Happy Brexit Day!

ri Alban

9 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I think the UK are just the start and you'll see a lot more leaving.

Greece are choking to leave.

Sit back and watch them topple like dominos 

Just my opinion of course

That's the thinking of Brexiters I don't understand. Praying that the rest of the EU falls apart, why? Wm is less democratic and more of a dictator to its member countries, than the EU have ever been. Yet!

• Replies 156

• OBE

• i8hibsh

• ri Alban

• Justin Z

Today is about letting the hard of thinking have their day of 'celebration'.

Tomorrow the ownership phase begins and no doubt after a very short period of gain in currency and stock market value it'll all start to slide to where it was always destined to end up, the UK trading on WTO terms, hemorrhaging GDP and jobs, with a grossly devalued sterling. 

Still we'll all have blue passports and shiny 50p pieces. 👍

The UK could have had blue passports any time it wanted.

The colour of passports was never an EU regulation.

More lies from the hard of thinking.

5 hours ago, Smithee said:

I doubt it, if the uk were to make a rip roaring success of it then maybe, but that's exceptionally unlikely given the weak bargaining position we've put ourselves in. 

The majority of our trade will still be with the eu so our businesses will still have to meet their standards, it's just that now we'll have tariffs and zero say in anything.

Any positives will be seized on by those we want to strike deals with - "oh you want access to our markets? Then we want access to your fish."

And because we're desperate, we'll have to give in.

Do you really think the EU and their businesses are dumb enough to introduce tariffs that will dissuade UK consumers from buying their products? If they did, then basic consumer intelligence kicks in and we find an alternative. 

We consume shit loads from Europe, deals will done, shit loads will continue...both ways, IMO.

No shafting will ensue, straighten your back and pull your Wolseley's up Smithee. 

Just now, Old Blue Eyes said:

Do you really think the EU and their businesses are dumb enough to introduce tariffs that will dissuade UK consumers from buying their products? If they did, then basic consumer intelligence kicks in and we find an alternative. 

We consume shit loads from Europe, deals will done, shit loads will continue...both ways, IMO.

No shafting will ensue, straighten your back and pull your Wolseley's up Smithee. 

It won't dissuade UK consumers as they'll have no choice. We don't produce enough food. We don't manufacture anything. 

You're right there will be no shafting. This is entirely self inflicted. 

46 minutes ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

Not if the UK insists on not following EU regulations on products they won't.

7 minutes ago, Cade said:

Not if the UK insists on not following EU regulations on products they won't.

Right. So either the UK will end up having to follow the EU regulations, but now without having any say in what those regulations are, in order to trade into Europe, or the UK won't trade into Europe.

Win/win. :glasses:

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It won't dissuade UK consumers as they'll have no choice. We don't produce enough food. We don't manufacture anything

You're right there will be no shafting. This is entirely self inflicted. 

We do pay our farmers not to produce food, don't we?  These subsidies are beyond disgraceful. Take the shackles of our farmers and let them compete with the French, because that's all France is, one great big gigantic ****ing field.

Imagine telling Johnnie Walker (Diageo) to reduce it's production, but not to worry their lost revenue will be subsidised by the European tax payer.

Don't manufacture eh? :notsure:

Unilever; 41.8 billion in revenue per year, Rio Tino; 31.6 billion per year, GlaxoSmithKline; 26.6 billion per year, AngloAmerican Metals; 18.2 billion per year, AstraZeneca; 17.7 billion per year, British American Tobacco; 28 billion per year. BAE Systems; 16.3 billion per year, Imperial Tobacco; 14.6 billion per year, Associated British Food; 12.3 billion per year, Rolls-Royce; 12.3billion per year, Airbus UK; 5.9 billion...had enough?  Thought so!

31 minutes ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

We do pay our farmers not to produce food, don't we?  These subsidies are beyond disgraceful. Take the shackles of our farmers and let them compete with the French, because that's all France is, one great big gigantic ****ing field.

Imagine telling Johnnie Walker (Diageo) to reduce it's production, but not to worry their lost revenue will be subsidised by the European tax payer.

Don't manufacture eh? :notsure:

Unilever; 41.8 billion in revenue per year, Rio Tino; 31.6 billion per year, GlaxoSmithKline; 26.6 billion per year, AngloAmerican Metals; 18.2 billion per year, AstraZeneca; 17.7 billion per year, British American Tobacco; 28 billion per year. BAE Systems; 16.3 billion per year, Imperial Tobacco; 14.6 billion per year, Associated British Food; 12.3 billion per year, Rolls-Royce; 12.3billion per year, Airbus UK; 5.9 billion...had enough?  Thought so!

If we paid our farmers to produce as much food S they physically can then we still wouldn't have enough. Then of course there's seasonality of our produce.

So your argument is we manufacture drugs, chemicals, fags and aircraft components. Sound. 

They'll all be subject to EU regulations  and tariffs. 

You do realise most of those companies are multinational right? So the majority of what they do isn't manufactured here in the UK right? Thought it through? Thought not. 

