Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

9 hours ago, Cruyff said:

I'm just ignoring their daft rules now. Quite happy to wear a mask, sanitise my hands and socially distance in public but I'm at folks houses every night for dinner or, they're at mine. 

Wee nippy Adolf can go and take her mockett bonce for a feckin shite. 

This is exactly the sort of thing that will keep us all in lockdown even longer. Thanks. Adolf Hitler would have happily let the frail/vulnerable/disabled die btw, which is kind of the opposite of what Sturgeon is trying to do.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

This is exactly the sort of thing that will keep us all in lockdown even longer. Thanks. Adolf Hitler would have happily let the frail/vulnerable/disabled die btw, which is kind of the opposite of what Sturgeon is trying to do.

Is that NS that walks about a parliament with the best part of a thousand people in it? 🤔 And stands in an enclosed chamber with hundreds of people in it? 

But I'm no allowed some folk in my house that all work from home. 

:laugh2: aye right. 

16 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Did you have any side effects like a sore arm or a wee temperature for a couple of days?

I usually feel flushed for a few hours after getting it, but nothing worse

I didn't feel any different at all other than my arm being a bit sore for a couple of days.

1 minute ago, Cruyff said:

Is that NS that walks about a parliament with the best part of a thousand people in it? 🤔 And stands in an enclosed chamber with hundreds of people in it? 

They are all 2 metres apart. Much harder to do that in somebody's house without touching the same surfaces etc.

22 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Did you have any side effects like a sore arm or a wee temperature for a couple of days?

I usually feel flushed for a few hours after getting it, but nothing worse

No side effects at all.

Maybe because I went for a few ales.

The wife was fine as well.

58 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Have you managed to get your Flu jab yet?

Nope - tried that place on Forrest Road and they have used up their allocation too and won't be getting more.

2 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

They are all 2 metres apart. Much harder to do that in somebody's house without touching the same surfaces etc.

🤣 They all touch the bannisters, they all touch doors, they all use the cafe, they all use the toilets. 2m apart in a chamber of hundreds of folk when a virus travels 14 feet and remains on a surface for potentially 2 hours isn't going to save them. 

20 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

The Amazon driver knocks your door, leaves the parcel on the doorstep and then steps back 2 meters. He doesn't hang around, and he doesn't get handed any money or sweeties from whoever answers the door.

Not all the time he doesn't and neither does the postman if he requires a signature.

Anyway, surely the SG would have been better to issue guidance on how kids could safely guise rather than a blanket ban. Wouldn't have been difficult to say "knock on the door then step back 2m, tell a joke rather than sing, leave your bucket on the doorstep and people can put sweets in it then collect it after they close the door"

16 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Neither of those first two things is happening just now.

Not sticking up for them, just adding to the debate.

7 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Nope - tried that place on Forrest Road and they have used up their allocation too and won't be getting more.

Not sure but can you use any NHS area to get the jab?

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Not sure but can you use any NHS area to get the jab?

Not unless I get them to change me to be a priority case, and doing that would potentially have negative consequences for other things.

I have raised it with my local MSP and await a response.

Edited by frankblack

8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Ditto. Been this way since about, er, March.

Could have done with a pint the other night, and would like to have taken the wife out for dinner to celebrate passing her first uni assessment, but otherwise life continues as normal for normal people.

Had a couple of cold beers in the pub yesterday, we had to drive to Berwick for them mind. Nice roast dinner and a few pints, excellent day. Mind you, I think everyone I spoke to was Scottish and just down for the same reason.

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

Not unless I get them to change me to be a priority case, and doing that would potentially have negative consequences for other things.

I thought that being on a central computer system it wouldn’t matter.

There’ll probably be extra in some areas.

15 minutes ago, graygo said:

They have in the past few weeks though. 

A lot of people on here getting the flu jab, is the average age much older than I thought? Or are younger folk paying for it themselves? I haven't even considered getting it due to my age and assumed I'd be using a dose that could go to someone more priority. 

18 minutes ago, JWL said:

Had a couple of cold beers in the pub yesterday, we had to drive to Berwick for them mind. Nice roast dinner and a few pints, excellent day. Mind you, I think everyone I spoke to was Scottish and just down for the same reason.

JiH/NO will be checking his ANPR to track you down. Cue, the questioning about what pub you were in etc.  😂

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

All the hard work done in the spring and summer pished doon the drain, all because the simpletons of society cannae do as their asked. 

Thank feck the world didn't need to rely on them during the first half of the 20th century. 

"I'm no sitting in no fecking trench" 

absolute slaver.

21 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

A lot of people on here getting the flu jab, is the average age much older than I thought? Or are younger folk paying for it themselves? I haven't even considered getting it due to my age and assumed I'd be using a dose that could go to someone more priority. 

We get it free through our work, it’s not something I’ve ever had, nor thought about having at my age. I’m 34. 

Just now, The Frenchman Returns said:

Swinney saying students may not be allowed home for Xmas. This will be interesting. 

Again as if they could possibly control that, they are going to have mass rebellions on their hands unfortunately.

I can see the thinking behind it but can't see anyone sticking to it !!

I get my flu jag subsided by work if I want one, have to contribute about £3. 

Have been getting it for about 10 years due to aging parents and in-laws, making sure I don’t pass to them. Had booked it this year before I realised over 55 we’re getting them. 

44 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

They have in the past few weeks though. 

There are not "hundreds" of people in the chamber.

Face-to-face meetings in the parliamentary chamber are scheduled to only take place once a week in the immediate future, with a maximum of 79 MSPs allowed in at any one time to maintain social distancing. Half of the seats have been removed from the chamber so that members are kept a reasonable distance apart.

1 hour ago, graygo said:

As for the "best part of 1,000 staff" - Some are on furlough but normally they don't even have that many.

The Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body employs around 450 staff dedicated to supporting the work of the Parliament and its Members.

Ainsley Harriott
12 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Swinney saying students may not be allowed home for Xmas. This will be interesting. 

I wouldn't take anything he says too seriously guy performs more U turns than a busy black cab driver.

11 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Good luck with that one.

People are jsut ignoring them now, hence the issues.

As the rules become more draconian, and the more fatigue has set in, the more people are sticking 2 fingers up to them.

Nicola has lost the public on this one, and they are not coming back on board

1 hour ago, JWL said:

I was in the Magna tandoori in Berwick last week. They ask you to write down your post code and mobile number in their book.

Most of the postcodes started with EH :D

here are the figures blah blah blah - of course as we cannot get anyone to work weekends they are not accurate blah blah blah 

1 hour ago, graygo said:

Not all the time he doesn't and neither does the postman if he requires a signature.

Anyway, surely the SG would have been better to issue guidance on how kids could safely guise rather than a blanket ban. Wouldn't have been difficult to say "knock on the door then step back 2m, tell a joke rather than sing, leave your bucket on the doorstep and people can put sweets in it then collect it after they close the door"

Anyone with common sense should realise that this guising shouldn’t be happening this year

no big deal. it’s one year 

6 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

aye the Capital isnae gettin oot ma grip 

aye heard her say just because there has been a drop over a couple of day yer still in tier three. nae boozers/restaurants opening next week. me and the missus have three vouchers to use. Hearts Skyline lounge, Tattu Chinese, and Balmoral Hotel  bar steward open them up ya toly

2 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Anyone with common sense should realise that this guising shouldn’t be happening this year

no big deal. it’s one year 

The snp have been guising as a devolved government for years now 

21 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I was in the Magna tandoori in Berwick last week. They ask you to write down your post code and mobile number in their book.

Most of the postcodes started with EH :D

Don't believe you, fuds can't write.

5 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

The snp have been guising as a devolved government for years now 

1 hour ago, graygo said:

Way too much common sense in this plan, which of course rules it out because none of our so called leaders apply much if any common sense to most things.

I thought there was going to be a revision to tier 3 with respects restaurants.  For tier 3, restaurants would be able to open under specific conditions (guessing no alcohol).  So whilst pubs would remain closed in tier 3, I'm hoping they will relax some of the restaurant rules and give that sector a bit of a break.

57 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

That screams him saying one thing and when they say they are allowed home for Christmas he pays himself on the back saying how much they have done to help them

9 minutes ago, OBE said:

Don't believe you, fuds can't write.

You managed to type that post. Or did you get your mummy to do it?

1 hour ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Or in otherwords, if yous all don't do as your told we'll keep your kids locked up over Christmas......bah fecking humbug.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

9 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Got the distinct impression we ain’t seeing any loosening here. I still think they will treat the central belt as a larger area to prevent people travelling at least until the levels are down that can get them under a similar tier ie. tier 2 or better. She has just said central belt is likely to stay where it is in questioning, 

I can’t see them creating a situation where potentially large numbers are travelling from the west for socialising purposes. Not initially anyway. 

