Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

3 hours ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

Just had a text.. My son off school for a week.. Lasswade High to close due to 3 positive cases.... 3 out of 2000..

It's only S3 that is affected according to a letter to all parents issued today. 

https://lasswadehsc.mgfl.net/wp-content/uploads/Letter-to-All-Parents-re-confirmed-case-of-COVID19-in-school-10.6.21.docx.pdf

The school otherwise remains open in line with current Scottish Government guidelines, however all S3 students will undertake learning from home on a remote basis until Monday 21 June 2021. If your child has not been advised that they are a close contact, is in any year-group other than S3, and remains well, they can continue to attend school as per your school’s current arrangements.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Bindy Badgy
1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Mask wearing and social distancing should remain forever...

SAGE member Susan Michie.

It should be normalised for people that are ill to wear masks on public transport, whilst in Sainsbury's and so on.

Enzo Chiefo
1 hour ago, Victorian said:

I'm sure she is the card-carrying Commie iirc. If so, she's probably been waiting a lifetime for the opportunities that Covid has presented. 

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

She did not really say forever did she? But if she did I fear she was just ahead of the curve. Now that the controllers of what we do have taken control there will always be a reason to retain control.

Edited by Francis Albert

34 minutes ago, jonesy said:

And that's why resistance to mask wearing ought to be applauded. Give these control freak chancers an inch and they'll take away and demonise normal life to fit their little computer-modelled lives.

Well no.  Masks are still very much relevant while there's still some distance to go.  That's not today or tomorrow but I think there's a distinct probability that masks wont be mandated beyond a few more months and possibly sooner.  

I'm broadly supportive of scientific efforts to advise in best faith but a theory of her kind just isn't possible.  I think the underlying motives are much harder to rationalise than a simple view about people being determined to control.  You would have to place yourself in the mind of someone like that but I think I would rather not.

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

One would first have to make the not inconsiderable leap of faith in assuming she has a mind to speak of.

Masks, chosen, worn, and maintained correctly, do protect both wearer and those in proximity from airborne pathogens. Auld Ashraf stoating about Aldi with a manky, damp bit of flimsy blue cloth sitting nicely just under his nose isn't doing very much for anyone other than making sure those who feel the need to tell others what to do feel a wee bit better seeing that others are indeed, at least kinda, doing what they're telt.

Anyway, I just want to live in a world in which a man can go to certain parts of South Lanarkshire and enjoy golden showers again. Izzat too much to ask?

We certainly do need to return to something very close to the old normal.  Whether that includes social urination is open to debate.

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

Sadly we already have people who are demonstrably ill (in the mind, not necessarily the body) wearing masks while walking about the streets. Such folk should be treated by psychologists to overcome their fear of breathing and remain cordoned off from normal society until cured. Fear is just as contagious as the China Flu, and long-term, much more dangerous. 

Come on man, most folk aren't so stupid that they can't see the usefulness of masks, worn and used correctly, but also that there should be an end to wearing them as soon as possible. 

The dafties who wear them in a car or in the street miles from others are just the other side of the coin from the Lawrence Fox's who can wear a helmet or a buff just but claim their anxiety stops them wearing a mask, the muppets who think you can't get oxygen through one just fine or the non-sheeple who cite the bloody Magna Carta because some idiot on youtube told them it was a contravention of wur rights...

17 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Come on man, most folk aren't so stupid that they can't see the usefulness of masks, worn and used correctly, but also that there should be an end to wearing them as soon as possible.

Ah yes, the middle ground that most of us inhabit away from message boards.

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

No idea who or what a Lawrence Fox is, but I expected better than anti-anxiety micro-aggression from you, Giz. :( 

I'm just going by the much-vaunted public health expert Jason Leitch's fact-checked and government-approved statement: "The global evidence is masks in the general population don't work." I mean, if you can't trust someone like JL on such matters of importance, who can you listen to?

:)😷

How is it a micro-aggression, I'm directly describing this buffoon's bullshit. He's an attention-seeking fraud who latched onto an excuse. If you can't wear one due to anxiety, something I was not aware of, I'm sure you are comfortable in your reasoning enough not to feel any discomfiture when a chancer is called out.  

And come on, you're being very selective by quoting the early health advice without applying the benefit of hindsight, when we know the authorities played cagey about masks to protect supply to the frontline health workers. A pragmatic reading of the situation was all that was needed to figure out what was going on - hence the proliferation of cloth masks before face-coverings became mandatory by sensible folks whilst the dafties didn't get triggered into causing a run on masks like they did with toilet rolls.

The ethics of this approach will probably be debated long after the pandemic is over. 

3 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

How is it a micro-aggression, I'm directly describing this buffoon's bullshit. He's an attention-seeking fraud who latched onto an excuse. If you can't wear one due to anxiety, something I was not aware of, I'm sure you are comfortable in your reasoning enough not to feel any discomfiture when a chancer is called out.  

And come on, you're being very selective by quoting the early health advice without applying the benefit of hindsight, when we know the authorities played cagey about masks to protect supply to the frontline health workers. A pragmatic reading of the situation was all that was needed to figure out what was going on - hence the proliferation of cloth masks before face-coverings became mandatory by sensible folks whilst the dafties didn't get triggered into causing a run on masks like they did with toilet rolls.

The ethics of this approach will probably be debated long after the pandemic is over. 

Yea, we’ve been over all this.

Hee haw to do with the usefulness of masks, just, as we’ve said, to stop the proles from a mad mask buying spree.

He lied, but when you’re dealing with some of the roasters, masquerading as adults, sometimes you have to. 

23 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Not by us, though, as we'll all be dead.

16 minutes ago, Boab said:

Roasters, masquerading as adults. 

That's no way to talk about the Scottish Govenrment.

9 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

They’re adults, masquerading as roasters !

22 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

I got my blue letter today . Had appointment for Saturday 19th June . It wasn’t sitting right with me as I felt “ I’ve something on” ?   Then I remember Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 v England the night before so I’ll be in no fit state to do anything that day !! Priorities  .   It was easy to re schedule online . It’s at the Gyle . I tried to change it to EICC but there were zero appointments there 

Id be the same just give me the thing and be done with it all. I got absolutely cattled the night before and the same day I got my first jab and no ill effects other than a bit of a dead arm. Maybe the peev helps🤷🏽‍♂️

3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Id be the same just give me the thing and be done with it all. I got absolutely cattled the night before and the same day I got my first jab and no ill effects other than a bit of a dead arm. Maybe the peev helps🤷🏽‍♂️

My hangovers usually last more than one day now and I’m just next to useless so I just want to enjoy the game as much as I can without worrying that I need to get to the next day “ early “ 😂

23 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I just want to enjoy the game as much as I can without worrying that I need to get to the next day “ early “ 😂

You'll be in your bed by half time, James.

31 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

You'll be in your bed by half time, James.

Now GT stop feeding me lines which I may end up by saying “ depends who with ? 😂 I Don’t want to offend any delicate flowers on this 😂 actually despite my age or because of it I can go all night !! ( I mean stay up and party ! ) 

B0327F49-4125-477A-9664-B13C751C069A.gif

Edited by JamesM48

14 hours ago, Bindy Badgy said:

It should be normalised for people that are ill to wear masks on public transport, whilst in Sainsbury's and so on.

Agreed. They already do this in Asia. Just good manners instead of coughing and sneezing everywhere.

Everyone else? Nah. 

Enzo Chiefo
4 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Agreed. They already do this in Asia. Just good manners instead of coughing and sneezing everywhere.

Everyone else? Nah. 

I'm sure some folks will continue to wear masks where they wouldn't have done before. A mask, opposed to a face covering,  would also protect the wearer. That may well continue on public transport as long as it's on a purely voluntary basis. Likewise hand sanitiser; I used that daily when working the taxis, after picking up from hospitals, surgeries, from Leith etc.

Social distancing,  however, is all but done. People move about as normal now and, imo, there is only an observance of personal space rather than adherence to social distancing.  We certainly don't need diktats from someone with beliefs  like Susan Michie

32 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Now GT stop feeding me lines.

I'm afraid that parenthood has already put the kibosh on that caper anyway, James. :(

Edited by Governor Tarkin

Enzo Chiefo
12 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

19 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I'm afraid that parenthood has already put the kibosh on that caper anyway, James. :(

We need more lines imo. 

28 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

I'm sure some folks will continue to wear masks where they wouldn't have done before. A mask, opposed to a face covering,  would also protect the wearer. That may well continue on public transport as long as it's on a purely voluntary basis. Likewise hand sanitiser; I used that daily when working the taxis, after picking up from hospitals, surgeries, from Leith etc.

Social distancing,  however, is all but done. People move about as normal now and, imo, there is only an observance of personal space rather than adherence to social distancing.  We certainly don't need diktats from someone with beliefs  like Susan Michie

Yes I think if people want to wear masks that’s fine , but it shouldn’t be compulsory . When i think of it when I used to get buses to work pre covid in the Winter the clarty coughing and spluttering from some people and also touching the bell and handles etc too ! Yuck . Yes no social distancing at all 

21 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Now you know I didn’t mean it that way ! I meant it the other way ! Your quite mischievous 😏 oh no those lines are best left to the daftie younb team . Lost count how many times I’ve seen them doing it in the pub  bogs brazen as anything 

8 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

We need more lines imo. 

Kick the arse out of it while you can, Ray.

Scottish numbers: 11 June 2021

Summary

• 1,104* new cases of COVID-19 reported [+369; up from 992 a week ago]
  • 28,563 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [+184]
    • 4.1% of these were positive [+1.3%]
  • 0 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [-1]
  • 13 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-1]
  • 132 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+8]
  • 3,459,063 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 2,375,246 have received their second dose [+17,846; +30,065]

* Please note that Public Health Scotland are aware of a change in the laboratory processing of specimens in the Glasgow Lighthouse lab on 10/06/21, which has resulted in slower processing. This change resulted in yesterday’s reported figures being lower than otherwise might be expected by approximately 150-200 positive cases.

Today's trend stats:

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier WHO Today Yesterday     9 Jun 8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun ... 1 May
Scotland     107 104 +3   106 100 96 93 89 ... 22
Dundee City 2 4 266 261 +5   243 226 206 190 169 ... 13
Clackmannanshire 2 4 202 198 +4   206 202 211 194 169 ... 14
Midlothian 2 4 185 178 +7   172 158 142 118 121 ... 10
South Ayrshire 2 4 184 178 +6   199 182 178 180 169 ... 25
Edinburgh City 2 4 174 181 -7   180 175 172 166 151 ... 27
Glasgow City 2 4 159 158 +1   164 157 157 157 153 ... 33
Angus 1 4 153 183 -30   182 167 160 148 132 ... 7
East Renfrewshire 2 3 140 126 +14   119 113 117 135 143 ... 24
Perth & Kinross 1 3 136 136 0   137 109 96 82 74 ... 22
East Ayrshire 2 3 132 140 -8   149 133 138 136 122 ... 45
Renfrewshire 2 3 126 135 -9   133 130 128 125 123 ... 20
West Dunbartonshire 1 3 125 110 +15   98 87 69 66 61 ... 28
East Dunbartonshire 2 3 120 124 -4   127 121 111 108 99 ... 51
West Lothian 1 3 114 100 +14   103 87 82 73 63 ... 26
East Lothian 1 3 113 101 +12   93 80 71 63 60 ... 5
North Lanarkshire 2 3 104 93 +11   96 90 80 82 81 ... 40
South Lanarkshire 2 3 97 87 +10   95 92 86 85 85 ... 18
North Ayrshire 2 3 86 85 +1   96 83 74 77 78 ... 17
Stirling 2 3 70 69 +1   70 77 80 83 85 ... 11
Aberdeen City 1 3 54 40 +14   40 42 38 34 28 ... 13
Fife 1 3 54 56 -2   58 54 51 49 51 ... 32
Scottish Borders 1 2 43 39 +4   35 32 31 28 23 ... 6
Dumfries & Galloway 1 2 41 33 +8   30 25 24 14 12 ... 19
Falkirk 1 2 37 42 -5   43 52 51 51 54 ... 23
Argyll & Bute 1 / 0 2 33 28 +5   29 20 19 20 12 ... 7
Inverclyde 1 2 31 30 +1   28 27 22 26 24 ... 15
Aberdeenshire 1 2 23 24 -1   24 22 18 15 12 ... 8
Moray 1 1 15 14 +1   19 15 17 17 17 ... 65
Highland 1 / 0 1 14 18 -4   22 26 29 31 37 ... 9
Shetland Islands 0 1 4 13 -9   17 17 17 17 17 ... 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 0 0 0 4 -4   4 4 7 7 7 ... 0
Orkney Islands 0 0 0 4 -4   4 9 9 9 9 ... 0

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     9 Jun 8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun ... 1 May
Tests     24621 24392 +229   24887 23462 23693 23145 22720 ... 18484
Cases     832 816 +16   830 782 751 730 694 ... 171
Positivity rate %     3.6 3.6 0.0   3.6 3.6 3.4 3.4 3.3 ... 1.1
Deaths     0.4 0.7 -0.3   1.1 1.1 1.1 1.3 1.3 ... 1.3
All Vaccinations     48247 48996 -749   49098 49078 48884 48033 47745 ... 45346
1st Dose     19008 19344 -336   19453 19511 19312 18781 18582 ... 6677
2nd Dose     29239 29652 -413   29645 29567 29572 29252 29163 ... 38669

12 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Scottish numbers: 11 June 2021

Summary

• 1,104* new cases of COVID-19 reported [+369; up from 992 a week ago]
  • 28,563 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [+184]
    • 4.1% of these were positive [+1.3%]
  • 0 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [-1]
  • 13 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-1]
  • 132 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+8]
  • 3,459,063 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 2,375,246 have received their second dose [+17,846; +30,065]

* Please note that Public Health Scotland are aware of a change in the laboratory processing of specimens in the Glasgow Lighthouse lab on 10/06/21, which has resulted in slower processing. This change resulted in yesterday’s reported figures being lower than otherwise might be expected by approximately 150-200 positive cases.

I might be wrong but I would have thought we should be seeing the deaths and hospital admission start to rise significantly by now if we were following the same path as last year.

Just now, steve123 said:

I might be wrong but I would have thought we should be seeing the deaths and hospital admission start to rise significantly by now if we were following the same path as last year.

Yes. We're not following the same path. The link between cases and hospitalisations (and particularly deaths) appears to have been significantly weakened by the vaccination programme, perhaps also to a lesser extent by improved testing and tracking/tracing procedures.

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Yes. We're not following the same path. The link between cases and hospitalisations (and particularly deaths) appears to have been significantly weakened by the vaccination programme, perhaps also to a lesser extent by improved testing and tracking/tracing procedures.

22 minutes ago, redjambo said:

So you're telling us freedom Day is good to go?

Tell us!!!!!!

29 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Today's trend stats:

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier WHO Today Yesterday     9 Jun 8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun ... 1 May
Scotland     107 104 +3   106 100 96 93 89 ... 22
Dundee City 2 4 266 261 +5   243 226 206 190 169 ... 13
Clackmannanshire 2 4 202 198 +4   206 202 211 194 169 ... 14
Midlothian 2 4 185 178 +7   172 158 142 118 121 ... 10
South Ayrshire 2 4 184 178 +6   199 182 178 180 169 ... 25
Edinburgh City 2 4 174 181 -7   180 175 172 166 151 ... 27
Glasgow City 2 4 159 158 +1   164 157 157 157 153 ... 33
Angus 1 4 153 183 -30   182 167 160 148 132 ... 7
East Renfrewshire 2 3 140 126 +14   119 113 117 135 143 ... 24
Perth & Kinross 1 3 136 136 0   137 109 96 82 74 ... 22
East Ayrshire 2 3 132 140 -8   149 133 138 136 122 ... 45
Renfrewshire 2 3 126 135 -9   133 130 128 125 123 ... 20
West Dunbartonshire 1 3 125 110 +15   98 87 69 66 61 ... 28
East Dunbartonshire 2 3 120 124 -4   127 121 111 108 99 ... 51
West Lothian 1 3 114 100 +14   103 87 82 73 63 ... 26
East Lothian 1 3 113 101 +12   93 80 71 63 60 ... 5
North Lanarkshire 2 3 104 93 +11   96 90 80 82 81 ... 40
South Lanarkshire 2 3 97 87 +10   95 92 86 85 85 ... 18
North Ayrshire 2 3 86 85 +1   96 83 74 77 78 ... 17
Stirling 2 3 70 69 +1   70 77 80 83 85 ... 11
Aberdeen City 1 3 54 40 +14   40 42 38 34 28 ... 13
Fife 1 3 54 56 -2   58 54 51 49 51 ... 32
Scottish Borders 1 2 43 39 +4   35 32 31 28 23 ... 6
Dumfries & Galloway 1 2 41 33 +8   30 25 24 14 12 ... 19
Falkirk 1 2 37 42 -5   43 52 51 51 54 ... 23
Argyll & Bute 1 / 0 2 33 28 +5   29 20 19 20 12 ... 7
Inverclyde 1 2 31 30 +1   28 27 22 26 24 ... 15
Aberdeenshire 1 2 23 24 -1   24 22 18 15 12 ... 8
Moray 1 1 15 14 +1   19 15 17 17 17 ... 65
Highland 1 / 0 1 14 18 -4   22 26 29 31 37 ... 9
Shetland Islands 0 1 4 13 -9   17 17 17 17 17 ... 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 0 0 0 4 -4   4 4 7 7 7 ... 0
Orkney Islands 0 0 0 4 -4   4 9 9 9 9 ... 0

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     9 Jun 8 Jun 7 Jun 6 Jun 5 Jun ... 1 May
Tests     24621 24392 +229   24887 23462 23693 23145 22720 ... 18484
Cases     832 816 +16   830 782 751 730 694 ... 171
Positivity rate %     3.6 3.6 0.0   3.6 3.6 3.4 3.4 3.3 ... 1.1
Deaths     0.4 0.7 -0.3   1.1 1.1 1.1 1.3 1.3 ... 1.3
All Vaccinations     48247 48996 -749   49098 49078 48884 48033 47745 ... 45346
1st Dose     19008 19344 -336   19453 19511 19312 18781 18582 ... 6677
2nd Dose     29239 29652 -413   29645 29567 29572 29252 29163 ... 38669

1 minute ago, Jeff said:

So you're telling us freedom Day is good to go?

Tell us!!!!!!

I am not the decision-maker you are looking for.

11 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I am not the decision-maker you are looking for.

tenor.gif?itemid=5090789

17 hours ago, jonesy said:

Sadly we already have people who are demonstrably ill (in the mind, not necessarily the body) wearing masks while walking about the streets. Such folk should be treated by psychologists to overcome their fear of breathing and remain cordoned off from normal society until cured. Fear is just as contagious as the China Flu, and long-term, much more dangerous. 

Why? What harm are they doing you? Let them be over careful.

9 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Why? What harm are they doing you? Let them be over careful.

Exactly. It has been quite a traumatic time over the last year and a bit. Some people are going to take a little longer to get back to normality, particularly because the defeat of the virus isn't quite done and dusted yet. We should give everyone time to get back to normality at their own pace.

Jambo-Jimbo
57 minutes ago, redjambo said:

This was the same in Bolton and I'm sure it'll be the same for rest of country, when the data comes in.

Cases/infections are rising, that is true, but hospitalisations & deaths are not rising by the same percentage of infections as before.

The vaccines are doing their job, it would appear.

Im wondering what the chances are of getting a seat at a table the night as town packed the day ! Need to end the booking system

Second AZ microchip jag done at Ingliston this afternoon.  All well organised.  Busy but no long waits.  Off to hang spoons off my nose and cheeks now.

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

They're not doing any harm to me. They are doing harm to themselves and possibly their own family. Self-harmers and those suffering from delusions should be understood and supported by a caring society, not encouraged, indulged and even lauded.

I assume you both feel that those with similarly unevidenced beliefs ought to be free from ridicule or disdain?

"They are doing harm to themselves and possibly their own family"

Aye so they are, behave!

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

You don't think consistently ultra-cautious behaviour and extreme risk-aversion is harmful? You don't think kids saying they prefer seeing their friends on a screen is preferable to meeting them at school because their parents have put the fear of god into them about something which will do them no harm isn't dangerous and worthy of both pity and contempt? You don't think forcing kids to don a mask to walk to school isn't normalising an unfounded fear of normal human interaction? You don't think seeing old couples - despite being double-jagged - still too terrified to go for a walk in case someone - also vaccinated - passes within a few feet of them for a couple of seconds on the pavement isn't the result of excessive and systematic fearmongering by the authorities?

I'm all for looking out for each other, which is why, as a society, our attention should, nay must, now shift to educating the remaining members of our communities who still fear for their lives that it's safe to come out from behind the mental sofa we were told would save us.

There's a sound reason the auld dear in third gear trundling down the motorway at 30mph gets pulled over and assisted by the police, while the average punter doing 75mph is allowed to carry on their merry way.

I think you're going way over the top on what someone wearing a mask in public means.

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

You don't think consistently ultra-cautious behaviour and extreme risk-aversion is harmful? You don't think kids saying they prefer seeing their friends on a screen is preferable to meeting them at school because their parents have put the fear of god into them about something which will do them no harm isn't dangerous and worthy of both pity and contempt? You don't think forcing kids to don a mask to walk to school isn't normalising an unfounded fear of normal human interaction? You don't think seeing old couples - despite being double-jagged - still too terrified to go for a walk in case someone - also vaccinated - passes within a few feet of them for a couple of seconds on the pavement isn't the result of excessive and systematic fearmongering by the authorities?

I'm all for looking out for each other, which is why, as a society, our attention should, nay must, now shift to educating the remaining members of our communities who still fear for their lives that it's safe to come out from behind the mental sofa we were told would save us.

There's a sound reason the auld dear in third gear trundling down the motorway at 30mph gets pulled over and assisted by the police, while the average punter doing 75mph is allowed to carry on their merry way.

Totally agree jonesy. 

Perhaps, Smiffy, perhaps. I'm just reporting things I've seen with friends, neighbours and other folk in the local area.

I also know that, pre March 2020, anyone stoating about the streets with a bloody mask on - outside of October 31st or an Eyes Wide Shut style evening of debauchery - would have been either a) asked to remove it for security reasons or b) mocked. Let's get back to normal.

I'm away in to Falkirk tomorrow, I'll probably leave my mask on as I'll be in and out of shops down the high street. It just isn't that big a deal to me, I don't care. They're a pain in the arse to put on and take off with long hair, especially on a windy day, and I keep forgetting to put it on when I walk in, so why wouldn't I?

Is it really cool for you to see me and think "he's a very handsome walking mental illness"?

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Is it really cool for you to see me and think "he's a very handsome walking mental illness"?

:sadrobbo:

It's an unavoidable inevitability that non-conformity evolves into ridicule.  Non-conformists could borrow a bit of humility by respecting those who continue to conform.  Not wearing masks is now widely accepted and a normality.  No need to signal the possession of a self-appointed virtue.  ;)

12 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Well, Schmidt, if I were headed to downtown Falkirk I'd probably be donning one of these, pandemic or no.

health%252520expert%252520naomi%252520ca

And yes, I do believe that anyone wearing a facemark that is not in close proximity to others in a poorly-ventilated area can and should be considered to be suffering from mental trauma caused by the authority-led fear campaign during the early days of the pandemic. The full weight of society's effort ought to be put behind these people's recovery, just as it was channelled towards protecting the NHS.

I think you're completely overreacting myself, the vast majority don't take the whole act of wearing a mask thing as seriously as you guys.

It might help? I'll wear one, the **** do I care?

Heading down with the wife to Blackpool for 2 days then Liverpool for 3 days just to get away.I hope it isn't too difficult to get into boozers and restaurants in England.

Just now, jonesy said:

TBF, it's a mix of ridicule with concern for one's fellow man.

And, to me anyway, it nicely balances out some of the sanctimoniousness evident (not just in the case of mask wearing, but in many walks of life) from those who comply with the letter of the law and even go well beyond it (again, that's not directed at anyone on here).

Some truth there as well tbf.  

On mask wearing,  I've noticed quite a lot of peer compliance going on.  Many people appearing without a mask,  only to whip one out after seeing fellow visitors wearing one.  Lots of people are genuinely forgetting to put one on.  

Fair enough - if in a situation that demands it, nothing wrong with a friendly nudge to don a mask.

I had the opposite yesterday, where a fellow parent (and healthcare professional, FWIW) pulled out her mask as we chatted and walked our kids to school, only to shrug and pop it back in her pocket when she noticed I wasn't bothering with the frankly ridiculous notion of wearing a mask in the outdoors just because we were near the school.

Parents walk - side by side on narrow pavements - for up to 20/30 minutes without them, and then feel compelled to put a mask on when they get near the school and continue the same conversation they'd been having, free and maskless, a few moments before, simply to be seen to be doing so.

Agreed.  There's bound to be that sort of irrational instance.  Outdoor close proximity risks are completely unknown as far as I've seen but it's certainly not difficult to see the occasions where there really isn't any risk whatsoever.  For what it's worth,  I'm still keeping well out of the way of the pavement pounders and their immense plumes of toxic exhaust vapours.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic