***Official St Mirren v Heart of Midlothian Match Thread***

Just now, Smith's right boot said:

Aberdeen would disagree. 

A defeat is a shite result, a draw is, what it is. 

Mate we will win today so stop trying to defend a draw.

A draw isn't good enough but considering our recent run bar the last two isn't a disaster.

But Levein needs a win and a run.

Players need to keep wanting the ball .

I'm confident so chill out buddy .

• Replies 1.3k

• rick witter

• pettigrewsstylist

• Hearts007

1 hour ago, Barack said:

Have to agree. A defeat would be worse obviously.

I'd reluctantly take a point, but only if the performance was of a similar vein to the last two matches. Tragic, boring shite revisited...not so amused. Sold out our allocation today though. So hopefully, the usual noisy away lot will push us on.

If we reach the level of the last 2 games we should win tbh. 

Good we have sold our tickets, that will help no end, having a big noisy support behind us. 👍

1 minute ago, coatbridgejambo said:

now this sounds like a great day oot. older jambo by the way 😎

The young team are wee shareens they need educated in hooliganism.

😁

Just now, jake said:

Mate we will win today so stop trying to defend a draw.

A draw isn't good enough but considering our recent run bar the last two isn't a disaster.

But Levein needs a win and a run.

Players need to keep wanting the ball .

I'm confident so chill out buddy .

Folk just to eager to get right back on CL's back I think. 

Saying an away draw is a shite result, win no excuses etc. 

Whether you like it or not, it's a hard place, a draw is not a good result but it's not a shite result. 

A win would be lovely tho. 

1st goal you think is crucial, they've been quite tight in defence. 

Que, 4-2 us with them scoring first. 😉

3 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Aberdeen would disagree. 

A defeat is a shite result, a draw is, what it is. 

We want to keep the momentum going with a win though. 

A draw wouldn't be disastrous but feel today's game and killie next week are games we should really be winning. 

Just now, Robbo-Jambo said:

We want to keep the momentum going with a win though. 

A draw wouldn't be disastrous but feel today's game and killie next week are games we should really be winning. 

Ofc. 

3 minutes ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

If we reach the level of the last 2 games we should win tbh. 

Good we have sold our tickets, that will help no end, having a big noisy support behind us. 👍

It just goes to show the potential for our club .

Two good results and a decent away support.

And aye mate regards the levels.

2 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Whether you like it or not, it's a hard place, a draw is not a good result but it's not a shite result. 

Och mate stop biting.

A draw isn't good enough tbf.

But leave it till it happens .

Levein will continue to cause rows on here.

He needs to win buddy you have indicated that in your less defensive moments.

1 minute ago, Cade said:

I'd be content with a draw, and delighted with a win.

As long as we don't lose and dent the confidence again.

Where I am.

A win will settle the support.

Well most of them.

2 minutes ago, jake said:

Och mate stop biting.

A draw isn't good enough tbf.

But leave it till it happens .

Levein will continue to cause rows on here.

He needs to win buddy you have indicated that in your less defensive moments.

We need a good run, I agree. 

We won't win every game, tho. 

Genuinely believe there are few easy games this season. 

Shite teams are still shite but they seem to have more about them this time round. 

You really need to be playing half decent to win rather than turn up and collect 

The long long road back to credibility starts today. Arguably this game is actually bigger for us than Hibs or Aberdeen games. All the expectations are for a Hearts win today that’s what these players have struggled with, the expectation and demand to win these games. A clean sheet would be nice too. 

We need wins 

Edited by A_A wehatethehibs

1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

We need a good run, I agree. 

We won't win every game, tho. 

No we wont mate.

We will today.

I'm off be cool buddy

17 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Absolute rubbish, we need to win these games and it’s particularly important when Hibs and Aberdeen are playing the old firm and therefore are likely to lose. So it’s a chance to extend gap above Hibs and close the gap to Aberdeen. Hibs are winning right now so if we draw that would be them back above us - unacceptable. 

We are playing catch up with teams above us and right now we need to win at all costs to avoid falling further behind so early on in the season.

A draw most definitely would be a shite result today if we are a team who wants to be finishing 3rd. 

Edited by A_A wehatethehibs

Just now, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Absolute rubbish, we need to win these games and it’s particularly important when Hibs and Aberdeen are playing the old firm and therefore are likely to lose. So it’s a chance to extend gap above Hibs and close the gap to Aberdeen. Hibs are winning right now so if we draw that would be them back above us - unacceptable. 

We are playing catch up with teams above us and right now we need to win at all costs to avoid falling further behind so early on in the season.

A draw most definitely would be a shite result today if we are a team who wants to be finishing 3rd. 

Nope a win is a good result. 

A defeat is a shite result. 

A draw is OK, neither good or shite. 

Just now, Smith's right boot said:

This is true if you are a Livingston fan or St Johnstone fan. 

A draw is not Ok for Hearts vs abject football club that is St mirren, draws in these games are what leads to depressing  6th place finishes and calls for Leveins head. We need wins. 

We are playing catch up win or bust, a draw is as bad as a defeat in a game like this. We need to start taking maximum points regularly or we’re going to swiftly fall 10-15 points out of sight behind teams fighting for Europe 

6 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

****ing nonsense. 

1 minute ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

A draw is not Ok for Hearts vs abject football club that is St mirren, draws in these games are what leads to depressing  6th place finishes and calls for Leveins head. We need wins. 

We are playing catch up win or bust, a draw is as bad as a defeat in a game like this. We need to start taking maximum points regularly or we’re going to swiftly fall 10-15 points out of sight behind teams fighting for Europe 

Nah mate. 

Have a look at the results there. 

I'd like to win, but we won't win all our away games at these teams. 

Never have, don't think we will this season or in the near future. 

A draw isn't a shite result, a defeat is. 

Pretty basic football stuff. An away draw to a team in the same league - OK. Not shite. 

Been a few times in our history a draw would have been a ****ing brilliant result against a so called lesser side. 

I'd like to win, think we can but if it's a draw, it will be ok and in the context of 3rd place this season it's a point better than Aberdeen got. 

Anyway, hope we win. 

19 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Nah mate. 

Have a look at the results there. 

I'd like to win, but we won't win all our away games at these teams. 

Never have, don't think we will this season or in the near future. 

A draw isn't a shite result, a defeat is. 

Pretty basic football stuff. An away draw to a team in the same league - OK. Not shite. 

Been a few times in our history a draw would have been a ****ing brilliant result against a so called lesser side. 

I'd like to win, think we can but if it's a draw, it will be ok and in the context of 3rd place this season it's a point better than Aberdeen got. 

Anyway, hope we win. 

Aye I suppose your right, our league season will be fine, that’s us beat Hibs, time to put the feet up and draw a couple of games vs st Mirren and Kilmarnock, then we'll probably get beat by Rangers so that’ll be 2 points out our next 9. But since Aberdeen lost at st Mirren, that means we’ll be sitting pretty in 3rd no bother - levein in ! 

Dont kid yourself, Hearts need wins right now, draws against any team other than Rangers and Celtic are bad results when you’re the team that’s behind, playing catch up. 

13 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Aye I suppose your right, our league season will be fine, that’s us beat Hibs, time to put the feet up and draw a couple of games vs st Mirren and Kilmarnock, then we'll probably get beat by Rangers so that’ll be 2 points out our next 9. But since Aberdeen lost at st Mirren, that means we’ll be sitting pretty in 3rd no bother - levein in ! 

Dont kid yourself, Hearts need wins right now, draws against any team other than Rangers and Celtic are bad results when you’re the team that’s behind, playing catch up. 

Wins are better, draws aren't shite, especially away. 

Hopefully it's a win today, tho. 

39 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Agree.  For a team of Hearts' stature games, outside the OF, whether home or away, a win is expected.

3 hours ago, portobellojambo1 said:

Be interesting to see how we approach this game today. Do we look to build on the last two games or do we go through and revert to type, where we set up for a draw creating a situation where we often lose. These are the sort of games against the sort of opposition that we should be winning, and thinking a draw against a side who will be fighting to stay in this division is good stuff is totally the wrong approach to be taking.

Got to agree. My hunch is we revert to type and blame injuries and nae opshuns for doing so

Just now, Eldar Hadzimehmedovic said:

That looks like either a huge tactical switch or a midfielder in defence. Big call either way. 

Is it not just hickey and mulraney fb’s and smith and halkett in the middle.