Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

John Swinney on Breakfast TV talking about discussions over the weekend with regards to possible new measures being announced over the next few days. 

I think we know where this is heading. 

9pm closing times. NBC suits in pubs unless your at a table. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Dennis Denuto
28 minutes ago, escobri said:

Japan are putting health warnings on vaccines and openly talking about informed consent and not forcing anyone to be vaxxed( just read article so might still be subject to fake news🤣). Can't see this educated and open attitude being implemented here ever. 😪 

What’s the point of the health warning? So the vaccinator can see it thousands of times? 

You get handed information about the specific vaccine as you get it. Here it is all about informed consent, nobody is being forced to do anything. 

1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

What’s the point of the health warning? So the vaccinator can see it thousands of times? 

You get handed information about the specific vaccine as you get it. Here it is all about informed consent, nobody is being forced to do anything. 

If you don't mind saying, how was your chat about adverse reactions from the vaccine, did they go into specific details or just say that reactions are very rare?. I'm genuinely curious.

Dennis Denuto
3 minutes ago, escobri said:

If you don't mind saying, how was your chat about adverse reactions from the vaccine, did they go into specific details or just say that reactions are very rare?. I'm genuinely curious.

It depends entirely on any questions that you have, they ask you if have any and are you sure you want to go ahead. They tell you about information in the documents they give you. Then it’s just jab and go. 

28 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

John Swinney on Breakfast TV talking about discussions over the weekend with regards to possible new measures being announced over the next few days. 

I think we know where this is heading. 

The Scottish government are full on obsessed with restrictions. Day after day, one of their main folk are wheeled out with doom and gloom.

NS announces no change yesterday and about 12 hours later Swinney on feeding project fear again.

Still no deaths from new variant and still appears to be milder.

Not enough time to judge possible benefits but plenty time to judge adverse effects.

Doesn't seem right.

3 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

The Scottish government are full on obsessed with restrictions. Day after day, one of their main folk are wheeled out with doom and gloom.

NS announces no change yesterday and about 12 hours later Swinney on feeding project fear again.

Still no deaths from new variant and still appears to be milder.

Not enough time to judge possible benefits but plenty time to judge adverse effects.

Doesn't seem right.

That’s the reason that I don’t watch any of these interviews whether it’s SG or UK ministers.

So much grim reaper stuff.

2 hours ago, theshed said:

There's a tsunami on the way mind 🙈

I do hope in a few weeks she’s pulled up over that disgraceful comment . 

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

It was a carefully chosen phrase to exert maximum panic. I just don't get her relentless desire to be negative.

1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

It was a carefully chosen phrase to exert maximum panic. I just don't get her relentless desire to be negative.

Yep and it worked . It’s terrorist language really 

Apologies if mentioned already there is a Professor John Campbell who has a YouTube post nearly every day explaining things in layman’s terms really good gathers data from all over the world health authorities and he has already shown that Omicron is milder although more transmissible. Hospital admissions a lot less and instead of average six day stay it’s only two days seems a level headed guy and explains things clearly 

28 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

It depends entirely on any questions that you have, they ask you if have any and are you sure you want to go ahead. They tell you about information in the documents they give you. Then it’s just jab and go. 

Thanks, for me it's all about risk reduction, no jab no risk. 

Dennis Denuto
4 minutes ago, escobri said:

Thanks, for me it's all about risk reduction, no jab no risk. 

Which you are entitled too, although your original post about Japan made out as if that isn’t how it works here. 

14 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

You're correct about it being a calculated choice. As well as a niggling doubt there's an element of enjoyment in this for Sturgeon. Nobody is asking her about the £350m cut she's just made to council budgets.  Even her own supporters won't be asking her about a referendum she's no way of delivering. She's in her element. 

1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Which you are entitled too, although your original post about Japan made out as if that isn’t how it works here. 

Mainstream we don't have a grown up talk, look at Lorraine on TV last week spouting absolute lies to the UK. It is only with the implementation of a little sense am I and others allowed back in Tynie tomorrow. These measures brought in were to coerce people to get jabbed, short of forced, but only just.

4 minutes ago, pablo said:

You're correct about it being a calculated choice. As well as a niggling doubt there's an element of enjoyment in this for Sturgeon. Nobody is asking her about the £350m cut she's just made to council budgets.  Even her own supporters won't be asking her about a referendum she's no way of delivering. She's in her element. 

Our one issue, one party state in Scotland now has a second issue and oh boy are they digging their teeth into it.

Going by this thread, many people now only have two issues in life also.

There is absolutely no achievable result with all this so there is no end game in sight.  This is life now.  Utterly tragic. 

JHB interviewing Sir Desmond Swayne sums it all up really He says the new variant is a “ socialists wet dream “ 

The UK cases are also mainly in the very young and some into the 30s and 40s.  People much less likely to experience anything worse than a cold.  It hasn't yet reached the older ages and more vulnerable.  The overall omicron numbers are still low.

There's still the matter of the projected overall numbers and the effect it will have on worker absence.  

1.  It's going to take a few weeks to start to see pathogenicity evidence in the demographic tending to be susceptible to acute cases.

2.  Unless people choose to or are allowed to carry on working after a positive test or not be tested when suspected of having it,  there can only be one result.  A fundamental shortage of people at work to staff essential services,  offices,  supply chains,  healthcare and social care.

But aye,  sniffles.

9 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Yep. The Chief Mammy loves giving her bairns a wee smack (oh the irony) and saying I wish I didnae huv tae dae this but it's fur yer ain guid. 

This is Chief mammys parenting style 

AC66771D-1922-4043-97D9-21B2B39763FA.jpeg

2 hours ago, Alex Kintner said:

Long term, yes 👍🏻 In the short term it looks like we may need to take a bit of a hit restriction-wise to try and stop the peak being too severe and bringing country to a standstill.

👍yes, I agree, long term. I don't think any lockdown restrictions/hospitality/school closures can be justified this time.

Most of the issues regarding hospitals are staff related and due to, in some, half the capacity being removed due to social distancing.

We have to break the link between the erosion of freedoms for the majority and "overwhelmed " hospitals. Lockdowns/ business closures at this stage will do far more harm than perceived good.

I love how the narrative is now changing about workers not being at work due to self isolation hence restrictions are necessary . They are not at work because of said restrictions . It’s a mild to nowt variant so we just need to crack on with it . I thought any consideration to lockdowns was if hospitals were over Whelmed ? It’s a joke . 5000 were in hospital last week in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 population 60,0000 plus 

It's not a joke or a change in narrative James.  It's a blindingly obvious consequence.

The status quo remaining on testing and isolation = many hundreds of thousands of essential workers not at work.  So something needs to change in the equation.

What is it?

4 minutes ago, Victorian said:

It's not a joke or a change in narrative James.  It's a blindingly obvious consequence.

The status quo remaining on testing and isolation = many hundreds of thousands of essential workers not at work.  So something needs to change in the equation.

What is it?

Well if people are not becoming Ill from it and don’t need hospital care what’s the issue ? Let it rip through . Those who are vulnerable are protected as much as they can be. We can’t have restrictions which impinge on businesses and peoples mental and physical health every time a new variant arrives on the scene ? As I said it’s apparently doing What a variant is expecting to do and apparently it’s maybe evidence of the weakening of covid too . 

4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's bizarre. 

Most of the cases I know have orignated from kids catching it at school and riddling their parents. 

The wife and I been testing twice a week for 18 months now, never been positive. We don't have kids.

Every single one of my mates who has kids has caught it. The people who've caught it in my department in work, they all have kids.

Pretty obvious the wee rascals are spreading it like mad.

Edited by OmiyaHearts

Well if people are not becoming Ill from it and don’t need hospital care what’s the issue ? Let it rip through . Those who are vulnerable are protected as much as they can be. We can’t have restrictions which impinge on businesses and peoples mental and physical health every time a new variant arrives on the scene ? As I said it’s apparently doing What a variant is expecting to do and apparently it’s maybe evidence of the weakening of covid too . 

It's not evidence of anything of the sort.

Let's continue to consider the matter of workers at work.  Yes,  something quite radical will need to be considered regarding people continuing to staff all of the supply chains and shops necessary to maintain access to the basics.  That,  for obvious reasons,  cannot apply to healthcare and social care.  People working there will need to test and isolate.  So either these people somehow manage to avoid an infection during this wave or they are absent from work.  That's a problem.  A big one.

It's academic anyway.  Even a lockdown wont stop this happening.  Without a lockdown it should be relatively short in duration.  With a full lockdown it will prolong for many weeks.

Fundamental problems either way.  A no-win either way.  

But yeah,  sniffles.  Let's just ignore the problems.

4 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Woke up this morning feeling fine apart from a sore arm. In fact a injury from gym yesterday,  is causing me more pain. 

So it appears, I’ve been one of the lucky ones. 

Anyway, hope you and yours are all good👍

Nice one Lbj. All good here thanks, hope you and the family are good. You’ve done yourself a right favour bypassing this thread. 😂

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Let's continue to consider the matter of workers at work.  Yes,  something quite radical will need to be considered regarding people continuing to staff all of the supply chains and shops necessary to maintain access to the basics.  That,  for obvious reasons,  cannot apply to healthcare and social care.  People working there will need to test and isolate.  So either these people somehow manage to avoid an infection during this wave or they are absent from work.  That's a problem.  A big one.

It's academic anyway.  Even a lockdown wont stop this happening.  Without a lockdown it should be relatively short in duration.  With a full lockdown it will prolong for many weeks.

Ignoring it or facing up to it for what it is ? 

Was out for breakfast this morning and the owner of the restaurant was telling me he has had 70 cancellations from Thursday and over the weekend and 30 arseholes didn’t turn up or even notify them of cancellation. That’s the message the Scottish government is sending out. I know those sort problems don’t register with you and the Switzerland crew or the Scottish government but businesses are suffering. 

The solution could be to let it rip.  But that is an all or nothing choice.  There is no let it rip out of healthcare and social care + not let it rip in healthcare and social care.  

Would people advocate hospitals and social care being staffed by untested people,  tested and positive people with sniffles?  Are we now happy to seed virus in care homes?  When arriving at an answer,  what was your opinion regarding the original decision to discharge people untested into care homes?  Did you rant and rave about that?

Other solutions are welcome.

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

Get the pitch forks out.

1 minute ago, Dazo said:

Was out for breakfast this morning and the owner of the restaurant was telling me he has had 70 cancellations from Thursday and over the weekend and 30 arseholes didn’t turn up or even notify them of cancellation. That’s the message the Scottish government is sending out. I know those sort problems don’t register with you and the Switzerland crew or the Scottish government but businesses are suffering. 

You know these problems don't register with me?  

I'll set aside this type of bad faith posting because I genuinely want to discuss it calmly.

Businesses are suffering.  No doubt.  This supports what I'm taking about Dazo.  They will rather suffer soon when the work absences kick in and cannot open at all.  

So what's your solution?

55 minutes ago, Victorian said:

The UK cases are also mainly in the very young and some into the 30s and 40s.  People much less likely to experience anything worse than a cold.  It hasn't yet reached the older ages and more vulnerable.  The overall omicron numbers are still low.

There's still the matter of the projected overall numbers and the effect it will have on worker absence.  

1.  It's going to take a few weeks to start to see pathogenicity evidence in the demographic tending to be susceptible to acute cases.

2.  Unless people choose to or are allowed to carry on working after a positive test or not be tested when suspected of having it,  there can only be one result.  A fundamental shortage of people at work to staff essential services,  offices,  supply chains,  healthcare and social care.

But aye,  sniffles.

You're completely wasting your time this morning. The loonies are out in full force. 😁

37 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

The wife and I been testing twice a week for 18 months now, never been positive. We don't have kids.

Every single one of my mates who has kids has caught it. The people who've caught it in my department in work, they all have kids.

Pretty obvious the wee rascals are spreading it like mad.

Lock em up .! Shocking. Irresponsible . 

Brighton Jambo
16 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I'll set aside this type of bad faith posting because I genuinely want to discuss it calmly.

Businesses are suffering.  No doubt.  This supports what I'm taking about Dazo.  They will rather suffer soon when the work absences kick in and cannot open at all.  

So what's your solution?

It’s the ridiculousness of the rules that are the problem.

Say one of my kids has Covid.  My wife and I are triple jabbed (or will be soon), we take daily tests and they come back negative every day and yet we have to sit in the house not able to work for TEN days despite being in full health and testing negative repeatedly.

Now multiple that across and entire economy and it’s insanity.  

You want a solution - change the Scottish government rules.  New rules:  Positive test in a household, all adults if fully vaccinated to have three days in a row with a negative lateral flow and a PCR on the last (third) day and then on you go with your life. 

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Indeed. Thank feck I haven't been testing mine; would hate to have to spend ten days caged in the house with them. Wouldn't be able to get to the pub.

I love spending time with my children but then I'm not a narcissist weirdo. 😊

1 minute ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Say one of my kids has Covid.  My wife and I are triple jabbed (or will be soon), we take daily tests and they come back negative every day and yet we have to sit in the house not able to work for TEN days despite being in full health and testing negative repeatedly.

You want a solution - change the Scottish government rules.  New rules:  Positive test in a household, all adults if fully vaccinated to have three days in a row with a negative lateral flow and a PCR on the last (third) day and then on you go with your life. 

So shorten the period of absence from work?  Yes that would contribute to addressing the workforce problem.  But it doesn't solve it completely.  There would still be a lot of disruption.

Nothing wrong with your suggestion.  Come what may though,  the virus will reach healthcare and social care workers.  Whether it's the status quo remaining,  your suggestion or letting it rip,  there's going to be a problem in these settings.

51 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Yes and lets just ignore the problems of needless restrictions ? 

'Non-stop cancellations' after Christmas party plea - BBC News

44 minutes ago, Dazo said:

One of my friends is head chef at a restaurant and he said they have lost £10,000 in cancellations already. 

14 minutes ago, jonesy said:

When you say 'your children', you're really meaning your WWF figures from the early 90s aren't you. 🤼‍♀️

I bet you run your posts past them first for approval. :nuts:

I let them read yours once they've done all their homework. 😉

41 minutes ago, Victorian said:

So what's your solution?

Works absences will only be due to the policy and not because they will be unwell. 

23 minutes ago, Savage Vince said:

You're completely wasting your time this morning. The loonies are out in full force. 😁

aye so you are 

20 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Yes good solution. 

18 minutes ago, jonesy said:

When you say 'your children', you're really meaning your WWF figures from the early 90s aren't you. 🤼‍♀️

I bet you run your posts past them first for approval. :nuts:

:gok:I get the impression our Vincent is a bit of a loner 

Nicky's doomster wacky enforcers out as usual on this thread 

dont tell her its the kids that are spreading it or she might take a leaf out of Herods book 

15 minutes ago, jonesy said:

It's alright. Once Sturgeon's plan is complete, everyone will be working in the public sector and wages subsidised by the gold the the unicorns fart out.

who's going the subsidise all the free money she hands out if we haven't got people working ? 

Great office Christmas party last night    had more than several whiskies followed by a couple of bottles of a rather nice red wine and some brandy shots.  Although relaxed, I still had the common sense to know I was slightly over the limit. 

That's when I did something I've never done before - I took a taxi home!!!  Sure enough, on the way there was a police roadblock, but since it was a taxi, they waved it past and I arrived home safely without incident.  

This was a real surprise to me, because I had never driven a taxi before.  I don't know where I got it and now that it’s in my garage, I don't know what to do with it.  So anyway, if you want to borrow it, give me a call.

Merry Christmas and be safe out there.

3 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Nicky's doomster wacky enforcers out as usual on this thread 

dont tell her its the kids that are spreading it or she might take a leaf out of Herods book 

The weans got the blame last year...it was merry go round of the blame game really. students got it tight...then young people ....endless list.  Think they have ran out of people to blame really. 

2 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Great office Christmas party last night    had more than several whiskies followed by a couple of bottles of a rather nice red wine and some brandy shots.  Although relaxed, I still had the common sense to know I was slightly over the limit. 

That's when I did something I've never done before - I took a taxi home!!!  Sure enough, on the way there was a police roadblock, but since it was a taxi, they waved it past and I arrived home safely without incident.  

This was a real surprise to me, because I had never driven a taxi before.  I don't know where I got it and now that it’s in my garage, I don't know what to do with it.  So anyway, if you want to borrow it, give me a call.

LOL  i hope a good citizen you took an LFT beiore going to it and taking one today?  LFT is sadly not a mind altering drug. 

4 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

👏🤣

7 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

who's going the subsidise all the free money she hands out if we haven't got people working ? 

Edited by Japan Jambo

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

The solution could be to let it rip.  But that is an all or nothing choice.  There is no let it rip out of healthcare and social care + not let it rip in healthcare and social care.  

Would people advocate hospitals and social care being staffed by untested people,  tested and positive people with sniffles?  Are we now happy to seed virus in care homes?  When arriving at an answer,  what was your opinion regarding the original decision to discharge people untested into care homes?  Did you rant and rave about that?

Other solutions are welcome.

That's what happened with colds, flus and  other Winter diseases before covid came along

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

That's what happened with colds, flus and  other Winter diseases before covid came along

We will only get past this when we get to that point. Unfortunately while we have an NHS that is  unable to cope we won't get there. We are just about to tip massive amounts of cash in it's direction - I suspect all that will do is paper over the cracks and put off the reform that is needed. 2 years into this and I hear no plans to address the shortage of doctors or nurses.

The thing that inconvenience’s me the most is in the pub and having to put a mask on to go for a slash.

The rest is a dawdle.

🍺🍷

Purely political. Boris's Plan B nothing more than an attempt to distract the public from the Downing Street lockdown Xmas Party. Sturgeon following with the Tsunami chat to distract from her Council budget cuts, tax rises and inability to deliver a second referendum. 

That's those headlines off the front pages. Job done. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic