Brian Rice (NHC)

I cant see the attraction in gambling, yet I've battled my own demons over the last few years, so I feel his pain. Addiction is a horrible thing, I hope he finds strength in himself and wins his battle. 

Wish him well, particularly difficult if you have been winning, then you start losing, always believe the corner will be turned. Makes it a bit different to other addictions

Fair play to him for coming forward and hope he gets it sorted.

As someone who lives in a country where gambling is banned you really notice how badly gambling advertising is rammed down your throat in the UK - when streaming TV or football it really is everywhere and every second advert during a big game is around betting.

When I get back to Edinburgh you forget the sheer volume of bookies on every high street too.

It would be bloody difficult to be addicted to gambling in the UK, particularly if you are involved in sport.

My half sister

It probably does not help the many addicts that our football authorities court the big gambling companies for sponsorship deals, our national stadium is covered in the name of one of these companies, our main Football television programme open with a scene from a casino, our so called 2 big teams have gambling companies on their strips, I could go on but it is time to ban all forms of gambling advertising.

22 minutes ago, My half sister said:

It probably does not help the many addicts that our football authorities court the big gambling companies for sponsorship deals, our national stadium is covered in the name of one of these companies, our main Football television programme open with a scene from a casino, our so called 2 big teams have gambling companies on their strips, I could go on but it is time to ban all forms of gambling advertising.

11 minutes ago, My half sister said:

The football authorities should think carefully about their association with gambling companies.
Gambling can be a source of corruption within the game, which is why players and coaches are told they can’t take part in it. However, having such major advertising coverage over football, can clearly be seen as encouraging people, with gambling problems, within the game, to go against the rules.

It also encourages the general public to take risks with money that they may need to support their families. It’s no good saying everyone has a choice or have the wee snappy phrases to cover themselves against accusations of not bothering about the consequences to people’s lives.

Common knowledge to most within football that “chipper” has a problem, has done for years. Even rumours that he is in his current position due to owing the Hamilton chairman a considerable amount. Hard for his generation as betting is what they grew up on, it was very much part of football culture. Very conflicting for anyone addicted to gambling these days. You can’t gamble and gambling is bad yet every competition we play in is sponsored by gambling companies and most of the sides are sponsored by betting companies. It’s still a huge problem within the game and the authorities do nothing to help it or support addicts. I know a player so badly in debt he is now leaving the country to get away from his debts. Owes 5k, 7k, here and there to 4 or 5 players currently playing in the top flight. 

24 minutes ago, My half sister said:

highlighted by Ruth Davidson. Wouldnt normally agree with her, but I do on this occasion

image.gif.f1233e27d2b12aad586bb31255d82025.gif_110576504_davidson.jpg

Is it only considered an addiction when you are losing money from gambling?

I mean this seriously, is it just considered a hobby when you're making money?

Yogi used to look after him, I thought it was old news and he was in GA obviously not, hope he gets the help he needs. I remember he was stuck in Dubai? for non payment of debts think yogi and others rescued him then.

Ainsley Harriott

15 point deduction for Hamilton seems the only fair outcome.

In all seriousness though gambling problems appears to plague football like no other industry.

9 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

If you think you may have a problem with gambling, you could start here:

https://www.begambleaware.org/gambling-problems/do-i-have-a-gambling-problem/

Good luck to Brian Rice, tough situation for him.

Wish him all the best, suspect a £100k fine will be the last thing he needs - while I understand the desire to punish and dissuade I'd hope that help and support might get a look in too.

1 hour ago, OmiyaHearts said:

You are right.  And that is the problem. 

1 hour ago, My half sister said:

Couldn’t agree more. Just like they did wi cigs. Hypocrisy of the highest order 

1 hour ago, Lfhearts said:

Yogi used to look after him, I thought it was old news and he was in GA obviously not, hope he gets the help he needs. I remember he was stuck in Dubai? for non payment of debts think yogi and others rescued him then.

Yeah. Pretty strong rumours of suggestion that he took the Hamilton job to repay a debt. 

30 minutes ago, He Who Cannot Be Named said:

I'm sorry but gambling is a personal choice, not a disease.

Gambling is just the vehicle for his addiction. Addiction is a disease. Some can manage it, Brian Rice can't, but clearly he now wants help to do that. 

Your comment is pretty ignorant to addiction. 

Edited by tokyowalnut

The fact that a Rice reported himself to the authorities is a very courageous move.

I suspect he will receive a nominal fine because of the way it’s been handled.

Did anything come from the alleged gambling issues that Leigh Griffiths has suffered from? Was surprised there was no SFA action given the volume of stories in the media.

44 minutes ago, He Who Cannot Be Named said:

When an activity becomes addictive it ceases to be personal choice imo. 

One day you might understand if you or yours suffers an addiction. 🤔

24 minutes ago, Mysterion said:

The fact that a Rice reported himself to the authorities is a very courageous move.

I suspect he will receive a nominal fine because of the way it’s been handled.

Did anything come from the alleged gambling issues that Leigh Griffiths has suffered from? Was surprised there was no SFA action given the volume of stories in the media.

I guess the punishment depends if he's betting on games involving Hamilton?

Although I certainly understand addiction I really must draw the line at the "disease" chat. Those who argue this by saying "well you don't understand addiction" I would return with "well you don't understand disease then".

I feel for most with addictions. I like many have my own demons but addictions are 100% self inflicted and it can't be passed on. We all must just be strong and battle them.

Anyway, good luck to all those with addictions it is  fight that we can only ever win ourselves. Help is needed but we are fully all in control.

2 hours ago, OmiyaHearts said:

If someone is out of control and gambling impulsively, it's an addiction whether they are winning or losing. It's just natural that when debt levels rise there is often nowhere else to turn but admit your demons and find support.

I've known people that I would consider 'functioning' alcoholics in that their work and lifestyle could enable the addiction. Once a life circumstance changes e.g. job loss or divorce e.t.c., suddenly they need more support even though the underlying behaviour has been pretty constant.

Gordon Ramsay
18 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Although I certainly understand addiction I really must draw the line at the "disease" chat. Those who argue this by saying "well you don't understand addiction" I would return with "well you don't understand disease then".

I feel for most with addictions. I like many have my own demons but addictions are 100% self inflicted and it can't be passed on. We all must just be strong and battle them.

Anyway, good luck to all those with addictions it is  fight that we can only ever win ourselves. Help is needed but we are fully all in control.

Don't wish the guy any harm but it's not a disease. 

2 hours ago, He Who Cannot Be Named said:

Just like being addicted to drugs and alcohol are personal choices, eh? Gambling may be a personal choice but gambling addiction is a disease.

Disease: A disorder of structure or function in a human, animal, or plant, especially one that produces specific symptoms or that affects a specific location and is not simply a direct result of physical injury. [My emphasis]

---

Addiction as a disease

From the above link:

Addiction is a complex disease of the brain and body that involves compulsive use of one or more substances despite serious health and social consequences.

Addiction is defined as a disease by most medical associations, including the American Medical Association and the American Society of Addiction Medicine.

---

But of course, JKB knows better than the experts...

2 hours ago, He Who Cannot Be Named said:

The disease/illness is addiction.   The outlet is gambling.  It could have been alcohol, or something else. 

Gambling disorder, addiction whatever is a clinical diagnosis in the North American and the international versions of diagnostic manuals. I'll take the word of psychology and psychiatric professionals around the world over that of a few on a football message board. 

Best of luck and health to Rice. 

3 hours ago, naeclue said:

If you think you may have a problem with gambling, you could start here:

https://www.begambleaware.org/gambling-problems/do-i-have-a-gambling-problem/

Good luck to Brian Rice, tough situation for him.

Sorry, what I mean was, is it (can it be?) considered an addiction, if you are making money off it? I assume people are only admitting a problem, when they have hardly any money left.

I bet a fiver a weekend on a 4 or 5 team acca, just for interest. That's my lot  but good luck to the guy, I imagine online betting has only added to his problems.

4 hours ago, Ruud Krol said:

highlighted by Ruth Davidson. Wouldnt normally agree with her, but I do on this occasion

image.gif.f1233e27d2b12aad586bb31255d82025.gif_110576504_davidson.jpg

Me too but tbh I'm personally getting a bit fed up with the trend of blaming everything and everyone else. 

I'm fair game to smoking (in the past), drinking, fast food and gambling adverts and marketing but I don't smoke or gamble and I'm not over weight. 

If it is a disease, it's a disease the person has a large element of control over and tbh whether it be gambling, porn, drink, sugar, fast food etc the person makes the choices to take part in whatever they do

My brother attempted suicide in regards to gambling and debts so I'm also pretty close to it but even as a lefty, I'm sick of people passing the buck and blaming society for their problems. 

Different debate maybe. 

The hypocrisy of fining someone for using the very product your league and premier cup competition advertise is disgusting. A proper support system needs set up within the game to help people that need it (I'm not talking just for players & managers, supporters too). Taking so much money from betting firms despite the damage it does to families isn't right. Same can be said of alcohol too tbh. 

2 hours ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Sorry, what I mean was, is it (can it be?) considered an addiction, if you are making money off it? I assume people are only admitting a problem, when they have hardly any money left.

I bet a fiver a weekend on a 4 or 5 team acca, just for interest. That's my lot  but good luck to the guy, I imagine online betting has only added to his problems.

I think its the 'high' or 'buzz' folk get from winning (and losing) that keeps them coming back which makes it almost like a drug in that sense. Hence where the compulsive use/ addiction comes from. 

Gambling is a terrible addiction I’d imagine. It’s everywhere and so easy. 
I only ever have the odd accumulater for a couple of quid now and again for fun but for others not so much fun.

hope he gets the help and support he needs. 

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

I sincerely that hope Brian Rice gets the help he needs and comes through it successfully.

This story again throws into sharp relief the intimate relationship between gambling and sport in this country.  As has been mentioned already, the prevalence of gambling, either as in-stadium practice or as advertising and sponsorship is virulent.  However, the hypocrisy goes further.  The Done brothers own the Betfred chain.  Less well known (but perhaps entirely logical in the sick world they inhabit) is that they also own a business that offers treatment for a variety of conditions, including gambling additions.  ( for details, see https://www.theguardian.com/society/2020/jan/16/betfred-owners-make-millions-from-company-treating-gambling-addicts) These people can't lose, it seems. But then, when did a bookie ever lose?.

5 hours ago, redjambo said:

Just like being addicted to drugs and alcohol are personal choices, eh? Gambling may be a personal choice but gambling addiction is a disease.

Disease: A disorder of structure or function in a human, animal, or plant, especially one that produces specific symptoms or that affects a specific location and is not simply a direct result of physical injury. [My emphasis]

---

Addiction as a disease

From the above link:

Addiction is a complex disease of the brain and body that involves compulsive use of one or more substances despite serious health and social consequences.

Addiction is defined as a disease by most medical associations, including the American Medical Association and the American Society of Addiction Medicine.

---

But of course, JKB knows better than the experts...

Yeah but doctors pretend that they can diagnose depression and back pain - but they can't  - which is why the workshy all get sicknotes for depression, back pain, labyrinthitis etc...

Go to any doctor for pain of any sort and they will offer you drugs, may just be ibuprofen or paracetamol but the prescription offer is there, always, even if it is cheaper to go across the road and buy the ibuprofen at Tesco...

Thing is people trust doctors and people want to trust doctors. Therefore, if you want to abuse people it is the best profession to be in...As is proven by all the pervs who form a line at the disciplinary committee of the GMC who then let them off with a little slap on the wrist. Have to be flipping Dr Harold Shipman-esque to be seen for what you are...

Ignorance is bad enough but ignorance as a symptom of prejudice is much worse.    There is evidence of ignorance borne ouf of mindless prejudice on this thread.     Astonishing,  yet not really.

9 hours ago, Armageddon said:

I hope he's supported and not thrown to the wolves.

9 hours ago, Pasha said:

Admitting your addiction is a huge step for an addict. 

I wish him all the best for his recovery. 

Spot on, brave man coming out and admitting his problem.

24 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Yeah but doctors pretend that they can diagnose depression and back pain - but they can't  - which is why the workshy all get sicknotes for depression, back pain, labyrinthitis etc...

Go to any doctor for pain of any sort and they will offer you drugs, may just be ibuprofen or paracetamol but the prescription offer is there, always, even if it is cheaper to go across the road and buy the ibuprofen at Tesco...

Thing is people trust doctors and people want to trust doctors. Therefore, if you want to abuse people it is the best profession to be in...As is proven by all the pervs who form a line at the disciplinary committee of the GMC who then let them off with a little slap on the wrist. Have to be flipping Dr Harold Shipman-esque to be seen for what you are...

One of the worst posts ever written on here ... well done!

11 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Ignorance is bad enough but ignorance as a symptom of prejudice is much worse.    There is evidence of ignorance borne ouf of mindless prejudice on this thread.     Astonishing,  yet not really.

Not too sure Vic. I'm seeing a lot of sympathy and empathy I just don't think most people accept it as a disease. If I see an obese person I see addiction and self harm, I don't see a disease.  I think people throw the 'disease' label around as society seems desperate to be victims. I am addicted to alcohol of that I am sure. This is no disease to me and I am 100% responsible for it.  I am sure if I went to some third world disease ridden country and I go up and tell the poor desperate dying people that I too have a disease. i have a disease that I am compulsed to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds in a bookies they would be sympathetic. Or I just can't stop stuffing food or booze down my throat perhaps that would go down well.

2 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Not too sure Vic. I'm seeing a lot of sympathy and empathy I just don't think most people accept it as a disease. If I see an obese person I see addiction and self harm, I don't see a disease.  I think people throw the 'disease' label around as society seems desperate to be victims. I am addicted to alcohol of that I am sure. This is no disease to me and I am 100% responsible for it.  I am sure if I went to some third world disease ridden country and I go up and tell the poor desperate dying people that I too have a disease. i have a disease that I am compulsed to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds in a bookies they would be sympathetic. Or I just can't stop stuffing food or booze down my throat perhaps that would go down well.

Never thought you were ignorant because you recognise the issue.    Someone else was absurdly ignorant.

Others have precisely defined the specifics and underlying factors of addiction.    Others have defined addiction as a disease according to the literal definition of the word.     To a small extent I would understand a counter-argument that addiction is not a disease as defined by the most common perception of what constitutes one,  but in reality it has to be defined as a disease because it's a clear disorder of a normal,   functioning mind.

You cannot both have a fully well adjusted mind and a serious disorder to the detriment of normal function.

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Never thought you were ignorant because you recognise the issue.    Someone else was absurdly ignorant.

Others have precisely defined the specifics and underlying factors of addiction.    Others have defined addiction as a disease according to the literal definition of the word.     To a small extent I would understand a counter-argument that addiction is not a disease as defined by the most common perception of what constitutes one,  but in reality it has to be defined as a disease because it's a clear disorder of a normal,   functioning mind.

You cannot both have a fully well adjusted mind and a serious disorder to the detriment of normal function.

It is a huge issue and I am sure we all see it up close and personal everyday. I just can't class the chase for 'that high' as anything more than that. Essentially that is what addiction is, the continual and dependant chase for a high. Whether that high is sex, food, winning big on the horses, or a heroin injection. Not quite on par with leprosy, AIDS or river blindness. Infact in fairness I am sure no-one on here does think that but to even put it on the same ball park is an absurdity. I am addicted to real crime shows and I hear these seral killers and child rapists say they have a disease. When do we stop using this term to justify our demons?

I wonder if he will have to step down down to sort out his issues?

He could be In real trouble if he has been betting on hamilton games. 

10 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

It is a huge issue and I am sure we all see it up close and personal everyday. I just can't class the chase for 'that high' as anything more than that. Essentially that is what addiction is, the continual and dependant chase for a high. Whether that high is sex, food, winning big on the horses, or a heroin injection. Not quite on par with leprosy, AIDS or river blindness. Infact in fairness I am sure no-one on here does think that but to even put it on the same ball park is an absurdity. I am addicted to real crime shows and I hear these seral killers and child rapists say they have a disease. When do we stop using this term to justify our demons?

It's an interesting point and always has been.    Where does one draw the line between diminished responsibility due to a mental disorder and out-and-out evil?     How can any given out-and-out,  evil rapist / abuser / serial killer NOT have a psychological disorder?

But that's another conversation.

Edited by Victorian

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

What a load of pish