Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Dennis Reynolds
Just now, Brian Dundas said:

While deaths in the 25-65 age group is rare, they are about 30% of hospital cases. So if the virus did start circulating massively higher in those age groups it does become a problem. Restrictions will start to be eased but normal life will take a wee bit longer. Hopefully we have enough vaccines to get everyone double jabbed for the summer!!  

I've been hearing on the grapevine of a similar phased return starting from March. Along the lines of tier 3 March, tier 2 April, tier 1 May. Obviously that's an extremely simplistic way of looking at it but the plan obviously being to converge the opening up of everything with the rollout of the vaccine. There will quite clearly be hiccups and bumps with availability of vaccine supplies but by April, there should be four on the go and the majority of the population having had their first. It's ambitious but so was the vaccine rollout and whilst it got off to a piss poor start, we're now getting on nicely. I feel the talk of restrictions being kept on is more geared towards massive congregations of people from all over or international travel as other countries are sadly extremely sluggish with their vaccine roll out. I'm optimistic that by summer we'll be much closer to living normally here but things like the fringe will be a no go. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

7 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

While deaths in the 25-65 age group is rare, they are about 30% of hospital cases. So if the virus did start circulating massively higher in those age groups it does become a problem. Restrictions will start to be eased but normal life will take a wee bit longer. Hopefully we have enough vaccines to get everyone double jabbed for the summer!!  

But it needs context Brian. 25 -65 is a huge range. How many had other conditions? Obesity?  How many were nearer 65 than 25? I agree, though, hopefully we can fully vaccinate everyone by summer. It's time though to direct our focus from possibly overwhelmed hospitals to society as a whole.

56 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I’m on the same page as you. I’ve got more questions than answers but I’m banking on the vaccines returning us to a more like normal life.

To read Swinneys comments and wonder what that means for my business, playing/watching football, socialising with the lads, but more importantly for me, the impact of ongoing restrictions on the health and well being, of my 21 and 18YO kids, scares the shit out of me.

Wrote a spiel about that age group coming out the other side really appreciating having the world at their feet and determined to make a better world but appreciate that doesn't help in the here and now and I don't have kids so can't really empathise with how it must feel. 

Really hope everything turns out okay for you, your family and the business too. 👍👍

Bun fights aside, I wholeheartedly hope that for everyone on here too.

I guess time will tell but people’s patience is running out  and summer is not too far away.

And that’s the way it should be. Listen to folks views and make up your own mind from an educated position.

8 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

I don’t deny it is simplifying the stats down, but it was just used to demonstrate that the potential to fill up hospitals is still there if we are not careful. 

Yes, I appreciate that but, once the vaccination programme is done, a gradual return to normality. Possible variants, hospital capacity issues etc should be monitored and planned for independently, without restrictions on the population

4 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Which ,in Scotland ,will be a pint or a meal when that wee megalomaniac Sturgeon gives us the nod. Don't be surprised to see state run bars opening up once existing pubs go bust. Thankfully,  Scotland will be a bit easier than East Germany to flee from. Plans afoot already👍

The 'Carlisle Experiment' - government takes control of public houses?

https://historicengland.org.uk/research/current/discover-and-understand/military/the-first-world-war/first-world-war-home-front/what-we-already-know/land/state-control-of-pubs/

2 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

What do you reckon? After the last year, nothing would shock or surprise me.  State Ale 1.0% ABV.? Murrells Bitter & Twisted 1.2%?  Everyone is given 16 or 20 vouchers a month, exchange 1 for a pint.

41 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Not a problem. Debates are good but sometimes the written word can be misunderstood.

Very true 

41 minutes ago, LMc said:

I've been hearing on the grapevine of a similar phased return starting from March. Along the lines of tier 3 March, tier 2 April, tier 1 May. Obviously that's an extremely simplistic way of looking at it but the plan obviously being to converge the opening up of everything with the rollout of the vaccine. There will quite clearly be hiccups and bumps with availability of vaccine supplies but by April, there should be four on the go and the majority of the population having had their first. It's ambitious but so was the vaccine rollout and whilst it got off to a piss poor start, we're now getting on nicely. I feel the talk of restrictions being kept on is more geared towards massive congregations of people from all over or international travel as other countries are sadly extremely sluggish with their vaccine roll out. I'm optimistic that by summer we'll be much closer to living normally here but things like the fringe will be a no go. 

Yes but I withdrew hope there was a tier zero ! Everyone seems to forget that there are still a lot of restrictions in tier one . However I do agree fear restrictions will continue in larger venues like concerts , sports grounds , night clubs etc 

Edited by JamesM48

7 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

What do you reckon? After the last year, nothing would shock or surprise me.  State Ale 1.0% ABV.? Murrells Bitter & Twisted 1.2%?  Everyone is given 16 or 20 vouchers a month, exchange 1 for a pint.

Absolutely nothing would surprise me anymore. Looking back the Carlisle Experiment was brought in to help the war effort in 1915 and was finally abolished in 1971. My father in law was based in Carlisle in the 50's and still complains about the weak beer.

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

Broadly agreed, Costanza, and I like your outlook. My point - which I understand swims against the tide for many on here - is that lockdowns and CV19 restrictions are an entirely government-created phenomenon with very little to support their continued use. Plenty of things currently being blamed on CV19 are actually the result of the very measures brought in to control it. As we have seen, attempts to predict, manage and eradicate - except in a few extreme cases - have proven fruitless. We don't need to be in lockdown at all. And moving us into it without having first formulated a coherent and actionable plan to get out of it with minimal long-term damage is, in my view, no better or worse than simply introducing minimal efforts to reduce transmission and allowing it to pass among the less susceptible majority while affording every support possible to those who require it. 

However, with Swiney today telling us that jabbing everyone up won't result in the end of restrictions, I'm yet to see any sign of a real exit strategy to the entire shitshow. 

I don't agree about not needing a lockdown as unless everyone pays attention to the guidelines on distance,  hygiene, we'll just get overwhelmed with infection. Lockdown is a blunt instrument but I think the UK's half arsed ones have led to the worst of all worlds i.e. poor health outcomes, economic carnage and having to repeat the lockdowns and understandably people are sick of it.

Looking at New Zealand for example, surely their situation is much preferable to ours and a much harder lockdown at the start would have been a better approach?

I can't agree with Swinney in not easing restrictions after mass vaccination.

The plan then should be vigorous testing on arrivals into the country and proper track and trace. We can't dampen hope after the vaccination, that's just asking for people to ignore restrictions.

2 hours ago, **** the SPFL said:

when we opened back up last year there were hardly any cases, deaths etc and yet the virus snowballed after that. when do we decide to open up next when there are zero cases if so that could be years away or when enough people have been vaccinated. At some point it will have to be treated the same as the flu virus and not have any lockdown. One other point when the hospitals admissions last year were at there highest we were told that they were at breaking point this time around there were 14k more people in Hospital and yet they still coped just strange

So we can't have zero cases before we open up, that would be unsustainable but once we have mass vaccination and then booster shots, it should be more akin to the flu as a virus we manage and live with, I agree with that certainly.

10 hours ago, LMc said:

If global corporations are in control and they're using this as a means to 1984 us all, has someone forgot to tell Australia?

Or New Zealand?

Do you think there are no restrictions here?

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

That can't be right.

That isn't what the PM told us only a few days ago.

Ah when he said 'overseas summer holidays' he meant you can have a wee bit more certainty around starting to book holidays from the summer for some time in the future.

But it's better he gives us hope than a bit of realism for someone else to clear up his mess.

That will him be in hiding again until either the next piece of good news, unrealistic promise or catastrophe that he thinks he is being Churchillian with a state of the nation speech.

10 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

That's right Jonesy. UK planning for pandemics, going back 10 years, never contemplated lockdown. It was about shielding the elderly and allowing everyone else to live their life. It was only in March, when they saw that Italy were getting away with lockdown, that all the planning was ripped up in a few hours, without even thinking about the colossal health, social and economic impact. You're right, come May, there will be no need or justification for any restrictions. 

Yes that’s true the plan was herd immunity as such until the Italian media reports circulated 

10 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

But it needs context Brian. 25 -65 is a huge range. How many had other conditions? Obesity?  How many were nearer 65 than 25? I agree, though, hopefully we can fully vaccinate everyone by summer. It's time though to direct our focus from possibly overwhelmed hospitals to society as a whole.

Very true lost time how many times I’ve seen reports of “ tragic case of 38 years old man “ etc who died of covid read further in report he had various co morbidities and was obese 

10 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I saw on TV this morning another who is in a position beyond their capabilities. 

I watched it too. He backtracked a wee bit and said we would have to wait for the PM's statement on the 22nd.

The papers love to grab a headline

3 minutes ago, Barack said:

There are so many glaring holes & utter pish stated by him, it's difficult to know where to actually start. 

Directly contradicted what Hancock said yesterday for a start. "Illegal to book a holiday."  

:lol: Aye...?

I'll hang fire until the 22nd to see what they actually want to do in this "roadmap." If they want to kill off the aviation and tourism industry...crack on. I suspect we won't be waiting for the 1.4billion people in India to vaccinate, before we can all hop on a plane again.

Shapps, in summary, is a ****ing moron.

May have some external travel corridors, hopefully.

Giving it a big FU to Europe, EU with their vaccine plan is counter productive though (public that is).

I believe Serbia is nice place to go however.

I see the UK virologists are kite flying that masks and distancing will continue for another year. Sorry, but if vaccination is rolled out AND new vaccine variants are designed to cope with mutations, there is no reason for normal not to be restored. Catching Covid if you are vaccinated is no big deal. While I'm not buying the tinfoil wearer stuff above, the idea that this virus will be eradicated is nuts.

Edited by Geoff Kilpatrick

18 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

People don't die because they obese at 38 years old.  There is a great deal of judgement on here for people who are overweight as if they are somehow expendable as it is their fault they obese. "That's tragic a 38 year old dies of covid, oh weight, he was a fatty, **** him then, deserved it" Most of that judgement is from the picture the family provide to the news outlets as well, nothing more than that.

Nobody is saying 'he was a fatty, he deserved to die'. What people are saying that this should be wake up call to the massively obese to do something about their weight and live healthier lifestyle. 

Go for a walk and exercise more while eating less garbage and not drinking as much alcohol isnt asking too much as its for their own benefit. 

If they can't see that, then they are asking for trouble through either Covid, if they are unlucky to catch it, or heart disease through lifestyle. 

43 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

People don't die because they obese at 38 years old.  There is a great deal of judgement on here for people who are overweight as if they are somehow expendable as it is their fault they obese. "That's tragic a 38 year old dies of covid, oh weight, he was a fatty, **** him then, deserved it" Most of that judgement is from the picture the family provide to the news outlets as well, nothing more than that.

Sounds like your more the judgmental one with some of those statements . Since you seem to think you know it all about covid you will be aware that a large majority of those who died are defined as “ obese” this is fact , not a judgement . Being clinically overweight makes one more open to other illnesses and disease . That’s another fact . 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Sounds like your more the judgmental one with some of those statements . Since you seem to think you know it all about covid you will be aware that a large majority of those who died are defined as “ obese” this is fact , not a judgement . Being clinically overweight makes one more open to other illnesses and disease . That’s another fact . 

I'm not sure you read his post properly. 

Just now, Ray Gin said:

I'm not sure you read his post properly. 

I’m not sure you understand my reading of his post properly 

26 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Nobody is saying 'he was a fatty, he deserved to die'. What people are saying that this should be wake up call to the massively obese to do something about their weight and live healthier lifestyle. 

Go for a walk and exercise more while eating less garbage and not drinking as much alcohol isnt asking too much as its for their own benefit. 

If they can't see that, then they are asking for trouble through either Covid, if they are unlucky to catch it, or heart disease through lifestyle. 

Well said .

14 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Any chance you can put a reliable figure on that 'large majority' statement? 

Dennis Reynolds
16 minutes ago, jonesy said:

It is, actually :) 

Friendly folk, Belgrade a grand city, and bonnie lassies. Had a great Hogmanay there once.

I'm going to Belgrade next year. This is good to hear. :jj:

Spoiler

With the wife :muggy:

1 minute ago, Brian Dundas said:

You are making my point for me. If we open up fully when half the population are not vaccinated you are condemning loads of fatties to death and many more will have a long stay in hospital, which has a knock on effect for everyone. 

I am not against opening up, very for it, but it needs to be done in a controlled manner at the correct times so we don't cause needles harm to thousands of others.

You actually aren't. The death rate is still very small. I don't have the morbidity statistics but even then, the real issue is assisted breathing, either on CPAP or a ventilator. If the proportion of those is equivalent to existing pre-Covid respiratory illnesses then again, what's the issue?

28 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

They don't say it, but they imply it with the dismissal of the death.

I think it's more a case of you inferring it to be fair. 

CavySlaveJambo
32 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Being overweight is not easy to resolve for many people and was not a deliberate choice to become overweight.

Yes this is the case 

@Malinga the Swinga 

There are massive groups of medications that actually can cause obesity and weight gain.   That is not a choice.  

Otherwise tell everyone with mental illness to come off their meds.  There is also an eating disorder that causes weight gain. Oh so they should be instantly cured.  And then their is the likes of Prader-Willi Syndrome. 

The overweight/obesity issue is some cases in simply a result of other health conditions.  

Edited by CavySlaveJambo

10 hours ago, Janbo1874 said:

All pubs closed and then this..

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Systembolaget

Sturgeons preferred option believe me.

Personally think that's a great idea. I'd be surprised if the vast majority of pubs didn't agree. Allowing supermarkets to sell booze as a loss leader is both bad for public health and bad for the pub trade. 

11 minutes ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

Yes this is the case 

@Malinga the Swinga 

There are massive groups of medications that actually can cause obesity and weight gain.   That is not a choice.  

Otherwise tell everyone with mental illness to come off their meds.  There is also an eating disorder that causes weight gain. Oh so they should be instantly cured.  And then their is the likes of Prader-Willi Syndrome. 

The overweight/obesity issue is some cases in simply a result of other health conditions.  

Not arguing that some obesity is result of complex issues. I would argue though, that these are in minority and don't excuse the majority who simply don't like exercise and refuse to do so. 

Mental health far more complex and I don't want to even go there. 

Do we know yet what percentage of the population requires vaccinated before we go back to normal, or at least semi normal, over here? Are we looking at 100%? 80%?

The reason I ask is my 9 year old is totally struggling now. If she's not crying herself to sleep because she thinks she's going to die, she's bursting in to tears over the slightest thing.

We've tried to re-assure her things will get better and the world won't be like this forever but I completely understand her response. "I don't believe you. I don't believe any of you, you've been saying that for a year." 

So I hit upon a little idea with her yesterday that made her feel better. I got her toys and explained X amount have had a jag, and x amount still need it. Once the others have had it, we'll be okay.

She was still a bit dubious but I explained that no-one had a jag before Christmas and now see how many have already had it. She perked up at this. 

I'm also wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of daily vaccination numbers if available? I know it might seem morbid but if I can make a kind of Covid Advent calendar with some of her toys, giving a wee plaster to the ones who've been "vaccinated" , I really think this would help her. 

10 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

If you accept the premise that no-restrictions leads to more cases, which there is plenty of evidence in Scotland to back up, then you will still see people being hospitalised , under 65 25-30% of admissions atm. So if the numbers then remain uncontrolled loads more will end up in hospital and some of them will require ICU and some will die. Full ICUs will prevent treatments of other conditions. So people who think we can just release everything in March when the over 65s have be given one dose are not understanding the situation.

That's fair but as vaccines continue to increase the numbers jabbed, the real question is how much transmission reduces, which is obviously unknown yet. Either way, herd immunity should be around 70-75%. There should be no need for any restrictions after that, save for international travel.

Just now, Norm said:

Do we know yet what percentage of the population requires vaccinated before we go back to normal, or at least semi normal, over here? Are we looking at 100%? 80%?

The reason I ask is my 9 year old is totally struggling now. If she's not crying herself to sleep because she thinks she's going to die, she's bursting in to tears over the slightest thing.

We've tried to re-assure her things will get better and the world won't be like this forever but I completely understand her response. "I don't believe you. I don't believe any of you, you've been saying that for a year." 

So I hit upon a little idea with her yesterday that made her feel better. I got her toys and explained X amount have had a jag, and x amount still need it. Once the others have had it, we'll be okay.

She was still a bit dubious but I explained that no-one had a jag before Christmas and now see how many have already had it. She perked up at this. 

I'm also wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of daily vaccination numbers if available? I know it might seem morbid but if I can make a kind of Covid Advent calendar with some of her toys, giving a wee plaster to the ones who've been "vaccinated" , I really think this would help her. 

It is a function of the natural R number. If this UK variant has an R of around 4 it will need around 75% for herd immunity.

34 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Any chance you can put a reliable figure on that 'large majority' statement? 

Sure ! 113% mite likely to land in hospital . 74% in icu and 48% likely to die 

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/09/why-covid-19-more-deadly-people-obesity-even-if-theyre-young

15 minutes ago, Norm said:

If that's the case, you can reach out and get help from various online sites. Pretty sure thread on here might even help. 

Child psychologists will be busy for long time trying to repair the damage lockdown has caused. 

Daily vaccine numbers posted on here by stat monkeys such as Redjambo or FF at back of 3pm daily. They love being known as stat monkeys and reproduce all sorts of figures. 

Good luck with daughter. 

7 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

If that's the case, you can reach out and get help from various online sites. Pretty sure thread on here might even help. 

Child psychologists will be busy for long time trying to repair the damage lockdown has caused. 

Daily vaccine numbers posted on here by stat monkeys such as Redjambo or FF at back of 3pm daily. They love being known as stat monkeys and reproduce all sorts of figures. 

Good luck with daughter. 

The missus has a whole bunch of stuff, she works in a special needs school as a communication therapist with a whole bunch of non-verbal kids, so she's been the one who's been trying to explain the whole shit show to them.

But how the **** do you argue with "Yeah, you keep saying it will end, you've been saying it for a year, and it's just getting worse. I just don't believe you anymore." to a 9 year old? 

33 minutes ago, Norm said:

Hi. Sorry to hear about your daughter and her anxieties . You seem to be handling it very well and sensitively . I have worked with younger children and we often use various tools to work with them to help them communicate their anxieties and worries as children will not explicitly say how they are feeling due to their lack of Cognitive abilities . This article is quite helpful in explaining how to communicate with children who are anxious / https://www.communitycare.co.uk/2010/04/22/play-and-creative-arts-help-children-in-care-explore-their-lives/

36 minutes ago, Norm said:

Best of luck with your wee lassie, Norm. Hopefully she's resillient enough to bounce back when this shitshow begins to ease off. 👍

9 minutes ago, Norm said:

The missus has a whole bunch of stuff, she works in a special needs school as a communication therapist with a whole bunch of non-verbal kids, so she's been the one who's been trying to explain the whole shit show to them.

But how the **** do you argue with "Yeah, you keep saying it will end, you've been saying it for a year, and it's just getting worse. I just don't believe you anymore." to a 9 year old? 

She should be back at school in a couple of weeks which will hopefully help.

1 hour ago, Brian Dundas said:

If you accept the premise that no-restrictions leads to more cases, which there is plenty of evidence in Scotland to back up, then you will still see people being hospitalised , under 65 25-30% of admissions atm. So if the numbers then remain uncontrolled loads more will end up in hospital and some of them will require ICU and some will die. Full ICUs will prevent treatments of other conditions. So people who think we can just release everything in March when the over 65s have be given one dose are not understanding the situation.

40 years ? That’s a ridiculously large age group you’ve used to get your impressive sounding 30%. 

51 minutes ago, Norm said:

You’re not alone Norm I think most households with kids are struggling to varying degrees. The unhappiness I see in my daughters eyes although much older than yours is heartbreaking. Just keep on doing what you are doing and hopefully we will get to the end of this. 

1 hour ago, Brian Dundas said:

You are making my point for me. If we open up fully when half the population are not vaccinated you are condemning loads of fatties to death and many more will have a long stay in hospital, which has a knock on effect for everyone. 

I am not against opening up, very for it, but it needs to be done in a controlled manner at the correct times so we don't cause needles harm to thousands of others.

Alternatively they could lose weight before it happens. 

You think lockdown is justified to reduce deaths and the pressure on the NHS?

You think stopping people seeing their friends and family is justified to reduce deaths and the pressure on the NHS?

You think massive public spending is justified to enable the lockdowns to reduce deaths and the pressure on the NHS?

You don't think it's justified to expect people to eat a bit less and move themselves into a healthy body fat level?

I'm sorry, but it's not about seeing people as expendable but if people aren't willing to make a small personal sacrifice, why on earth should everyone else make a much bigger personal one for them

59 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Not arguing that some obesity is result of complex issues. I would argue though, that these are in minority and don't excuse the majority who simply don't like exercise and refuse to do so. 

Mental health far more complex and I don't want to even go there. 

All of the below is lifted straight off the NHS website. It's absolutely a minority of people and we should do everything we can to support them. The majority is very much won't, not can't.

Obesity is generally caused by eating too much and moving too little.

If you consume high amounts of energy, particularly fat and sugars, but do not burn off the energy through exercise and physical activity, much of the surplus energy will be stored by the body as fat.

While there are some rare genetic conditions that can cause obesity, such as Prader-Willi syndrome, there's no reason why most people cannot lose weight.

In some cases, underlying medical conditions may contribute to weight gain. These include:

However, if conditions such as these are properly diagnosed and treated, they should pose less of a barrier to weight loss.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic