Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Shite.

There's 21 of us. 

Aargh. That could be an issue but, if one of you is constantly shuttling back and forward to the bar or at the jukebox, you'll probably be fine.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

24 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

A man has to have some secrets😉

SO the last names is not Findley is it? It's Holmes.

6 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

I'm not sure if pub crawls are allowed before 10pm unless the Old Firm game goes to penalties.  And does drinking in different pubs, in different regions, on the same night count as a crawl or separate individual events??  No wonder everyone is confused by these new guidelines.

Not sure but the "crawl" counts as essential travel in my book, how else would I get to the second pub?

4 hours ago, SE16 3LN said:

😂 I bet the reality would be a bit of a let down.

I pitcher him as Marlon Brando in " A streetcar named desire" when In fact hes probably Marlon Brando in " Island of lost souls" :) :) 

4 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Text today. Negative for Covid. 

Just a bad cough probably down to recovering from the cold last week. 

Good news .

20 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

SO the last names is not Findley is it? It's Holmes.

Now that would be telling😉

14 minutes ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

It’s like North Korea!! Dare speak out and you’ll be punished.

she is a nasty wee boot!!!

hope she gets emptied for her lying.

2 hours ago, GinRummy said:

Remember the people in the 1980s and 90s saying AIDS was a hoax? 

I lived through the AIDS epidemic from the start and took precautions ( safe sex) as most people did. Its similar to Covid. Take precautions and you should be fine ?  People didnt stop having sex due to it and lived as before but as i said with precautions. 

1 hour ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

What pub?

1 hour ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Which pubs?

And this is your business, how?

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

I lived through the AIDS epidemic from the start and took precautions ( safe sex) as most people did. Its similar to Covid. Take precautions and you should be fine ?  People didnt stop having sex due to it and lived as before but as i said with precautions. 

Yeah I broadly agree. My post was in reply to the poster suggesting that Covid 19 doesn’t exist. 

9 hours ago, jonesy said:

Simply interpreting what the First Fuehrer is effectively telling most normal, sociable folk in Scotland.

I agree with that also 2 weeks ago when the Jason Leitch Was asked why he was limiting households to meeting and not pubs,cafe’s etc his answer was that in controlled establishments have social distancing and are less likely to transmit infections and that’s what our evidence tells us ,now it’s the evidence tells us that’s not the case  

Could the reason the infection rate is up is allowing Students to return not just to campus but also in all the Student residences not to forget the private rented flats and these Students from all over the Uk And From the Eu  a decision that was to minimise the Financial hit to Universities 

44 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

And as this thread proves, a whole load of utter trumpets support lockdown too, doesnt really prove anything

Were you not on this thread earlier bemoaning Sturgeon for not taking heed of this declaration?

It's a libertarian think tank backed declaration outside the mainstream scientific and medical consensus.

We shouldn't be having another lockdown but then we don't have a nationwide functioning test track and trace system, like say South Korea who have had far better infection and economic outcomes.

That's what we should be focusing on, not some herd immunity strategy advocated by the libertarian right.

2 hours ago, GinRummy said:

Where has Nicola sturgeon said that?

The only risk environment ive experienced in the last 6 months are buses.  They really are a breeding ground. Unpleasant experience but necessary at times. 

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

He/She/It's 'well jel' that folk have a social life. Another night of PN&W in Hamilton tonight.

To be fair, a social life in Hamilton would have been pretty hard to have even before Covid.

15 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

If that’s true, she’s a total cow. 

its the fact that she defined what a cafe was to stop restaurants opening for food only. I would guess a restaurant that is not serving alcohol would be an even smaller risk than a cafe due to the shorter time people would be in a cafe thus more people moving in and out

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Good shout. Probably be auld Archie that'll do that then. He's getting on a bit (85 next birthday, still smokes like a chimney, mind you) but he's exempt from the mask rule due to his asthma, so it saves someone else having to take theirs on and off loads.

Poor auld Archie but I'm sure he doesn't mind taking one for the team. 🍺

3 hours ago, luckydug said:

15 minutes on the bus to go for messages is enough for me wearing a face mask. 

Used to enjoy going on long distance bus tours but couldn't handle hours on end with a mask. 

Can't even read because the Specs are steamed up. 

Fog off!! 

No really. Speck Savers sell them and I find them excellent. 

947AEFB5-6E6F-4F3D-A9FE-57E075A2AE45.jpeg

Edited by Boy Daniel

2 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

its the fact that she defined what a cafe was to stop restaurants opening for food only. I would guess a restaurant that is not serving alcohol would be an even smaller risk than a cafe due to the shorter time people would be in a cafe thus more people moving in and out

Restaurants are larger so defined distancing between tables could make them safer than cafes as well. Unsurprisingly, this is a total mess. Ill thought out, contradictory nonsense.

11 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Yeah I broadly agree. My post was in reply to the poster suggesting that Covid 19 doesn’t exist. 

3 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Restaurants are larger so defined distancing between tables could make them safer than cafes as well. Unsurprisingly, this is a total mess. Ill thought out, contradictory nonsense.

Very good point as cafes tend to be smaller..esp greasy spoon ones. 

2 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

You don’t need to travel to see family / friends - you can do it on FaceTime 

on 2 weeks 

You never got hugged as a child did you.

38 minutes ago, graygo said:

Not sure but the "crawl" counts as essential travel in my book, how else would I get to the second pub?

I agree. If that doesn't constitute essential travel, what does??

35 minutes ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

Yes she feels their pain  

£135,605 per year 

£11.300 per month

£2607 Per week

£521 Per day 

she won’t lose her house or her job because of a Covid 19 

“But she knows how tough it is 

Do you “ aye right “

5 minutes ago, samgolden said:

Yes she feels their pain  

£135,605 per year 

£11.300 per month

£2607 Per week

£521 Per day 

she won’t lose her house or her job because of a Covid 19 

“But she knows how tough it is 

Do you “ aye right “

Wouldn’t be so sure about not losing her job. 

Heartsmad1874

One alert sent from contact tracing in England and Wales from hospitality sector despite millions using it.

Edited by Heartsmad1874

11 minutes ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

One alert sent from contact tracing in England and Wales from hospitality sector despite millions using it.

Was reported on Sky News that out of 16 million downloads, only one alert was from the hospitality sector.

Yet the government insist that the infection rate is 30% in hospitality, so either their app is total crap or their figures are.

Quite possibly both.

I have a question.

How many people have actually died of COVID-19?

By this I mean people with no underlying health issues, but just COVID-19 on it's own?

Same way someone dies of a heart attack and a heart attack only.

Ibrahim Tall
3 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

I have a question.

By this I mean people with no underlying health issues, but just COVID-19 on it's own?

How many people have died directly of HIV? ‘Underlying health issues’ shouldn’t just be removed to suit an argument tbh.

1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

I have a question.

Very few probably.

However, as with all diseases the old/weak/vulnarable are at a greater risk of death from something which most other people would only have a sniffle or two if they caught it, that's always been the case I'm afraid.

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

Great wee bit about Diggers on the news😎

Noticed they have their own 80/- beer (brewed by Stewarts I noticed)

Furlough going to be extended then? Another drive to keep jobs and businesses while they are forced to close due to restrictions. I hope so, and if it does happen it should've been the first thing covered prior to new restrictions on hospitality. All feels very reactionary.

3 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Noticed they have their own 80/- beer (brewed by Stewarts I noticed)

It'll never be the same as the original 😢😢

1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

It'll never be the same as the original 😢😢

Tend to not have any beer before a game nowadays.

Weak bladder, beer & the cold...............not a great combination.  :rofl:

11 minutes ago, Ibrahim Tall said:

How many people have died directly of HIV? ‘Underlying health issues’ shouldn’t just be removed to suit an argument tbh.

I've no idea. How many people have died directly from HIV?

Was there a ban on sex when it was at its Zenith?

6 minutes ago, kila said:

Furlough going to be extended then? Another drive to keep jobs and businesses while they are forced to close due to restrictions. I hope so, and if it does happen it should've been the first thing covered prior to new restrictions on hospitality. All feels very reactionary.

Yeh, but it's only 2/3rds of the wages, not sure if the employer is making up the other 1/3rd.

Better than nothing, but as someone pointed out on the telly earlier, you can't pay 2/3rds of your rent or 2/3rds to your other bills, she did have a point.

3 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Tend to not have any beer before a game nowadays.

Weak bladder, beer & the cold...............not a great combination.  :rofl:

I feel your pain, it seems my bladder capacity is receding along with my hairline😆

56 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

They need to be reported 

Think I prefered it when you were asking inane questions on a weekly basis (where to park? Where to eat? etc etc).

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic