Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

12 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Have you actually looked at the pass rates? They don't support your narrative of the SNP destroying the education system.

Excellent, I don't know why the education system in every country doesn't just make up the exam results.

Standards would be raised everywhere.

9 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

(I'm not sure many playground arguments involve presenting evidence from the most thorough study so far on the topic btw).

Depends what school you go to.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
17 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

I'm sure you'll agree that opting for herd immunity when there's no evidence to suggest that it will work, and would risk tens of thousands of lives, would be absolutely crazy.

(I'm not sure many playground arguments involve presenting evidence from the most thorough study so far on the topic btw).

the playground-response was in the text not the link - if you can’t see that then I think I’m giving you too much credit

again - i’d avoid phrases like “no evidence” if you want to be taken a bit more seriously than the standard poster on the internet

its still early days on the virus so everything comes with risk - only the foolhardy would be closing doors on options with potential major upsides at the moment

3 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

the playground-response was in the text not the link - if you can’t see that then I think I’m giving you too much credit

again - i’d avoid phrases like “no evidence” if you want to be taken a bit more seriously than the standard poster on the internet

its still early days on the virus so everything comes with risk - only the foolhardy would be closing doors on options with potential major upsides at the moment

Thankfully I have no need nor desire for your validation.

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

Yes let's blame the SNP for the best ever Higher/Advanced Higher results.

Very nippy isn't it, all these successful students?

😁

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

74% pass rate this year for deprived area students compared to 65% last year. If that figure had been 85% then you can be sure all the unionists would be out banging on about how the results are a farce and high grades were just thrown out to students on a whim to bump the numbers up.

Its not about what the Unionists will or will not be banging on about, but the status of the exam results and the impact that will have on the students future. Govt's and their representatives should be scrutinised regardless of whether you support them or not.

England's "world beating" Test&Trace call handlers are currently hitting the stellar reaches of 0.14 calls per person per day.

The system keeps throwing the same names and numbers up all the time so the same person gets contacted by dozens of different T&T staff.

Many numbers provided are wrong. 

Staff are being given "top caller" incentives in an attempt to keep morale up.

They're all being paid £10 an hour out of your taxes.

Many local authorities are so sick of the pish that they're starting their own systems.

:fonzie:

4 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

He's a professor in sociology, so I'm sure he's the man to go to for advice on pandemics. 

But a dental surgeon is the right man?

I don’t think there is one thing this Tory Government has done when it comes to this pandemic that has worked. They are an absolute shambles of an organisation. God help us when the 31st December comes. Chaos won’t quite wont cover it. 

Just now, weehammy said:

Just a wee reminder mate - nobody actually sat any exams.

Yes they did. Prelims were sat at the end of January. 

Just now, weehammy said:

So you’re referring to prelim pass rates?

No I'm talking about the final pass rates which prelim results counted towards. 

Just watching the daily briefing . Poor workers in pubs etc being kicked in the teeth by the SG due to slight rises in infections . Playing havoc with workers mental health and income . Sickening . And in other news those in ICU down by one to 3 and NO deaths again .

15 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

I don’t think there is one thing this Tory Government has done when it comes to this pandemic that has worked. They are an absolute shambles of an organisation. God help us when the 31st December comes. Chaos won’t quite wont cover it. 

Lockdown (although would have been more effective quicker)

Nightinggale hospitals

Furlough scheme

Financial assistance for self employed

Grants that don't need paid back

Easing of restrictions with no major spikes

Surely you can pick at least one of those

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Just watching the daily briefing . Poor workers in pubs etc being kicked in the teeth by the SG due to slight rises in infections . Playing havoc with workers mental health and income . Sickening . And in other news those in ICU down by one to 3 and NO deaths again .

If they kept it open we'd have 500 new cases up there by the weekend

3 minutes ago, Gone said:

If they kept it open we'd have 500 new cases up there by the weekend

Aye ???? 

9 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

It's a growing outbreak and the measures are absolutely crucial.    

The only "sickening" thing is the ignorance of people like you.   

55 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Kings theatre has cancelled the Panto this year ☹️

Oh No they haven't !!

13 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Sickening that government is trying to stop the spread of an infectious disease.

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

Sickening that government is trying to stop the spread of an infectious disease.

Crazy view of things... Especially when he went on to say about ICU figures being down.

Let's just raise them back up!

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

It's a growing outbreak and the measures are absolutely crucial.    

The only "sickening" thing is the ignorance of people like you.   

James is one of the good guys, you perhaps not.

18 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

:cornette_dog:

58 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Kings theatre has cancelled the Panto this year ☹️

Oh no they haven’t !!! ( sorry had to say that ) 

2 minutes ago, SE16 3LN said:

Cheers mate . I prefer to interpret the hospital admission stats such as ICU and deaths and like I said both down or at zero . Most sensible people think like this too  . Apart from the pant wetters and drama queens . There is always going to be slight “ spikes “ until a vaccine is found but the response has to be proportionate to the size of the “ spike “ . 

2 minutes ago, SE16 3LN said:

I don't care if he's a good guy,  bad guy or a giraffe.   His comments were horrendously ignorant.    The sort of abject ignorance that contributes towards significant harm against the efforts to keep a lid on this epidemic.

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Cheers mate . I prefer to interpret the hospital admission stats such as ICU and deaths and like I said both down or at zero . Most sensible people think like this too  . Apart from the pant wetters and drama queens . There is always going to be slight “ spikes “ until a vaccine is found but the response has to be proportionate to the size of the “ spike “ . 

Most sensible people realise that people don't instantly end up in ICU and die after catching Covid. This spike could easily spiral and lead to death and ICU cases 2-3 weeks from now.

If we want to keep the deaths at zero we need to take action.

Edited by Ray Gin

Just now, JamesM48 said:

You would admit though that an outbreak comes before any further deaths?     Is the government supposed to ignore a growing cluster until the numbers percolate through to deaths?

Laughable.  Ignorant.  Dangerous complacency.  Idiocy.

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I don't care if he's a good guy,  bad guy or a giraffe.   His comments were horrendously ignorant.    The sort of abject ignorance that contributes towards significant harm against the efforts to keep a lid on this epidemic.

willie wallace
2 minutes ago, willie wallace said:

Aberdeen indoor hospitality shutting down again from tonight.C

The cluster is apparently increasing.

The 5mile travel limit back again as well.

Just now, willie wallace said:

The 5mile travel limit back again as well.

I wonder if that extends to the football team 🤷🏾‍♂️🤔?

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

You would admit though that an outbreak comes before any further deaths?     Is the government supposed to ignore a growing cluster until the numbers percolate through to deaths?

Laughable.  Ignorant.  Dangerous complacency.  Idiocy.

8556A473-A39A-49B3-AAAB-D2D7814C5185.jpeg

Ibrahim Tall

More minor cases = more serious cases = more deaths

That surely doesn’t still need to be pointed out does it? :vrface:

If you want zero deaths to continue you need to prevent the illness spreading at all, not wait until it’s spreading easily.

10 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

BUT HOLD ON

On 04/06/2020 at 20:14, JamesM48 said:

Yeah just been to local sainsbury and got a load of foods.  I get home take the gloves off and carefully take the mask off  from behind the ears... then  i fill my sink with washing up liquid and some bleach then wipe down most of the food packages which are plastic plus tins bottles etc.  Leave them to dry then put them away. Seems to have worked so far for me but it is a bit of a carry on...

9 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I think you've lost touch with reality.

Just now, jonesy said:

Wasn’t it inevitable that cases were going to rise again once folk were allowed to live again? The reaction is, in my opinion, way out of proportion and setting a dangerous precedent. 

That’s the point I’m trying to make Aberdeen has a population of 222, 789 people and has found 54 infections . 

willie wallace
6 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Yes,was wondering that myself.I think they are away this week.

Just now, willie wallace said:

Yes,was wondering that myself.I think they are away this week.

I think Leicester got away with it but this decision will be made by a competent government.

11 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

54 infections from one location (supposedly one 'super-spreader') is not really pant wetting. Particularly when everyone has been told to socially distance etc.  Clearly most sensible people are not that sensible after all. 

Were you not one of those washing your groceries when you got them home? 

Apologies if i have you mistaken with someone else. 

9 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

It could if they were out on the lash after the 1st game of the season defeat.

Workers are exempt, however considering their performance on Saturday, they might not be in this category!

4 minutes ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

BUT HOLD ON

You have got to laugh haven’t you!

Someone who only 2 months ago was doing a deep clean on their tins of soup from Sainsbury’s is now calling out everyone for being “drama queens”. 

1 minute ago, 2205ian said:

It could if they were out on the lash after the 1st game of the season defeat.

Workers are exempt, however considering their performance on Saturday, they might not be in this category!

Hilarious if they caught it. Two Workers in the bar are isolating after testing positive. Shame if it affects the SPFL fixtures.

4 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

54 infections from one location (supposedly one 'super-spreader') is not really pant wetting. Particularly when everyone has been told to socially distance etc.  Clearly most sensible people are not that sensible after all. 

Were you not one of those washing your groceries when you got them home? 

Apologies if i have you mistaken with someone else. 

Grocery washing snowflake *******s 😃😆

6 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I think Leicester got away with it but this decision will be made by a competent government.

I think NS said if you live in Aberdeen you can still travel for work. I imagine Aberdeen FC would be covered by this. 

2 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

You have got to laugh haven’t you!

Someone who only 2 months ago was doing a deep clean on their tins of soup from Sainsbury’s is now calling out everyone for being “drama queens”. 

Ibrahim Tall
Just now, jonesy said:

Zero death rate was achieved by imposing draconian measures on people’s ability to live, work and socialise. We could keep a zero death rate on the roads by banning all cars, bikes and lorries. 

It’s simply unrealistic to expect a virus not to transmit once people have contact again. 

The Scottish Government appears to be very concerned that it is losing its “telt ye so” status over London, and so has gone overboard. 

‘Draconian’ or not, it’s the only solution to realistically prevent a return to the situation of a few months ago. We don’t have a ‘cure’ and Aberdeen’s went from 4 cases to 54 in the space of a few days, at that rate of escalation without intervention it could quite easily be well over a 200 within another week. 
If the situation had been ignored and things had escalated the government would have been crucified for not acting too, It’s a catch 22 situation.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic