moved back up here 7 years ago. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Scottish Bank? Clydesdale sounds good, but naw, that'll be Virgin Money. Halifax Bank of Scotland? nope, Lloyds . RBS/Natwest may have Brexit in mind.

I think the branding on individual branches (the few they seem to have left...) will remain RBS, it’s the parent company that will change its name.  
So I suppose it’ll just be the sign outside global HQ Gogarburn that changes?

I moved to NatWest years ago when my local RBS disappeared. 

Bigger question is are we still going to have stupid notes that aren't even legal tender in Scotland with RBS written on them?

24 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Bigger question is are we still going to have stupid notes that aren't even legal tender in Scotland with RBS written on them?

Better than the stupid queen. 

John Gentleman
1 hour ago, IronJambo said:

B of E notes aren't 'legal tender' either....

https://www.scotbanks.org.uk/banknotes/legal-position.html

7 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Not in Scotland. Only because Scottish banks produce their own stupid non legal tender ones.

Cash to buy morning rolls (family baker) no electronic/digital facility. The other places are the pub, they do have card facility's, but for some strange reason I still hand over cash and the Chinese take-away, been there for years, but still reluctant to offer card facility, they'll have their reasons. Everything else I buy is through electronic means. Cashless society in a couple of decades down the line, by then I might be to old to care.

RBS would have been ok if it hadn’t bought ABN Amro as they were mostly funded by deposits prior to the take over. It is ironic that having successfully taken over NatWest and becoming a huge bank NatWest are now in a way taking over them.

12 hours ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

It's the Group name that's changing. RBS will still be a legal entity and their branches won't be getting rebranded and any account holders will continue to have RBS branded products. 

BoS is still a Scottish Bank, a Scottish legal entity and incorporated at Scotland Companies House with the Mound as its registered head office. They are in the LBG and were previously part of the HBoS group. 

1 minute ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

It's the Group name that's changing. RBS will still be a legal entity and their branches won't be getting rebranded and any account holders will continue to have RBS branded products. 

BoS is still a Scottish Bank, a Scottish legal entity and incorporated at Scotland Companies House with the Mound as its registered head office. They are in the LBG and were previously part of the HBoS group. 

Thank you for clarifying...👍

Sounds like a simple re-branding exercise, as presumably the powers that be at RBS want a clean break from the negativity that surrounds the RBS name after the banking crisis.  Hoping everybody forgets that Nat West is just RBS under a new name.

I still wouldn't touch their shares with a barge pole, whatever they decide to call themselves.

10 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

RBS would have been ok if it hadn’t bought ABN Amro as they were mostly funded by deposits prior to the take over. It is ironic that having successfully taken over NatWest and becoming a huge bank NatWest are now in a way taking over them.

Not really a takeover just rebranding. But Fred the Shred certainly did for RBS , the ABN Amro takeover being the final straw. 

The new boss of Nat West/RBS is saving a tiny fraction of her salary by being based in London so avoiding the higher tax rate for high earners in Scotland. Bankers are ever bankers.

30 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

The new boss of Nat West/RBS is saving a tiny fraction of her salary by being based in London so avoiding the higher tax rate for high earners in Scotland. Bankers are ever bankers.

Hardly. The cost of living will far outweigh the saving. That's as lifestyle choice, not a financial one.

Had two spells with RBS. 1975 to 1989 as a bank clerk after leaving school and one year 2002/3 as a contract project manager. Fred’s ultimately ambition did for them though it was quite exciting see their badge in the US at the height of their powers. Scottish banking is not what it was. 

36 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Hardly. The cost of living will far outweigh the saving. That's as lifestyle choice, not a financial one.

She was always going to live in London. The issue  is where she was based for tax purposes. Her predecessors were based in Edinburgh.

13 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Not in Scotland. Only because Scottish banks produce their own stupid non legal tender ones.

Why does it bother you so much? It's only cash. 

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

Not really a takeover just rebranding. But Fred the Shred certainly did for RBS , the ABN Amro takeover being the final straw. 

Standard bank behaviour. Never pay their way. She'll no doubt be using other tax loopholes too. They all are. 

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

She was always going to live in London. The issue  is where she was based for tax purposes. Her predecessors were based in Edinburgh.

If she was always going to be living in London then it would just be stupid to base herself in Edinburgh for tax purposes.

1 hour ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Why does it bother you so much? It's only cash. 

It's an oxymoron. The childish need for Scottish banks to print money with their own name on it has the flip side that they'd be as well handing out monopoly money.

Then there's the ignoramuses that take great offence when their Scottish notes aren't accepted on occasion in England. They can't see that the person their handing it to doesn't really know what the hell it is and giving it the benefit of the doubt opens them up to inadvertently accepting forgeries. 3 banks printing notes is ridiculous.

5 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

It's an oxymoron. The childish need for Scottish banks to print money with their own name on it has the flip side that they'd be as well handing out monopoly money.

Then there's the ignoramuses that take great offence when their Scottish notes aren't accepted on occasion in England. They can't see that the person their handing it to doesn't really know what the hell it is and giving it the benefit of the doubt opens them up to inadvertently accepting forgeries. 3 banks printing notes is ridiculous.

Tbf monopoly money won't be accepted in shops in Scotland so it's not the same thing. 

I do agree it's a bit mental for 3 different banks to be printing notes, though I don't think about it that hard. They should come together and set up a Scottish mint, get prepared for Indy 😉 

2 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Tbf monopoly money won't be accepted in shops in Scotland so it's not the same thing. 

I do agree it's a bit mental for 3 different banks to be printing notes, though I don't think about it that hard. They should come together and set up a Scottish mint, get prepared for Indy 😉 

A scottish groat. Yeh right pal. Try exchanging that for real money or spending it abroad, they'd laugh at you then chase you out. 

I don't think the separatists understand what they wish for. We're extremely lucky to be part of our island groups union, don't piss it away for the sake of diseased flag waving nationalism ffs.

In a union of 300 plus years, Scottish banks well over 200 years old issuing own notes and people a few miles away are ignorant of what they look like....

And we are told, suck it up, even by our own.

RBS up here has a note posted on the machines inside the bank “English notes available”.  As the staff tend to buzz around the floor these days helping customers, I asked one of them if the RBS based in England had Scottish notes.......didn’t get an answer but, I did get a look like horns growing out of my head.

On 14/02/2020 at 20:42, Dagger Is Back said:

Fred he shred, knighted in 2004 then knighthood annulled in 2012 for his part in the banking crisis. 

5 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

RBS up here has a note posted on the machines inside the bank “English notes available”.  As the staff tend to buzz around the floor these days helping customers, I asked one of them if the RBS based in England had Scottish notes.......didn’t get an answer but, I did get a look like horns growing out of my head.

I should do that next time I visit the Bath branch

1 hour ago, DETTY29 said:

In a union of 300 plus years, Scottish banks well over 200 years old issuing own notes and people a few miles away are ignorant of what they look like....

With 3 different fives, tens, twenties and fifties, and RBS issuing hundred pound notes is it any wonder? I'll be honest, even I don't know what they look like and if they're meant to be paper or plastic.

2 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Quite a daft question really. They can be accepted as a discretion in England but you're not supposed to hand them out. As in as change or from a bank. 

48 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

With 3 different fives, tens, twenties and fifties, and RBS issuing hundred pound notes is it any wonder? I'll be honest, even I don't know what they look like and if they're meant to be paper or plastic.

Quite a daft question really. They can be accepted as a discretion in England but you're not supposed to hand them out. As in as change or from a bank. 

I didn’t really see it as a daft question............I did really see it as a bit condescending though, as did many others I pointed it out to.......Unless you were of course heading down to England with a wallet full of Scottish cash.

11 hours ago, JustinT said:

A scottish groat. Yeh right pal. Try exchanging that for real money or spending it abroad, they'd laugh at you then chase you out. 

I don't think the separatists understand what they wish for. We're extremely lucky to be part of our island groups union, don't piss it away for the sake of diseased flag waving nationalism ffs.

3 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

You get the same problems here If you try to give someone a Northern Ireland banknote.

53 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Unless you were of course heading down to England with a wallet full of Scottish cash.

Well yes, that's the very reason. In turn, there's no reason whatsoever to give out a Scottish note in England. You'll get less at a currency exchange with Scottish notes and you may get someone in England, Wales, and the channel Islands etc that don't want a note that is unfamiliar and has no legal standing. 

Just now, Lemongrab said:

You get the same problems here If you try to give someone a Northern Ireland banknote.

I've used them plenty of times, here. It's the BoE notes that are dodgie. Funny Money!

47 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

Fair point.

But really shouldn't be the case either.

1 hour ago, Space Mackerel said:

Unionists even hate their own money now. :rofl:

What is wrong with their brains? Or lack of. 

I don't understand this post.

One of my great pleasures when I worked down south was ordering a round of drinks at the bar, offering a Scottish twenty, the bar person saying they can't accept it and me saying they best put the beer back in the cask as that's all I've got. 😎

9 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

One of my great pleasures when I worked down south was ordering a round of drinks at the bar, offering a Scottish twenty, the bar person saying they can't accept it and me saying they best put the beer back in the cask as that's all I've got. 😎

Used to love doing that too. To be fair though, my local boozer and our naafi bar had no problem with them.

My other thing was, as scotland still used pound notes at the time, some busy pubs would mistake them for a fiver. Used to love getting 3 or 4 drinks and change from a pound.

15 hours ago, JustinT said:

😂😂😂

39 minutes ago, superjack said:

Used to love doing that too. To be fair though, my local boozer and our naafi bar had no problem with them.

My other thing was, as scotland still used pound notes at the time, some busy pubs would mistake them for a fiver. Used to love getting 3 or 4 drinks and change from a pound.

I’m sure at some point the pound was valued at 19/6.

It's just a bit of paper that says, it promises to pay bearer the sum on the said note. No notes of any kind are legal tender in Scotland, only the £1 and £2 coins(Except during the two wars).

Oh and for people to moan about Scottish notes is a bit off, considering they were the first Bank in Europe to issue notes. 80, yes 80 banks in Scotland have entered notes into our economy. So relax, it's only a bit of paper that most people honour.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

It's just a bit of paper that says, it promises to pay bearer the sum on the said note. No notes of any kind are legal tender in Scotland, only the £1 and £2 coins(Except during the two wars).

Oh and for people to moan about Scottish notes is a bit off, considering they were the first Bank in Europe to issue notes. 80, yes 80 banks in Scotland have entered notes into our economy. So relax, it's only a bit of paper that most people honour.

This is probably the daftest thing about Scottish banks printing notes. "Let's let all and sundry print money and then we can have no legal standing bank notes at all". Clever. 

4 hours ago, superjack said:

Nowadays you’ve hit the jackpot if you give over a fiver for one drink and the bar person doesn’t ask for more. :lol: 

10 hours ago, IronJambo said:

I don't understand this post.

Don't worry over it, the nats only post immature gifs and forego grown up debate. They act like halfwits in order to avoid scrutiny. 

The only ones who are willing to debate serious issues are the UK Unionists who care about their currency, pensions, benefits, trade, security and defence, budgets etc etc etc. Better to ignore them and their childlike gifs.

11 hours ago, IronJambo said:

This is probably the daftest thing about Scottish banks printing notes. "Let's let all and sundry print money and then we can have no legal standing bank notes at all". Clever. 

One of the deals of the Union. Live with it. We need to live with the rest.

Are Scottish Bank cards and credit cards daft anaw. Do u accept them, or do we need to change to something more suitable for you. Do people outside of Scotland have bank accounts with these silly bank note printers. 

Anyway, why is it called the bank of England anyway?  And why should we use foreign notes, if you don't? And did a Scotsman not invent that place. Probably invented England anaw. Come to think of it, we invented everything!!!!!! Apart from Slaves, Apartheid and the Sewers. But I suppose you had build housing for Slaves and Scottish Unionists somewhere.

Space Mackerel
6 hours ago, JustinT said:

Don't worry over it, the nats only post immature gifs and forego grown up debate. They act like halfwits in order to avoid scrutiny. 

The only ones who are willing to debate serious issues are the UK Unionists who care about their currency, pensions, benefits, trade, security and defence, budgets etc etc etc. Better to ignore them and their childlike gifs.

I had my mortgage with a Spanish bank. 
You want to see my ISA’s and private pension fund, they’re invested globally. 

3 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

I had my mortgage with a Spanish bank. 
You want to see my ISA’s and private pension fund, they’re invested globally. 

Sh Mack, we're just Terrorists who want to destroy Britland by making Scotland even shiter, by giving Scotland it's independence and full powers to change our policies to suit the size of our country and protecting our people by not going into wars that we don't want.