Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

6 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Bookmarked. ;)

Yes I do have a habit if er changing my views ! Damn I must remember and not change that one now u are on the case ! 😂

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

28 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I don’t think the UK is technically a island by virtue of Northern Ireland being part of another island. Not 100% sure maybe should stick on the something you always wondered but never found out thread.

Everything is an island. But in the same way Germany isn't an island, the UK isn't an island as part of it land borders another sovereign entity.

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes I do have a habit if er changing my views ! Damn I must remember and not change that one now u are on the case ! 😂

We will be watching and waiting 👀👀👀

9 minutes ago, Mars plastic said:

I only wear mine when I'm at the supermarket. Some folks masks look like they've been on since last year and not been washed. Honkin.

Same with me . Bus also but only out of politeness to others really 

6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I dislike wearing a mask in the extreme. I try to avoid going anywhere that requires them to be worn for a prolonged time. Not that there been anywhere to go.

Same here . I really struggle with them now , and I never wear them for prolonged periods of time . They can’t be good for longer periods of time 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Same with me . Bus also but only out of politeness to others really 

Same here . I really struggle with them now , and I never wear them for prolonged periods of time . They can’t be good for longer periods of time 

To save them getting coy at your good looks James?

Edited by sadj

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

:) Naw, I wouldn't do that. I can't remember one day to the next! It was just me fooling around that it's pleasantly unusual to see you suggesting caution.

maxresdefault.jpg

7 minutes ago, sadj said:

We will be watching and waiting 👀👀👀

Awe naw no another one 😂

Scottish numbers: 29 April 2021

Summary

• 178 new cases of COVID-19 reported [-26; down from 231 a week ago]
  • 25,392 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [+1,259]
    • 0.8% of these were positive [-0.1%]
  • 5 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [+4]
  • 12 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [=]
  • 70 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-5]
  • 2,796,810 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 1,184,629 have received their second dose [+6,832; +41,682]

6 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Scottish numbers: 29 April 2021

Summary

• 178 new cases of COVID-19 reported [-26; down from 231 a week ago]
  • 25,392 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [+1,259]
    • 0.8% of these were positive [-0.1%]
  • 5 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [+4]
  • 12 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [=]
  • 70 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-5]
  • 2,796,810 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 1,184,629 have received their second dose [+6,832; +41,682]

👍:toasting:

14 minutes ago, sadj said:

To save them getting coy at your good looks James?

You got it 😂

1B6F6DEC-716F-41D2-85D9-7F01A1094837.jpeg

14 minutes ago, redjambo said:

:) Naw, I wouldn't do that. I can't remember one day to the next! It was just me fooling around that it's pleasantly unusual to see you suggesting caution.

maxresdefault.jpg

Now that’s a back handed compliment if ever there was but ill take it 👍👍 no I just think I’m grand scheme if things lets get pubs / restaurants / normality up And running then foreign holidays next due to issue of it being more of a risk . But I completely understand why people wanna go Abroad after this last year and a bit 

13 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Just saw this mention last night when I clicked on to find a stream for the Man City game using an old laptop on which I was still logged in.

Not banned on this thread, although was booted out of one in the Terrace (first thread ban in 20 years of using KB), so I took a tantrum and signed off KB for a bit.

Good to see this thread is largely playing to previous form, with critical thinkers leading the way forwards and the keechie breek brigade still probably hiding behind their sofas with three masks on.

As ever, treat the restrictions on your personal, social, and spiritual lives with the contempt they deserve. :) 

Glad you're still on the go Jonesy...was worried you'd fallen foul of the rozzers for your wanton disregard for the rules and having the temerity to go walking in the hills.

Edited by Taffin

15 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Just saw this mention last night when I clicked on to find a stream for the Man City game using an old laptop on which I was still logged in.

Not banned on this thread, although was booted out of one in the Terrace (first thread ban in 20 years of using KB), so I took a tantrum and signed off KB for a bit.

Good to see this thread is largely playing to previous form, with critical thinkers leading the way forwards and the keechie breek brigade still probably hiding behind their sofas with three masks on.

As ever, treat the restrictions on your personal, social, and spiritual lives with the contempt they deserve. :) 

7B9A11CA-1690-472F-B392-9A004BAD1F44.png

The latest trend stats. No cases in Midlothian over the last 7 days. :thumb:

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday     27 Apr 26 Apr 25 Apr 24 Apr 23 Apr ... 1 Apr
Scotland 23 24 -1   25 26 28 28 29 ... 59
Moray 3 46 51 -5   41 47 N/A 45 43 ... 56
East Dunbartonshire 3 44 41 +3   40 40 N/A 41 42 ... 56
North Lanarkshire 3 44 45 -1   54 57 N/A 64 64 ... 117
East Ayrshire 3 35 41 -6   43 44 N/A 48 55 ... 72
Fife Canary 3 35 33 +2   34 33 N/A 30 28 ... 42
Glasgow City 3 33 36 -3   37 37 N/A 40 42 ... 81
South Ayrshire 3 32 36 -4   42 43 N/A 42 40 ... 19
West Dunbartonshire 3 30 29 +1   34 33 N/A 27 28 ... 66
Perth & Kinross 3 27 26 +1   31 34 N/A 39 35 ... 36
Renfrewshire 3 25 25 0   23 25 N/A 23 24 ... 103
Edinburgh City 3 24 26 -2   26 29 N/A 30 29 ... 50
Dundee City 3 22 26 -4   23 26 N/A 28 24 ... 64
Falkirk 3 22 23 -1   25 26 N/A 27 27 ... 90
West Lothian 3 22 19 +3   18 17 N/A 23 21 ... 129
Dumfries & Galloway 3 21 19 +2   19 17 N/A 15 9 ... 5
North Ayrshire 3 18 19 -1   18 21 N/A 24 25 ... 71
East Renfrewshire 3 17 23 -6   22 18 N/A 28 29 ... 45
South Lanarkshire 3 17 21 -4   23 24 N/A 34 41 ... 62
Aberdeen City 3 15 15 0   15 16 N/A 21 22 ... 44
Clackmannanshire 3 14 19 -5   37 39 N/A 52 70 ... 233
Inverclyde 3 13 12 +1   14 12 N/A 13 14 ... 21
Stirling 3 13 12 +1   13 13 N/A 15 12 ... 58
Highland 3 11 7 +4   8 8 N/A 8 9 ... 7
Aberdeenshire 3 7 6 +1   8 8 N/A 12 15 ... 28
East Lothian 3 7 11 -4   12 13 N/A 10 9 ... 37
Argyll & Bute 3 6 6 0   6 6 N/A 5 5 ... 7
Angus 3 5 5 0   3 3 N/A 6 9 ... 42
Orkney Islands 3 4 4 0   4 9 N/A 9 4 ... 0
Scottish Borders 3 3 3 0   1 1 N/A 1 1 ... 11
Midlothian 3 0 2 -2   3 3 N/A 4 4 ... 57
Na h-Eileanan Siar 3 0 0 0   0 0 0 0 0 ... 0
Shetland Islands 3 0 0 0   0 0 0 0 0 ... 9

7-day averages   Today Yesterday     27 Apr 26 Apr 25 Apr 24 Apr 23 Apr ... 1 Apr
Tests   18480 18182 +298   18213 18132 18251 18060 18195 ... 21722
Positivity rate %   1.1 1.2 -0.1   1.3 1.3 1.4 1.4 1.4 ... 2.4
Deaths   1.9 1.6 +0.3   1.6 1.7 1.7 1.6 1.3 ... 5.4
All Vaccinations   46862 47528 -666   48219 48238 47271 44098 42395 ... 49063
1st Dose   5948 5343 +605   4587 3725 3847 4460 5185 ... 29659
2nd Dose   40914 42185 -1271   43632 44513 43424 39638 37210 ... 19404

Daily data                        
Hospital (non-ICU)   58 63 -5   70 81 77 82 81 ... 194
ICU   12 12 0   11 12 12 12 12 ... 21

18 minutes ago, redjambo said:

The latest trend stats. No cases in Midlothian over the last 7 days. :thumb:

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday     27 Apr 26 Apr 25 Apr 24 Apr 23 Apr ... 1 Apr
Scotland 23 24 -1   25 26 28 28 29 ... 59
Moray 3 46 51 -5   41 47 N/A 45 43 ... 56
East Dunbartonshire 3 44 41 +3   40 40 N/A 41 42 ... 56
North Lanarkshire 3 44 45 -1   54 57 N/A 64 64 ... 117
East Ayrshire 3 35 41 -6   43 44 N/A 48 55 ... 72
Fife Canary 3 35 33 +2   34 33 N/A 30 28 ... 42
Glasgow City 3 33 36 -3   37 37 N/A 40 42 ... 81
South Ayrshire 3 32 36 -4   42 43 N/A 42 40 ... 19
West Dunbartonshire 3 30 29 +1   34 33 N/A 27 28 ... 66
Perth & Kinross 3 27 26 +1   31 34 N/A 39 35 ... 36
Renfrewshire 3 25 25 0   23 25 N/A 23 24 ... 103
Edinburgh City 3 24 26 -2   26 29 N/A 30 29 ... 50
Dundee City 3 22 26 -4   23 26 N/A 28 24 ... 64
Falkirk 3 22 23 -1   25 26 N/A 27 27 ... 90
West Lothian 3 22 19 +3   18 17 N/A 23 21 ... 129
Dumfries & Galloway 3 21 19 +2   19 17 N/A 15 9 ... 5
North Ayrshire 3 18 19 -1   18 21 N/A 24 25 ... 71
East Renfrewshire 3 17 23 -6   22 18 N/A 28 29 ... 45
South Lanarkshire 3 17 21 -4   23 24 N/A 34 41 ... 62
Aberdeen City 3 15 15 0   15 16 N/A 21 22 ... 44
Clackmannanshire 3 14 19 -5   37 39 N/A 52 70 ... 233
Inverclyde 3 13 12 +1   14 12 N/A 13 14 ... 21
Stirling 3 13 12 +1   13 13 N/A 15 12 ... 58
Highland 3 11 7 +4   8 8 N/A 8 9 ... 7
Aberdeenshire 3 7 6 +1   8 8 N/A 12 15 ... 28
East Lothian 3 7 11 -4   12 13 N/A 10 9 ... 37
Argyll & Bute 3 6 6 0   6 6 N/A 5 5 ... 7
Angus 3 5 5 0   3 3 N/A 6 9 ... 42
Orkney Islands 3 4 4 0   4 9 N/A 9 4 ... 0
Scottish Borders 3 3 3 0   1 1 N/A 1 1 ... 11
Midlothian 3 0 2 -2   3 3 N/A 4 4 ... 57
Na h-Eileanan Siar 3 0 0 0   0 0 0 0 0 ... 0
Shetland Islands 3 0 0 0   0 0 0 0 0 ... 9

7-day averages   Today Yesterday     27 Apr 26 Apr 25 Apr 24 Apr 23 Apr ... 1 Apr
Tests   18480 18182 +298   18213 18132 18251 18060 18195 ... 21722
Positivity rate %   1.1 1.2 -0.1   1.3 1.3 1.4 1.4 1.4 ... 2.4
Deaths   1.9 1.6 +0.3   1.6 1.7 1.7 1.6 1.3 ... 5.4
All Vaccinations   46862 47528 -666   48219 48238 47271 44098 42395 ... 49063
1st Dose   5948 5343 +605   4587 3725 3847 4460 5185 ... 29659
2nd Dose   40914 42185 -1271   43632 44513 43424 39638 37210 ... 19404

Daily data                        
Hospital (non-ICU)   58 63 -5   70 81 77 82 81 ... 194
ICU   12 12 0   11 12 12 12 12 ... 21

18 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Merely an afternoon cameo after stumbling across @Lord BJ's mention last night, I'm afraid. Too busy to post on here, what with dinner parties to organise and secret games of 5-a-side to play.

Well sometimes a “ cameo “ appearance can be very memorable ! 

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

A wee nationwide/global internet outage for 48 hours in mid-May might not be a bad thing for everyone's health. Although some news junkies and serial Tweeters/posters/grammers might struggle with 48 minutes, never mind hours.

Just now, jonesy said:

Missed you, sadj.

Likewise Jonesy , have missed your humour on here. Hope all is well with you and the family.

26 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Ahh good to know your still alive. 

Well I look forward to your return after you put your big boys pants on. Though lets be honest, usage of JKB will plummet for most us with restrictions easing. Another benefit of the return to freedom.

24 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

The outside booze thing is a bit of a pain. Going for lunch tomorrow and second guessing the weather report to decide to sit outside or not. Scotland is too ****ing cold for cafe culture outside a handful of days in the summer.

Ended up going indoors, just not hardy enough to brave outdoors for the benefit of a pint or a glass of wine. 

Yes not worth it really . 

8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Izzat not part of the thinking behind the current restrictions, i.e. to nudge folk away from having even a glass of wine with a meal? The longer this goes on, the less it remains as part of the habit/routine, and thus new ones are formed?

Much like the curtain twitchers who thrived during lockdown (thankfully not in my group of very fine, sociable neighbours), this simply gives further ammo to the teetotallers (y'know, folk like Donnie T. and Adi H.) to castigate and vilify folk who enjoy socialising (with alcohol), while giving a government-approved pat on the head to those who have little to no choice other than to opt out of a millenniums-old routine.

I think your right . Things we didn’t think possible a year and bit ago are becoming the “ new normal “ ( hate that phrase ) but sadly happening , . Yes the “ curtain twitchers “ aka little Hitlers hand loved Lockdowns . Has given them “purpose”  in life it seems 

15 minutes ago, jonesy said:

A wee nationwide/global internet outage for 48 hours in mid-May might not be a bad thing for everyone's health. Although some news junkies and serial Tweeters/posters/grammers might struggle with 48 minutes, never mind hours.

😂😎

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

Ha! One for the rule-abiders:

When they lose their sense of awe,
people turn to religion.
When they no longer trust themselves,
they begin to depend upon authority.

👍👍😫

Edited by JamesM48

STV news at it again - lead with how on earth will hospitals cope with backlogs then after only 4 days of relaxation of restrictions there have been spikes through the west and in Moray 

not really bothering to mention it’s too soon to blame Monday’s relaxations

10 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

STV news at it again - lead with how on earth will hospitals cope with backlogs then after only 4 days of relaxation of restrictions there have been spikes through the west and in Moray 

I saw that too . I just gave out a big yawn. Scare mongering irresponsible reporting really. Negating to really mention about the alleged " spike " " surge " was always going to be inevitable but not balancing it with the vaccine roll out and  explaining the the viewer that its  not at all comparable  to previous easing of restrictions. I honestly think they media just want to keep this going as they must be enjoying the drama and the ratings i guess?  And as you say how the hell can it be blamed due to the recent easing .?  A joke of a " news " channel. 

Edited by JamesM48

A spokeswoman for Edinburgh Zoo said that some of the animals have missed the visitors being around.  

Have they,  aye?  I'll believe it when I hear it from the Zebra's mouth.

There should be no place in a modern society for Zoos. Inhumane places. Poor animals.  :( 

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

There should be no place in a modern society for Zoos. Inhumane places. Poor animals.  :( 

In many countries zoos play a valuable role

I'm not saying all zoos but many have conservation policies that are necessary for a species to survive

You need room and facilities for the species and if you don't have that then you need to accept things have to change in the 21st century

6 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

In many countries zoos play a valuable role

I'm not saying all zoos but many have conservation policies that are necessary for a species to survive

You need room and facilities for the species and if you don't have that then you need to accept things have to change in the 21st century

We really dont need them in the UK.  Go after the scum bag poachers and rogue Govt killing their animals for a small profit. Disgusting. 

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

We really dont need them in the UK.  Go after the scum bag poachers and rogue Govt killing their animals for a small profit. Disgusting. 

Well said.

1 hour ago, Boy Daniel said:

STV reporting a rise in cases since lock down eased😠

That doesn't tally with the figures that I've seen. Au contraire.

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

100% agree.

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

It's not often that I agree with you, manalive, but you are spot on - it is indeed too soon. In addition, the Moray spike started well before the easing of lockdown. I imagine that we will see some spikes due to the easing, that's to be expected, but in my humble opinion STV is talking crap. The case figures are stable and declining at the moment. There is, as they say, currently nothing to see here.

The local rises are clearly not due to the easing of restrictions.  Certainly not in any simplistic way.  But a local rise in cases is still a local rise in cases.  Is it better or worse that it can or cannot be attributed to restrictions easing?  The most important thing from that news item for me was the statement that the authorities are said to be completely unaware of why these rises have occurred.  The upshot is that the authorities need to become better at understanding why local rises occur.  

26 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Zoo’s really are about so much more than just people looking at animals in glass boxes. Even at U.K. it’s about conservation and learning, paid for by people looking at animals. 

The Colonel Sanders kills animals on a mass scale for huge profit. I don’t even like his chicken but I struggle to see why he shouldn’t be subject your disgust. 

Disagree 😥

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

They're a bunch of doom mongers. Yesterday's lead story on Scotland Today was the covid crisis in Indian. 

2 minutes ago, Candy said:

They're a bunch of doom mongers. Yesterday's lead story on Scotland Today was the covid crisis in Indian. 

Yes it’s called “ Covid porn “ 

5 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

You like KFC :berra:

Now don’t be silly 😜 your being provocative and not in a good way 🥶

41 minutes ago, redjambo said:

That doesn't tally with the figures that I've seen. Au contraire.

yeah it was the lead story. Moray was one of the areas they were getting excited about. 

23 minutes ago, Victorian said:

The local rises are clearly not due to the easing of restrictions.  Certainly not in any simplistic way.  But a local rise in cases is still a local rise in cases.  Is it better or worse that it can or cannot be attributed to restrictions easing?  The most important thing from that news item for me was the statement that the authorities are said to be completely unaware of why these rises have occurred.  The upshot is that the authorities need to become better at understanding why local rises occur.  

We're not seeing rises or spikes of any significance though, imo. Merely the sorts of undulations you would see in the sea after a storm. Even the rise in cases in Moray, although unusual for the area, is nothing to be concerned about at the moment - their per-capita case rate is still low. The last real spike we had was Clackmannanshire and they've well recovered from that now.

I agree that the authorities need to be better aware of why rises in cases occur though. This is the perfect time to do it as there is less noise due to the low case rate. It's a case of using track and trace to work backwards and determine the most likely causes of transmission, making a real effort to link cases together.

Just now, redjambo said:

We're not seeing rises or spikes of any significance though, imo. Merely the sorts of undulations you would see in the sea after a storm. Even the rise in cases in Moray, although unusual for the area, is nothing to be concerned about at the moment - their per-capita case rate is still low. The last real spike we had was Clackmannanshire and they've well recovered from that now.

I agree that the authorities need to be better aware of why rises in cases occur though. This is the perfect time to do it as there is less noise due to the low case rate. It's a case of using track and trace to work backwards and determine the most likely causes of transmission, making a real effort to link cases together.

Exactly.  Track and trace can be applied in working order while incidence is very low.  Then they can practice how to actually do it when incidence is higher.  Learn the all the implications of cause and effect.  Forward trace.  Backwards trace.  Learn more about any super spreading.  Learn and understand about new mitigations.  This is the time to learn,  learn,  learn.

Some erse is coughing,  hacking and wheezing away like a 40 a day man at the snooker in Sheffield.  He's probably giving a few other spectators the heebies.  Get out and sort out your coughing fit and go back in ffs.

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

image.gif.76ee33a7074ef5bb9eab9a71d0bca3fa.gif

Jezz I was just about to post that ! You know me too well  I do tend to paraphrase Livia  😂😂😂

Enzo Chiefo
7 hours ago, jonesy said:

Welcome back, Jonesy. Always good to hear from critical thinkers on here 😎

6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Bet you love the gravy and a bargain bucket....

Was it a urban myth that kfc in Edinburgh got shit down for serving deep fried rat or something in 80’s or 90’s?

28F82880-8453-4CC9-BEF8-BF5CFB6AD093.png

12 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Bet you love the gravy and a bargain bucket....

Was it a urban myth that kfc in Edinburgh got shit down for serving deep fried rat or something in 80’s or 90’s?

Haha, no I'm a wicked zinger man and nothing else.

No idea, but sounds exotic, they should bring it back to the menu.

Enzo Chiefo
36 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Not if my experience at a coffee shop chain branch on Monday was anything to go by.

"Excuse me, can you scan the QR code thing here?"

"No, sorry. I'm afraid I don't have a smartphone. Do you have an alternative?"

"Oh. I'll find a piece of paper or something for you to write down your details."

"Sure."

Enjoyed my coffee and left, no piece of paper ever came my way.

Brilliantly amateur, not that I'd have written my actual details down, anyway. Willie Bauld, Roald Jensen and Husref Musemic - phone number, 07513431874 - had a lot of coffees, beers and meals out last summer/autumn. You'd have to be a loon to constantly pass on your whereabouts to the authorities.

I was in a coffee shop/restaurant for lunch today and nothing had changed since last year, thankfully. Sanitisers available, table service and there was no possibility, requirement for or discussion about the much feared 1m distancing between different households at the SAME table. You sat right next to each other in exactly the same way as you did pre-pandemic. Also, the nonsensical change in the track & trace requirements had been ditched as only one name and mobile needed scribbled down on the back of the bill. A common sense approach and the polar opposite of my local Costa who insist you scan your details before you even order. They also make you wait until they fa**y about making up orders for all the lazy feckers using Deliveroo or Just Eat. I won't be going anywhere near that Branch again. It's important to point out that this isn't Costa policy across the board and other outlets are far more sensible about it and do offer great customer service.

Enzo Chiefo
40 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Glad to bolster the numbers, Enzo.

One assumes you've been keeping the nodding dogs at bay with your usual common sense-grounded posting.

Absolutely, Jonesy. The Critical Thinking flag is still firmly planted on the summit.👍

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic