• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

1 minute ago, kila said:

The extra ventilator plan is probably not going to help too much according to an ICU doctor I'm friends with, as the knowledge on how to configure them for each patient is not something you can learn quickly despite Hancock saying they were retraining staff. They said it was akin to an air steward being given 5 mins to learn how to fly a plane. Throw in the oxygen supply issue (Italy has already pretty much run out) and pipe networks involved to make ICU wards function too and the only realistic solution is to flatten the curve by staying indoors.

The positive they said was the army getting involved and helping with adaption as their expertise in demanding situations and makeshift solutions will be key.

Key point being reiterated is stay inside and don't go out. Folk still have heart attacks, strokes etc and we're lowering their survival chances. We only see the Covid-19 death numbers being those infected and died directly, not those are critically ill from other means who are having treatment impacted.

Whilst true, this is for the complicated ones in ICU. The ones G-Tech are building are far more rudimentary.  You are right though, my wife is crapping herself at getting a crash course in ICU in an afternoon for a specialism that should take 2 months to learn, and she already knows how to intubate, do the colostomy tubing too etc...

1 minute ago, TWF said:

There doesn't appear to be any stats on covid 19 cases in either Russia or Cuba!!

Strange or What?

Moscow mayor is threatening 5 years in jail if you dont do as told.

23 minutes ago, mrmarkus1981 said:

What does a lockdown mean for me? I've got an office of 6 people. Two can't work from home so are just off. 3 are working from home. I go to the office to deal with the admin and delegation of work to the three, answer the telephone and deal with bills and banking. Can I go to work?

Divert the calls to your mobile. Easy to do. Depending on what kind of work you do you can get stuff linked to iPad/laptop. 

5 minutes ago, TWF said:

There doesn't appear to be any stats on covid 19 cases in either Russia or Cuba!!

Strange or What?

Cuba has one of the best health services in the world.  They have already sent a plane load of medical staff to Italy.

mrmarkus1981
2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Divert the calls to your mobile. Easy to do. Depending on what kind of work you do you can get stuff linked to iPad/laptop. 

I'll need to go back to set up the phones though. Will I be allowed? Time will tell

1 minute ago, Footballfirst said:

Cuba has one of the best health services in the world.  They have already sent a plane load of medical staff to Italy.

At the forefront when dealing with large outbreaks all over the world.

18 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

There has never been anything like this. If you don't get this is a historic event which is unparalleled in living memory you're not in touch with reality.

You think the entire globe is so stupid they're instituting draconian measures which will have a massively detrimental effect on economies for years to come simply due to panic. Your stupidity is frankly mind boggling.

And if it's the rest of the world who are stupid well you get out there informing them with your genius insight as Italy creeps closer towards a thousand dead in  a day. We need geniuses like you in this mix.

Not meaning to detract from your point but I'm sure Italy are not edging closer to 1,000 deaths a day. Number has dropped last 2 days.

2 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Whilst true, this is for the complicated ones in ICU. The ones G-Tech are building are far more rudimentary.  You are right though, my wife is crapping herself at getting a crash course in ICU in an afternoon for a specialism that should take 2 months to learn, and she already knows how to intubate, do the colostomy tubing too etc...

The other thing they said was the ICU ventilators are the highest end ones because they're designed for someone to be on them for a long time and are really precise so can be very fine tuned for amount of pressure etc. While they have portable ventilators they not quite as high tech (or precise) and really meant for transporting a patient from say A&E to theatre during a short period and being on one of those for a long period increases chance of some other problems arising.

The high end ones are manufactured at a rate of 1200 per month, but who knows maybe with so many firms coming together with universities that the electronic side to control and regulate the flow precisely will be achieved in a short space of time.

Hope your wife does well in being retrained, must be really scary to be in control of such delicate parameters.

30 minutes ago, Gashauskis9 said:

I’m going to predict a lockdown for London starting tomorrow night and a German style approach for the rest of the UK.  If things don’t improve over the next week, then lockdown for everyone.  

From what I can tell the problem in Italy has been escalating due to people fleeing the north which has clearly spread it at a frightening rate across the nation so perhaps a London lockdown isn’t a bad idea but I’m not sure how they’ll enforce it? The German approach would definitely make a difference here with the younger generation congregating like there’s nothing actually happening.

Just now, Rudy T said:

From what I can tell the problem in Italy has been escalating due to people fleeing the north which has clearly spread it at a frightening rate across the nation so perhaps a London lockdown isn’t a bad idea but I’m not sure how they’ll enforce it? The German approach would definitely make a difference here with the younger generation congregating like there’s nothing actually happening.

Folk from London have seemingly been fleeing to lodges in the Highlands

1 minute ago, Rudy T said:

Army round the M25, keep the feckers in.

Just now, vegas-voss said:

Some people will believe anything 😀

gashauskis9
4 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

Put a perimeter round the city.  Nobody comes in, nobody leaves.  Easier said than done of course.  

2 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Chase the Englanders back home... as long as they do it at a safe distance then it could be a new sport for the highlanders 😀

7 minutes ago, mrmarkus1981 said:

I'll need to go back to set up the phones though. Will I be allowed? Time will tell

Aye true. Don’t think you can do it remotely. I done it on Friday and all I got today was people moaning at me on the phone. Wish I hadn’t bothered 😂

58 minutes ago, Barack said:

Linda Lusardi is fine. Tweeting away.

Right, crisis over. What's next...?

That's happened before I got my #knockoneoutforLinda campaign going.

Maybe I should do my part in it just in case you have duff information.

(In knew all those toilet rolls would come in handy for something.)

3 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Ffs use them for yer arse use the spare socks for the chuggs

12 minutes ago, SE16 3LN said:

Some people will believe anything 😀

Was on BBC news about an hour ago and that's why I said seemingly cause what the **** do I know

Edited by vegas-voss

7 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

I'm not normally one for these high profile charity campaigns but on this occasion, I'm sure I can deposit something. 

Just now, Normthebarman said:

I'm not normally one for these high profile charity campaigns but on this occasion, I'm sure I can deposit something. 

Awww! Nawwww! 😮

5 minutes ago, Normthebarman said:

:getout:

55 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Needs a damn good spanking

Tommy, Tommy, Tommy....   :facepalm:

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

:getout:

If you can't crack one out when it appears the world is ending, when can you? 

1 minute ago, Normthebarman said:

If you can't crack one out when it appears the world is ending, when can you? 

Should start a rumour that it is the next miracle cure...

Just now, Walter Bishop said:

FM speaking at 8:45pm

Seems strange with PM on at 8:30pm?

Closing the airports probably

8 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Was on BBC news about an hour ago

It's looking like motor home and caravan owners are getting sneered at. :Sad:

Showed a Welsh village shopkeeper telling tourists to stay away.

44 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Oh I don't know about that. 

article-8120631-26072646-962_636x604.jpg

Always find this a little flawed. On the face of it, yes there have been many things worse than Covid. But, apart from Aids which isn't just ordinarily contagious, only swine flu has killed more in living memory. (Covid has now overtaken Ebola)

This is unique because it's occurring at a time when it's never been easier to travel across the world, meaning it's spreading like wildfire. This is really affecting so called first world nations. And it's not over yet. 

1 minute ago, Sooperstar said:

Lockdown but not lockdown. How do you monitor how many times people have been out for exercise. It's half arsed again.

Aye officer we're aw fae the same hoose.

1 minute ago, Sooperstar said:

Lockdown but not lockdown. How do you monitor how many times people have been out for exercise. It's half arsed again.

As long as you are by yourself it shouldn't matter. He said any gatherings will be broken up by the police

Good. If those silly wee pricks above me have a party on to 2am like Saturday night, I won't feel bad about phoning the police 😀

1 minute ago, Jeff said:

As long as you are by yourself it shouldn't matter. He said any gatherings will be broken up by the police

Can be out in pairs.

Just now, Sooperstar said:

Its not half arsed. Unless you put army on street, you will never get more than this. Thought he came over reasonable well, and I am no lover of him or Conservative party.

It is up to the public now.

• Maple Leaf changed the title to Coronavirus pandemic
  • davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic