Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

6 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I can answer that with a graph from Travelling Tabby. Scotland is in the centre on the 300 line, just above the red of Turkey, Spain is in light blue on the 20 line. And remember, this graph is logarithmic. Why is it that the UK is doing so badly case-wise compared to the vast majority of other countries? I think that this is a question that definitely needs to be asked and researched.

856205621_Screenshotat2021-10-1414-54-10.png.ce5bd0e3216b2960e33387ed038f5fb2.png

:interehjrling:

Stand by for the usual wibble or Mike Yeadon backed evidence 👍

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

SuperstarSteve
10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Btw I reckon only folk who got furlough should be taxed more, I had to work y*******s!

Furlough grants came at different levels of finance am sure. One company could get 50k grant. Another maximum 10k. Grant. Not legit numbers just an example but there won’t be separate taxes I wouldn’t imagine.  

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

The latest trend stats. Nice drop in the 7-day deaths rate.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area WHO   Today Yesterday     12 Oct 11 Oct 10 Oct 9 Oct 8 Oct ... 1 Oct
Scotland 4   308 309 -1   318 320 310 305 306 ... 345

Stirling 4   479 471 +8   478 495 458 413 398 ... 366
West Lothian 4   433 441 -8   465 480 456 425 455 ... 504
Dundee City 4   408 427 -19   437 435 440 429 417 ... 427
Fife 4   392 396 -4   408 406 382 373 361 ... 407
East Renfrewshire 4   380 376 +4   375 373 355 344 330 ... 354
Aberdeenshire 4   377 378 -1   403 404 380 378 379 ... 339
East Ayrshire 4   368 377 -9   394 405 414 403 411 ... 440
Falkirk 4   362 366 -4   379 394 398 400 416 ... 421
North Lanarkshire 4   351 342 +9   371 378 367 373 373 ... 442
North Ayrshire 4   346 358 -12   342 341 340 327 335 ... 441
Renfrewshire 4   332 309 +23   304 307 298 283 270 ... 371
Clackmannanshire 4   322 298 +24   263 263 253 222 226 ... 328
South Lanarkshire 4   321 313 +8   319 333 320 314 324 ... 382
Moray 4   319 324 -5   355 357 379 374 383 ... 231
Angus 4   308 304 +4   301 293 269 267 243 ... 234
Scottish Borders 4   305 322 -17   335 336 317 307 308 ... 188
East Lothian 4 214 301 294 +7   258 246 221 219 209 ... 265
East Dunbartonshire 4   295 294 +1   297 312 318 314 333 ... 382
West Dunbartonshire 4   292 299 -7   310 314 307 298 317 ... 437
Dumfries & Galloway 4   266 271 -5   289 308 300 301 305 ... 361
Midlothian 4   264 246 +18   246 248 251 252 263 ... 327
Aberdeen City 4   253 248 +5   262 272 267 266 259 ... 292
Perth & Kinross 4   253 288 -35   295 294 265 282 276 ... 304
Glasgow City 4   251 254 -3   262 273 275 279 287 ... 328
Argyll & Bute 4   250 240 +10   241 239 222 224 235 ... 304
Edinburgh City 4   240 244 -4   246 231 219 204 204 ... 238
Inverclyde 4   239 257 -18   258 257 260 249 231 ... 365
South Ayrshire 4   234 237 -3   255 245 235 223 235 ... 541
Highland 4 211 220 211 +9   217 207 199 193 193 ... 168
Na h-Eileanan Siar 4   151 125 +26   136 132 140 174 226 ... 234
Shetland Islands 3   87 109 -22   127 127 144 166 166 ... 70
Orkney Islands 3   71 98 -27   71 76 85 80 67 ... 85

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     12 Oct 11 Oct 10 Oct 9 Oct 8 Oct ... 1 Oct
Tests     30548 30827 -279   32422 32702 32521 32414 33156 ... 35457
Cases     2405 2412 -7   2480 2501 2424 2378 2392 ... 2694
Positivity rate %     8.4 8.4 0.0   8.2 8.2 8.0 7.8 7.7 ... 8.2
Deaths     17 19 -2   19 18 18 18 18 ... 19

All Vaccinations     8099 8220 -121   8393 8676 8848 9031 9138 ... 6572
1st Dose     5733 5850 -117   6005 6169 6460 6625 6682 ... 3705
2nd Dose     2366 2370 -4   2388 2507 2388 2406 2456 ... 2867

All in hospital     932 943 -11   953 962 972 976 979 ... 1009
Non-ICU     877 885 -8   893 900 908 910 912 ... 935
ICU     55 58 -3   60 62 64 66 67 ... 74

38 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You've just came back from Spain where mask adoption is huge. No arguments, no wee daisy lanyards, just folks cracking on with it, with a mask on indoors & on transport etc.

What's Spain's new daily case rate like?

To turn it around you could ask why Scotlands case rate was the highest in Europe at one point despite face masks being mandatory. Personally I’m  not sure face masks are the big reason for case rate fluctuations. I think they have there place in society and have no real issue wearing one when required. 

Still in Spain there is no difference between mask wearing in Scotland and mask wearing in Spain - people outside more at the moment here don’t think Delta really took hold here 

7 minutes ago, Dazo said:

To turn it around you could ask why Scotlands case rate was the highest in Europe at one point despite face masks being mandatory. Personally I’m  not sure face masks are the big reason for case rate fluctuations. I think they have there place in society and have no real issue wearing one when required. 

You make a great point. My only comment would be Spanish Mandatory and Scottish Mandatory (voluntary if you can be arsed, haven't got a wee daisy lanyard)

I have no issue wearing a mask where required. It's hardly onerous at the moment.

magic roundabout
52 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Btw I reckon only folk who got furlough should be taxed more, I had to work y*******s!

Lol where I worked people on furlough ended up getting more pay than those who worked! (For the first few months).As they were allow to sell back annual leave at full rate (a week per month)!!  That didn't go down well!!! So yes tax em!!

53 minutes ago, westbow said:

You got a problem with shop assistants 😂. Jesus. The same people who worked through the lockdowns when most were quaking under their duvets. I employ five shop assistants that have had to put up with some right wasters  between the lockdowns, and after, that insist they have “the asthma” or had a”full heart attack” who are generally of a type that I’d follow for being suspiciously shoplifteresque. You can tell them from the genuinely exempt a mile off. I’m presuming you work in a profession which looks down on hard working people- something embittering.

People don't have to insist that they have anything wrong with them as they don't have to prove anything to shopkeepers or whoever.

As for your comment about being able to tell 'genuine' exempt by looking at them.  Aye, because all disabilities are visible :vrface:

11 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You make a great point. My only comment would be Spanish Mandatory and Scottish Mandatory (voluntary if you can be arsed, haven't got a wee daisy lanyard)

I have no issue wearing a mask where required. It's hardly onerous at the moment.

Wee daisy lanyards aren't even required in Scotland 

5 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

People don't have to insist that they have anything wrong with them as they don't have to prove anything to shopkeepers or whoever.

As for your comment about being able to tell 'genuine' exempt by looking at them.  Aye, because all disabilities are visible :vrface:

I tried to let that one go, but...

On the one hand accusing people of looking down on others, whilst also describing people as looking "shoplifteresque". 

Staggering.

26 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Still in Spain there is no difference between mask wearing in Scotland and mask wearing in Spain - people outside more at the moment here don’t think Delta really took hold here 

Yes, I agree. Not sure where Thor was seeing the difference tbh. Same situation in Spain as here, from my perspective.  Lifting masks up when speaking to people and some folk just not bothering wearing them at all.

There is a greater vaccine uptake in Spain and less hesitancy. Probably people,  generally, live healthier lifestyles and take more individual responsibility for their outcomes. 

Case rates are very low there and I doubt that has anything whatsoever to do with mask wearing. 

49 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Obesity and unhealthy habits 

23 minutes ago, Taffin said:

On the one hand accusing people of looking down on others, whilst also describing people as looking "shoplifteresque". 

Staggering.

Cognitive dissonance ? 

11 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Yes, I agree. Not sure where Thor was seeing the difference tbh. Same situation in Spain as here, from my perspective.  Lifting masks up when speaking to people and some folk just not bothering wearing them at all.

There is a greater vaccine uptake in Spain and less hesitancy. Probably people,  generally, live healthier lifestyles and take more individual responsibility for their outcomes. 

Case rates are very low there and I doubt that has anything whatsoever to do with mask wearing. 

Obesity and unhealthy life style choices 

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Your data offends me, stat monkey.

Please make it wear a mask. Or lanyard. 

😳

1 hour ago, scott herbertson said:

I've stopped reading it so much when people stopped talking about the stats, which is the bit I find interesting and informative. They don't worry me at all, but I am interested in the progress of the pandemic and governments' differing approaches to dealing with it. I say this as someone who has been involved in emergency planning in the past. it's a subject which interests me, hence i like to read about it and discuss it and the stats are important factual evidence i that respect

👍👍

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Definitely agree regarding Scottish mandatory. 😂

Just a quick question re masks as I’m in the pub with a friend who doesn’t follow the stats and he is wondering is there actually any difference really in the stats between England and Scotland despite the mask regulations ? 

1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Compliance of mask wearing in Spain was miles ahead of Scotland. People just did it. no debate, no discussion. 

I'm quite sure the Spanish government see a benefit of mask wearing and the impacts it has on their case rates. 

I'm not sure where you're going with the individual responsibility point TBH. Does Spain have more critical thinkers?

1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

I suspect that the vaccine uptake in Spain is what is keeping the case numbers down rather than mask wearing.

Spain has vaccinated 80%/79% of its total population with 1st/2nd doses.

The UK has vaccinated 73.5%/67.5%.

Until the UK vaccinates a higher proportion of teenagers, then I think the underlying level of virus in the community will remain comparatively high.

5 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Compliance of mask wearing in Spain was miles ahead of Scotland. People just did it. no debate, no discussion. 

I'm quite sure the Spanish government see a benefit of mask wearing and the impacts it has on their case rates. 

I'm not sure where you're going with the individual responsibility point TBH. Does Spain have more critical thinkers?

They have less pie eaters. Not sure about critical thinkers. 

I wasn't monitoring mask wearing but if "the people just did it, no debate, no discussion" then that is indeed a chilling indication of a govt in full control and certainly points to a lack of critical thinkers.

If only these smelly feckers that are blocking our roads would just move their erses "no debate, no discussion ".

2 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I suspect that the vaccine uptake in Spain is what is keeping the case numbers down rather than mask wearing.

Until the UK vaccinates a higher proportion of teenagers, then I think the underlying level of virus in the community will remain comparatively high.

Yes, I agree FF.

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Oh there is a type. Ask anyone who works in retail.

We ask if they have a face covering, never ask to put a mask on or wear the ****ing thing rather than having it hanging under their nose or chin, never ask for proof of anything. If they say exempt or whatever we don’t say anything.  We stay polite and professional.

Amazing the amount of groups of young healthy looking people that have asthma though.
Never mind covid, there is an asthma epidemic among shifty looking neds.

2 hours ago, westbow said:

You got a problem with shop assistants 😂. Jesus. The same people who worked through the lockdowns when most were quaking under their duvets. I employ five shop assistants that have had to put up with some right wasters  between the lockdowns, and after, that insist they have “the asthma” or had a”full heart attack” who are generally of a type that I’d follow for being suspiciously shoplifteresque. You can tell them from the genuinely exempt a mile off. I’m presuming you work in a profession which looks down on hard working people- something embittering.

I'm curious as to what a "full heart attack" is?

I suppose it's twice as bad as "half a heart attack" :laugh:

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

Staggering.

😂 Owned retail businesses for 25 years and I know a dodgy character when I see one. 

Just now, Jambo-Jimbo said:

I'm curious as to what a "full heart attack" is?

I suppose it's twice as bad as "half a heart attack" :laugh:

You and me both. Didn’t even ask for their maladies they just proffer up some crackers. 

I'm not opposed to people judging others on appearance but it feels hypocritical to then tell others not to judge on 'class'.

Out of interest what does a dodgy character look like?

Edit: made a hash of quoting @westbow

Edited by Taffin

25 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

They have less pie eaters. Not sure about critical thinkers. 

I wasn't monitoring mask wearing but if "the people just did it, no debate, no discussion" then that is indeed a chilling indication of a govt in full control and certainly points to a lack of critical thinkers.

If only these smelly feckers that are blocking our roads would just move their erses "no debate, no discussion ".

It’s really that simple , too

many pie eaters ! Time and again saw it on news item regarding covid . Bigger people . 

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I'm not opposed to people judging others on appearance but it feels hypocritical to then tell others not to judge on 'class'.

He’s rather judgmental 

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

Just a quick question re masks as I’m in the pub with a friend who doesn’t follow the stats and he is wondering is there actually any difference really in the stats between England and Scotland despite the mask regulations ? 

There are differences but it is hard to ascribe them specifically to one action as Governments are making not just one decision.

For example more people are vaccinated in Scotland than in England, England currently has more cases, scotland currently has more deaths. Scotland is vaccinating 12-15 year olds much quicker than England as it is doing it on a voluntary basis at centres whereas England is doing it though schools (and I think consent is taking longer/ not happening more). Masks are mandatory on public transport and largely complied with in my experience. In England not legally obliged (though transport companies messaging is you must wear one unless exempt) but virtually no one wearing them on trains when I went to Manchester last week.

You can extrapolate from the key decisions and changes (eg when the schools went back in each country, the opening up differences) that what we are seeing is Scotland having gone through a wave of higher cases when schools opened and now on a long slow downward curve. England on the other hand has rising cases so they are in an earlier stage. If masks have an impact you could look at how high cases, deaths rise in England compared to scotland. It might be over simplistic though.

Excess deaths is another measure which can be looked at.

To really judge you would have to look at the longer term and if you do that Scotland seems to have had fewer deaths per capita, though recently that's not been the case (our earlier surge after schools re-opened)

16 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Class? Bugger all to do with it.
I’m sure you would know a dodgy character when you saw one. I’ve had to deal with plenty, believe me. 

6 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

There are differences but it is hard to ascribe them specifically to one action as Governments are making not just one decision.

For example more people are vaccinated in Scotland than in England, England currently has more cases, scotland currently has more deaths. Scotland is vaccinating 12-15 year olds much quicker than England as it is doing it on a voluntary basis at centres whereas England is doing it though schools (and I think consent is taking longer/ not happening more). Masks are mandatory on public transport and largely complied with in my experience. In England not legally obliged (though transport companies messaging is you must wear one unless exempt) but virtually no one wearing them on trains when I went to Manchester last week.

You can extrapolate from the key decisions and changes (eg when the schools went back in each country, the opening up differences) that what we are seeing is Scotland having gone through a wave of higher cases when schools opened and now on a long slow downward curve. England on the other hand has rising cases so they are in an earlier stage. If masks have an impact you could look at how high cases, deaths rise in England compared to scotland. It might be over simplistic though.

To really judge you would have to look at the longer term and if you do that Scotland seems to have had fewer deaths per capita, though recently that's not been the case (our earlier surge after schools re-opened)

I’ll read it later I’m half pissed 👀

1 minute ago, westbow said:

😁 - actually made my day. image.jpeg.3dbec447d5289082b8ca65785bf0be27.jpeg

Oh well I’m glad I’ve made someone’s day ! It’s made my day 😂

7A7F69E1-F184-4B14-90AF-663DDDD1902E.gif

22 minutes ago, westbow said:

Class? Bugger all to do with it.
I’m sure you would know a dodgy character when you saw one. I’ve had to deal with plenty, believe me. 

I agree class has nothing to do with it, but you accused another poster of judging people based on their class...whilst saying you can spot a thief based on their appearance alone.

All the dodgy characters that I've met have been of varying appearances. I wasn't aware they had a uniform or inherent physical appearance.

Anyway, back on topic. 

Covid, doesn't really enter my thoughts daily anymore which is surely a sign of things being on the up 👍

22 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I agree class has nothing to do with it, but you accused another poster of judging people based on their class...whilst saying you can spot a thief based on their appearance alone.

All the dodgy characters that I've met have been of varying appearances. I wasn't aware they had a uniform or inherent physical appearance.

Anyway, back on topic. 

Covid, doesn't really enter my thoughts daily anymore which is surely a sign of things being on the up 👍

Yeah, well presumably you don’t work in the same industry as me. And I never mentioned class.

32 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Yeah good observation.  I think the vast majority of people will be in a very different mindset now compared to the worse times.  But along a spectrum.  It could never be the case that everyone 'moves on' in the same way and at the same pace.  I don't see any conceivable way of determining who is so-called moving on better than someone else.  

Again along a spectrum,  this whole thing has been a trauma on people.  Some people might not even realise they've been affected.  Or choose not to admit it.  Everyone will recover in good time and I believe they'll recover better when comfortable to do so at their own pace.

25 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Yeah good observation.  I think the vast majority of people will be in a very different mindset now compared to the worse times.  But along a spectrum.  It could never be the case that everyone 'moves on' in the same way and at the same pace.  I don't see any conceivable way of determining who is so-called moving on better than someone else.  

Again along a spectrum,  this whole thing has been a trauma on people.  Some people might not even realise they've been affected.  Or choose not to admit it.  Everyone will recover in good time and I believe they'll recover better when comfortable to do so at their own pace.

👍👍

26 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Good post. There's definitely an element of that part in bold for me...not so much now but when I came off furlough I really threw myself into work as I was raring to go and didn't want to be stopped. I was travelling all around the country, either eating sandwiches in hotel rooms where everything else was closed or leaving my house at 4am to drive places and getting back at 7pm and doing that 5 days in a row.

I didn't want to be stopped by covid but in hindsight I took a real battering from it and it affected me for sure over Christmas and into the new year. Took a while to recognise that though and I've only really been cognisant of the impact it had the last couple of months. 

Edited by Taffin

1 hour ago, westbow said:

Yeah, well presumably you don’t work in the same industry as me. And I never mentioned class.

You're not a steward at Easter Road are you, westbow??😂

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

Day 2 Lateral flow tests to replace PCR tests from 24 October in England.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-58917231

Scotland has committed to following suit, so anyone returning from 24 October can book a cheaper test.

On the subject of 2 days testing just as an aside. We returned from Mallorca middle of September. Purchased 2 day tests before departure at £138. Got home, no test packages had arrived. Arrived on day 3 after return. No address labels with either of them so didn’t know where to send them. Made a call, pressed option 2 then 3, then 1 then 2 again. Got told they were busy and to call back. Didn’t bother. Binned the tests. No contact or reminders or phone calls received since, which led me to believe the whole thing was a money making scam which contributed absolutely zero to the well being of the public at large.

13 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

👍👍

8 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Day 2 Lateral flow tests to replace PCR tests from 24 October in England.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-58917231

Scotland has committed to following suit, so anyone returning from 24 October can book a cheaper test.

If you haven’t already purchased pcr tests, like we have for our return on the 25th.  🙄😂

14 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Totally, it's interesting how the scientists here struck a balance in favour of individual risk as opposed to society as a whole. We also saw this approach in the context of throwing AZ under the bus in picking Pfizer for the under 40's pre delta. Both of which were pretty marginal calls in their own right and really didn't stack up at the societal level which I think is why the government eventually grew a pair and reversed the 12-15 approach.

The consequences of this divergence has knock on implication for travel/tourism as the European default position seems to be an assumption that over 12's will be vaccinated.

13 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

👍👍

3 hours ago, Dazo said:

If you haven’t already purchased pcr tests, like we have for our return on the 25th.  🙄😂

Apologies for not replying a couple of weeks ago, Dazo but Randox tests dropped off at 9.30am and results emailed the next day pm. Enjoy your holiday!

As many as 43,000 false negative PCR test results being linked to the wonky test lab in Wolverhampton.  I suppose there might be some consequence of it feeding into the current case rates,  etc.  Who knows?

World leading.

14 minutes ago, Victorian said:

As many as 43,000 false negative PCR test results being linked to the wonky test lab in Wolverhampton.  I suppose there might be some consequence of it feeding into the current case rates,  etc.  Who knows?

World leading.

Eton college into a form of lockdown with 50 students confined to their boarding houses and compulsory mask wearing and LTF tests daily.

I guess you can't afford the possibility of future criminal Tory MP's getting sick.

8 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Eton college into a form of lockdown with 50 students confined to their boarding houses and compulsory mask wearing and LTF tests daily.

I guess you can't afford the possibility of future criminal Tory MP's getting sick.

I may be off but I'm guessing you didn't go there...

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic