Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

35 minutes ago, Dummy Dikes said:

Guess we all get involved one way or another, went to the local pharmacist to get shaving cream, only because if I go I don't want to look scruffy. Had to wait about fifteen minutes only one person at a time allowed in. I can see where trouble may occur as we are all obeying the six ft separation rule, but the line up is totally disorganised. My son called, he worked in a hotel but has been laid of for three months. We told him to come here, but he is concerned his apartment would probably be broken into. Our granddaughter phoned to see how we are getting on and she helped with my problems with my first time Apple computer. She was so good, but when she hung up I cried like a baby because it was like talking to her Mum whom we lost exactly seven years ago, I guess I should be ashamed, but I really miss my daughter.

It is all such a radical change of life style, everything not essential closed, store shelves empty, constant news items with negative content, hospitals full, so even if you need help its not there. Its hard to follow old Tommy Trinders look on the bright side of life when there just does not seem to be one.  As I have said before death has lost its sting for me, but this shit is driving me daft. 

Everything will be alright eventually pal, hang in there. 👍

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I don't think there's much political bias at all to be totally honest.    It's just your perception,   which is wrong.

People are criticising the government.    But there's only one government.   If people want to criticise any decisions,   they can't really avoid it being the government.

Not everyone is criticising the Government, but I get the rest of your point. 

3 minutes ago, Tambo_The_Jambo said:

Yes my daughter and her boyfriend have it, they stay in Essex though. They are over a week into isolation and feeling great doing diy etc. She is a  scientist in last year of phd at Kings College. 

That's good that they aren't effected mate 

6 minutes ago, Tambo_The_Jambo said:

Yes my daughter and her boyfriend have it, they stay in Essex though. They are over a week into isolation and feeling great doing diy etc. She is a  scientist in last year of phd at Kings College. 

Out of interest, how did they find out they have it?

Glad to hear they're getting through bit well.

7 minutes ago, Tambo_The_Jambo said:

Great to hear your daughter is doing well,if you don't mind me asking, do you know the severity of heror her boyfriend's symptoms?

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Not many if any on here will know someone with it. 373 cases out of a population of 5.6 million

There will be way, way more than that. Boy I work withs cousin and his flatmate were told they probably had it by the NHS phone thingy because they had all the symptoms. They were just told to stay in their flat. That was the end of last week for one of them and the start of this week for the other. Won’t be recorded in any figures.

3 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

A 95 year old has caught it, been in hospital and recovered.

2 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

I can’t seem to paste just now but here’s a pic, there are others but the press isn’t really showing it.

E37A5F52-37AB-4B0A-A4A9-9152BE8DACBD.jpeg

:vrwow: finally a positive 

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

We don't yet in Scotland and definitely not in a day or so. 

Greater London will be first to lockdown but it will take a lot for a Conservative government to do that.

If Corbyn was in charge we would have been confined to our houses 2 weeks ago with troops on the streets

No doubt he would

2 hours ago, milky_26 said:

people like him should not get treatment if they catch it, let their natural immune system beat it for them

Pure scum

5 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

There will be way, way more than that. Boy I work withs cousin and his flatmate were told they probably had it by the NHS phone thingy because they had all the symptoms. They were just told to stay in their flat. That was the end of last week for one of them and the start of this week for the other. Won’t be recorded in any figures.

Yeah of course, but how many people will just have the common cold? 

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

That think they’ve got this? Not many. I’d imagine people thinking they have the cold but having the mildest symptoms of Coronavirus is more common. The high temperature and dry cough isn’t really that common if you’ve got the cold. 

17 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I don't think there's much political bias at all to be totally honest.    It's just your perception,   which is wrong.

People are criticising the government.    But there's only one government.   If people want to criticise any decisions,   they can't really avoid it being the government.

Criticising the government without political bias ? Jesus come on. I think this government like any would has done amazingly well.  We have real problem in this country where we expect the government to wipe our arse for us. People expect, zero self responsibility. 

3 minutes ago, Dazo said:

I think this government like any would has done amazingly well.  We have real problem in this country where we expect the government to wipe our arse for us. People expect, zero self responsibility. 

👍👍👍

36 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Between you and me, it's king rump supper. 

I ken it's a pandemic but do you know anyone with it?

I know several people who are ill with the relevant symptoms but wont be tested.

A case has been confirmed in the a village close to where we live and where my wife works in the primary school, a bit close to home, literally. The school only closed on Wednesday. 

13 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Cold symptoms are different.

1 minute ago, Jamboelite said:

I know several people who are ill with the relevant symptoms but wont be tested.

If being tested means going to a hospital full of people that actually have it, i don't blame them (as long as they're staying in doors)

If i get a cough and a fever i'll be staying indoors and trying to self cure with whiskey and an inhaler. 

That's just me though. 

Fire_At_The_Disco
17 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Great to hear your daughter is doing well,if you don't mind me asking, do you know the severity of heror her boyfriend's symptoms?

Her boyfriends boss was diagnosed just over 11 days ago, he was in a bit of a state but recovering well now. Daughters boyfriend tested positive 3 days later, he had a very sore head and was running a temp, daughter had a sore throat and a flemless cough and suffered a bit for 48 hours but they have both bounced back quickly, around 5 days from diagnosis. Weird thing is my daughter was due to start testing for vaccines at kings when this happened, she currently is researching neurology and was asked to switch teams. 

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

If being tested means going to a hospital full of people that actually have it, i don't blame them (as long as they're staying in doors)

If i get a cough and a fever i'll be staying indoors and trying to self cure with whiskey and an inhaler. 

That's just me though. 

If you have mild symptoms you’re told to

stay at home only severe and danger to life symptoms mean you have to go in.

But yeah home and dont go far.

1 minute ago, Tambo_The_Jambo said:

Her boyfriends boss was diagnosed just over 11 days ago, he was in a bit of a state but recovering well now. Daughters boyfriend tested positive 3 days later, he had a very sore head and was running a temp, daughter had a sore throat and a flemless cough and suffered a bit for 48 hours but they have both bounced back quickly, around 5 days from diagnosis. Weird thing is my daughter was due to start testing for vaccines at kings when this happened, she currently is researching neurology and was asked to switch teams. 

Thanks👍 a case has been confirmed in the village where, untill Wednesday,my wife worked in the primary school so things are getting a bit close for comfort with us. I hope your daughter recovers fully.

14 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Criticising the government without political bias ? Jesus come on. I think this government like any would has done amazingly well.  We have real problem in this country where we expect the government to wipe our arse for us. People expect, zero self responsibility. 

They've done some things ok.    Some things are open to question.

I repeat,   if people want to criticise a decision,    they can't really avoid it being a criticism of the government.    The people making the decisions.

Personal responsibility is good.    People should do the right things they are responsible for.    But individuals can't make their own national decisions.    We can't individually decide the country should be in lockdown.     We can't individually make macro-economic decisions.

Why should people not criticise the decisions if they see fit?    There's only one government making them for us.

Edited by Victorian

Fire_At_The_Disco
9 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Thanks👍 a case has been confirmed in the village where, untill Wednesday,my wife worked in the primary school so things are getting a bit close for comfort with us. I hope your daughter recovers fully.

Thank you stay safe 

4 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Greater London will be first to lockdown but it will take a lot for a Conservative government to do that.

If Corbyn was in charge we would have been confined to our houses 2 weeks ago with troops on the streets

And a lot more people alive in a few weeks

8 minutes ago, Victorian said:

They've done some things ok.    Some things are open to question.

I repeat,   if people want to criticise a decision,    they can't really avoid it being a criticism of the government.    The people making the decisions.

Personal responsibility is good.    People should do the right things they are responsible for.    But individuals can't make their own national decisions.    We can't individually decide the country should be in lockdown.     We can't individually make macro-economic decisions.

Why should people not criticise the decisions if they see fit?    There's only one government making them for us.

They shouldn’t criticise along side expectation. I’m self employed, I employ self employed, it isn’t the government’s responsibility to make provisions for us. Any rely employed person should make provisions for when they can’t earn, self responsibility. 

3 minutes ago, XB52 said:

And a lot more people alive in a few weeks

Was speaking to a norwegian today. They think we are nuts. They have been locked down for about 3 weeks. We are so far behind curve its unreal.  Cant believe weve not took heed from italy etc. Its about to get worse before it gets better

See beaches down south and up in the highlands its been heavin. Everyone out enjoying their "coronavirus bank holiday"

We need lockdown to spell it out for the numpties. Too many selfish and stupid people out there

Just now, Alan_R said:

Was speaking to a norwegian today. They think we are nuts. They have been locked down for about 3 weeks. We are so far behind curve its unreal.  Cant believe weve not took heed from italy etc. Its about to get worse before it gets better

See beaches down south and up in the highlands its been heavin. Everyone out enjoying their "coronavirus bank holiday"

We need lockdown to spell it out for the numpties. Too many selfish and stupid people out there

👍Head/Nail/Interface. 

56 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

373 cases out of a population of 5.6 million

The complete arseholery we’re dealing with here.

Italy will only have 50,000 cases as well. 

4 minutes ago, Dazo said:

They shouldn’t criticise along side expectation. I’m self employed, I employ self employed, it isn’t the government’s responsibility to make provisions for us. Any rely employed person should make provisions for when they can’t earn, self responsibility. 

So you agree with one current decision that self employed people should not be provided for.     I'm saying that there are lots of things that have been done that some people are entitled to criticise.    If they see fit to criticise then they cannot avoid the criticism being against the decision maker.     Who else should be the subject of the criticism?     It's not political.     Why is that hard to understand?

Good decisions have been made.     Bad as well.     I think we should be under much,  much more strict measures.     I can't really criticise Caroline Lucas or Theresa May or Ian Blackford or the Downing Street cat.     

4 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

I came home from work today and my street was full of kids out playing like it was summer holidays 

As you say I think people are treating it as a holiday and lots relieved that after yesterday’s news they will get paid so not worrying as much about money so away out for the day 

2 hours ago, Dazo said:

Zero fakery ? 😂😂😂😂

This thread is littered with warped political views and opinions We are in horrendous unknown modern circumstances yet so many people are politically motivated in their posts. 

Funny how almost every post complaining about political motivation comes from the right wing Tories on here. Please keep your political views to the anti-snp threads.  There are loads of them to keep you happy

1 minute ago, XB52 said:

Funny how almost every post complaining about political motivation comes from the right wing Tories on here. Please keep your political views to the anti-snp threads.  There are loads of them to keep you happy

I think this is true.    There is some defensive bristling going on.    

News for these people.    The criticism will continue if necessary but people will absolutely back the government to the hilt if the decisions are right.     Politics do not play a part.

Asking the important questions here. 

Will 'off to get mah hole' be one of the reasons permitted to leave our houses for the lockdown? 

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

Given the lack of testing the figures are meaningless.

Just reading.

London a hotspot as we've been told. In South London on March 6th there were 7 Covid-19 patients in an intensive care unit (ICE). On Match 17th there were 93. Of which 86 were on ventilators. Most on the highest level of care. Of these 49 were suspected, awaiting test results, all expected to be positive. 

2 minutes ago, southcap said:

Will 'off to get mah hole' be one of the reasons permitted to leave our houses for the lockdown? 

Key Worker. Need to repopulate somehow.

1 minute ago, hughesie27 said:

Key Worker. Need to repopulate somehow.

In all seriousness though, I live alone. The thought of weeks or months without company sounds horrific. 

Granted, I agree and accept it's for the greater good, but when the booty calls come in, I'm gona struggle to say naw after a while of talking to the walls. 

The mental health aspect of this is worrying me the most, from a personal level. 

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

On the radio saying that food will be in short supply because farmers can't self isolate and work in the fields, ****ing ignorat lying *****, hes got as much idea what goes on in the countryside as ive got about quantum physics. 

I live and work in the countyside and alongside the farming communities, work is carrying as per usual, stock going to markets, seed drilling being done today ect. The BBC should hang thier heads in shame putting out his vegan propaganda the complete and utter *****.

Isn't he right though? You can't self-isolate AND work the fields?

6 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Just reading.

London a hotspot as we've been told. In South London on March 6th there were 7 Covid-19 patients in an intensive care unit (ICE). On Match 17th there were 93. Of which 86 were on ventilators. Most on the highest level of care. Of these 49 were suspected, awaiting test results, all expected to be positive. 

You have to think the underground has played a massive role in the virus spread in london.

2 ENT specialists now on ventilators, yet some pubs cant follow simple fukkin guidelines.

This coming week is going to be messy. 

9 minutes ago, southcap said:

Going out in dead of night is ok 

Mind you I hope she doesn’t have it 😱

My story

having spent the last few weeks working and then scouring the supermarkets for essentials for family.

On Thursday I experienced high fever and had trouble breathing ,came on really quickly so I went straight home and though I’d sleep it off.

Friday morning I researched the NHS website and was advised to cal 111 .Usual press 1 for this and 2 for that,option 3 was if you don’t think it’s life threatening call your GP,so I hung up.

GP and I talked about my symptoms and she said it was impossible to diagnose over the phone but that I had some “classic symptoms”.

TBH I felt like shit but I’ve felt worse so asked if there was any way to be sure if this was Covid because although I felt shit,I’d expect it’d be much worse.

She said that 60% of people infected will feel the same as I did and that some wouldn’t even know they’d had it!

Have I got Covid?Possibly not,but maybe I have!
As a result,my Wife,two sons and myself are on a 14 day isolation.

The most important thing is that we all realise that most of us can and will beat this virus but in catching it,we’ll be in danger of giving it to the most vulnerable who don’t stand a chance.

Stay safe.

1 minute ago, theshed said:

Going out in dead of night is ok 

Mind you I hope she doesn’t have it 😱

Is it acceptable in areas with genuine lockdown? 

Central Belt 1874
3 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Wouldn't be too sure on that. From what I've heard today things are ramping up quickly. 

18 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Just reading.

They’re fleeing London in their droves and heading all over the country before they lock it down. 

43 minutes ago, Dazo said:

If one gets it then so should the other. 

Kalamazoo Jambo
11 minutes ago, stevie said:

My story

having spent the last few weeks working and then scouring the supermarkets for essentials for family.

On Thursday I experienced high fever and had trouble breathing ,came on really quickly so I went straight home and though I’d sleep it off.

Friday morning I researched the NHS website and was advised to cal 111 .Usual press 1 for this and 2 for that,option 3 was if you don’t think it’s life threatening call your GP,so I hung up.

GP and I talked about my symptoms and she said it was impossible to diagnose over the phone but that I had some “classic symptoms”.

TBH I felt like shit but I’ve felt worse so asked if there was any way to be sure if this was Covid because although I felt shit,I’d expect it’d be much worse.

She said that 60% of people infected will feel the same as I did and that some wouldn’t even know they’d had it!

The most important thing is that we all realise that most of us can and will beat this virus but in catching it,we’ll be in danger of giving it to the most vulnerable who don’t stand a chance.

Stay safe.

Hope you get better soon!

14 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

I don't think I have ever been as scared for 7/14/21 days to pass in my life.

Having seen the Autism thread you started I can understand why.

My 22 year old son has high functioning autism and is at Uni and he is freaking out

8 minutes ago, Central Belt 1874 said:

Wouldn't be too sure on that. From what I've heard today things are ramping up quickly. 

Not sure what your source is, but can I say they are fekkin correct.

By next week chances are somewhere across scotland someone will have to decide which patient lives and dies because of a lack of ventilators.

Numbers will jump in the next 5 to 10 days.

1 minute ago, Zlatanable said:

I was thinking more of in general. (I might have been more acutely scared after one of my parents was diagnosed with cancer)

I meant, the numbers in UK are highly likely to start growing in bigger and bigger numbers, and we get to witness them each day. 

Me and being autistic will deal with this, no choice but to. 

Yeah I know. My sons anxiety has went overboard and he has went to his grandparents in the Scottish borders because he doesn't want to be locked down in Edinburgh. Down there in the village he can wander about in the fields without feeling caged up.

That's the reason I want to take a more measured approach. It wouldn't look good if his dad was panicking

32 minutes ago, stevie said:

My story

Stay safe.

A decision had to be made and for your family and friends the right one but my one issue and not one you are responsible for is after self isolation what is to stop you or your family catching it if you have not been tested and never actually had it ?

We need to test and quickly starting with everyone in the health service on the front line and working out from there.

1 hour ago, theshed said:

I came home from work today and my street was full of kids out playing like it was summer holidays 

As you say I think people are treating it as a holiday and lots relieved that after yesterday’s news they will get paid so not worrying as much about money so away out for the day 

My work has still been open up until this point and my kids were in school until yesterday. We are planning a walk tomorrow around Falkland just the 4 of us. 

Are people genuinely suggesting that we spend 3 months indoors? As in like prison? 

Serious question btw. Is this what folk mean by "lockdown"?

Because if so, there will be huge problems after this of mental health, possible suicide rate soaring, then you will get people who then abuse alcohol and drugs after it when they finally can go out etc. 

No chance im staying in for months. None.

4 minutes ago, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

My work has still been open up until this point and my kids were in school until yesterday. We are planning a walk tomorrow around Falkland just the 4 of us. 

Are people genuinely suggesting that we spend 3 months indoors? As in like prison? 

Serious question btw. Is this what folk mean by "lockdown"?

Because if so, there will be huge problems after this of mental health, possible suicide rate soaring, then you will get people who then abuse alcohol and drugs after it when they finally can go out etc. 

No chance im staying in for months. None.

We aren't in lockdown yet and going a walk in an open park is perfectly fine just now. In an actual lockdown like the seen in Italy you wouldn't be able to do that though.

• Maple Leaf changed the title to Coronavirus pandemic
  • davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic