Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Just now, Ray Gin said:

Brutal for those tier 4 places in England but good to see BoJo actually taking decisive action quickly for a change.

Decisive action??? Jesus Christ, anyone could see that trying to go with three days of mixing while voicing panic about rising infection rates was the approach of a bell-end. He’s spent a month telling people to prepare for Christmas, even though this was always going to happen. What an utter

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

21 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

We need more Doomsdays IMO.

Getting the longbow down from the loft as we speak.

27 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I predict we will see Christmas restriction moved to a single day in Scotland. 

Did Johnson not say that's what would be happening in the rest of the UK, or did I mishear that?

10 minutes ago, Barack said:

Have to admire viruses. Just as a world-wide vaccine(s) become available...it modifies itself to become even more virulent & transmissible.

:sadrobbo:

Damned infectabley virus is old coveys offspring 

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

This ****ing penis needs to resign and throw himself off a cliff. Him and his party. Useless ****ing *****.

Never enjoyed a post of yours more DtD 🤣

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

Just in time for Christmas too.  How f̵o̵r̵t̵u̵n̵a̵t̵e̵ unfortunate.

Amazing indeed. Far higher transmissibility.  But, as confirmed by Whitty, the key Hands, Face, Space measures still work. So, eh, what makes it more transmissible?? They regretted the decision about Christmas and are now back tracking, using the mutation to cover their tracks. They don't want to announce approval for the Oxford vaccine ahead of Christmas in case people relax. As if by magic, though, it will be announced on Monday 28th. Sorted. And the public will never suspect a thing.

2 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Brutal for those tier 4 places in England but good to see BoJo actually taking decisive action quickly for a change.

He might change his mind again before Xmas. Time yet. 

Just now, Ray Gin said:

Did Johnson not say that's what would be happening in the rest of the UK, or did I mishear that?

The UK = London maybe 😏

2 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Decisive action??? Jesus Christ, anyone could see that trying to go with three days of mixing while voicing panic about rising infection rates was the approach of a bell-end. He’s spent a month telling people to prepare for Christmas, even though this was always going to happen. What an utter

He could have just allowed the 5 day break to go ahead regardless, which would have been on par with his previous ineptitude. This is decisive for him.

Edited by Ray Gin

Not the Tories or Boris' biggest fan, but Ffs, this isn't exactly a walk in the park for anyone. People need to get a fecking grip of their fecking brain cells. 

1 minute ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Getting the longbow down from the loft as we speak.

You might a shorter more close quarters weapon to fend off the hoardes when they come to pillage your leftovers on boxing day

Just now, Ray Gin said:

He could have just allowed the 5 day break to go ahead regardless, which would have been on par with his pervious ineptitude. This is decisive for him.

The 5 day break was from his government in the first place. He’s an absolute stroker of the highest order. How can this dafty be in charge of 60 million people?

Is the vaccine now any good due to the virus changing? 

I now get the feeling nobody knows any better than anybody else 

Edited by Ma Roon

Tenaciousdandy
Just now, Ma Roon said:

Was just saying the same to the missus, wonder if the mutation will affect the effectiveness of the current vaccine 

9 minutes ago, Barack said:

I'm not into that train of thought. But its timing certainly couldn't have been any weirder or inconvenient. 

Nature, eh?! We think we're top of the food chain. Uh-uh. 

I was being faseeshus. 

Our Chinese overlords would never do that.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Not the Tories or Boris' biggest fan, but Ffs, this isn't exactly a walk in the park for anyone. People need to get a fecking grip of their fecking brain cells. 

Wait till NS 5.30.

France, Italy, Spain, Germany, Belgium, Nerherlands, London, UK all forgotten.......

5 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I think that I agree with others who reckon the "new virulent strain" is a bit of a red herring. I reckon the Government realised that the Christmas relaxation in combination with the rising cases in England and Wales would wreak havoc.

They already knew there were different strains - that wasn't new.  The way this news has been presented looks like they pulled that as an excuse to back out of Christmas relaxation.

Just now, Ma Roon said:

They believe the vaccine is still effective even to this variant of the virus

1 minute ago, Ma Roon said:

I now get the feeling nobody knows any better than anybody else 

My suspicion is that it will be fine. The various vaccines being developed, as far as I am aware, have been developed for Covid in general and not for any of the specific strains that are already out there.

1 minute ago, Dandyman79 said:

Was just saying the same to the missus, wonder if the mutation will affect the effectiveness of the current vaccine 

Apparently not according to what was on the news earlier today.

Just now, redjambo said:

My suspicion is that it will be fine. The various vaccines being developed, as far as I am aware, have been developed for Covid in general and not for any of the specific strains that are already out there.

Fergus Walsh on tv saying he thinks the vaccine will still work. 

Tenaciousdandy
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Captain hindsight? Or captain able to see the bleeding obvious as it transpires

Ah ok not really had the news on much 

Brighton Jambo

We have been told repeatedly that Scotland has a lower prevalence of the virus so let’s hope we see that reflected in the Christmas restrictions. 

Good news and a relief the vaccines still work.

Next concern is that follow up orders will be received in time to give second doses....which has went a bit quiet.

2 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Same here. 

This virus isn't the politicians fault. 

It not as if there is precidents to guide our way through it. 

Just about all the countries in the world are winging it with their responses. 

The blame game that some are indulging in because of partizan politics is doing no one any good. 

In fact I would say its making people's mental health even worse. 

Some of the rhetoric being used is disgusting. 

Let's save the Stewards enquiries for a later date when we are through this. 

Just now, ri Alban said:

Wales go into full tier 4 lockdown at midnight tonight. 

Scotland will have to follow or everyone is coming here. 

Do you think so? Everyone will just head to Scotland? 

16 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

This ****ing penis needs to resign and throw himself off a cliff. Him and his party. Useless ****ing *****.

There's no need for this. 😕

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Same here. 

The blame game that some are indulging in because of partizan politics is doing no one any good. 

:spoton:I won't be basing my vote for anyone on their coronavirus helplessness. Labour, are fecking chances, tho and really are a piss poor opposition. 

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

Do you think so? Everyone will just head to Scotland? 

That's what I said. 

Oh right, it's only Glega folk that know how to travel.  My apologies. 

Staggered to discover that the predictable suspects are blubbering about the new variant being used as an excuse for a change of mind / harder lockdown.

A 70% more transmissible variant (R0 value of 5 when not suppressed) is about the worst news imaginable for your local hero ICU doctor / nurse.  Boy oh boy do I feel sorry for these guys.  The volume / flow rate of their workload will go through the roof.

Let's just hope there's no effect on the vaccines.  Let's also hope to see some news in the next couple of months that the new variant has a markedly reduced rate of serious illness.  That's a decent possibility at least.

Just now, luckydug said:

Same here. 

That's fair comment to be honest. I'm not a fan of BJ or the Tories and wouldn't want to be in their shoes.

That said, this flip flopping of strategy shows a number of things including a lack of leadership. Hard decisions needed to be taken long before now and promising a 5 day Xmas break really did take a special level of stupidity. The stewards enquiries at a later date is all very well but today isn't the first time a U turn has been performed and they're clearly not learning from oft made mistakes 

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

There's some guy with previous in this area - he's looking for new work from mid-Jan '21 onwards. Bit of a cowboy, but local connections.

LOL

Just now, ri Alban said:

That's what I said. 

What are you basing that on? Why would they come here considering hospitality is mostly closed? Visit family or go shopping or for what reason?

4 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Drama queen 😂

Just now, GBJambo said:

Drama queen 😂

Hopefully she follows England, you know, so we don't confuse the Unionists. 

Tho it would be great if she said"We're great thanks, enjoy Christmas 👍"

The last of your teeth would faw oot. 

6 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Have you had a look at the figures for Scotland for the last few days?

Absolutely no justification in making the rules stricter 

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

There's some guy with previous in this area - he's looking for new work from mid-Jan '21 onwards. Bit of a cowboy, but local connections.

Get Hadrian he has previous for a guid wall.

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

Can just imagine Dafydd and Lloyd and all their pals packing up their Lada Nivas right now, forming the slowest, wooliest convoy in history. 

A wee road trip is now the hardest thing in the world. 🤣 You lot are funny. 

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Hopefully she follows England, you know, so we don't confuse the Unionists. 

Tho it would be great if she said"We're great thanks, enjoy Christmas 👍"

The last of your teeth would faw oot. 

Why would everyone be coming here though?! For what purpose

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

But I thought you hated how Scotland does things differently from Britain. 

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

I don’t think NS Really wanted the Christmas relaxation to happen in the first place. There was pressure to make Uk wide decisions. She will try and protect us by doing something similar to England (exc London and south east) I think. 

2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Should we wait until the enemy is at the door before we organise our defences ? 🤔 

Just now, Victorian said:

Getting ready to chew my telly in half when Adolfa copies the UK measures / does it a bit differently.

The *****.

Aye but she should be doing things differently in Scotland. No? 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic