Odds on next manager

DB-14

29 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

His assistant at Barnsley only left yesterday. If a condition of Stendel signing was Tonge coming as well it could just be a financial negotiation with Tonge that’s holding it up. Can take a day or so to negotiate a package.

Tonge isn’t his assistant and was punted because the new guy wants his own backroom staff. 

• Replies 6.3k

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

• kingantti1874

• soonbe110

• mitch41

Just now, Last Laff said:

Tonge isn’t his assistant and was punted because the new guy wants his own backroom staff. 

Must’ve read the article wrong. Fair enough. Was just a theory.

2 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

I don’t know anything about him other than the player I saw, and the post player manager and pundit from the telly. I do know his cousin though. Swears he’s a big Tim and not a Hibby. 

I just find it hard to hate him the way I do Brown, Stokes or Commons for example. Seems like a harmless big oaf.

Played against him few times many many years ago way before he turned pro and he's really decent lad , he's just big kid at heart who likes a laugh 

5 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Hopefully being lined up as part of backroom staff though 👍

15 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

I don’t know anything about him other than the player I saw, and the post player manager and pundit from the telly. I do know his cousin though. Swears he’s a big Tim and not a Hibby. 

I just find it hard to hate him the way I do Brown, Stokes or Commons for example. Seems like a harmless big oaf.

He can remain a harmless oaf many many miles away from Gorgie, if its all the same. 

Coburg Hearts
28 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Who's to say he won't be his assistant? You could be right, but who knows.

52 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

He had a pub (joint venture I think) down leith, called The Ferret and Bootlace. A pal of mine drank there and I met Hughes a couple of times. Quite a fun guy tbh. 

Oh yeah, Constitution Street right?

3 minutes ago, Coburg Hearts said:

Just hope we get Stendel over the line. Hopefully just loads of loose ends to tie up is what’s taking the time.

21 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

He can remain a harmless oaf many many miles away from Gorgie, if its all the same. 

His cousin too. 

7 minutes ago, Coburg Hearts said:

That would be epic, nobody would doubt how much effort required. 

30 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Christ aye! No arguments there. As a manager he’s far from fecking harmless.

1 hour ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

I might have the timeline wrong. We may have already signed Weir by that point, but JJ wanted Hughes back in the mid nineties. 

I will get abuse for this, but I don’t mind the big stupid twat... not as a player though. Massive huddy that he was.

John Hughes is a really nice bloke mate.

Just now, TheBigO said:

John Hughes is a really nice bloke mate.

Don’t doubt it for a second tbh. I don’t know him personally though, so can’t say. He does come across that way. Think wee Robbo gets on well with him too does he not? I may be making this up but did they not share ownership of a boozer a few years ago? 

What are the odds of Arsenal getting a new manager before we do?

I'm all for getting the right man in but bloody hell, dragging on a bit is it no?

9 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

I'm all for getting the right man in but bloody hell, dragging on a bit is it no?

Don't think there's any betting on that mate.

17 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

5/4 on Paddy Power

Just now, GinRummy said:

You’re right though. It’s a drag. Let’s hope it’s worth waiting on.

Yeah, i wasn't all that excited about us even going for him but looking at the rest of the so called candidates and reading Barnsley fans thoughts on him, i hope we get this done now. 

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

Yeah, i wasn't all that excited about us even going for him but looking at the rest of the so called candidates and reading Barnsley fans thoughts on him, i hope we get this done now. 

I’m not really into German or English football but I do think he’s the best we could get based on what I’ve read.

2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I’m not really into German or English football but I do think he’s the bet we could get based on what I’ve read.

There has apparently been a shit load of applicants for the job, yet we hear that Neil McCann has been interviewed...

What's that all about?

Paulo Sergio doesn't even get a sniff but the dundee legend McCann does. 

I get the feeling that something is still seriously wrong at the club. 

Most likely Craig Levein still sniffing about. 

There has apparently been a shit load of applicants for the job, yet we hear that Neil McCann has been interviewed...

What's that all about?

You reckon Craig Levein is still sniffing about. 

That makes you a troll or an idiot. What one is it?

1 minute ago, gorgie rd eh11 said:

You reckon Craig Levein is still sniffing about. 

That makes you a troll or an idiot. What one is it?

Ha, so not a hobo then?

He's still in a job, so he is still sniffing about. 

Him and MacPhee delt with all the interviews on the football side. Who is dealing with it now? Ann on her own? doubt it. 

21 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Sniff sniff

4 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

What's that all about?

If I was running the club I’d have given McCann an interview as well. 

I get your concerns but time will tell.

12 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

What's that all about?

Just rumour. None of us know. More likely he was interviewed for sporting Director rather than manager. Doesn’t meet Mrs Budges key requirement for a manager , experience and profile 

4 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Ha, so not a hobo then?

He's still in a job, so he is still sniffing about. 

Him and MacPhee delt with all the interviews on the football side. Who is dealing with it now? Ann on her own? doubt it. 

Troll or idiot doesn't rule out "hobo".

1 minute ago, soonbe110 said:

Just rumour. None of us know. More likely he was interviewed for sporting Director rather than manager. Doesn’t meet Mrs Budges key requirement for a manager , experience and profile 

Fair point, it's all just media rumours. I don't think McCann has the credentials to be sporting director either though. 

Nothing against him, he talks a good game, but so does Levein and MacPhee. 

Coburg Hearts
1 hour ago, GinRummy said:

Just hope we get Stendel over the line. Hopefully just loads of loose ends to tie up is what’s taking the time.

I'm still very confident, if he had knocked us back I'm sure at least one journo would have picked up on it. I also don't think Dazo, and one or two others, would have put their rep on the line so unequivocally if they were not 100% sure. Patience is now required, and it could be a good pick-me-up for Monday afternoon. (There must be a chance he will be in the Stand on Sunday)

1 minute ago, Coburg Hearts said:

I'm still very confident, if he had knocked us back I'm sure at least one journo would have picked up on it. I also don't think Dazo, and one or two others, would have put their rep on the line so unequivocally if they were not 100% sure. Patience is now required, and it could be a good pick-me-up for Monday afternoon. (There must be a chance he will be in the Stand on Sunday)

Here’s hoping. We do have a habit of getting our man after drawn out negotiations.

Coburg Hearts
4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Here’s hoping. We do have a habit of getting our man after drawn out negotiations.

It's never easy supporting Hearts, for sure.

13 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

How do i block people?

Will you last long enough to block anyone?

Edited by JamboAl

Probably not, 

Have you reported me for nothing yet?

Thank God you replied.  I was in a panic in case you had blocked me.

No, I haven't reported you but thanks for asking.

Coburg Hearts
33 minutes ago, Sherbet said:

No   the length of negogiations

You had me worried for a minute.

ps You are better using the quote button at the bottom when replying.

Over a month gone & still no replacement for Levein. Zero communication from the club either.

Just.:laugh2:. Olympic gold standard dithering.

6 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

Over a month gone & still no replacement for Levein. Zero communication from the club either.

Apart from the fact that she said it would take 4-6 weeks.

Stendel was also just freed from his Barnsley Contract late last week. 

7 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

But apparently it’s ok to dither if you announce in advance that you’re going to dither. 

As someone else said, taking your time is fine if you get your man. If we end up with some diddy at the end of this...

13 hours ago, Sherbet said:

No   the length of negogiations

Remember he was just freed from his Barnsley Contract. 

If going with Stendel, the negotiation timeline is better starting from the point he was freed from his contract. 

Also ties in with Ann's original time frame of 4-6 weeks. 

Putting 2 and 2 together it's almost like she wanted Stendel from the off, but knew his contract with Barnsley would need to be dealt with. 

Just now, Nookie Bear said:

But apparently it’s ok to dither if you announce in advance that you’re going to dither. 

As someone else said, taking your time is fine if you get your man. If we end up with some diddy at the end of this...

If it's a plan it's not dithering Ffs. 

If you plan something, then follow the plan it's not dithering Ffs. 

Having a plan and implementing it is the opposite from dithering. 

The Muffin Man
10 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

1 minute ago, Nookie Bear said:

2 months to appoint and announce Neil McCann.

giphy.gif