US Democratic Primary Elections Thread

Justin Z

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Nigel Farage's wife is a German. I don't buy this, 'because he or she is' example. I know plenty of bitter Orangemen with Catholic wifes. And I have no doubt Slave owners, you know what.

Anyway, I don't know who the source is. Just an observation. 

And people are allowed to have an opinion without being racist.

Yep.

• Replies 202

• Justin Z

• Dawnrazor

• ri Alban

• jake

A very hard-hitting opinion piece illustrating how bad Bloomberg is, even in comparison to Trump, and indeed taking the Democratic Party to task for its ineffectual, corporatist, anti-working class positions over the past several decades.

https://www.jacobinmag.com/2020/02/michael-bloomberg-nypd-mayor-presidential-campaign

Bloomberg and Trump represent two different perversions of democracy. Trump is a corrupt, wannabe autocrat, flagrantly mixing his family business with the nation’s, a hollow, orange-stained vessel for the billionaire donors who shape our health care and tax policies. He rose to the presidency on a wave of wall-to-wall cable television coverage, his rallies carried live, the corporate networks ever thirstier for his carnival act.

Bloomberg, through the blunt force of his unprecedented wealth, has bought his way into contention. Since the fall, he has plowed more than $300 million into his own campaign, with no end in sight. Some Democrats, broken by Trump, welcome as a savior such a titanic figure now playing for their team. Others, especially those in elected office, are far more transactional: witness the wave of local officials and members of Congress now endorsing him, no doubt hoping for the largesse of a campaign check or Bloomberg-funded Super PAC in due time.

12 hours ago, BudgeUp said:

Does Sanders have any real chance of winning the Democratic nomination?

At this point Sanders leads in polls in all the important places with big delegate counts: California, Florida, Illinois, Texas. In spite of the media narrative it would appear he is often second choice for many voters so if their preferred candidate were to drop out, he'd gain an equal or outsized share of some of their votes too. So yes, I think he does have a real chance.

3 hours ago, Justin Z said:

At this point Sanders leads in polls in all the important places with big delegate counts: California, Florida, Illinois, Texas. In spite of the media narrative it would appear he is often second choice for many voters so if their preferred candidate were to drop out, he'd gain an equal or outsized share of some of their votes too. So yes, I think he does have a real chance.

All of the American msm are against him, plus the democratic party machine. 

10 hours ago, Justin Z said:

Very interesting man to be fair. Anything I've seem of him he seems like a politician that actually ignores the big routes of funding in the US. Unless that's just an act? 

11 hours ago, Justin Z said:

Woe betide the first Republican nominee/President that manages to 'lose' Texas. That will be ******* hilarious to watch. And it's probably not that far away either to be honest. 

3 hours ago, BudgeUp said:

Very interesting man to be fair. Anything I've seem of him he seems like a politician that actually ignores the big routes of funding in the US. Unless that's just an act? 

It is definitely a point he's made of his campaign, that he has zero wealthy donors backing him, and whereby he makes his point about "the people"--funding it, on average, $22 at a time.

On 16/02/2020 at 23:17, BudgeUp said:

Does Sanders have any real chance of winning the Democratic nomination?

Yes, but letting him run against Trump would be stupid.

The media would all scream "COMMIE!" and that'd be that for the election.

Huge Trump landslide if Bernie goes against him.

16 minutes ago, Cade said:

Yes, but letting him run against Trump would be stupid.

The media would all scream "COMMIE!" and that'd be that for the election.

Huge Trump landslide if Bernie goes against him.

The polls don't suggest that?

Pretty sure it was the same in the last election. 

https://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/483642-poll-trump-edges-out-all-top-2020-democratic-candidates-except-sanders

https://www.newsweek.com/bernie-sanders-trump-poll-election-2020-biden-bloomberg-1483423

https://www.realclearpolitics.com/epolls/2020/president/us/general_election_trump_vs_sanders-6250.html#polls

I wonder how a Democratic ticket of Saunders with VP Bloomberg would fare?

It might be the Dems best option, but two elderly white guys is not representative of the Democratic party.

Kalamazoo Jambo

Big win for Sanders in Nevada. Hard to see past him for the nomination unless a major health issue arises or several others drop out of the race soon (unlikely) - and even then he’d still be favorite.

Absolutely massive win for Biden in South Carolina leading into Super Tuesday in two days' time, with Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia involved.

The media will hype this up and it will give him serious momentum, no doubt about it.

Kalamazoo Jambo
On 23/02/2020 at 11:46, Kalamazoo Jambo said:

Big win for Sanders in Nevada. Hard to see past him for the nomination unless a major health issue arises or several others drop out of the race soon (unlikely) - and even then he’d still be favorite.

Well, I was wrong about that. Steyer, Buttigieg and Klobuchar all dropping out means that it's game on.

2 hours ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said:

Well, I was wrong about that. Steyer, Buttigieg and Klobuchar all dropping out means that it's game on.

I think Warren will be out in the next 48 hours.

8 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I think Warren will be out in the next 48 hours.

She's waiting till after Super Tuesday in order to split the progressive vote away from Bernie. Likewise, many of the "moderate" (read: centre-right) candidates have dropped out ahead of time, in order to give more numbers to Biden.

9 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

She's waiting till after Super Tuesday in order to split the progressive vote away from Bernie. Likewise, many of the "moderate" (read: centre-right) candidates have dropped out ahead of time, in order to give more numbers to Biden.

Soon it will be Bernie, Biden, and Bloomberg.  The geriatric Killer B's.

1 hour ago, Justin Z said:

Biden would almost certainly lose to Trump as an inferior Democratic version of Hilary Clinton. 

Are the Democrats that stupid that they would risk 4 more years of Trump just to stop Sanders?

25 minutes ago, Costanza said:

Biden would almost certainly lose to Trump as an inferior Democratic version of Hilary Clinton. 

Are the Democrats that stupid that they would risk 4 more years of Trump just to stop Sanders?

:indeed:

They are entitled, out of touch and only care about preserving their establishment.

23 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

:indeed:

They are entitled, out of touch and only care about preserving their establishment.

Yup, very much so.

Also if Biden is nominated,  the Republicans will go to town on his son and Ukraine. The whole election will be on corruption and whilst Biden isn't as bad as Trump, it will hurt him more amongst his own base.

Sorry to be thick (and if this is covered earlier) but if you ‘win’ the state is it winner-takes-all like the Electoral College? 

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

Sorry to be thick (and if this is covered earlier) but if you ‘win’ the state is it winner-takes-all like the Electoral College? 

No, you get a share of the delegates for a state depending on your share of the vote there, but you have to get above a certain watershed share (15%) of the vote to do so.

As far as I know anyway, not being an expert on the subject.

4 hours ago, Barack said:

Good night for Biden. Extremely good, if he wins Texas.

Warren needs to have a wee think, stop acting angry, and drop out. 3rd in your home State, and your campaign team releasing statements about "momentum." :what:

As one commentator said, an "unconscionable" response.

3 hours ago, redjambo said:

No, you get a share of the delegates for a state depending on your share of the vote there, but you have to get above a certain watershed share (15%) of the vote to do so.

As far as I know anyway, not being an expert on the subject.

That's correct.  It's different from the method used by the Republican party, which is winner take all, afaik.

Trump will beat any candidate.

He won the last time and his popularity has only strengthened.

Good to see Warren down and out. First came across her in a double act with Hillary in the last campaign where the two danced around a stage in matching pantsuits. Ridiculous and vacuous display. Trump despite his idiocy nailed her with his Pocahontas gibe at her ancestry claims which alienated real Native Americans and many others..

Edited by Francis Albert

21 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Good to see Warren down and out. First came across her in a double act with Hillary in the last campaign where the two danced around a stage in matching pantsuits. Ridiculous and vacuous display. Trump despite his idiocy nailed her with his Pocahontas gibe at her ancestry claims which alienated real Native Americans and many others..

image.jpeg.9808ca4998d74fa55e6ed37fd3ff8861.jpeg

2 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Trump will beat any candidate.

He won the last time and his popularity has only strengthened.

His approval rating has been hovering around 43% for a couple of years.  I think he might lose the popular vote again, but that doesn't mean he won't win the election, just like last time.

Rodger Mellie
1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

His approval rating has been hovering around 43% for a couple of years.  I think he might lose the popular vote again, but that doesn't mean he won't win the election, just like last time.

I think he'll beat the totally uninspiring Joe Biden, who sadly looks like he's going to be the Democratic nominee. 

5 minutes ago, Rodger Mellie said:

I think he'll beat the totally uninspiring Joe Biden, who sadly looks like he's going to be the Democratic nominee. 

Yep, but if Bernie won it would be a whitewash I think, the argument between Americanism against Socialism would only have one winner I think.

Watching Newsnight.

If this is intelligent political debate and Biden is touted as the credible opposition to Trump.

Then fek me sideways because it's a joke.

Bit depressing even after last night .

Theres so many things that's wrong with this guy.

Only slightly less corrupt than Trump and only slightly less creepy.

But apparently the American bomber has been banging heads together.

What a joke.

1 hour ago, jake said:

Watching Newsnight.

If this is intelligent political debate and Biden is touted as the credible opposition to Trump.

What a joke.

It's incredible that the world's most powerful, diverse, richest country has to choose its next President from two elderly white men of limited intelligence, laughably inept, and with a background of dubious business dealings.

Fek me sideways indeed. It's enough to make any sane person despair.

I'm with the elderly "socialist" though ah ken it'll no happen. :(

17 hours ago, jake said:

Watching Newsnight.

What a joke.

You still talking shite about Obama.

17 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

It's incredible that the world's most powerful, diverse, richest country has to choose its next President from two elderly white men of limited intelligence, laughably inept, and with a background of dubious business dealings.

Fek me sideways indeed. It's enough to make any sane person despair.

It's the parody of so called in depth analysis on newsnight.

I'm giving up .

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

What shite?

His record breaking bombing and still winning the noble peace prize is the shite.

As is the farce that sees a total fud like Trump hold office as is the farce that sees Biden as some sort of credible progressive.

As is the farce of the political questioning of so called high brow newsnight.

Slag me off all you want .

Its all a load of utter shite.

You buy into it if you want .

11 minutes ago, jake said:

What shite?

His record breaking bombing and still winning the noble peace prize is the shite.

As is the farce that sees a total fud like Trump hold office as is the farce that sees Biden as some sort of credible progressive.

Indeed. I know you don't like it when I call you "accidentally right", ri, but this is exactly the reason why. Not a word jake just wrote here is wrong. Obama did **** all he said he was going to do, to get elected in 2008, and accordingly didn't get my vote in 2012.

3 hours ago, Justin Z said:

Indeed. I know you don't like it when I call you "accidentally right", ri, but this is exactly the reason why. Not a word jake just wrote here is wrong. Obama did **** all he said he was going to do, to get elected in 2008, and accordingly didn't get my vote in 2012.

I like it.

I'm not against your thinking.

I just apply it fear or favour.

FWIW I wish we all had the same skin colour.

Because that's truly where I come from.

I will quit when ahead 

9 hours ago, Justin Z said:

Who does, JZ? But hey let's focus on Obama the bomber. Not his fellow President Bombers who caused the mess. 👍 As for your accidentally, right pish, you have missed my point again. As usual but hey, that's oot Justin, the authority of feck all.

9 hours ago, jake said:

What shite?

No, Jake, there's only one reason. As for your list. Many western leader has done all these things.

Who does, JZ? But hey let's focus on Obama the bomber. Not his fellow President Bombers who caused the mess. 👍 As for your accidentally, right pish, you have missed my point again. As usual but hey, that's oot Justin, the authority of feck all.

:lol: No one is "focusing" on Obama here. Your one-liner post certainly didn't have a point, so it will have been hard for me to miss it, eh? :thumbsup:

In your subsequent post, you claim many western "leader" have done the same as Obama. You're right. Ignoring the fact that Obama gets a pass for it even after he campaigned against doing the exact things he ended up doing--that is missing the point.

Anyway, c'mon Bernie indeed, someone who voted against the Iraq war and against the Patriot Act and who isn't a "centrist" (by American standards) in progressive clothing like Obama was.

2 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

:lol: No one is "focusing" on Obama here. Your one-liner post certainly didn't have a point, so it will have been hard for me to miss it, eh? :thumbsup:

In your subsequent post, you claim many western "leader" have done the same as Obama. You're right. Ignoring the fact that Obama gets a pass for it even after he campaigned against doing the exact things he ended up doing--that is missing the point.

Anyway, c'mon Bernie indeed, someone who voted against the Iraq war and against the Patriot Act and who isn't a "centrist" (by American standards) in progressive clothing like Obama was.

No he does not. But a certain poster focuses on him, relentlessly, without perspective. Because!? 

But yes, C'mon Bernie. 

How's things anyway, JZ? Any better luck with immigration?  Good luck, BTW. And keep up the sanctimonious patronisation of Jkb. 👍

😃 Only pulling yer leg. 

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

No he does not. But a certain poster focuses on him, relentlessly, without perspective. Because!? 

Ah, indeed. So responding without perspective is the answer. :wink:

Not that it's unfair to say he does it mostly without perspective--quite right. But again, that's the entire point of what I've been trying to say to you. When you respond in kind it makes your own position look weaker. And well, I don't want that for independence--so I hold the likes of you to a higher standard.

23 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

But yes, C'mon Bernie. 

How's things anyway, JZ? Any better luck with immigration?  Good luck, BTW. And keep up the sanctimonious patronisation of Jkb. 👍

😃 Only pulling yer leg. 

:lol: I do my best.

Nah, I'm getting chucked out Monday unfortunately. I'll be back, but not as a productive, working member of the society I want to be a part of. The fab Tory immigration policy hard at work. Thankfully we live in the internet era and I can do lots of work on American contracts from anywhere in the world.

Side note rant--that's the thing. Using xenophobia as a political tool as the Tories have to secure power, the result is never a laser-sighted sniper rifle picking off "undesirables" the way they claim--it's a shotgun. They didn't aim it at me, but I've been caught in the blast anyway.

Now that it's down to Bernie and Biden, a big aspect of Bernie continuing to increase his appeal to minority voters is by hammering Biden for supporting policies like the absolutely horrific 1994 Crime Bill, which he even went out of his way to stamp his name onto.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/opinions/wp/2018/09/18/theres-overwhelming-evidence-that-the-criminal-justice-system-is-racist-heres-the-proof/

The criminal justice system in the United States is racist because of things like the Crime Bill. And yet on name recognition and short memory alone he got greater than 60% of the Black vote in South Carolina, as one example.

It's an absolutely vital piece of the puzzle and I'm hopeful the Sanders campaign has a way to make it work.