Beginning to think we will stay where we are, until Chrimbo time. We will then drop down a tier or so to enable a limited Christmas, then shortly into New Year we will go back up the tiers with the blame being Christmas. 

Students have been screwed over. Rushed and told to get back to education. Then told not to go to pubs and then a large chunk locked up in halls. Now potentially being told not allowed home at Christmas. All whilst by demonised by many. 

I was thinking about that but they can go further west and get into pubs/restaurants etc so why would they all pile through here? Maybe make you bring something with an address on it/ID to get into places? No ID no entry. Surely not fair keeping us in lockdown if it’s more or less under control here. 

I am not getting the issue regarding students now.  Most have probably had it now since they came back in Sept and there was a furore about it all.  Pathetic really

18 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

aye heard her say just because there has been a drop over a couple of day yer still in tier three. nae boozers/restaurants opening next week. me and the missus have three vouchers to use. Hearts Skyline lounge, Tattu Chinese, and Balmoral Hotel  bar steward open them up ya toly

If there is an increase in positive tests, then gov and NS can't wait to portray it as bad news that will mean tighter restrictions. As soon as there is a drop in positive tests, then out comes the excuse that the drop doesn't mean anything  and that restrictions need to continue. Utterly shameful what the Scottish government is being allowed to get away with and it doesn't show any of the political parties in good light that they are allowing her to conduct a political broadcast daily, although by mow, it is only her slavish cult followers who switch it on.

If, and it hasn't been confirmed yet, Edinburgh and Glasgow are treated the same when it comes to tiering, then surely no-one can argue that she doesn't want to upset her core supporting heartland to the detriment of the more intelligent Edinburgh citizens. The evidence has been clearly laid out that the manky gits of Lanarkshire, Ayrshire and Glasgow are incapable of washing their hands and following rules, anyone who has seen their football supporters already knew that, and they should be the ones who are penalised, not just everyone in Central because we don't want to offend the West. 

18 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Got the distinct impression we ain’t seeing any loosening here. I still think they will treat the central belt as a larger area to prevent people travelling at least until the levels are down that can get them under a similar tier ie. tier 2 or better. She has just said central belt is likely to stay where it is in questioning, 

I can’t see them creating a situation where potentially large numbers are travelling from the west for socialising purposes. Not initially anyway. 

Beginning to think we will stay where we are, until Chrimbo time. We will then drop down a tier or so to enable a limited Christmas, then shortly into New Year we will go back up the tiers with the blame being Christmas. 

Students have been screwed over. Rushed and told to get back to education. Then told not to go to pubs and then a large chunk locked up in halls. Now potentially being told not allowed home at Christmas. All whilst by demonised by many. 

No way is that boot gonna have Glasgow and Edinburgh into different tiers. And they say its not political? It is. Poor pubs and other businesses maybe not going to open next week despite the stats in Edinburgh doing better. This will finish many off as the run up to Xmas is their busiest time. 

A man only in his job because SNP lite backed him on vote of no confidence. The worst education secretary we have ever had and a disgrace to Scotland. No way will he be allowed to keep students hostage over Christmas.

59 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

This, like most of the drivel you post on this thread, is just simply not true. 

20 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Won't matter what they do, as it's already been decided that in the JJ household there is going to be a proper christmas this year, in fact there will be double the number of people this year then there is normally, feck it nobody is going to ruin our christmas this year.

3 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

That's a remarkable post, revealing a whole host of your own bigotry and prejudices in a couple of paragraphs.

What part of it wasn't true?

57 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Good luck with that one.

People are jsut ignoring them now, hence the issues.

As the rules become more draconian, and the more fatigue has set in, the more people are sticking 2 fingers up to them.

There are irresponsible people in every society. Some people have always disregarded government advice. People are getting fatigued but most of us still observe the guidelines. The level of support for NS is very high. Even in England the view is that NS has handled this better than UK gov.

Unless of course you have some evidence to support your claim that NS has lost the public.

4 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

This, like most of the drivel you post on this thread, is just simply not true. 

Nope, he was correct. Other than the believers, of which I assume you are one, the rest of population are carrying on with their lives and whilst adhering to mask wearing and social distancing, ignoring the rest of NS's vacuous statements.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic