4 hours ago, His name is said:

All change again. What's our strongest line up? I think we have to go 4-2-3-1

Pereira 

Smith  Soutter  Halkett  Hickey

Whealan  Damour

Mulraney  Naismith  Walker 

Washington 

Looks good on paper but I thought that before Ross Co! 

I think that you're a wee bit premature with the post. 

We might have an idea after another 4 or 5 games but at the moment , how the hell would we know?

3 hours ago, Leveins Battalion said:

What a facking team we have.Now we just need tactics 🤣🤣

Good point, well made :rofl:

Pereira

Souttar      Halkett

Smith                                          White

Whelan     Damour

Meshino     Naismith       Walker

Washington 

Subs: Doyle, Hickey, Berra, Haring, Irving, Mulraney, Uche

:sweeet:

:clumshot:

Pereira

Smith Berra Halkett White

Walker Damour Whelan Mulraney

Uche Naismith

4-4-2 is just what you to play in our league IMO. 

You could argue Uche is off form but what he can do is hold the ball up and that is vital for us

Btw you can only look at one man if we can't win now. Big potential in this team

15 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Pereira

Uche Naismith

You could argue Uche is off form but what he can do is hold the ball up and that is vital for us

Btw you can only look at one man if we can't win now. Big potential in this team

Neither Rangers nor Celtic play 4-4-2 and are destroying teams. 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 for me.

afanderson33
21 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Pereira

Uche Naismith

You cannot be a real person if you think our best team involves leaving out our best centre half and centre forward 

11 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Neither Rangers nor Celtic play 4-4-2 and are destroying teams. 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 for me.

I've read a lot about that 2nd option recently and it seems to work.  I presume it consists of 7 primarily defensive players and 4 attacking players, supported by overlapping full backs.

I presume the key to it's success is that the 2 players in front of the defence have the skills with accurate passing to turn defence into attack.

If I'm anywhere near right and Whelan and Damour have that capability, we might finally be in a position to dominate sides and set up real opportunities for the striker and other attacking players.

Wonder if that's what we will see.  Hoofing the ball to Uche will clearly never get us anywhere.

hearts related nickname

Now that we've made our signings (pending the Japanese lad) what's everyone's thoughts on first 11 and formation. Mine:      

Perriera

Smith halkett souttar white

Damour Whelan

Walker Naismith mulraney

Washington

Moist at that.  Say what you want but the club has recruited incredibly well over the summer. Whelan dropping back to cover the full backs pushing up will give us plenty width and allow Walker to drift inside and Naismith to push up next to Washington in attack.

Can we please not let this thread descend into the usual "aye it's a good team but Levien bothers dogs so..." let's keep on topic.

34 minutes ago, hearts related nickname said:

Now that we've made our signings (pending the Japanese lad) what's everyone's thoughts on first 11 and formation. Mine:      

Perriera

Smith halkett souttar white

Damour Whelan

Walker Naismith mulraney

Washington

Moist at that.  Say what you want but the club has recruited incredibly well over the summer. Whelan dropping back to cover the full backs pushing up will give us plenty width and allow Walker to drift inside and Naismith to push up next to Washington in attack.

Can we please not let this thread descend into the usual "aye it's a good team but Levien bothers dogs so..." let's keep on topic.

Go on then...

This thread has been merged with Strongest Team

40 minutes ago, been here before said:

Go on then...

This thread has been merged with Strongest Team

You have to admit it would be a seamless merge.

4 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

I've read a lot about that 2nd option recently and it seems to work.  I presume it consists of 7 primarily defensive players and 4 attacking players, supported by overlapping full backs.

I presume the key to it's success is that the 2 players in front of the defence have the skills with accurate passing to turn defence into attack.

If I'm anywhere near right and Whelan and Damour have that capability, we might finally be in a position to dominate sides and set up real opportunities for the striker and other attacking players.

Wonder if that's what we will see.  Hoofing the ball to Uche will clearly never get us anywhere.

We played a 4-2-3-1 for most of the Scottish Championship  winning season. It really suited us as a club and it was exciting to watch. Damour and Whelan are the ideal players to play the defensive midfield 2. You the have a lot of decent options for the attacking 3 now as well. Would love to see us go for it again.

9 hours ago, Cruyff Turn said:

Pereira

Souttar      Halkett

Whelan     Damour

Washington 

the exact same team I came up with and formation

Unreal team on paper

Big if over Meshino, you just cant tell whether he will be a superstar or Scottish football and its frenetic nature will hinder him.

Lets be positive and assume he is a superstar

Pereira

Smith, Souttar, Berra, Hickey

Whelan/Haring

Damour      Irving

Naismith

Meshino Washington

There may be some surprise that Irving is in there, but with that talent around him, he has the keys to unlock a defence.

Washington really needs a goal.

If he fails then the front 3 could end up

Walker/Mulraney Naismith Meshino

Still not a team packed with goals is my concern

MR INCREDIBLE

Pereira

Soutter. Haring. Halkett

Smith.                                   White

Whelan.      Damour.

Meshino

Naismith.       Washington. 

This team would be 4/5 to win the Champions League. 👍

9 hours ago, Cruyff Turn said:

Pereira

Souttar      Halkett

Whelan     Damour

Washington 

Why would you play Walker on the left?

5 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Big if over Meshino, you just cant tell whether he will be a superstar or Scottish football and its frenetic nature will hinder him.

Lets be positive and assume he is a superstar

Pereira

Smith, Souttar, Berra, Hickey

Whelan/Haring

Damour      Irving

Naismith

Meshino Washington

There may be some surprise that Irving is in there, but with that talent around him, he has the keys to unlock a defence.

Washington really needs a goal.

If he fails then the front 3 could end up

Walker/Mulraney Naismith Meshino

Still not a team packed with goals is my concern

That could see us do well. However, we need to start getting the best out of players with fast exciting football as well 

1 minute ago, TypoonJambo said:

That could see us do well. However, we need to start getting the best out of players with fast exciting football as well 

Whelan or Haring will give us a solid base to attack. Damour and Irving energy and vision, Naismith linking, width from Walker, Meshino or Mulraney.

Washington to score them? I don't see much future for Uche to be honest.

Walker has more goals in him than Mulraney, I think he has a higher chance of playing for that reason alone.

I'm thinking back to the days when we had Robbo, Crabbe and Colquhoun. Foster also helped out, all were fairly small, but mobile and fluent.

I don't like 4-4-2 to be honest, I think that does slow us down

1 hour ago, Absolute Scenes said:

the exact same team I came up with and formation

Unreal team on paper

Wearing our new all black kit as well.

The Gorgie Globetrotters 

16 hours ago, Byyy The Light said:

Personally I’d play Clare or McDonald in Naismith place and Washington up top.

Agree with this.

13 minutes ago, wavydavy said:

Really.

His stats show that he’s more productive on the right. Infact, his stats on the right are pretty incredible 😂

His stats on the left side are pretty good too. 

It honestly doesn’t really bother me which side he’s on tbh. 

30 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Agree with this.

Keep Uche to come on as a battering ram for the last 20 mins if needed 

2 hours ago, wavydavy said:

Why would you play Walker on the left?

its a front three behind striker so not really a winger role

it would/should work

16 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

His stats show that he’s more productive on the right. Infact, his stats on the right are pretty incredible 😂

His stats on the left side are pretty good too. 

It honestly doesn’t really bother me which side he’s on tbh. 

Presumably these stats you refer to are when he was with us the first time round?

If he puts in a good performance and can add some goals like he did at Aberdeen that will do me.

2 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

it would/should work

On paper maybe but we will soon find out in reality, here's hoping.

12 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Pereira

Uche Naismith

if he can stay on his feet he would do better

Just realised this is our strongest team not our strongest team available just now. In that case:

Perreira (hopefully)

Smith Souttar Halkett Hickey

Haring Whelan Damour

Clare

Naismith Washington

All imo of course

38 minutes ago, wavydavy said:

Presumably these stats you refer to are when he was with us the first time round?

If he puts in a good performance and can add some goals like he did at Aberdeen that will do me.

I think they for all the teams he’s played for. Of course it’ll depend where we play Meshino as I’d imagine he will be a starter.

Here is Walkers states, the green ball is assists. 👍🏼

08991656-78EF-4F3F-B8D1-F126B2771811.jpeg.3765e3cbe982fd32dbb37475dd8ed1ba.jpeg

42 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

it would/should work

Aye, just give them all a free role. 

11 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

I think they for all the teams he’s played for. Of course it’ll depend where we play Meshino as I’d imagine he will be a starter.

Here is Walkers states, the green ball is assists. 👍🏼

08991656-78EF-4F3F-B8D1-F126B2771811.jpeg.3765e3cbe982fd32dbb37475dd8ed1ba.jpeg

Left side it is then.

3 minutes ago, wavydavy said:

Left side it is then.

Those stats show he's better on the right 🤷 

Suggest sorry, not show.

Edited by Taffin

Graham Thomson
20 hours ago, His name is said:

All change again. What's our strongest line up? I think we have to go 4-2-3-1

Pereira 

Smith  Soutter  Halkett  Hickey

Whealan  Damour

Mulraney  Naismith  Walker 

Washington 

Looks good on paper but I thought that before Ross Co! 

I agree with this 👍 and when the young Japanese lad signs, probably for Mulraney.  

PhoenixHearts
10 hours ago, Mr Elwood P said:

Who would you drop for Haring?

Whelan probably. Or Damour. Still fairly unknown entities for Hearts. 

Yeah, they both have a good pedigree and all, and I hope they outperform that, but Haring was arguably our best player last season outwith Naismith. You don't just sit him on the bench. He's a consistent, calm and integral part of our midfield, not to mention he's great in the air and frequently a goal threat at corners.

Also regarding CM spots, Clare and even Walker are by no means guaranteed starters. We'll see why happens.

Maybe I've got rose tinted glasses on, but he was one of very few bright spots last season and alongside Souttar, Naismith, Smith and now Halkett, hes one of the first names on the teamsheet.

(And like **** am I gonna be happy with a 35 year old mercenary on a 1 year contract taking the spot of a younger hungrier longer term contract entering his prime years)

Based solely on players that are currently signed, as of today:

Pereira

Smith Souttar Halkett White

Haring

Clare Whelan Damour

Naismith

Washington

Walker and Clare to switch.

No team for young men.

Edited by Tasavallan

sandylejambo

a lot of guys playing Damour as DM, he has in the one game I saw him got forward passing in his game, he should be up there, in an attacking MF roll, when Haring returns then Clare is the one to drop out, if his form doesn't improve.

Edited by sandylejambo
misstype

Team could be really good but need to wait to really judge

Damour, Whelan, Washington, Whyte, should all improve us. 

Walker and Halkett are good at this level. 

Jury is still out to an extent on Mulerany and Hickey as well. 

Need to really wait a bit tho, but if it all clicks we'll be a good side with depth.