Just been to Holyrood as I fancied a laugh.  1 man and his dog with bedsheet banners speaking on behalf of an entire country.   They can't see how much of a laughing stock they are.  There were more people taking pics of them than joining them.

9 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

If we paid our farmers to produce as much food S they physically can then we still wouldn't have enough. Then of course there's seasonality of our produce.

So your argument is we manufacture drugs, chemicals, fags and aircraft components. Sound. 

They'll all be subject to EU regulations  and tariffs. 

You do realise most of those companies are multinational right? So the majority of what they do isn't manufactured here in the UK right? Thought it through? Thought not. 

We currently pay them not to produce, now you want to pay them to produce, which is it? No country in the world has enough of everything, we all trade, get on with it.

Not arguing chief, just highlighting British company's verified revenues.

3 minutes ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

We currently pay them not to produce, now you want to pay them to produce, which is it? No country in the world has enough of everything, we all trade, get on with it.

So we're at the mercy of others for our food then and today marks the start of removing the frictionless borders to bringing in the food we actually need, most likely under some kind of tariff.

That's genius. 

5 hours ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

We'll see won't we?

But we need the EU's trade much much more than they need ours, we're not coming from a position of power here, and TBH it shows a lack of understanding to think we can just get the farmers to grow more.

It's not just that britain can't feed itself, it's what we can produce and when. For example, where do our winter greens come from?

We have no skin in this game, we face losing a market of 450 million people, they face losing a market of 60 million - who's more desperate? Who needs deals to feed themselves? 

But the real bottom line is this - for it's own good the EU HAS to make sure that the uk is in an obviously worse position by leaving the EU, they HAVE to make sure that their members can see the benefits of membership, so they're not going to give us what we want.

But yeah, we'll see won't we?

30 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

So we're at the mercy of others for our food then and today marks the start of removing the frictionless borders to bringing in the food we actually need, most likely under some kind of tariff.

That's genius. 

At the mercy of others? These others have quality proven products that we want to continue buying. Why do you think the EU would jeopardise the volume of these sales buy making them more costly? For one, The Orchard of Spain has made it crystal, that under no circumstances does it want to see tariffs lumped on it's products bound for the UK. Also, I reckon the German car marks will be chanting from the same hymn sheet. 

The EU food producers don't want to starve us mercilessly, they can't afford to...they need the our British £.

"Dig For Britain" is your idea of how we're going to cope with stiff tariffs on all imports?

The UK is a net importer, with almost half the food we eat coming in from abroad.

19 minutes ago, Smithee said:

We'll see won't we?

But we need the EU's trade much much more than they need ours, we're not coming from a position of power here, and TBH it shows a lack of understanding to think we can just get the farmers to grow more.

It's not just that britain can't feed itself, it's what we can produce and when. For example, where do our winter greens come from?

We have no skin in this game, we face losing a market of 450 million people, they face losing a market of 60 million - who's more desperate? Who needs deals to feed themselves? 

But the real bottom line is this - for it's own good the EU HAS to make sure that the uk is in an obviously worse position by leaving the EU, they HAVE to make sure that their members can see the benefits of membership, so they're not going to give us what we want.

But yeah, we'll see won't we?

"No skin in the game" - sorry, just up.

I'm trying to say we have much less leverage than we seem to think. 

Never voted for this fecked up pill of utter shite but its done.

Scots never either.

51% to 49% now in favour of an independent Scotland, well done Boris your lies and manipulations on Brexit have divided the kingdom..

No photo description available. 

3 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

View image on Twitter

To be fair, I'd feel pretty much the same if England won the World Cup, so he has a point....

That’s exactly what it feels like.

Only difference is, in this analogy, FIFA will come back in a year’s time and take it back off them !

Democracy has to be respected. As part of the UK, Scotland has to accept this, meantime.

The real pressure is now on the Leaver politicians to deliver this to the betterment of the whole of the UK, as promised over and over again. We were told it would be an easy transition. Let’s hope so.

However, does anyone think that, had the UK voted 52/48 in favour of remaining, that Farage and the ERG would have accepted that result as a final decision?

In my opinion, they would have behaved in the same way as the Remain politicians have been criticised for, and agitated until they got another referendum.

1 hour ago, maroonlegions said:

Never voted for this fecked up pill of utter shite but its done.

Scots never either.

51% to 49% now in favour of an independent Scotland, well done Boris your lies and manipulations on Brexit have divided the kingdom..

No photo description available. 

:vangry::4_1_72:

CavySlaveJambo

What about respecting the feelings of those who never voted for this! 
whose dreams have been destroyed to be stuck in a country that is horrendous and found to be (Gravely and Systemically) abusing human rights if you are disabled. Who have started like the Nazis did in WWII!  

Grow up and act like a compassionate human being. 

46 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Democracy has to be respected. As part of the UK, Scotland has to accept this, meantime.

The real pressure is now on the Leaver politicians to deliver this to the betterment of the whole of the UK, as promised over and over again. We were told it would be an easy transition. Let’s hope so.

However, does anyone think that, had the UK voted 52/48 in favour of remaining, that Farage and the ERG would have accepted that result as a final decision?

In my opinion, they would have behaved in the same way as the Remain politicians have been criticised for, and agitated until they got another referendum.

“In a 52-48 referendum this would be unfinished business by a long way.”

Any guesses who that quote’s from?

Just wrongly posted by mistake in the Brexit Celebrations thread about how the EU actually increases the cost of food to European consumers to protect European producers from competition from lower cost producers outside the UK. There are lots of producers outside the EU who would like to export to a high value market like the UK without being disadvantaged by the often high tariffs the EU imposes on agricultural produce from outside the EU. There would be benefits to the UK consumer and to poorer countries if we bought more food from outside the EU.

Also just heard a Brexit supporter saying we can get wine and cheese from elsewhere. True but we won't need to. France and the rest will still sell to the UK market. When in the States I buy French wine and cheese (and Scotch) at lower prices than I pay in the UK.

30 minutes ago, Zico said:

“In a 52-48 referendum this would be unfinished business by a long way.”

Any guesses who that quote’s from?

Farage? Of course he would have seen it as unfinished business. 

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Just wrongly posted by mistake in the Brexit Celebrations thread about how the EU actually increases the cost of food to European consumers to protect European producers from competition from lower cost producers outside the UK. There are lots of producers outside the EU who would like to export to a high value market like the UK without being disadvantaged by the often high tariffs the EU imposes on agricultural produce from outside the EU. There would be benefits to the UK consumer and to poorer countries if we bought more food from outside the EU.

Also just heard a Brexit supporter saying we can get wine and cheese from elsewhere. True but we won't need to. France and the rest will still sell to the UK market. When in the States I buy French wine and cheese (and Scotch) at lower prices than I pay in the UK.

How dare you Francis. Don't you know it's all doom and gloom and our economy was meant to crash after we voted to leave, although our economy is performing better than anywhere in Europe :D

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Yes

But he has repeatedly said that the 48% have to respect the result as a once in a lifetime decision.

So, similar to Nicola Sturgeon, would only accept the right result that he wants.

Modern democracy.

Space Mackerel
3 hours ago, Cade said:

"Dig For Britain" is your idea of how we're going to cope with stiff tariffs on all imports?

The UK is a net importer, with almost half the food we eat coming in from abroad.

I think I'll grow some Parmesan cheese the morn. :lol:

Nice with a little home made Italian plum tomato sauce.

Disappointed they've not rounded up all these Romanian gang beggars and shipped them off back to their Romanian mansions yet. If one good thing can come from Brexit.. :rolleyes:

13 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Disappointed they've not rounded up all these Romanian gang beggars and shipped them off back to their Romanian mansions yet. If one good thing can come from Brexit.. :rolleyes:

There will be plenty of time for that over the next 5 years. Maybe get rid of the Polish alkies staggering about the streets with their cans of Tyskie at the same time :D

Space Mackerel
7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

There will be plenty of time for that over the next 5 years. Maybe get rid of the Polish alkies staggering about the streets with their cans of Tyskie at the same time :D

Where do we ship the Scottish yins off to?

54 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Gold star for Frank. He was magnanimous enough to say he’d have accepted a two thirds defeat. 

41 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

How dare you Francis. Don't you know it's all doom and gloom and our economy was meant to crash after we voted to leave, although our economy is performing better than anywhere in Europe :D

Aye but, aye but, we've yet to learn how much of a stiffing we're gonna get with the impending tariffs placed on all our imported products. 

1 minute ago, Space Mackerel said:

Erm, its a made up place.

Never :lol: 

I loved the film as a bairn and always wished it was real.

We could always ship the Scottish yins doon the road from the Grassmarket to outside the Scottish parliament 

56 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Really? Last GDP figures I saw for the last 12 months has the UK just behind the Euro area. Better than Germany of course but behind plenty others. Last quarter was good but tied with Belgium and behind Greece. 

You may have been referring to other data though. Not productivity of course but would be good to know. 😏

Space Mackerel
2 minutes ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

Aye but, aye but, we've yet to learn how much of a stiffing we're gonna get with the impending tariffs placed on all our imported products. 

So with the banks not giving out any credit so far since 2008, when prices rise due to tariffs, I'll be passing mine on to the customer obviously, where is all the money coming from?

2 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

So with the banks not giving out any credit so far since 2008, when prices rise due to tariffs, I'll be passing mine on to the customer obviously, where is all the money coming from?

:wtfvlad: There's ten Bobs everywhere!

8 minutes ago, Zico said:

Really? Last GDP figures I saw for the last 12 months has the UK just behind the Euro area. Better than Germany of course but behind plenty others. Last quarter was good but tied with Belgium and behind Greece. 

You may have been referring to other data though. Not productivity of course but would be good to know. 😏

Britain has now had 13 quarters of economic growth since the Brexit referendum. It's grown faster than Germany, France and the Eurozone as a whole in the last 2 years and according to the IMF it will grow faster than the Eurozone for the next 2 years

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

Britain has now had 13 quarters of economic growth since the Brexit referendum. It's grown faster than Germany, France and the Eurozone as a whole in the last 2 years and according to the IMF it will grow faster than the Eurozone for the next 2 years