Loic Damour signs for 4 years (subject to international clearance)

TheAntiHibee

• Replies 1.2k

• Jambo 4 Ever

• BarneyBattles44

Hearts have completed the signing of midfielder Loïc Damour, subject to international clearance.

The Frenchman has penned a four-year deal at Tynecastle after leaving English Championship side Cardiff City and could be available for selection against Ross County tomorrow, should the relevant clearance be received.

The 28-year-old started his professional career at French outfit Strasbourg in 2008, where he made 47 appearances before moving to Boulogne in 2011.

He spent two years there before making the move to Belgium where he turned out for RWDM Brussels, White Star Bruxelles, Frejus Saint-Raphael and Bourg-en-Bresse Peronnas over a four-year period.

In 2017, he joined Cardiff City and helped them gain promotion to the Premier League, making a total of 32 appearances that season.

The defensive-midfielder has been capped at every youth level for France from U16s up to U20s, where he featured alongside the likes of Napoli defender Kalidou Koulibaly and current Arsenal star Alexandre Lacazette.

Foulard sur la tête! Bienvenue, Loic

Edited by August Landmesser

Special Agent Dale Cooper

Ooft...4 years!

Didnt see that coming. Welcome Loic.

(Ps Pas de Chanson D'Amour puns s'il vous plait)

Thought Police
1 minute ago, Roman1874 said:

Just been told Loïc Damour has now signed... 4 year deal too!

That’s some scoop

NaturalOrder74

clearly had so much bad luck with three year deals they’re dishing out four years now lol, guys got a decent CV excited to see what he can do 

10 minutes ago, Heartsofgold said:

:laugh2:  Whoops!!  Fat fingers on a smart phone keyboard don't always mix!!

So that is a selfie then? 

6 minutes ago, August Landmesser said:

Foulard sur la tête! Bienvenue, Loic

Au dessus la tête j'espere!

35 minutes ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

If we got Whelan - ignoring Damour for the time being - whilst Haring is out i’d love to try 4-1-3-2 at home but with the midfield 3 all being attacking minded - like a more attack minded version of 4-2-3-1

The 3 would be fluid but would be Walker from the right, Clare in the middle, Naismith left - again I stress not rigid when we have the ball.

Uche and Washington up top.

I do think Uche and Washington need to play close to each other.

You do realize you need an attack minded manager to use this formation ?

Also, Clare shouldn’t be anywhere near that first team. 

Good stuff (positive)

Hope he's better than the last French midfielder we gave a 4 year deal to (negative)

Really looking forward to seeing him play tomorrow (positive)

If he gets clearance (negative)

Been needing a skilled tough guy in midfield for years (positive)

Welcome to the club Loic (positive)

Mon the JT's (positive)

So that positive 5, Negative 2

Edited by Pans Jambo

wheatfield to sheffield
8 minutes ago, Barack said:

A "Naismith" contract, as it shall be henceforth and forever known.

Yes, not like a Malaury Martin contract - that was only 3 1/2 years and they flew by

7 minutes ago, His name is said:

Hopefully straight in tomorrow

Given his lack of game time, how likely is this.

Mods

Finger oot wi the thread name change please!

He signed 7 minutes ago FFS!

Edited by Pans Jambo

16 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Whelan is 35, Damour is 28...it makes a big difference. Just look how quickly Berra has fallen apart; not saying that will happen but I can absolutely see why people are wary of signing a guy of his age who gets mixed reviews from the fans of a club that just released him.

Hopefully we sign both and they are both great.

So was I when I saw we were first linked, but his almost immaculate injury record, and the fact he played 35 games for Villa last season reassured me that he'd manage a season or 2 up here no bother. Still hoping we can get Whelan over the line too, to really bolster our midfield.

Dallas Green
2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

But.. if he signs another 4 year deal after that he'll be almost 37.   Ffs.

Think about how good he will be at 37!

The Apprentice
13 minutes ago, Roman1874 said:

Someone see it on the club website before you? :laugh2:

• jkbmod 9 changed the title to Loic Damour signs for 4 years (subject to international clearance)
Just now, Dallas Green said:

Think about how good he will be at 37!

Aye but his legs will have gone.    Ffs his legs are on the way oot.    Oot legs oot.

Superb, looking forward to seeing him!

For those who didn't click the link, here's how the club teased the signing by the way

EBhEzmKW4AAGBnl.jpg.79579ebb8d73bce1f964657e10c4a174.jpg

What's telling is the Cardiff fans questioning them letting him go. Must have been rated quite highly (by the fans) if they wanted to keep him at the club. Seems we have a good relationship with Cardiff after the Paterson transfer and will more than likely helped in us needing to pay any fee on this one.

Welcome Loic to Edinburgh's finest. 

CloustonHMFC

Boy I used to work with if from Cardiff and has had a ST for years, said Damour is a decent player. Not quite EPL standard but reckons he’ll stroll it in Scotland. Fingers crossed.

Let’s have more encore ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Edited by Dannie Boy

One in celebration of this signing (for slightly more mature posters!).

Viva viva Loic Damour,

You're what we've been waiting for,

You'll light up our midfield so fine so fine.

Dollar by the way.

18 minutes ago, Roman1874 said:

By the Hearts website.... 

Might not be the best news for Cochrane and  Irving though from the point of view of game time this season, though we definitely need experience in that area of the pitch. It will be interesting to see how he compares with Djoum.