The Gorgie Road Sign - Poll

Gorgie Road Sign - Poll  

338 members have voted

1. 1. Should we re-create the Gorgie Road sign?

• Replies 117

• Maroon Sailor

• been here before

• Morph

Just now, davemclaren said:

Used to love going along Gorgie Road on a bus and seeing that sign. 

Surprised it hasn't been recreated. A true iconic image. There has been talk of it in the past but nothing happened.

i'm sure a few years ago there was a thread on this and somebody had the old sign or new where it was but it was in a bad state of repair it would be good to see it back i wonder when it was actually made.

27 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Iconic. Bring it back Mrs B

Be great to see but will it fit back in to it's spiritual home ?

tynecastle_park03.thumb.jpg.c8788964f408c6207b7ee109ccf03e08.jpg

Could maybe paint it on !

Edited by Maroon Sailor

43 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Seems a lifetime ago.

baron of ness
2 minutes ago, Jap Jambo said:

well that was a nice trip down memory lane. shame they can't have a whip round for a new one...

We could. 

27 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Replica above GORGIE STAND sign .

Or do away with that sign and put replica there

47 minutes ago, Ray has bus pass hooray said:

i'm sure a few years ago there was a thread on this and somebody had the old sign or new where it was but it was in a bad state of repair it would be good to see it back i wonder when it was actually made.

It was lost as part of the work during the 1994 stadium refevelopment. 

1 minute ago, johnthomas said:

The Gorgie Stand sign is the perfect spot for it. 

Just now, johnthomas said:

Maybe fit just above the lights and bolt on another beam further up to the back of the roof

13 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

The Gorgie Stand sign is the perfect spot for it. 

I'm sure someone on here could let us see what it would look like ?

12 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

Another rehashed thread yawnnnnn

You are right. Nobody has joined JKB since the thread you have seen. How dare anybody rehash a topic from a tweet made today and therefore bringing it back to people's attention.

6 minutes ago, Morph said:

Nice piece of nostalgia for some, but it would look pretty horrific now.

Good one for the museum if it can be found/refurbished.

I still think it would look good on the back of the Gorgie Stand even if it was a mural

1 minute ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I still think it would look good on the back of the Gorgie Stand even if it was a mural

A mural including the sign would be a good idea, was there not meant to be a mural when the new stand was built?

5 minutes ago, Morph said:

A mural including the sign would be a good idea, was there not meant to be a mural when the new stand was built?

I didn't hear anything about that but it's a nice idea

10 minutes ago, Morph said:

There was, but not all the homeowners agreed, so I understand it is not happening.

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Fabricate new steel supports onto the existing fencing/gates already there. Attach sign to new supports. Job done 👍🏼

9 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Fabricate new steel supports onto the existing fencing/gates already there. Attach sign to new supports. Job done 👍🏼

Is that feasible? 

37 minutes ago, Dunks said:

There was, but not all the homeowners agreed, so I understand it is not happening.

They need to get the big cracks in their tenement flats fixed first that were caused by us building the stand.

Mind greenfanny over on .nugget kept telling them all about it after his 'wee wanders past'.

2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Is that feasible? 

Not if we're still planning on filling in the corners and installing the big screens.

2 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

Did the vermin not have a similar one in the past? (Not with Hearts on it , obviously..🤪)....

Nah I think theirs was just a bog standard Hibernian FC written on the bricks above the turnstyles of their old stand. Or maybe it said Easter Road, cannae mind now.

Here we go...

EasterRoadStadium.jpg.e2fae1600e4cd3fbdd2ad2e8fe6b1a63.jpg

The Capital Decorators sign we had on the gable of the old Shed roof looked better than that.

3 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I used to park my car here when I lived at 164 Gorgie Road overlooking the ground. That sign always made me feel proud every time i passed the entrance. 

Edited by mitch41

12 minutes ago, been here before said:

Nah I think theirs was just a bog standard Hibernian FC written on the bricks above the turnstyles of their old stand. Or maybe it said Easter Road, cannae mind now.

Here we go...

EasterRoadStadium.jpg.e2fae1600e4cd3fbdd2ad2e8fe6b1a63.jpg

The Capital Decorators sign we had on the gable of the old Shed roof looked better than that.

Ah, remember it now.  2nd best as usual. 🙂

I think it would just look naff and incredibly out of place, but that's just because I don't have a nostalgic outlook on it.  

It would, however look great as part of a mural on the ends of the houses, or somewhere in the stadium, if that idea can ever get back on track! 

Tremendous and, as usual with all things Hearts v Hibs, it puts Hibs pishy wee effort firmly into it's shadow.

B7AF441F-4D7D-4645-86F0-A41B3869CD03.jpeg

Edited by Morgan

3 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Maybe painted on a wall in the new stand?

52 minutes ago, tian447 said:

I think it would just look naff and incredibly out of place, but that's just because I don't have a nostalgic outlook on it.  

It would, however look great as part of a mural on the ends of the houses, or somewhere in the stadium, if that idea can ever get back on track! 

I think an issue us that old farts like me, who have fond memories of it, are declining in number every day. It was demolished 25 years ago and in 10 years nobody under 45 will have any memory of it. 

4 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Me too. Very iconic and would love it for the front of my flat. 

2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I think an issue us that old farts like me, who have fond memories of it, are declining in number every day. It was demolished 25 years ago and in 10 years nobody under 45 will have any memory of it. 

Can't we recreate it?